Restaurant Akershus reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 8.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.5  
"Excellent option for dining with princesses"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2014 by LWB
Rating: 10  
We have dined at Akershus twice and it doesn't disappoint! We are huge fans of Cinderella's Royal Table, but Akershus is still a can't miss for us. Here's why:
-Akershus is significantly cheaper than CRT
-Akershus is the only place where my girls can be guaranteed an autograph/interaction with Belle at any dining experience
-Akershus is the only option for dining before Epcot opens (it's nice to be able to get into parks before opening so you can dine w/o wasting park time!)
-Akershus does have a princess parade where the children can get up and walk around the dining area with the princesses, so that's just a bit more interaction with the princesses

The food there is a little difference from the other character buffet options, but there are still plenty of options for picky eaters. A hot platter (eggs, bacon, etc) is brought to your table plus you have the buffet available. Definitely look over the menu before booking a lunch/dinner there because there is a Norwegian flair to it which some may not enjoy!
"EPCOT's Finest!!"
Reviewed on Mar 31, 2013 by DugFan1
Rating: 10  
My family and I tried this dining option in 2012 and were blown away!! While I cannot pronounce the name of the tasty meatball dish I had, it was fantastic!! My wife had melt in your mouth beef tips, as my daughter enjoyed a deli style hot dog. The Princesses were all very nice and posed for pictures with my little Princess (who was dressed as Snow White, (and yes I saw double for a few minutes!!) and our waitstaff was very attentive and went out of their way to assist us and explain everything. One thing I did learn...1 Carlsberg beer is plenty!! (Strong!!) We are returning in 2013 and returning to Akershus for dinner!!
"Quality interaction with Princesses"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2012 by Carin
Rating: 10  
The food was very good, not fine dining but very good. The service was spot on and we never had to wait long for anything we needed. Plenty of choices for our picky family. As for the princesses, we prefer Akershus to Cinderella's Royal Table. At Akershus, the Princesses do not seem rushed at all. They took plenty of time to talk to our kids, give hugs, sign autographs, and take pictures. They went above and beyond. We had been to Cinderella's Royal Table the day before. As we enter Akershus and are taken to have our picture with Belle, she greets both of my girls (twins) by name, tells them Happy Birthday and that she enjoyed meeting them and Cinderella's the day before. Holy Cow, they must have looked up our previous reservations. My Girls felt so special that Belle remembered meeting them.
"Worst character meal"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2012 by Megan
Rating: 3  
We had breakfast here in March and I regret wasting one of our table service credits here. We had one of the first reservations and were seated pretty quickly, but we were done our meal before the Princesses even came out! The food selection was horrible, in the buffet there was bread, yogurt and cheese. They brought over watery eggs, soggy bacon and sausage. We asked our waiter for more sausage since it was the only actual edible food and instead he brought us more eggs. I wanted to get pictures with the Princesses, but the waiter kept rushing us to leave. The only Princess I saw was Belle who was taking pictures with guests before being seated.
"Good buffet. Good for girls."
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2012 by bethymouse
Rating: 6  
The food had a bit of Norwegian flare to it. My husband really liked it! It is a buffet, and the princesses are wonderful! It is a fun place to eat!
"A Royal Experience!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 9  
My daughter & I have eaten here 2 times for dinner & once for breakfast.
Although each meal was nice, we prefer the dinner.
I love the fact that you get a photo package with your meal.
Each time that we have visited, Belle has been the featured princess.
But, we have also seen Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Mary Poppins, Jasmine, Ariel, & Snow White.
The food quality is very good.
I like the fact that you can pick an entree from the menu & still go to the bar for salad, cheeses, meats, seafood, etc.
The service was also very good.
We really enjoyed the desserts.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant!
"Fit for a Princess"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Cris P.
Rating: 7  
The character interaction here has always been great. My girls love meeting with the princess and having their picture taken. The cast members who work have also always provided excellent service. The food is a bit different, but we have always enjoyed it. The cold bar has some excellent salads, cheeses, bread, and seafood. The meals all have exotic names, but the flavors aren't so even picky eaters will find something to enjoy.
"Magical time for the kids !"
Reviewed on Nov 09, 2011 by ShadowMan
Rating: 9  
We took our 4 & 5 year old (boy & girl) for dinner (10/28/11), and they loved meeting all the princesses (Our son kissed everyone of them on the cheek, and they were all great sports about it!). They took time for pictures, and chatted with us quite a bit, even though the restaurant was busy. For those that have experienced Disney before -- you know that's a big part of the fun & the memories! Very nicely done

My wife, and I had that traditional Kjottake. Which was very good, and very filling (pairs well with a crisp, cold Carlsberg as well!). The kids enjoyed their meals, and we all left happy & satisfied.

There's no doubt that it's a bit pricey, but it's all about the kids & the experience ... and it did not disappoint. Our daughter also got an awesome 5x7 picture with her & Belle, as well as some additional pics, which came out incredible.

