Prince Charming Regal Carrousel

Fantasyland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.0 / 10

Main Details

  • Park
    Magic Kingdom
  • Land
  • Ride Type
  • Thrill Level
  • Ride Duration
  • Pre-Show
  • Post-Show
  • Gift Shop

Queue Details

  • FastPass+
  • Standby Line
  • Standby Wait
  • Single Rider Line
  • Interactive
  • Indoor Queue
  • Outdoor Queue
  • Comfort Level

Ride System

  • Type
    Spinning Carrousel
  • Manufacturer
    Philadelphia Toboggan Company
  • Seating Layout
    90 horses, 18 rows of 5.


  • Height Req.
  • Age
    Children under age 7 must be accompanied by person age 14+
  • Frightening Kids
  • Accessibility
    Must Transfer from Wheelchair/ECV

Extra Magic Hours

  • Morning EMH
  • Evening EMH


  • On Ride Photo

Important Dates

  • Grand Opening
    Oct 1 1971

Set in Fantasyland, just behind Cinderella Castle, guests can ride a horse on a 1917 vintage carrousel. Previously known as 'Cinderella's Golden Carrousel', the attraction was renamed on 1 June 2010 to 'Prince Charming Regal Carrousel' (see below for new storyline).


Facts and Figures

  • Number of horses: 90, 18 rows of 5
  • Ride time: 2 minutes
  • Cinderella's horse: Identified by a golden ribbon on the tail
  • Sizes of horses: 5 different sizes, with the largest on the outside
  • A unique horse: every horse is unique and is individually numbered on the bridal
  • Lighting: Over 2000 individual light bulbs decorate the carousel
  • Scenes: 18 scenes from Cinderella were hand painted


The Carrousel was built by Philadelphia Toboggan Company in 1917 for the Detroit Palace Garden Park. It's original name was Liberty, and was the 46th, out of 87 carrousels that the company built. The carrousel was moved around 1928 to Olympic Park in New Jersey, where it was in operation for 39 years. Olympic Park closed in 1967, and Disney then purchased it for restoration and installation in the Magic Kingdom in 1971.

Name change to Prince Charming Regal Carrousel

Previously known as 'Cinderella's Golden Carrousel', the attraction was renamed on 1 June 2010.

Here is the official back-story to the name change.

Following their fairy-tale romance and happily-ever-after wedding, Cinderella and Prince Charming took up residence in Cinderella's Castle. With peace throughout the kingdom, Prince Charming had time to practice for jousting tournaments. In the countryside near the castle, he built a training device of carved horses, on which he could practice the art of ring-spearing, a tournament event in which a knight rides his horse full speed, lance in hand, toward a small ring hanging from a tree limb, with the object of spearing the ring. This event was known by various names throughout the lands, but generally came to be called "carrousel."

The carrousel device drew the attention of the villagers, who wanted to take a turn on this amazing spinning contraption. So Prince Charming had a second carrousel constructed closer to the Castle, where everyone could take a spin on this wondrous invention. Instead of a working knight's training device, however, this new carrousel is more befitting its regal location in the Castle Courtyard - its rustic training horses replaced with ornately decorated prancing steeds adorned with golden helmets and shields, flower garlands, feathers and other festoons. Prince Charming invites one and all to test their horsemanship skills and to enjoy their own happy ending.

You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site