Disney's All Star Movies Resort reviews

Animal Kingdom Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 7.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.4  
"A must do for families with young children"
Reviewed on Aug 16, 2013 by Sammy
Rating: 6  
As a frequent Disney traveller I have stayed at this resort three times throughout my childhood. Now an adult of 25 I look back at the resort with fond memories and would recommend it to anyone travelling with children. The resort is quite spacious with each area being themed around a different movie. Each time we visited the resort we stayed at in the Toy story area. Having your picture taken by Woody and Buzz or sat in RC is a fantastic experience for children and will have them in awe at the sheer size of the figures. The pool area is well themed and large enough to hold the many resort guests. There are lots of amenities for children and adults including a bar area and shop. The dining hall is large and offers a range of options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It can get very noisy but this is to be expected at busier times. The resort is quite far away from many of the theme parks however the Disney buses are provided. I would recommend this resort to any family with young children who love everything Disney!
"Price is worth every penny"
Reviewed on Aug 13, 2013 by konor
Rating: 9  
If you are traveling with children under the age of 10 then this is the resort for you. The kids love the atmosphere and your wallet will love the price. We stayed a week and knowing that we were not going there to sit in the room we opted to stay here versus a higher priced option. I was pleasantly surprised with the area, it was Disney but yet it was quiet. The kids loved the oversized props and all the Disney-related materials and are honestly disappointed we are not staying there on this trip (at POR-FQ this time). The rooms were nothing to write home about but if you travel to Disney for the view from or size of the hotel room then your priorities are way off.
"Not bad for the price"
Reviewed on Aug 09, 2013 by Holly
Rating: 7  
I have stayed at all of the value resorts except Art of Animation and Movies is my second favorite. (behind Pop Century) We drove so I did not take advantage of Disney's Magical Express but my Mom did and had a great experience. Checking in was no hassle and we even checked in early and our room was ready by noon. Once we arrived we were able to get some pool towels from the front desk and head over to the pool. My son and I even grabbed a late breakfast from the food court and ate outside. There were free pool activities most of the day and they even gave out candy and small prizes. The room was very clean but it was showing a little wear. No problems with the AC but it wasn't that hot outside since it was raining. We were in the Love Bug building which was not super close to the main hall where the bus transportation was. I still think the layout is slightly better than All Star Music and Sports so you don't feel like you are walking as far. Overall I am a fan of staying at a value resort. The rooms are always very clean and you save money. Only complaint this time was the tour groups staying at the resort. There were unsupervised kids everywhere. Once they were out of the way and at the park it was better. I would stay again but I always prefer staying in the off season.
"RESORT "
Reviewed on Aug 02, 2013 by ALL STAR MOVIES RESORT
Rating: 5  
WHAT LOCATION WOULD YOU RECOMMEND FANTASIA AREA OR 101 DALMATIONS
"Affordable and nice Resort"
Reviewed on Jul 13, 2013 by Dan
Rating: 8  
I went to the All-star Movies Resort during Spring Break with some friends. The resort is kept up nicely. The concierge staff is very nice. We were in a room in the Fantasia 2000. The room has all of your necessities you need. The only issue with the room was that the refrigerator wasn't plugged in. We didn't notice this when I put some milk in there one night and the next day had to throw away the milk. The buses were very efficient. We were able to get to the parks before rope drop each day. The buses were not shared with the other All-Star resorts. It's a good value resort for guests planning to stay in the parks all day.
"Ok to stay"
Reviewed on Jun 20, 2013 by Sally
Rating: 5  
We opted for Disney all star music resort for a great stay , it indeed would have been but didn't turned out that way. The reason being...their AC ..aging AC I guess. It just wouldn't cool our room, tht too after coming back tired from parks, you expect the room to be cool , but it wasn't and even if we changed the settings the temp stayed at 76 F...on hot and humid nights. We couldn't get proper sleep. Moreover even after complaining they just changed the filter at 11.30 pm. On second day we complained again around 1Am and they asked what we wanted ,wait or transfer to another room in the middle of night. We asked them to attend the problem the next day but again there were no signs of this happening ..we came fom MK at 1 am and were just so tired and frustrated. The reason why I am stressing on the AC , is bcos we all need good sleep to enjoy the park next day early morning, that didn't happen. I would suggest you check in at day time and stay in your room for an hour or two and if your room has problem report it immediately or get it changed.
"Feel The Disney Magic Without Breaking The Bank"
Reviewed on May 29, 2013 by WDWVolFan
Rating: 10  
So you're going to Disney and you're looking to keep it within the budget...that sometimes can be hard to do. Maybe you're afraid that if you go to a Value Hotel you and your family will not get to experience all the Magic. My family and I went last year and we stayed at the All Start Movies Resort. The main building is very cool, starting with a little TV viewing area for the kids to watch while you're checking in. When you enter you're welcomed by the staff and they make it feel magical! The rooms are like your standard room at a value resort with the exception that the beds are comfortable, furniture is clean, carpet is perfect, you have a fridge, table and chairs, decent sized bathroom. Look, I LOVE Walt Disney World but I'll try to keep the costs as low as possible. I'm CHEAP too. The way I see it, I just need a hotel to hang out by the pool, a comfortable bed, A/C, TV and a shower. This place does all that and it gives you a nice pool for the kids! The pool is big and my son loved it. They have a nice Arcade that looks a lot like the Arcade in the movie "Wreck It Ralph" and they have a food court with good options too. We had a delicious meatball sub there. You can park your car and just take the buses to the park. The fridge is big enough that you can bring food to have breakfast in the room if you so wish. That's what we did. Oh they also have free wi-fi, which was a very nice bonus. Look, don't expect the Ritz Carlton just because it's Disney. If you show up expecting a Courtyard or Hampton Inn, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Part of my fond memories is the hotel itself and seeing my son swimming toward Mickey (Wizard Mickey is at the end of the pool spraying water). If you want to keep it cheap, this is a good way to do it. If you need to cut costs to have a Disney vacation, it's OK to step down to this hotel. After all, you'll be at the parks all day right? ;-) ENJOY!
"Great for kids and adults"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2011 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love All-Star Movies is great place for any age and i can't wait to stay in the Fantasia theme! I can't wait for Dec 2011 to come! I will enjoy it!
"Kids Had a BLAST"
Reviewed on Jun 14, 2011 by IRTSTARS
Rating: 9  
Wonderful atmosphere and service! The kids truly found the Disney Magic at this resort.

As an adult on the trip, I chose this resort to save money and I will tell you what, after staying at some of the higher end resorts... I didn't find that big of a difference as far as overall enjoyment staying at the Value Level resort!
"Kids Had a BLAST"
Reviewed on Jun 14, 2011 by IRTSTARS
Rating: 9  
Wonderful atmosphere and service! The kids truly found the Disney Magic at this resort.

