Yachtsman Steakhouse reviews

Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Reader rating Reader rating 8.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.3  
"Our new favorite restaurant"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2013 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 10  
We dined at Yachtsman's Steakhouse November, 2013 for the first time. In a word, Outstanding! We were on the Deluxe Dining Plan, so enjoyed several courses, and each was wonderful. We all ordered the surf and turf (5 of us) and were very pleased with our meals. We had an array of appetizers; the artisenal cheeses, shrimp cocktail, charcuterie tray, Caesar Salad and Chef's Garden Heirloom tomatoes. All were simply wonderful!! Desserts were fabulous as well. We did wait about 30 mins after our ADR time, but had drinks in the Crew's Cup Lounge. Service was excellent as well! Dinner for 5, with cocktails, was $538.00. Pricey, but a great bargain if you're using the Deluxe Dining Plan. Highly recommend this restaurant!
"Good - not great"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2013 by Trotsky
Rating: 7  
Sandy and I attended the Yachtsman Steak House on our April 15-24 2013 trip. It had been four years since our last Yachtsman visit... Ordered the 8 Oz Filet, medium rare. Steak perfectly cooked, as it was on our last visit. Good presentation, good service, good atmosphere. However - despite perfect cooking, the meat itself was a bit sub-standard. Contained gristle, and was dry, despite the sauce. I suspect Yachtsman may be experiencing the DDP Quality down-spiral: chefs are doing a great job, but raw ingredients are suffering in the quest to "save money". Would rate Yachtsman as a B- Signature... lower cost than Shula's, but poorer offerings. Would suggest Shula's as a superior alternative.
"I'm Hooked"
Reviewed on Mar 26, 2013 by PrincessNelly_NJ
Rating: 10  
Simply put, I'll be back here atleast once on every Disney vacation from now on. Our server was great, she was friendly and always willing to explain the menu if needed. Our food was cooked perfectly. A year later, it is still the best steak I've ever had. Ever!
"My FAVORITE!"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2013 by GroomerMinnie
Rating: 10  
This Steakhouse is a regular for me and DH on our trips to WDW. The steak is perfect in every way, cooked perfectly and cut to perfection and the service is great. Best Steak in Disney hands down! Great for Dad's birthday, anniversary or any celebration for adults who love steak! Give it a try you will love it!
"Holy Wow! "
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2012 by Shookie Jones
Rating: 10  
We are on the DDP. As you know this is signature dining location...and sooo worth the two dining credits. This was the best meal of our entire trip edging out a delicious meal at California Grill to take the number one spot! Our server Barry was top notch, knowledgeable and welcoming. I had the Ceaser Salad - it was unique with fresh prosciutto and light ceaser dressing. outstanding! I'm a Rib Eye man any day of the week -- but I could not turn down the Yachtsman's world famous 28 ounce Porterhouse! Wow wow wow. Cooked to perfection and dressed with garlic butter it was everything I was told it would be. The dessert was a peanut butter chocolate pretzel cake with a side of caramel ice cream. I had this with a house blended cup of coffee. Let me tell you this was an experience on to itself. Again this was our best meal of the whole trip and possibly one of the best meals of my life!
"Very good"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2012 by Megan
Rating: 8  
I'm not a huge steak person, but my husband is so I made ADR's for us for our honeymoon. I had the filet, which was amazing, and he had the NY strip that was really good too. The mac & cheese was the best I've ever had and the dessert was really good too. They brought us a plate of caramels to go with our dessert since we were on our honeymoon and they were absolutely delicious.
"Yachtsman Steakhouse review "
Reviewed on Apr 11, 2012 by bbarnett
Rating: 1  
I had ate here back in 2004 with my wife and the food and service were top notch so I made reservations for our party of 6 in February of 2012. This time we arrived on time but yet had to wait 45 minutes before they seated us, the service was just okay, the food was pathetic. I couldn't believe we were in the same restaurant to tell you the truth. We would of been much better off to go to a counter service and it would not of cost almost $400.
"If you order well done, check it before the waiter leaves...."
Reviewed on May 10, 2010 by umscheidk
Rating: 5  
We ordered filet well done and butterflied...didn't come that way. Wife could not eat it...
"Even the bread was good here."
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2009 by bolitho
Rating: 9  
While you wait they have a lounge/bar area, to keep you occupied until your table is ready.