Would recommend without hesitation.
"Homerun"
Reviewed on Jun 14, 2011 by IRTSTARS
Rating: 9  
I was skeptical about Akershus b/c of the type of cuisine, but I am so glad that we went!

The food was great (especially the salad bar) and the service was fantastic.

However, the best part is that 7 Princesses visited our table and took pictures with each of our 17 guests!

The cherry on the top... that included in our meal was an 8X10, (2) 5X7's and (4) Wallet pictures for each of the 4 room rsvps that we had (with Princess Aurora) - FREE!!!

Every little girls dream!
"Odd lunch menu, awesome characters"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 7  
The best thing for our family about this princess lunch was Ariel with legs instead of fins, that is right we saw "human" Ariel not mermaid Ariel. For those of you who have seen all the same character over and over this was a real treat. The food on the other hand was rather odd and other than the deli counter there was not much for the kids and my wife and I had a hard time finding something that looked good to us. So I am torn about this lunch. I liked the different characters but was not a fan of the menu. The staff does a great job. There is a difference between lunch and breakfast -- so I rated them separately.
"Great Princess Breakfast"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 9  
This is a great princess breakfast! At one time this was the only place to see Sleeping Beauty. The food is good but the main point is the princesses. If you only have boys then this is not the place for you in my opinion. The food is the standard breakfast menu but not having to wait in line to see the princesses is great. We saw Belle and later in the day saw her again in France and she remembered us which was very special for the kids. If you have any girls this is just as good a place to go as the castle in MK. This was not the case before but the cutbacks at Castle has helped raise the stock of this restaurant.
"Not much for food variety"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2011 by ladycameron
Rating: 7  
Though the interior of the restaurant was beautiful and we enjoyed meeting the princess's i found that there wasn't really a variety of food. Your basically paying just for the entertainment because the food is nothing special.
"Lunch was pretty good!"
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2010 by DizneyPryncess
Rating: 7  
My husband and I had lunch here, and thought it was decent and a fun experience. We preferred other character dining experiences such as Crystal Palace and Garden Grille. This one felt very rushed.

We both enjoyed the appetizer buffet. We weren't crazy about the lunch options and thought they were limited. We both liked what we got, but wished there had been more options. The environment is beautiful, I can't say enough about that. I love the look and feel of the interior design. Meeting the princesses is quite fun too, even as adults.

I would go back again, but I'd like to try breakfast or dinner. It was pretty expensive for lunch, and too much food for us. We weren't hungry for dinner at all!
"TOTALLY ENJOYABLE"
Reviewed on Nov 28, 2009 by austindkm
Rating: 10  
We had been to WDW seven times before trying this restaurant. I wish I had found it sooner. Pleasant atmosphere dining characters were a big treat for our son - even though it was suppose to be for all the princesses in your family.

Buffet was wonderful and a nice selection of entrees. The dessert was a trio of treats.

We will come back there on our next trip.
"Excellent Princess Dinner"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Baron Hardup
Rating: 10  
After reading some of the reviews about the food I was a little concerned going in. Very pleasantly surprised!! Get the meatball thing and eat all the smoked Salmon you can handle! Lots of time with the Princesses (Cinderella, Aurora, Ariel, Jasmine, and Belle). Will definitely schedule this again!
"Great to meet the princesses but......."
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2008 by osuang
Rating: 6  
The food just wasn't very good. My daughter's pizza was scorched and the adult meals were just okay. My oldest daughter had the grilled chicken plate which looked to be the best out of all our food!

Staff was excellent, princesses were even better! They brought out signed birthday cards for both of our girls!

This is a great character dining spot for characters, NOT for the food!