As an adult on the trip, I chose this resort to save money and I will tell you what, after staying at some of the higher end resorts... I didn't find that big of a difference as far as overall enjoyment staying at the Value Level resort!
"Great theme"
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2011 by ladycameron
Rating: 5  
I thought the theme for this resort was great. However i wouldn't recommend staying here if relying on disney tranportation to get you where you need to go. We waited almost an hour for the Magic Kingdom Bus one morning and were late for rope drop and we were told there would be early bus's for people that had early morning breakfast reservations. We had reservation at 7:40 and went to wait for a bus at 6:30 but nothing came until 7:30 so we were really late for our reservations. Plus when leaving a park they make a stop at ASMusic and Sports first so your the last to get off. Probably won't stay at this resort again.
"Great Theming"
Reviewed on Dec 21, 2010 by twizzy17
Rating: 9  
We got everything we expected and more from ASM. The buses were prompt and not overcrowded. The theming at the hotel will not disappoint anyone with children. I definitely recommend getting a preferred room like we did bc by the end of the day, you will not want that long walk back to your room. Food court was fantastic and has something for everyone. Can't wait to be back June 2011!
"Best All Star resort"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2010 by Lacey1024
Rating: 10  
My husband and I have stayed at all the All-Star resorts and this one is by far the best of all. We are returning for our fifth time in 2011 and have chosen the All Star Movies as our resort.
"I love All-Star Movies!"
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2010 by 
Rating: 10  
I love All-Star Movies! The Mighty ducks theme is awesome! and we can't hardly wait to stay in this hotel again for December 2010! and Might be preferred room of Fantasia! That will be cool and nice!
"We love the Movies!!"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2010 by DugFan1
Rating: 10  
My wife and daughter and I love the All Star Movies resort. Web took our daughter to WDW for the first time last year and she not only still talks about the theme parks, but she comments on how much she liked the hotel too. Before she was born, my wife and I stayed here 2 other times. We tried the All Star Music and Pop Century resorts, but they just don't capture the magic like movies does. Besides, we sleep at the hotel and spend most of our time in the parks, but when we return to "The World", we ALWAYS come back to All Star movies.
"never again"
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2010 by EvilQueen-T
Rating: 2  
stayed two days in april 2010. room looked like it hadn't been updated since the place opened. front of dresser multiple large nicks/chunks missing, one drawer hung very obviously crooked. big hole in top center of bedspread showing white fluffy stuff underneath. bathroom not real clean. multiple stains on carpet. the hotel was the farthest value resort away from the parks and last on the bus line. the price is what i needed but it was like being in dirty disney...yuck. we got the room with florida discount making it like 75$ a night and it was exactly what you'd expect from a room that's 75$ a night.
"Could be better...but ok for $$"
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2010 by 
Rating: 5  
THE BAD- No pool towels...no spa pools (just pools)...rooms are really small...aging, small television with limited cable...bathroom light that has a noisy fan when turned on...hard beds...room could be cleaner..only "double" sized beds...interiors showing wear and tear...overpriced food at food court...A/C kind of noisy...can be far to walk to the lobby/gift shop...bus pick up area needs to be covered...
THE GOOD- Bus system to take you most anywhere in Disney for free...grounds are well kept...the outside of the buildings seemed to be well kept and clean...kids will love the themed buildings...service was reasonable...it was quiet at night when we stayed...the huge pools will keep kids playing...one is able to park a car reasonably close to your building (we rented a car and rode the bus system)...

The resort is ok for the price we payed. We have stayed at much worse places than the All Star Movies Resort although if I were a Disney manager, I wouldn't want people calling one of the resorts a "Motel 6 within Disneyworld".
"hot hot hot"
Reviewed on Apr 08, 2010 by nclawdog
Rating: 1  
the place is ok for just a place to lay your head..our room was clean....our ac stopped working at 800 pm and we called the desk,,,,we went to sleep later with no ac....... the maintence worker woke us up sometime after 1100pm.......as soon as i got to the door he was gone....not impressed
"Great WDW value resort"
Reviewed on Oct 16, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
Our Family Can't wait to stay in ASMO! Because it's my favorite Value Resort in WDW! The Food Courts and shops looks very neat and clean! Theme of all of classic disney films that you will like! I hope our family will take Fantasia or The Love Bug! Those are my favorite disney films! Our Family Can't wait in November!
"A very nice WDW resort"
Reviewed on Sep 20, 2009 by SunsetGrill7
Rating: 9  
The nicest of the 3 All Stars(they're all nice), it has excellent a great set up and wonderful decorations. Giant Disney characters are wonderful for family picture taking and every detail is very well kept. Pools are great, as is taking a stroll around the whole resort for sight seeing. It is rather large and if your room is far from check in, it can be a bit of a walk to the food court and buses. Of course, these are the most quiet areas. All walking is outside, as the resort is set up simliar to most basic hotels.

If scooters are common, you can't blame the bus system for being slow. If it's a popular time of year, of course things are going to be crowded (buses, food court, lobby, etc.), which is not something that can be blamed on the resort.

After POP Century, this is definitely my favorite budget resort.
"Great for kids, and budget"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2009 by wtrmlnlabs
Rating: 8  
There is nothing better than arriving at 2am and seeing your sleeping boys eyes when he wakes up in the Toy Story hotels courtyard to see a gigantic Buzz Lightyear! This was the highlight of our trip, it was amazing. We spend all our time at the parks so just need a place to sleep and this is perfect. Well, for the price we need to be able to go to Disney. The rooms are small, it's a tight squeeze, but it's all we need. The only thing we had problems with was the service. Always going during less busy times I see no excuse. Waiting an hour at 11pm for them to come take care of the fact our door wouldn't unlock was very upsetting, esp after being told on the second call that no one knew about it, it was apparently not reported to the proper channels. They're not overly friendly, we don't get the nice little "plus" touches from housekeeping, no matter what we tip them... but for the price and our needs it continues to be our choice of stay at Disney and I'd recommend it to anyone.
"Great Value"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2009 by jgvc41
Rating: 9  
The All-Star resorts are a great value. My wife and I spend most of our time in the actual parks, so we do not need a luxury room. We love the convenience that all the All-Star resorts have to offer. All-Star Movies is pretty cool in itself. It has awesome movie memorabilia too look at. If you are a Disney fan and you don't need luxury to have a great vacation then this is a great hotel!
"Great Place for Familys"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by JessicaB
Rating: 9  
My son and I always stay at the value resorts and ASM is by far our favorite. The rooms are clean and a nice size for the two of us. The food court has a nice varity that will apeal to everyone in your party. Overall a great place for those on a budget.
"awesome Value Resort!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
All-Star Movies are awesome to stay! and we can't wait to stay in ASMO for my birthday on January 14, 2010! And we hope to stay in Preferred room like my favorite room is Fantasia! We think to take the fantasia! and the food courts and Donald's double feature is good to window shop and eat in the food courts! We will love to stay in ASMO!
"GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by disneytati
Rating: 10  
I stayed there with my family two years ago, and just loved the experience! The room was nice and clean, service was great, transportation was efficient. We loved it!!!
"Best Deal hands down!"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by 
Rating: 10  
I've stayed at all 3 of the AllStar Resorts probably 50 or more times and I'm not being generous. For the $ you pay a night you can not complain at all. The rooms are standard rooms very clean and arent' much different then a moderate resort or even some of the deluxe resorts standard rooms either. The atmosphere is awesome,clean fun and the kids love it. You do not spend much time in the rooms and mostly even the resorts, so for a Florida Resident paying between $49-$69 a night is fantastic. Yeah sometimes you stand for a little bit for a bus (15-20)mins but if the resort is crowded then your waiting no matter where you stay. But for the price it's worth it by a landslide. The food court is fantastic a wide variety like a malls food court, the pool is huge and heated so where can you go wrong. If people keep complaining about rooms sizes and better food then go ahead and spend $350- $800 a night at a deluxe 1 or 2 bedroom resort. I'll sepnd $59 at Allstar any day and have enough $ to spend at the parks later. People stop complaining and have a good time your on vacation!!!


