Narcoossee's reviews

Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa
Reader rating Reader rating 8.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.9  
"Great Anniversary Restaurant"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2013 by GroomerMinnie
Rating: 10  
Dh and I dined here for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. It was very crisp and clean as well as a quiet atmosphere. We did add to our reservation that this was our anniversary dinner. When we arrived they welcomed us and sat us near a window looking over the water. We had a specialized menu with our name and anniversary information on it for us to keep. We were offered free wine as well. Our steaks were superb and our server was a pro! We will be visiting this location again this summer and can't wait.
"3rd Time Wasn't a Charm"
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2012 by Loweschevy
Rating: 7  
Narcoossee’s

This choice was a last minute rush one to make up for the change in schedule. I did not plan on returning here because of the two prior mediocre experiences we had in the previous years, but just maybe this time it would be great. It started off well, we were seated early with a nice view of the water and Conch Key building. Our server Zahira came over to greet us after a few minutes.

We placed our order and enjoyed the view of the small ferry boat and the monorail. It was relatively quiet, but it was early only about 60% full at the time. There was a table behind us that at least 3 parties declined to sit there. I started to wonder if people were afraid of us, it was kind of funny. The restaurant began to fill up with larger parties as the meal progressed.

Zahira brought out our appetizers after a while. Mother had the apple salad loaded with Gouda, pomegranate seeds, pistachios and sunflower seeds, which was very good and appropriate for the fall season. My father and I both had the blue crab corn chowder. It was not overly thick, but had a lovely silky texture with a hint of sherry. The potatoes and corn were a perfect combination with the crab. The chowder also had a slow building spice, not overpowering and by the end of the bowl we broke a sweat. Our plates were cleared and we discussed the plans for that evening.

Our entrees arrived in a reasonable amount of time-we didn’t wait too long and they weren’t rushed out of the kitchen either. Grandma Deb being the picky one opted for sweet potato ravioli with oyster mushrooms, figs in a light cream sauce with sautéed spinach. This dish was very good and thoughtful for a vegetarian dish. Pop and I both ordered the wild caught halibut. Off the menu was the crab crusted halibut, so I was rather disappointed because he has had it in the past and it was great.

Unfortunately we were both disappointed with this dish overall. First of all, it wasn’t as hot as it could have been. The fish was probably not fresh because it was mush in the middle-like watery and mushy. Then it was served with pickled vegetables and a strong mustard sauce-it wasn’t really balanced. We should have sent the meals back, but by that time after the soup and bread I was on the full side anyway.

No room for dessert. Saving room for treats at the Magic Kingdom! This was the best service we have had here, but this time the food was a let-down. I guess I expect a lot more for these prices, but hey that’s me. Many other people have great reviews, but that’s how it goes sometimes. I can go to a restaurant and have a great experience, while the table next to me has a lousy one. Unfortunately it happens.

3-Stars Average
"Loved it!!"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2012 by Megan
Rating: 9  
Went here in March for dinner and it was great. We had a table right by the window so we could look out onto the lagoon and we could see the castle over in Magic Kingdom. It was pretty quite, not a lot of screaming kids which was a nice break, and the food was absolutely delicious. I had the lobster which was HUGE and the fried calamari that was amazing. Can not wait to go back in October!!
"True Signature"
Reviewed on Dec 07, 2010 by RWilliams
Rating: 9  
Narcoossee's is a true signature restaurant. Top notch food and service in a calm and quiet (by Disney standards) atmosphere.
"love narcoossee's"
Reviewed on Sep 16, 2009 by EvilQueen-T
Rating: 10  
i've had two dinners at narcoossee's, once over christmas week 2008 with a party of 7 and once at the end of july 2009 with just my husband. we had great dinners there both times. great service. menu is varied enough to please a large and diverse group but romantic enough for a date night. my daughter LOVED the ahi tuna in particular. we had one non-fish eater with us (my adult son) and i had a bite of his steak which was amazingly good [i'm always cautious about a steak at a seafood place]. my 4 y/o granddaughter loved being able to see the chef's while they were cooking and we were waiting for our table... they were great interacting with our little chef despite being hard at work. my next trip back to wdw is in early december 2009 for a sister's only reunion and we already have our reservations. i have NOTHING negative to say... and that's amazing for me lol.
"dont miss this."
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 10  
One of the best restaurants in walt disney world.

great lobster dinner. delicious sourdough bread. desserts are amazing.
the restaurant is beautiful and right on the water. perfect view for wishes. definitly a great place for a romantic evening. ( try the bisque!! )
"Wonderful night, great view"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2007 by davinakb
Rating: 8  
We ate here for the first time last month and it was a great night, and we are sure to be back.

FOOD: we stuck with our likes and with the help of the server, picked wonderful items. Everything was good (scallops) to very good (perfect fried oysters), with a couple things being outstanding (deserts, crab-crusted halibut), too many to mention.
WINE: we made an evening of it, and ordered several courses to be shared. Our server did not miss a beat, and selected some nice wines that paired very well with our food.
SERVICE: We let the server know we were going to take our time, and she was great. We were not rushed at all, and she really made us feel special and appreciated.
EXTRAS: view with boat parade and fireworks over the MK. Just wonderful.
"Great Experience"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2007 by WEDisney
Rating: 8  
This restaurant is a gem. My wife and I love it and it has made it to my “must eat” list. The setting is very nice especially if you are lucky enough to get a table overlooking the water. Citrico’s is another great Grand Floridian restaurant but this setting makes Narcoossee’s the winner for me. The drinks were great the crab cakes awesome, the chowder was top notch and the seafood was so fresh it was still moving. My only negative comment was that the meal seemed to rush by. Settings like this I like to take my time and enjoy my surroundings but at this one the time seemed to fly by. There is nothing more romantic then taking a boat from the Poly and docking right next to the restaurant, getting out, eating and then watching the fireworks from the porch over looking Seven Seas Lagoon. I wish I was there right now.
"First Stop"
Reviewed on Aug 14, 2003 by Bigcheese
Rating: Not rated  
This is always our first night's restaurant. Food is excellant, and the service is wonderful. I have eaten here with just adults and with grandchildren and everyone has always been treated wonderfully.
"Great food!"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2003 by stephsim
Rating: Not rated  
This is my favorite place to eat. We got lucky and got to see the fireworks at MK one night! The food was so good! I had the scallops and my husband the swordfish. We had the crab cakes for an appitizer and they were good too. My only dislikes were the rolls they served(too hard). The portions are small but the food makes up for it! This is the kind of food you spend 100$ for dinner on. Loved it!
"Great view. Good Food."
Reviewed on Dec 02, 2002 by jodigrl328
Rating: Not rated  
The filet and lobster was delicious. It was our favorite meal in our 2000 trip. Beautiful setting and if you can't get the California Grill during the fireworks, try this place. The view isn't bad at all.
"Great Food and View"
Reviewed on Aug 28, 2002 by galacticgobbler
Rating: Not rated  
Great Bar while waiting for your table. Awesome menu for the Surf and Turf crowd. Grab a seat by the window for excellent views of the Magic Kingdom fireworks, and the electric water pageant. Grand Floridian grounds are great for a stroll after dinner.
Narcoossee's
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
Narcoossee's dining room
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site