"loved it"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2008 by welovdisney
Rating: 10  
This is great way to meet the princesses. The staff is so friendly and we had a wonderful time. The food was great and we had plenty of time to talk to the princesses unlike Cinderella's Royal Table. My son and daughter had a great time. They have the most realistic Snow White there. She looked and sounded just like her. If you want to eat with princesses go to Akershus Castle not Cinderella's
"good"
Reviewed on May 31, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
grea way to meet the princesses outside of cinderellas royal table. great service, nice staff, princesses spend time with everytable
"Wonderful!"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2007 by Fallen Angel
Rating: 10  
I dined solo on 9/23/07 for breakfast and had a wonderful time!! The Princesses were so friendly - even to this 28 year old girl!! The breakfast items were great - I can't get enough of the hashbrown casserole. I will definately be booking this location for next year!
"wonderful!"
Reviewed on Oct 04, 2007 by terry_berry
Rating: 10  
We had a truly wonderful time here. All the princesses were lovely (Belle greeted us and we were then visited by Ariel, Sleeping BEauty, Cinderella, Jasmine and Snow White). The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. One thing I loved was the way we weren't neglected by the characters even though we were 3 adults. One of the best, if not the best, character experiences of my life!
"Fab princess experience"
Reviewed on Apr 01, 2007 by ellis0518
Rating: 10  
We dined here, and loved the Princess breakfast. The daughter (18) loves Belle, and this was an opportunity for her to get her photos with her. The food was great, and very plentiful. Our server (From Norway) provided excellent service, and we were never without a full plate, or glass on the table. Worth the money. Remember that the photos are extra, but they are a nice touch. Plenty of princesses, although Cinderella is not here. Everyone else is...including Mulan.
"Friendly & Great Desserts"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2006 by Trentmom
Rating: Not rated  
The servers here are extremely friendly and the desserts are incredible to look at and to eat.
"Great to Poor"
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2005 by lcole
Rating: Not rated  
Read the early reviews and see how the changed this from the best value on site to a place where there is no fun or value. Akershus was like Germany is now, where you picked the food you wanted, now you order each item and have to wait for it to be cooked and then if you want another item you order it and wait again. This is suppose to be "all you can eat" of anything you want, but if you don't know the foods it is hard to guess what to order. The old days it was right in front of you and you picked it yourself. We now go to Germany for the food and show.
"Kjempe fint / great"
Reviewed on Aug 03, 2005 by BalooInKZoo
Rating: Not rated  
As someone who has lived in Norway, I find the food to be very good. Most of the menu has been tweaked to favor the average American. It's great to speak to the staff in their native tongue... their face lights up right away when you address them with a tradiditonal hello in Norwegian...(God Dag "goo dog" / Good Day)
The only thing I find lacking is more of the traditional foods found in Norway, like cloud berries, reindeer stew, and lutefisk.
"Worst Character meal!!"
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2004 by trishnh
Rating: Not rated  
We have to agree--Breakfast here is bad! We were also seated right away, but had minimal character interaction. Jasmine, Mary Poppins and Aurora came over as we were being seated, scribbled their autographs, posed for ONE group picture and left--that was the extent of our character visitations. Our waiter told us Belle was not there that day--we saw her & Snow White on our way out. They never came to our side of the room let alone our table. We arrived at 9:10, by 9:20 they started clearing out our side of the room and by 9:50 we were the only family left on our side of the room! Service was bad and food was mediocre. It was terribly over priced and we were rushed the whole time. I would NEVER do this again--What a waste of $85!!
"Yuck! Akershus breakfast!"
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2004 by lesliecool
Rating: Not rated  
I recently went to Akershus for the new Breakfast with the Princess'. We usually go to Cinderella's Royal Table, so I thought this would be something different. Boy, was I wrong! While the seating ws prompt, the service good and the characters very obliging, the food selection and taste was awful!
You got a skillet of runny eggs, thick sliced sausage, and as my eight year old put it, chewy bacon. I paid almost $50.00 for 1 adult and 2 kids, and all I had was a cinnamon roll. That was the most expensive roll I ever had!
Luckily, I did book Cinderella's breakfast, too! That was alot more enjoyable and at least you had choices!
"Get the Troll Cookies!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
I enjoyed the assortment of breads, and the salmon was good. The food is authentic (or at least it's not American) and may not appeal to every palate. The Paint-and-Eat Troll Cookies, though, are worth every penny of the $2.50 or $3.50 they charge for them. They are brought to you with the "paint" (colored corn syrup) in little circles next to the cookie (a sugar cookie). Fun and tasty!
"Good food, poor value"
Reviewed on May 07, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
Has a good buffet of cold meats and cheeses. Highly priced for what you get, probably due to the seafood selections. I would recommend it for lunch if youa re going to try it.
"One of my favorites"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
Buffet style food. Great variety. I'm not a seafood fan but the breads, cheeses and pork selection is very food. They also have a chilled tomato/onion salad that is very good. Kids really seel to like the troll theme.
"Lots of food!"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by EthylCooper
Rating: Not rated  
This is an expensive buffet, but it has lots of good food on it. I rated it kind of low on Kid Friendly because a lot of the choices on the buffet would only be chosen by the most adventurous little ones. There are a few things most kids would eat, though, so they won't go hungry.
"Expensive, but yummy!"
Reviewed on Oct 04, 2002 by RobFL
Rating: Not rated  
I really like this restaurant. Their food is delicious, but there is admittedly a lot of fish offers and so you've gotta have some tolerance of sea life cuisine. It's buffet-style, so portion size is no worry. Don't go half-hungry, because it is very expensive. The food was great though, and if I found something not to my liking, there were 3 or 4 other things I enjoyed. Best Norwegian "type" food I've found at a restaurant. Next best thing to real Norwegian family cooking. The buffet style atmosphere adds to this :) Talk to your waiter/waitress. Norwegians are really friendly :) Next time, i'll try dessert, last time I was too full. Final warning: It will make your pocketbook hurt, but it's worth the spurlge atleast once if you like Norwegian food.
"NEW EXPERIENCE"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
NEW TASTES AND ENJOYABLE DINING
"Do you like fish?"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by disneycp2000
Rating: Not rated  
When dining at Akershus make sure everyone enjoys fish. A lot of what they serve here is salmon and other types of fish. It's a buffet so I can't complain about the portions. In all I really enjoyed this resturant and would go back if I had a chance. The food is really good and it's a unique place to eat in World Showcase.
Restaurant Akershus
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site