Craig- Tarpon Springs Fl
"Excellent value"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by 
Rating: 10  
Although it is nice to stay in a posh resort sometimes, at Disney World there is so much to do that you spend very little time in your room. Isn't that the whole point? I'd rather have the money it would cost for frills to spend in the parks. I like how the resort is setup with kids in mind. We stayed in the Toy Story building and I loved the huge Buzz Lightyear and Woody in the court yard as much as my Granddaughters did. The swimming pool with Mickey the Sorcerer was awesome. Having a food court with a variety of choices is a relief when you have children. We found the food to be very good, quick and reasonably priced. It was fantastic for breakfast in the morning so we weren't wasting time in a restaurant waiting to be served and could get to the parks when they opened.
I can't wait for our next trip to Disney World and our stay will either be in Pop Century or All Star Movies again.
"Good place to rest your head...not much else"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2009 by dreamitdoit
Rating: 3  
In life, you generally get what you pay for. At Disney's All Star Movies, the rule applies more so than ever before.

They make no attempt to mask the kind of hotel at which you will be staying. It is listed as a Value Resort.

The Service is still Disney Service...but done by fewer people with absolutely no intention on making you their first priority. When there are over 1000 rooms and the place is booked...you feel the pinch when asking for anything to get done. Our bags weren't delivered when they were supposed to, rooms were switched, keys didn't work...problems that weren't huge enough to ruin a trip...but problems nonetheless. Everything was resolved and I always felt like I was being cared for.

The food court was mediocre...but no different than any quick service spots in the park. It was doable.

Waiting for buses back to the Resort at night at park closing was a MESS. Especially coming back from Downtown Disney...there were far more people in need of transportation than they were prepared to provide...

All in all, it was a place to rest your head between days in the parks...so it served its purpose. Just know that you will be getting what you pay for...
"DAS Movies"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by redsoxnation
Rating: 5  
My family and I stayed at this resort some time ago, however our stay was very undesireable. There were, literally hundreds of tour group kids that seemed to move about the resort unsupervised. On 3 occassions I had to call the front desk. On one occassion I went to the front desk to complain. Staff was fantastic. The resort is a fun place to stay. The food court can be extremely hectic, so plan accordingly. the resort is clean, the pools are relaxing. If you can afford to stay at a moderate, do it. But, if you can only stay at a value, then be warry. Request rooms away from tour groups. The walk is well worth the hassle of being awakened at 1 or 2 am by yelling or screaming kids.
All in all, you get the Disney experience.
"All Star Movies"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by 
Rating: 8  
Before PopCentury opened up we would only stay at All Star Movies. ASM was our favorite of the three All Star Resorts. The theme is just great and though the rooms are a wee bit small, it is for sleeping and resting anyways. That was our philosophy. Now for larger families would recommend either another room adjacent or be prepared for being cramped.

The bus system back when we were going wasn't too bad except of course during peak time and the buses would go to all three. There were times leaving MK we would wait over an 1 1/2 hrs. So staying at the All Star Resorts have the downfalls but the Movies is the best.
"Kids loved it - Parents didn't"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by Gator
Rating: 5  
The shuttle from MCO was slow, as we had to drop off everyone at Sports and Music first. When we got there, the lobby was underwhelming compared to the moderates I've stayed at before.

The rooms were VERY small. It was hard to fit the stroller through the doors and past the bed. That being said, the rooms were decorated in Dalmatians, which the kids loved. Also, it was easy to get the kids to leave the park when we told them we were going to see the giant dalmatian at the hotel. And giant it was - at least 30 foot tall. The kids loved it. The food court was as busy as any counter service at the parks, so no suprsie there. It had a good selection of food.

The bus service was not good at all. We didn't have to share with the other AllStars, but all the buses were slow in getting there. Also, it seems the AllStars were loaded with moto-scooters...which got to board first regardless of when the showed up. The rider and all 10 of their family guests got all the prime seats. Disney really needs to fix this problem.

Overall, it's still a Disney resort, so it was good. The kids LOVED it, but it's at the bottom of this adult's list.
"Not as nice as POP"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by Bob Parr
Rating: 4  
The theme is excellent. The rooms were average. The food court was ALWAYS overcrowded. The bus situation (in '07 anyways) was terrible. That being said it's still better than music or sports, but POP beats all three hands down. If POP (our favorite) was full I'd have to reluctantly upgrade rather than stay at any All Star resort.
"More Life Than Some Other Resorts"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by rickloe
Rating: 8  
It's hard to beat the All Star Movies resort for the price. Compared to the more expensive resorts, the resort delivers the goods in theme, cleanliness, and the service the cast members provide. While I enjoy the more expensive resorts, it's always the value resorts that seem to be more alive. I don't know if it's all the kids playing or the larger than life decor, but there's definitely more feeling at the All Star Movies.
"Great for small families, young children"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by disneynut4u
Rating: 9  
The theming at this resort was extremely fun. The larger than life icons were adorable. It has a fun atmosphere that excites the young children. As a parent, the ONLY drawback I did not like was the bus situation. At the time of year we went, we shared a bus with AllStar Sports and Music. Movies was the last to get on and last to get off. Being the last to get on the bus, the bus would already be packed by the time it got to AllStar Movies. This was a minor point for us, but for others, it could be a big set back.
"A Great Place to be with Kids"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by 
Rating: 8  
We stayed at ASMo during our first two visits to WDW (2005 and 2007) when our daughters were young. Overall, this resort met our expectations and provided a great introduction to the accommodations offered on Disney property. It was great to be emersed in Disney with children! This resort is geared for families with kids and meets those needs very well.

I never performed a white glove test, but always found the rooms to be clean, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere perfect for our children. With two daughters, ASMo was a logical choice for our Value Resort stay--Sports didn't work for them, and Music wouldn't captivate them. The bigger-than-life characters on the grounds really made them smile! Yes, the bus rides can be longer, but I'd challenge anyone to get "home" to an off-site hotel any faster. We loved the theming, and truly enjoyed both visits. Given the limited time we actually spent in the room, ASMo was the right choice for us. We learned a lot on our first visit, and made even better plans and arrangments on our second trip.

