House of Blues reviews

West Side, West Side
Reader rating Reader rating 9.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.1  
"great menu"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2012 by JMagicFink
Rating: 9  
Loved the pulled pork sliders and the Jambalaya is the best! The chicken and rice are so great, but the sausage packs quite a punch! This place can get loud and the service can get slow when they are super busy, but I love the atmosphere and the food here. Delicious menu that I can't wait to come back and try something different from.
"Very impressed!"
Reviewed on Nov 06, 2012 by Castle Dreamer
Rating: 10  
My husband and I ate at the House of Blues for the first time. I have to say it was one of the best meals we had during our 10 day stay at Disney. We ordered the Basil Pesto and Tomato flatbread for an appetizer and it was very good. Husband had a half order of St. Louis Ribs for dinner with mashed potatoes and corn succotash. The ribs were tender and the sauce was sweet and delicious. The mashed potatoes came topped with cheese and bacon. I ordered the Buttermilk Fried Chicken. I was surprised to see that it came with four good size pieces of chicken. Luckily my husband helped me eat the chicken. I also got mashed potatoes, and corn succotash. The chicken was perfectly seasoned, juicy, and crispy. I loved the potatoes and the corn also. As a warning, the corn succotash is quite spicy but since I like spicy it was perfect for me. We did not have dessert as we were very full. Our service was also very good. Overall, I will definitely make plans to return to House of Blues on our next visit.
"Very affordable and quiet for lunch. Only downfall, Guiness was only available in cans not on tap, perhaps in the future :)"
Reviewed on Mar 29, 2012 by chipndale09
Rating: 10  
absolutely loved the spicy jerk wings, a nice little kick to them. The ribs were very good too!!
"HOB new menu"
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2012 by RWilliams
Rating: 9  
I was just able to try out some of the new menu items at the House of Blues. I really enjoyed the old menu but the new one has so many great sounding options. We decided to split the short rib sliders as an appetizer. They were fantastic, by far the highlight of the entire meal. I will be getting the short rib entree next time for sure! I had the jambalaya, which was good and the portion size wasn't outrageously big. It was more of a creole style jambalaya and was good but it really wasn't good enough to justify its price tag. If you want really good jambalaya (and the best cornbread on the planet!) for half the cost take a trip down the road to The Big Easy in Winter Garden. I was happy to see that house of blues still has the white chocolate banana bread pudding. It was still very good but is no longer served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream :-(. Overall I really enjoy House of Blues and I recommend it but somehow I'm always surprised at the huge bill we get at the end of the meal. Its good food but it comes at a fairly high price.
"Big portions,and good value."
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2011 by real mad hatter
Rating: 8  
Love cajun food,(chilli head)this is a fav of ours,everything from meatloaf to jambalaya is good,but portions are BIG.Good selections of wine at reasonable prices,only downside is it can be very loud,but hey,what the h...its Downtown Disney,so enjoy the atmosphere.
"A good place to eat"
Reviewed on Jan 12, 2010 by SusanRoss
Rating: 10  
great food and a nice atmosphere.
"Different, interesting and neat environment"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by ptaylor
Rating: 7  
House of Blues has some good offerings that are different to what you might find elsewhere at Downtown Disney. The theming inside is very well done, service seems good, and I would recommend trying this on your next trip if you havnt done so already.
"Rosemary Cornbread and BBQ Ribs"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2007 by SuchAMouse
Rating: 10  
DH and I avoided this place for about 4 years, no clue WHY we did though. Finally, on our last trip we decided to give it a try. We went there early on in our 10 days and ended up eating here a total of 3 times. Yes, it was THAT good!

We aimed for the ribs for the most part, but the rosemary cornbread and shrimp po-boy sandwich were to-die-for delicious as well. I highly recommend House of Blues! Don't forget to pick up a HOB souvenir while you're there.....we found some great two for one bargains, something the salesclerk told us they do quite often. Have fun!
"Not blue"
Reviewed on Feb 13, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
If you love excellent quality burgers and ribs...this is for you! The atmosphere is buzzing and you are often treated to some great Jazz and Blues. I love the whole vibe in this place and the food matches this. Can get very busy but you can sip a drink in the bar outside if you don't mind waiting for a table to become free.
"My second-fav. HOB"
Reviewed on Mar 28, 2005 by vettenut
Rating: Not rated  
I've been to quite a few of the House of Blues locations and the one at Disney is my second favorite. Mind you my favorite is the one in New Orleans so it's got a special place in my heart....... The food was excellent and the atmosphere was cool, just like HOB should be. You must check it out!
"Worth the walk!"
Reviewed on Feb 06, 2005 by colliera
Rating: Not rated  
We walked all the way over from World of Disney to the House of Blues location at the end of Downtown Disney across from DisneyQuest and next to Cirque du Soleil for lunch. It was well worth the trip. You won't leave hungry.

This was a walk-up and my wife and I were seated in about 3 minutes. We were seated on the main floor and had full view of all the various artifacts/architectual details there is to see and there are plenty from the bottle cap decrative adornments to the ceiling mediallions of R & B artists. You would come here many times and not see all there is to notice. Service was prompt, pleasant, and efficient.

We had the iced tea for drinks and for "first flavors" we split the Spinach and Artichoke Dip, served warm, with Roasted Salsa, Sour Cream and Tortilla Chips which was about what you'd expect from any dinning out establishment. We also tried side of Skillet Baked Rosemary Cornbread with Maple Butter. When people talk about the cornbread they aren't kidding and it isn't like I haven't had cornbread before having been raised and still residing in the South. HOB is worth the trip just for the cornbread.

My wife played it safe and had the Spicy Buffalo Chicken Tenders served with Blue Cheese Dressing, Celery Sticks and French Fries which was good but strong on the blue cheese. Being adverturesome I had the Creole Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken, Tasso Ham, Andouille Sausage and Roasted Green Onions. I've had jambalaya with Andouille before and realize a true jambalaya calls for it but have always found it to be "dry" as a sausage and perfer a kasaba sausage. The Tasso Ham was however wonderful.


The jambalaya is served in a large bowl that masks just how much the portion size is. It was impossible to finish it and would be a canidate for splitting with someone else. We were just barely able to save some room for dessert.

For dessert we split White Chocolate-Banana Bread Pudding with Jack Daniels Crème Anglaise, Whipped Cream, and a Caramel Halo. This was a great dessert but I make a better Jack Daniels sauce for bread pudding which I adapted from a Planet Hollywood receipe for bread pudding. My suggestion to HOB is to load the sauce up with more butter.

I had always wanted to try the resturant at HOB but never had due to its location. This time I made the time to try it out and I'm glad I did. It is on my list of placed to be sure and visit.


"MUST DO"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2004 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
LOVE THE FOOD AND ALWAYS EAT TOO MUCH CORNBREAD. GREAT START FOR AN EVENING OUT AND A SHOW NEXT DOOR IN THEIR THEATRE
"It's dark in here!"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2004 by Main Street USA
Rating: Not rated  
Yet another "good" overall from me here. The menu here has some unique stuff, so that's a plus. The mood inside has a super laid back, dimmed lighting, mellow feel.....which I guess is why it's the House of BLUES.
House of Blues
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site