I come from Northern New Jersey area and I have extensively traveled throughout the US. One of my major complaints traveling is how hard it is to get decent bread. It just seems that bread in most places in the US is awful. This is the only place in WDW that I found decent bread. (I hear the bakery in the French section of Epcot is good, but I didn't try that)

The food here was fantastic, while not the best steak I've ever had, it is certainly one of the top 10-20 I've had. (Hard to beat some places in Manhattan or in Texas)

They age the steaks on site, you walk in past the butcher so you can see the meats that are prepped. The butcher works in a glassed in area at the front, it can be quite entertaining.

This restaurant is extremely busy, so the service was very good also. Like many of the best run restaurants they have people assigned to just run around refilling water glasses. (very handy after a 90 degree plus day)

Best meal we had during our entire 10 day trip. Dinner for 2 people was $200 so this is a very pricey place. (that's sticker shock even for someone used to Manhattan prices)

Most people are business casual here, but there doesn't seem to be much of a dress code, as I saw a family in t-shirts and shorts.

I'd recommend this to everyone who goes there and wants a nice dinner.

This isn't quite a 5 star restaurant as the tables are just too close together and it can be hard not to be disturbed by your neighbors. If anything that's my only real complaint about this restaurant, at this price point, a bit more space between tables would be appreciated.
"Fantastic"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2008 by lavazza
Rating: 10  
Wonderful restaurant, excellent service and fabulous food.
"Best steak on property"
Reviewed on Dec 23, 2007 by reptar77
Rating: 10  
LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. They have made a couple menu changes, no more shrimp cocktail...bummer. The Caesar salad is the best I have every had. I have tried every cut of steak they offer and cannot name my favorite. You must eat here.
"Can't find a better Steak"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 10  
mmmmmmmmm Porter House
"Delicious!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Wow, the steak here is unbelievably good! Easily the best my wife or I have EVER had at WDW. This is a romantic restaurant and worth a splurge, if you can afford it. The staff is very attentive, and the atmosphere is luxurious.

Under no circumstances would I take young kids here. Let's put it this way - it cost us $45 to have all three kids at the Sandcastle Kids Club while we ate, and I'm confident we came out financially ahead on the deal. And really, the restaurant is geared towards adults, anyway.
"A Tradition"
Reviewed on May 03, 2003 by uncle al
Rating: Not rated  
We visit WDW often. It has become a tradition that one night we have to have dinner at The Yachtsman. We have always taken our children and the wait staff go out of their way to make them feel welcome. I will never forget our first visit when our waiter helped my 5 yr old son cut his steak. Well he is 15 now and he insists that we go there. The food is excellent and the portions are just right. The bread and roasted garlic before dinner is to die for. They also have a nice wine selection It is a little pricey - but in my opinion it is worth every penny.
"most awesome steak"
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2002 by hellokitty1
Rating: Not rated  
The Charred Black Angus Bourbon Strip Steak was to die for!! We also had the mushrooms marinated in comyac (?spelling) were also excellent. I did not even like mushrooms before I tried them here, now eat them all the time! We already have another reservation for November, but we still do not bring the kids. It seems to intimate for that.
"First rate steak"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2002 by Kingdom Konsultant
Rating: Not rated  
This is definately the best restaurant to go to for a good steak.
"The best steak ever."
Reviewed on Sep 18, 2002 by aligrip
Rating: Not rated  
By far, the most delicious steak I have ever eaten. No exaggeration, and I eat a lot of them. The desserts were wonderful (and even well themed to the Disney parks). The gentleman next to us commented that he had eaten there 3 nights in a row. This place is pricey (about $150 for 2 people), but it was worth it in my opinion. The food was better than Fultons.
"GREAT STEAK"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
IF YOU LIKE STEAK OR BEEF IN GENERAL THIS PLACE WILL NOT DISAPPOINT
Yachtsman Steakhouse
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site