As our daughters have gotten older, we decided to move up to a Moderate (POR) this last trip (Aug 2009) in order to have a little more elbow room. This was another wonderful choice for us!
"Clean rooms but not my favorite place to stay at WDW"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by DoomBuggy73
Rating: 6  
Haven't stayed there since '06 but the rooms were VERY clean. It was a little noisy though. We were in the Toy Story bldg and that seemed like a hike to bus stop and main bldg so wouldn't have wanted to stay in Fantasia or Dalmations. Pool was nice and food OK but the food court was always crowded and unless we got to the bus stop at an 'off' time there was a considerable wait both too and from the parks. Plus, you have to share them with Music and Sports. Like Pop Century a lot better!!
"A very strange first time."
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by Ancalimei
Rating: 4  
I went to disney world for the first time ever last year, and stayed at the all-star movies resort... While it was decent as far as room size is concerned, I was a little disappointed at how few busses ran from parks to that particular hotel. On a number of occasions my friend and I would be waiting to return to the hotel from a park and many "Sports and music" Busses would pass, most of them empty, while we waited for a movies bus with many, many others.. I suppose that's the way all the all star resorts are, though.. On top of that, on our last night, the power in the ENTIRE Fantasia broomstick building, which was our building, went out, and could not be restored.. This was particularly bad because we needed the light to pack.. It took a long time, and a lot of lugging of heavy luggage, but we did thankfully get issued a new room.. Still, I suppose the stay was decent enough.
"Great photo opportunities but too far away from the parks."
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by fishwicks
Rating: 8  
We stayed at the All Star Movies resort in February of 2009. This is an awesome resort with great photo opportunities all around the resort. The restaurant was awesome, as was the staff at the front desk. Just like the rest of the Disney resorts, the bus service to and from the parks was great. The one downside of this resort, is the distance from all of the parks. It seems like you pass every theme park, and every other resort, as well as Downtown Disney on the way back to All Star Movies. The mousecleaning staff took care of the every day stuff very well, but we found that they don't like to clean behind the furniture, or under the furniture. As I was looking under the bed, just prior to our departure, for anything that we may have dropped through the week, I found what appeared to be a year's worth of dirt and dust. It was the same way behind the furniture. All in all, I would stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great bargain. Just check the cleanliness when you check in.
"Too crowded"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by JMagicFink
Rating: 4  
We stayed in the Fantasia/Sorcerer's Apprentice area of the resort. The theming is a lot of fun and the hotel rooms are very cheap. However, the rooms are very simple. No bells or whistles here! Themed bed spreads and a border below the ceiling is about as fancy as it gets. The Fantasia pool was big, but very basic with just a few jets of water. The cafeteria was always extremely busy. We attempted to have breakfast one morning and had a horrible time waiting in line, only to have to wait for a table after we got our food. The food was good, but just way too crowded. The moderate and deluxe resorts have better dining options that are not even close to this crowded. There are a lot of hotel rooms, so a lot of people are packed into this resort. Nights tend to be noisy with kids running around. The buses are always full, so get ready for standing room only when it's time to travel to the parks.

If you are doing Disney on a very strict budget, then All Star Movies is a good choice. However, you get what you pay for! I highly recommend spending just a little more to stay in one of the wonderful moderate resorts.
"All Star Movies"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by karl1974
Rating: 8  
Cheap , Cheerful and good value.
"It puts a roof over your head"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by nate_rivers
Rating: 5  
The All Star Movies Resort isnt all that bad. It gives you a place to sleep for a good price. The pools arent all that bad, either. If you have kids, the area is a good place to tire kids out.
"Not good"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by car4911
Rating: 1  
I stayed here a few years ago. Way to many children running around. The busses were few and far between. I really had a very bad time. I know most people might reading this may say hey he must be hard to please but actually i'm the opposite. Pay the extra few dollars a night and stay at Port Orleans its awesome.
"good for price, better than other 2 All Stars"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by pescador1f
Rating: 9  
I like it better than other 2, newer and better theme, feels more like Disney. Last bus stop does not help, maybe they changed since I was last there in 2005, but it does make a difference.
"Perfect for a "value" resort "
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by 
Rating: 7  
My family and I stayed at the All Star Movies resort for two nights this past April 2009 in the Buzz Lightyear building. My wife and I have three children ages 7, 8, 14 so finding a resort that the kids enjoy is paramount. We have stayed in every moderate resort as well as the Boardwalk (twice) and Saratoga Springs. Matter of fact, we had stayed in the Coronado for 5 nights prior to switching over to All Star as we wanted to extend the vacation.

This was our first value resort stay in the 8 years we have been coming and were pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival my family and I enjoyed the outward appearance of the resort. Although some may think the appearance to be tacky, we thought it was fun. We had a lot of fun walking the grounds as the kids pointed out the various disney characters that were present at every turn of the head. The grounds were clean and well kept.

The room is what we expected from a value resort. The size and layout is exactly that of any other motel that we've ever stayed out. The only difference was the disney decor throughout. The room was clean and absent any odors. Rooms are not that important to my family and I as we only use them to sleep and get changed as we are constantly on the move (parks, recreation, swimming, etc). So the room was fine.

The swimming pool(s)were fun. We decided to walk around all the value resorts and stop at each main theme pool. The main difference between the All Star pools and that of the moderate and deluxe resorts we stayed out were the absence of water slides. This didn't represent a problem to my wife and I but the kids noticed it immediately and were not overly enthused. Nonetheless they had fun swimming and splashing around.

The food was fine, again for a value resort. It's the same as any other "cafeteria" stop at the other resorts.

Without question, the main difference between the All Star (value) resorts and the moderates and deluxe's (besides the food options, recreatonal activities and main theme pools)was the amount and types of people present. We noticed that the All Star was full of families and children. We also noticed that there were several sports teams staying throughout. Obviously the value price of these resorts attract young families, clubs and sporting teams. Because of this the atmosphere tended to be much more hectic and noisier than the moderate and deluxe resorts.

My family and I would stay at the All Star Movies Resort again in a heartbeat. The only caveat being we would not stay longer than two nights. If you can afford the extra $50-$75 a night (sometimes less or more) a moderate resort commands I would definately suggest staying there. The grounds, the recreational activities and food options are well worth the extra money. However, if you must save money for your trip I would highly recommend the All Star Movies resort.
"Wonderful Hotel and a Great Experience"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by BamaTigger
Rating: 9  
After being cautioned by others that the All-Stars were rough with crowds, I found that it wasn't bad at all - especially during the holidays (Thanksgiving). My 6 year old loved The Dalmation rooms that my family had booked and we were well pleased with the layout of the resort. The selections in the food court were good and the staff were very pleasant. While the crowds at the bus lines were very heavy especially near the end of the week at Thanksgiving, the staff did quite well in calling in extra buses sometimes to alleviate the crowd. We were all well pleased with our stay and would definetly recommend the All-Star Movies!
"Good Value, and cute for the little ones"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2009 by carnini
Rating: 8  
I am posting a review that me and my wife posted from our march 2007 trip to all star resort. We go to disney 2 times a year, and half the time stay at all star.

All Star Resorts are a good place to stay if you would like to be close to the parks and want a decent value. There are buses that leave to the different Disney parks and Downtown Disney every few minutes, therefore you don't need a car. The rooms are clean and there is a big cafeteria to eat, a bar to drink at, laundry facilities, an arcade and swimming pools. It's a great place for families to stay at. Keep in mind when staying here that this is a value resort so you are not going to get “top of the line” anything. But it really is a decent and convenient place to stay. Another great feature that All Star resorts offer is Magical Express transportation, which picks you up and drops you off at the airport.

One complaint we have during our stay at the All Star Movie resort in early March this year was that someone had left a tray of food outside their door near us on the first day we were there, and it was nearly 3 days before housekeeping finally disposed of it. Kind of gross, but surprising because usually their services are highly efficient and our rooms are always clean.

I would say from the 2 times we stayed at pop, the busses to all star are better. The advantage, take any of the busses and walk a little.
In summary, stay here if you want value and convenience; don't stay here if you want to be pampered.
"love it"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by stmize
Rating: 8  
we have stayed at Asmo's several times. Our kids enjoy the theme more so than the other value resorts.. Last year we were able to upgrade to a mod but did a room only the night before at asmo's. The grounds are nice and the food court offers a variety of foods.
"Disney All Star Movies...best theming of all the All Stars"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by 
Rating: 7  
I have stayed at 2 value resorts, All Star Music and All Star Movies. I enjoyed the theming best at the Movies. I thought the overall atmosphere was much more "disney-like" which makes sense since that is Disney's business...movies. However, I didn't like that the Movies is furthest away. I think we were the last bus stop on that road all the All-Stars are on. Personally, I choose to spend more money and stay at a moderate or deluxe mostly for convenience, atmosphere and location (closer to the parks). But if you are on a budget, value is definitely the way to go. My family is probably going to be on a tighter budget for our 2010 trip and we are considering staying at a value resort and we already know it will be "movies" since we enjoyed the theming and look there the best. When we stayed at "Music" we had giant cowboy boots outside our building and it didn't feel very "Disney"!..."Movies" just had great ambiance and theming that made us feel DISNEY-ish everyday, but again the locaiton wasn't the greatest. I would recommend Movies over Music or Sports !
"We love Disney's All Star Movies Resort"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by disney101996
Rating: 10  
We have stayed at the All Star Movies 8 times now and have stayed in every building there. We enjoy the food and the pools. The kids are very familiar with the resort too and they love the theming. It is a great place to go is you have children. The staff is great there too. Always seem to see the same faces there. It is a great family resort.
"Basic rooms and pools but a good place to stay overall"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by Lunamis
Rating: 6  
We stayed at the All-Star movies for 7 nights at the end of this past July in the 101 Dalmatians section. It's a decent resort with an adequate food court, basic pool and basic rooms. We did get cute towel animals from the maid staff and the front desk staff was very helpful when we needed medication delivered to the resort.
The rooms are indeed small but not really much smaller than other deluxe resorts I've stayed at.
The only complaint I really have is the distance this resort is from everything else. Bus rides took forever and were extremely crowded and inconsistent! Now, this may be the case for all the buses but we really had a hard time getting around on a few occasions.
I think I like Music a little better than this resort but for the price, it is a pretty good place to stay.
"Clean, simple, basic"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by DisLuver
Rating: 6  
We stayed there about 8 months ago for a couple of nights for a short layover that included a stop at Disney. We stayed in the Mighty Ducks section on the first floor. I found parking (since we had a car) to be rather convenient. I’m glad we did have a car because the bus stops were always mobbed with people. Disney's All Star Movies Resort is a basic resort. Check-in was quick and efficient, even though there were several people in line in front of us. I found the theming to be minimal, but very in-your-face Disney. The room itself is very plain and quite small, but it does the job. It is clean and the service is OK. You have a bed and a place to shower. It really reminds me of a dorm room with the motel 8 layout. The food court was simple, but no different than any other food court. The gift shop was actually better than the ones at the deluxe resorts we normally stay at. The resort itself seemed to be very far from the parks.

I wasn’t unhappy with my stay there, but I don’t think I’d stay there again. If I were watching my pennies, I’d stay offsite before staying at another value resort. For the same amount of money, I could stay offsite and have a much nicer and bigger room with roughly the same distance from the parks.
"I'd gladly stay there again "
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by Charlie Pips
Rating: 9  
I was there in mid-May and would gladly return to the resort. We were in the Toy Story portion of the resort and found ourselves spending a good deal of time simply exploring the resort after we arrived. There were some great photo opportunities amongst all of Andy's toys that were strewn about.

The room was very comfortable. I enjoyed everything from the lamps on the walls to the bedspreads. We also very much enjoyed coming home each night to walk past the windows of everyone else's rooms to see what scene the housekeeping staff had arranged for everyone to view (using plush toys, towels, etc.)

The food court was decent. We ate there several times late in the evening so the crowds weren't bad at all. We did observe several magical moments while dining. Kids were selected to be a chef and would assist the cast by making ice cream sundaes.

We did frequently wait for 15+ minutes for the busses to run, but given that we didn't have a car and this was free, we didn't mind waiting. We also had some great impromptu conversations with other guests while we waited.

The only reason I would not go back is if I choose to stay in one of the Epcot resorts within walking distance.
"Good, But could be better."
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by 
Rating: 6  
I stayed there with DW back in 2005, so some things may have gotten better. The first issue was (and many others feel the same) the sharing of the buses. Some people don't mind sharing, but at the end of a long Disney day, the last thing you want to do is make 2 stops before you actually make it back to your hotel.

The second issue was...and this may just be perception but it just seemed further away than any other place we've stayed on property.
You always passed CS you always passed the big McDonalds, to get anywhere.

Now for the good.
Price was good, for being on property.

Like the food court. Liked the theming. Everything else was to be expected for the price. I just think for the same price there is another resort that seems better.

We didn't use the pool, so I can't offer an opinion on that.


If we had to, I would stay there again.
"Disney on a budget"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by 
Rating: 8  
My sister and I stayed there in 2003. We liked it. The food court provided many food options and the refillable mug is a great conveince. The rooms were clean and housekeeping left plenty of towels. My only complaint was the bus situation. The buses were always crowed and seemed to take a long time to arrive. In all fairness though this was 6 years ago, the problems may have been fixed. When I went in Mar.2009 we stayed at the Pop century.
"good place to stay if POP is full"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by 
Rating: 7  
I have stayed at the ASMovies 3 times over the years and have had nothing but good visits there. It is a nice value hotel, laid out very well, with ok size rooms for what you are paying. The food court is great and a fun place to visit with plenty to choose from. This was the last of the All Star resorts built so it has the same feel as the other two, but it took the best from the first two and expanded upon it.

The only down side to the hotel would have to be the bus system, just like some of the other hotels that are all in a cluster, these 3 hotels can share a bus if it is during the mid day and some times at night. ASMovies being the last in the run can get a bus that is already 3/4 full pulling up to a line that would fill a normal bus. It does seem they have attempted to cut down on the sharing of the bus in the evening, but I have waited at MK for 3-4 buses because all they say is All-Star Resorts so everyone is getting on one bus to go to all 3.

Until POP Century came around ASMovies was my first choice because of the price, why spend a lot money on a room you only spend a few hours in? If POP is full and you are looking to go on the inexpensive side then I would say go with ASMovies!
"Lots of Pros but a few Cons too..."
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by 
Rating: 7  
The AS Movie resort is my favorite out of all the Value resorts. It always seems to be the least crowded and it is the newest. The rooms aren't anything special, but none of the Value resort rooms are. The over-the-top movie theme is great of course. I really like the 101 Dalmation section.

As with all of the Value resorts, the sound proofing is seriously lacking here. If you have stayed at another Value before, you know what to expect. It doesn't really bother me anymore, but light sleepers might find the extraneous noise from other guests unbearable.

My other main issue with the resort is bus transportation. Movies is always the third stop on the bus shared with Sports and Music. It generally means full buses going anywhere and being the last one off coming back from the parks. During busier times of the year you can get lucky they will run separate buses for each resort at peak time. It is very hit or miss though.

All in all, I would recommend the resort to anyone who is looking to save some money and views their room as just a place to sleep. If you are looking for extensive resort amenities and a luxurious room, look to the Deluxe resorts.
"Hotel nice, guests leave something to be desired"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by zero creativity
Rating: 5  
We stayed there in August 2006, in one of the busier time periods. We were trying to save a little bit of money. The hotel was fine, my daughter was 16 mos at the time and enjoyed it. The CMs and the rest of the staff were very helpful. The food court is what you would expect from any food court, quick fast foodish type of food. The only complaint we had was about the other guests. Compared to the moderate and deluxe resorts there seemed to be a lot more unsupervised children, rude teenagers and neglectful parents. We had a family fighting in the room next to us almost every night we were there and had to call the front desk to complain. Security responded quickly and took care of the problem. Overall I had no problem with the hotel itself just the guests that were there. In my opinion, if you can afford the extra money bump up to a moderate for a more relaxing trip.
"good value but thats all"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by mrbillonooo
Rating: 2  
The price is right but after that it goes down hill fast. The beds are uncomfortable, bus lines are long, food is below average, one main pool thats over crowded, rooms are very small for 2 adults and older teenagers. Don't do it unless you are on a tight budget and HAVE to stay on property. There are many spots offsite that are the same price or less and much, much better!!
"Good experiences"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by spaceghost
Rating: 8  
We've stayed at the resort twice now, once in 1999 and again in 2007. In both cases we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and well maintained. All of our experiences with staff were excellent. The theming is a bit over the top, but that is kind of the point. Out of the three All-Star resorts, we ended up picking the Movies resort again in 2007 because the characters/movies were more what our then 4 y/o would be familiar with. The dining court has a variety of options for various tastes, although the fare is definitely of the quick-service type. All-in-all, I would recommend the resort, if it fits into your price point for staying on site. You can definitely save money and stay in comparable accommodations off-site, but that wouldn't be part of the magic, would it? We are looking forward to upgrading to a moderate resort on our next trip, for the larger rooms and more sophisticated theming.
"Comfy"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by prbiker15
Rating: 9  
I stayed there in December 2003, and yeah I actually liked it. It's close to the parks, really comfy, and something the family can have fun in.
"good and bad"
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2009 by hockeychick530
Rating: 8  
This is my favorite themed of the three all star resorts but it is always the most crowded.
"Terrible Stay"
Reviewed on Jun 16, 2009 by russelljk74
Rating: 3  
The buses for the All-Star movies were awful came every 45 minutes to the parks. Had to share with other all-star resorts so we were the last stop. Very over crowded.
"Awesome Place to Stay"
Reviewed on Jun 12, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I can't wait to stay in the All-Star Movies in January 14,2010! This will be awesome! I love Disney Movies including Fantasia! I hope to stay in the Fantasia room!
"Great Stay!"
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2009 by FireChiefGoofy
Rating: 10  
We stayed here in October 2008 for our Honeymoon. I know, not much romance, but it was within our budget. We stayed in a preferred room that close to the main building. We loved the simple accomodations and the main swimming pool. Our room was in the Fantasia Building with one king bed and a mini fridge. After a long day at the parks the first day, we were greeted by baloons and an autographed picture from Mickey and Minnie congratulating us on our Honeymoon. After that, Mousekeeping would leave something different in our room made from towels (we took everything home). The staff was great and answered every question we had. We drove our car down from Delaware, so we did not use the hotel transportation, however, the buses appeared to come fairly quickly. The food court had a very good selection of items. We would definately stay here again and plan to return at the end of 2009 (if the economy allows us).

Lots of kids having a great Disney experience while we were there. Absolutely recommend to anyone wanting to go to Disney on a budget!
"All Star Movies"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 7  
Stayed here on our most recent trip, the price was good and we figured it was only a place to sleep and we wouldn't spend that much time at the hotel this trip. The main building was very nice, the food court had decent food, the gift shop and arcade were pretty nice and the pools were nice. The huge characters on the outside of the rooms were great also. The rooms were where this resort really lacked, they were very small and the beds weren't that comfortable. The rooms were pretty clean and the housekeeping staff seemed very friendly. This wouldn't be my first choice for staying at on property, but for the value it's good.
"Nice Stay"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 8  
Our room was clean. We were at the back of the resort so it was quiet. Overall cleanliness was good. Pool water was ice cold. Cafe was nice, as was the food. CM's were freindly and helpful.

Seemed to be quite a bit of dust coming from the HVAC, though, as DD would wake up stuffy every morning due to her allergies.

Didn't like some of the long waits for the busses, being the last resort they stopped at. Also didn't like having to be the last resort stop at the end of the night, either.
"Good but Small"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2008 by RandyHNC
Rating: 8  
Movies is a good place, just prepare yourself for a very small room, especially the bathroom. I would give the bathroom a 6.

The pool is great. Food court and shops are also great. The large icons around the resort were very, very popular with my daughters aged 6 and 8 at the time we went.
"value"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great budget hotel with all the disney ammenties, rooms are small, but you really dont spend much time in your room now do you
i must say the bathrooms are small and hard to move in and out of the tub
great props from all the disney movies, also nice pool area and food court
"you get what you pay for..."
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2008 by drewchyi
Rating: 4  
this was our first time at the AllStar Movies. Checking in was fast. the room itself was very small but good enough for our party of 3. We've always stayed at a moderate or a deluxe, but we dicided to do 2 vacations this year. so we had to cut back on our hotel choice. the adminities were fair...not much more than the basics you would need. small tv, small sink, etc. the beds were very uncomfortable to sleep in. the sheets i noticed weren't changed often. my son had drew a line on the sheet with a pen...i noticed the same mark no there for the 3 days straight. also there was someone elses hair on the sheets as well. the carpet was all wet due to the fact that it had jsut been cleaned. not really big deal but annoying since i took my shoes off and ended up having wet socks. I would definitely stay at a moderate to deluxe from now on.
"Disney Movies"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2007 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love fantasia theme in the all Star Movies.
And the shops/dining are cool to.
"All Star Movies Makes a Big First Impression"
Reviewed on May 30, 2007 by Mr. Geo. Banks
Rating: 9  
We took our daughter for her first trip to Disney on her 4th birthday. We hadn't told her where we were going, and she fell asleep in the airport. The next morning she woke up to Woody and Buzz standing 30' tall in the courtyard. Wow. What a reaction!

If you like pizza, burgers and waffles, the food is acceptable, and room service can bring a pizza, some soft drinks and cold beers right to your door when your feet ache too much to walk to the restaurant. The pools are open late, so you can come back when the parks close and still get wet and play some more.

The themeing keeps you immersed in "Disney" all day and all night. The room was clean and while not spacious, was sufficient for our needs. Although buses were crowded, and the commutes to the parks were a bit long, because the same bus stopped at all three All-Star resorts (plus Coronado Springs?), they ran frequently and were fairly convenient to get to from the park exits.

The overall feel was vintage Disney. Something intangible made me recall my old Buena Vista records and the shorts they would run before feature-length movies. We have stayed off property at time-share villas, at AKL, and at All Star Movies. I believe we will choose Movies for our next trip; it's a big hit with the under-10 set!

This facility does what it is designed to do: it's a value-priced, family-oriented, convenient, fun and efficient resort that doesn't bring the curtain down on the park experience, when it is time to call it a day.

I rate it a 9/10 only for want of more frequent bus service.
"This place was fabulous!!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 10  
From the minute we got there we had nothing but an excellent time!!! Every single cast member was more than helpful and the characture guy named Jeff was fabulous with his drawings of our kids. Foodcourt was much better than we thought it would be, only crowded a couple of times but we got seats no matter what again the cast members there were great. I ended up buying into DVC at SSR and even still my kids want to do at least a couple of days there again when we go back!! I highly recommed it, we stayed there from April 12-20th and had a room in Bldg. #6 which was Herbie themed.
"Massachusetts school vacation week and All Star Movies Resort!!"
Reviewed on May 02, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 9  
Hi folks here is a long review.

My family (DW, DS-6, DD-9) and I stayed at All Star Movies from Apr 12-20 this year for spring school vacation. We had a blast there and thought the over the top theming was awesome as did my kids. We stayed in building 6 on the top floor in the Herbie building. The room was pretty small but managable and pretty much what we expected at a value resort, which was fine. This was all of our first trip ever to Disney!! We enjoyed the parks and got up and out early all week. Our room overlooked the backside and the parking lot on the reverse side of the middle open water play area with Herbie and the two halves of Herbie sticking out of the buildings. Getting the luggage up there was a chore at the start as we had a rental car, but there were elevators. The place was really quiet all week and peaceful at night when we returned from the parks. It was a 5 minute walk to the main pool area with Wizard Mickey an the pool was great, we swam in it almost every night after getting back to the resort and the water was warm. Not too crowded either which was a bonus. The food court was also excellent offering the traditional fare again that we expected. I must say that they put some garlic in the spagetti or the oil on it and it was really delicious. Thier pizzas were very good too, we had a few late night one night. My kids enjoyed their kids meals as well although my son who always wants a cheeseburger complained a little but we all shared for the most part so it really didn't matter that much. It was really crowded a couple of times but mornings mostly were when it was packed. The breakfast fare was also excellent, love those Mickey waffles smothered with strawberries lol.

I also want to throw a shout out to Jeff the charicature guy in the lobby who was excellent and really did a fabulous job drawing up my kids. Very expensive but well worth it and fun to do for my kids having everyone stare at you like a star while he draws you. The fun part was kidding with the kids while it was being done as they could not see the drawing until done. Again a great time and one of those memories to last a lifetime. Busses which were in front o fthe main check in area were very quick although packed. I think I actually sat on the way home once as I always gave up my seat to be nice to either elderly or other mothers with kids. The mousekeepers we had were also tremendous!! Every day we came back to the room and they had all their stuffed toys set up on the beds and in the windows like they were all waiting for us to come home. in addition they had a new towel animal created and added in with eth stuffed animals ever single day, one day a rabbit, another an elephant, a raggedy ann type towel doll and on and on. They even left llittle notes to the kids thanking us and wishing us a magical day gain every day. I imagine the $5 I left in an envelope for them daily helped in that manner but again if you saw the looks on my kids faces as they came back to the room every night looking to see what was made and set up for them it was well worth it. The beds sucked and I'll be honest so did the pillows lol, but I didn't have a back ache in the morning so again it was what we expected at a value resort.

Every intercation with cast members was excellent and they were always very helpful with anything we asked. The tap water in the room definately had a smell to it though. We rented the fridge for $10 a day and it was well worth it, we got a case of water at Target and always had fresh cold water ready to go when we wanted. I also was able to buy a six pack at the gift shop and put in in there as well and have a couple of cold ones each night with the wife before bed. The TV was normal and we pretty much had it on the weather channel 24x7 and a little disney channel (what else lol) for the kids getting ready in the morning. We decided to stay out of the loop all week in terms of news and were glad we did too. The one night we came back and made the mistake of turning on CNN it was all about the Virginia Tech tragedy, and quickly changed the channel. My wife and I both looked at each other and were like OMG, lets not do that again. Did I mention we did the DDP and it was well worth it. I would have to give our stay at ASM a 9 out of 10 if I had to scale it. We knew what the resort was in terms of being a value resort, it was our first trip to Disney ever, and given that can honestly say that we had the greatest time of our lives. In fact we ended up getting 4 free tickets on the plane ride home to come back, and then decided to join DVC once we got back after seeing the DVC stuff at MK on Thurs before we left. We thought the tickets were a sign lol. In fact after joining DVC and telling my kids etc they were actually disapointed and asked if we could go back to ASM again instead. So now we are planning on coming back to Disney again next April but staying at our new home resort SSR, but the wife and I have talked about maybe taking them out of school a couple days early if we can and paying cash for 2 more nights to start the trip off back at All Star Movies and then onto SSR. I imaging that is what we will end up doing if we can afford it.

So bottom line is this is a value resort, it may get crowded and noisy at times, but if you stay away from the preferred view at the fantasia buildings and save a $100 too doing that lol, you will have an excellent time. Ask for Herbie buildings #6 on the top floor if you can, we had room #9631 and would recommend it to anyone wanting to save a few bucks and having a nice quiet place to sleep at night that is convienent to everything at the main buildings. Oh and just for the record on the signs stuff lol, our room #9631 and the last 4 digits of our home phone is 6391, coincidence or fate lol? And yes I did play the number when we got back and then found out it came out in Feb. I'm staying on it though because after seeing the magic first hand on our vacation, I am now a believer that dreams do come true and there really is magic in the word, we just lived and experienced it for sure and will be coming back for more.
"Love it"
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2007 by DisneyFaNatic1
Rating: 10  
My favorite Disney resort. The food court and gift shop are convenient. The beds are comfortable. Definetely bring your kids and stay in the Toy Story rooms. The courtyard is adorable.
"You get what you pay for!"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2006 by elabron
Rating: Not rated  
Check in took forever....not enough CM\'s working the front desk for the amount of people in line. To the CM\'s credit, the natives were restless that day, and I saw 2 CMs in particular maintain their cool in the face of EXTREMELY rude guests.

Had to return to front dest on 3 different occaisions due to room keys not working.....was a looooooong walk to main hall.

Food court was adequate.

On a BIG positive, my daughter LOVED the theming and the swimming pool. The main pool was pretty crowded, though.

Rooms are TINY! We had 5 adults and 2 children in our party with 2 adjoining rooms and it still felt cramped. The beds were as hard as rocks, as were the pillows.

Apparently, we were there during \"bug mating season\". There were THOUSANDS of bugs flying around stuck together. They were EVERYWHERE and on everything!

Again, it\'s not the Polynesian , Contemporary or any other deluxe resort. But, if you are on a TIGHT budget and have small kids that would love the larger than life decor, stay at one of the All-Stars.
"Great for the money"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2006 by minnievinnie
Rating: Not rated  
For my second trip to WDW, my husband and I stayed at All Star Movies Resort because we were on a budget. We were pleased with the fun factor at this hotel.

We stayed in the Toy Story section and it was a close walk to the food court and buses. The bus service is awesome at WDW and even though these hotels are not right next to a resort, it is a quick ride to the park of your choice.

My only negative comment about this resort was the noise. We went in October and the crowds were not huge, but the hotel rooms were not insulated very well. They rooms are open the outside walk ways and we were woken up several times in the night by kids running out side our door screaming; and we were on the top floor. Very annoying. Overall it is a fun place to stay for the money.
"disney value greatness"
Reviewed on Jul 05, 2006 by hrmom26
Rating: Not rated  
i stayed here 03/2004 the kids loved the themeing the pools and the staff was very nice. i liked the food in the food court also. although you had to stop at all the other all star resorts before you get to ASMovies it wasn\'t that big a deal. i think this is the best of the vakue resorts!
"good place to stay"
Reviewed on May 22, 2006 by kev1000
Rating: Not rated  
we have just got back and it was great here it took about 10 mins to check in.
the busses was good the longest wait was about 15 mins to any of the parks but more 5 to 10 mins than the 15.
the food was ok a bit more choice would have been good.
the room was all ways clean.
we had no problems and would go back again but i need to try more than 1 resort so we are going to pop next year to give that a try.
"Affordable Disney Resort"
Reviewed on Mar 04, 2006 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
The theming is very loud and tacky and is not as nice as other Disney resorts.

The pool is nice and spacious and great for kids. But if you are an adult and want relaxation, it\'s a bad idea.

Service is almost non-existent at the value resorts. No room service, and there aren\'t any restaurants, just a caffeteria.

Value are these resorts selling point. If you don\'t care about quality and you don\'t spend a lot of time in your room or at the hotel, the Disney value resorts are great.

Facilities are rather poor in my opinion. Yes it\'s Disney, but they are only a step above staying at a run-of-the-mill motel.

Kid Friendliness is another reason to consider these resorts. They are designed to appeal to families with lots of kids.

Overall I find that the Disney value resorts are merely average. If you don\'t mind a loud and rather simple motel atmosphere they actually are good. But compared to Disney\'s other resorts they are at the bottom of the barrel.
"A sure thing"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
OK, let's get one thing straight. I have stayed in Movies three times. It's not cheap coming from London to stay at WDW and this is as cheap as it gets whilst still being at the centre of the action....but it is still expensive...just not by Disney standards. If you look past that, this resort is great. Clean, ample room, lovely pools, goo bus service (when working well of course) andreally close to Animal Kingdom, MGM and Blizzard Beach. I love the resort for its friendliness and even though you are in the cheapeast hotal in Disney, it still feels like a lot of effort has beeb made. There's a great buzz about the place and I would definitely recommend it to anyone worried about money. BUT, if you get a pay rise, try another resort. I am staying at Riverside next year...hope it's even better! ENJOY!
"Excellent Family Hotel!"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by ralz28
Rating: Not rated  
My family and I (Wife and 4 year old and a 1 year old) stayed at the All Star Movies for 3 nights and the hotel was excellent! It is themed very well for children. It was a brief walk to the food court and bus stop but nothing major. We stayed at the 101 dalmation section and the room was perfect for taking a bath and sleeping at night. If you want to stay at the hotel all day and have room, go with a moderate hotel. But if you are just looking to have a nice bed, go with the All Star Movies. The only complaint that I had was the food court service was slow, but that is nothing huge. I am looking forward to booking there again!
"A Magical Value"
Reviewed on Oct 11, 2005 by kskinders
Rating: Not rated  
This was our first experience with a Disney Resort, and we were so pleased with our accommodations. The room was great since we have a BIG little Toy Story fan. The dining area was noisy, but would please most palettes. The best part of the hotel is by far the Mousekeeping team because each day we had a new surprise for our little one by how they had arranged her toys. It was very welcoming after a long day at the parks. We would highly recommend this value to everyone with little ones.
"That's one big hat!!"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2004 by tacojbunny
Rating: Not rated  
This Disney hotel is one of our favorites!! During our last visit we stayed in the Fantasia building which I think is the best because it's closest to the main building which means closest to the trasnportations buses to the parks. And WHO doesn't love walking under the HUGE Mickey's Sorcerer Hat every morning on the way to the parks!?!? All buildings and pools have excellent themes. Really enjoyed exploring the Double Feature gift shop every morning. We have stayed at other hotels but we always seem to come back to this one -- stayed there three times. This hotel is for the family that comes to Disney World for the parks, not spas, expensive restaurants or throughing their money out the window.
"Top of the All-Stars"
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
My favorite of the All-Star Resorts. Buzz and Woddy make you feel like a toy, they are HUGE! Great theme and value. Some theme's include: Toy Story, Fantasia, Herbie: Love Bug, 101 Dalmations and others
"Great fun/great value !!!"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2002 by acohen1
Rating: Not rated  
I think this is the best place to stay with small kids. My family has stayed here 3 times and the kids just love it.
"Great Place to Stay"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
This is a wonderful hotel for the money. You get all of the Disney magic but it is less than half of some of the other hotels. My kids love it. The food court is also reasonably priced.
"Prices = College Friend"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
As a college student, I know that sometimes cash is a little hard to come by. Just think of the Ramen noodles and other cheap foods you live off in times of need. But a vacation to Walt Disney World isn't out of sight, for the All-Star Resorts have very affordable prices. I stayed at the All-Star Movies a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed it throughly. It's not as cozy as the other resorts. The giant Fantastia hat and Dalmations can get quite tacky after a while, but it's still the Disney magic that impresses you. The rooms are nice. For being Disney's cheapest resort, you couldn't tell by the rooms. Well taken care of, themed to the movies of Disney. The swimming is something in need of desperate change. I like the Fantasia Mickey spraying water out like the movie, but their is honestly nothing to the pool. The food court is just like every other food court in Disney's existence. Overpriced and half decent. I'd take a drive somewhere and check out other resorts for dining. But overall, very cheap prices, plus you can find some good discounts. Last time I went only $59 a night. Not bad at all!
"Great Resort"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great resort. I am a Toy Story fan so i love to stay at this resort. It is very kid friendly. It is also easy on your pocket. It is not expensive and you get to use the Disney transportation which is a plus.
"best value"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by blink148
Rating: Not rated  
sore its no monorail resort, but for what you pay movies is worth it, and great for little kids with its giant movie figures.
"Family Friendly!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by gjpjtj
Rating: Not rated  
The theming at the All Star Movies resort is great. The giant Woody and Buzz Lightyear, are huge hits withe the kids. The Fantasia pool, is large and fun. The food court has a nice variety of "fast food", including some pastas, and salads along with your standard burgers and fries. Definitely a good deal!
"Great for the Price!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by Fievel
Rating: Not rated  
Although the all-star resorts as a whole are the cheapest on WDW property, they deliver a lot of bang for the buck. First off: These hotels are aimed at kids. Giant statues of 101 dalmations, Buzz and Woody, The mighty ducks, and Mickey's Sorcerer's hat mark the entrance to each of the uniquely themed buildings. There are no sit-down restaurants at any of the All-Star Hotels, which is a major downside, but the quick-service cafeteria still fulfills any major meal or snack requirements. It's a matter of preference....Some people spend a lot of time at their hotel while at WDW and demand a higher standard. However, if the only thing you plan on doing at the hotel is sleeping, I still believe that this is the way to go.
Disney's All Star Movies Resort
Related News
 
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site