Pirates of the Caribbean reviews

Adventureland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.9  
"where is the song"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2012 by third visit
Rating: 8  
Sort of missing the song that made the ride a classic.
"Savvy? "
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 10  
Classic. Hardly ever a long wait. Great theming. Compare it to the POTC in Disneyland all you want, but this one holds it's own and is an all-time fav. for just about everyone.
"One of the must-see attractions at Magic Kingdom!"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2010 by 2Simple
Rating: 10  
Pirates of the Caribbean has always been one of my favorites, although the ride itself has been changed a few times. Originally, the pirates were supposed to chase the women (and one of the women chased a pirate for laughs), but it was changed so the women were chasing the pirates away. I don't think the original was that bad, but either way, it's still fun. They've added Jack Sparrow to various scenes in the ride too. I was upset when I first heard about it (how dare they change one of my favorite rides!), but once I went on it, I was pretty happy with the result. I think the creators did a really fantastic job.

The only thing I'm really not happy about is that they removed the talking animatronic parrot from the entrance. He used to sing "Yo Ho Yo Ho a Parrot's Life for Me" and was soooo cute (but I'm a major parrot lover anyway). They replaced him with a sign or something and I don't know what they did with him (hopefully, he'll appear somewhere else).

Anyway, this is a great ride for families. A little scary at the beginning, but nothing too bad. There is a drop, but it's pretty small.
"yarrrr"
Reviewed on Aug 05, 2010 by HM Spectre
Rating: 10  
A great classic ride, very immersive and fun, the animatronics are well done and the ride has good length to it which all adds up to a ride well worth the wait.
"Disneyland POTC"
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2009 by riogirl
Rating: 10  
I agree with the previous comment about Disneyland's POTC. The RIDE seems longer,with 2 drops, and I love the beginning when the ride starts out by going through the swampy New Orleans Square. What is BETTER at DWorld is the line area in the dungeons. Disneyland's is out in the sun with no indoor line,once you're inside the ride is there.
"Pirates of Disneyland"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2009 by Horace
Rating: 7  
As much as I like the "Pirates of the Caribbean" at "WDW" I found the P of C at Disneyland hands down better. If any of the fine reading at this site ever get the opportunity to go to Disneyland the "Pirates" are a must.
"a classic!!!!"
Reviewed on May 29, 2009 by jgvc41
Rating: 10  
This has to be the greatest ride in the MK. I really feel like a pirate when I get off the ride. My wife can attest to this! It makes you feel like you are really in Tortuga. This is usually the 1st ride or attraction we go on when we arrive. I have been on this ride at least 50 times and I still see something new every time. I can't wait to go on it again at the end of June! AGHRRRRR!!!!
"I put this attraction alongside the Haunted Mansion for pure Disney entertainment. We make the ride several times each trip to the Magic Kingdom."
Reviewed on May 16, 2009 by oldgeezer
Rating: 10  
Ever since we first spent more than one day at Disney World, we have made sure that we ride this one, usually two or three times. Why? Because you cannot possibly see all that's there in one trip through. It's that full of visual treats.
"the best boat ride i was on"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 10  
This ride was wonderful. Probably the most impressive and lifelike audio-animatronic characters I witnessed - I really felt like I was among these pirates. Amazing job combining the older ride with the newer characters from the movies. Loved seeing Jack Sparrow hiding from the villians, and the ending is perfect. Bravo!
"An oldie but goodie with a facelift"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 8  
I liked the renovation done to Pirates--I thought it kept a lot of the original charm with some new fun surprises. A good time, overall, and well worth the visit.
"Yo Ho! Yo Ho! A Pirates Life For Me"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 9  
After riding PoTC, it makes me want to actually watch the movie series. I have not watched them because I am not a Depp fan, but now I just might!
"PipersPicks.TV Video Review"
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2008 by PipersPicksTV
Rating: 9  
We did a complete look at this ride with Captain Pipe-Arrrr on PipersPicks.TV! I don't think I can post the YouTube link inline, so you can look there, on the iTunes store, or on our site, PipersPicks.TV. It's a kid's look at the ride in really funny form!

http://www.PipersPicks.TV/?p=18
"great"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great ride with amazing detail. Great ride to relax, except it get rough ( sound,sight) at times. Great for pirate want to bes. love the tie in to the movie. One woman on our boat thought it was actually him and nearly fell out of the boat with excitement
"Yo-ho-oh-no"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 9  
I still love this ride,but they took the song out of it, its still a visual masterpiece.

Queue- Very intristing with the dungons.

Sound- Terrible now they took the song out.

AA- Very detailed and the Jack Sparrow figure in particular

Exit- plants you in a very cool gift shop
"Renovation Destroyed This"
Reviewed on Sep 16, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 2  
The renovation to include Capn Jack and Davy Jones destroyed this attraction. "Yo Ho Yo Ho" is gone and the storyline makes no sense if you can't hear the almost inaudible voices. Trying to put a new attraction in an old facility was the biggest mistake. Aside from the last scene in the treasure room and Capn Jack popping up in a few places, the sets and animatronics are exactly the same.

The music and mischevous nature of this ride are diminished. Now it is an ominous tale in dark chambers. No longer a decent ride.
"Great"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Pirates is an adventureland original and still one of the greatest. The animontronics are great and the new sound and lights add even more to the already spectactular pirates ride. On the drop, once it was as wet as splash mountain! I'm not sure if Captain Jack improves or hurts the ride however...
""Pirates" Proves It's One Of The Best!"
Reviewed on Jul 25, 2007 by Garfieldcool
Rating: 10  
POTC is a fun and a little scary boat ride that takes you on a tour of a mysterious, dark, scary, cave, and a Caribbean town! In "Pirates" you'll go down a small hill and go through an old town that is being raided by a group of pirates! You'll even see some of your favorite pirates, Jack Sparrow and Davy Jones! The "Disney" classic sails by my test for a 10/10 rating!
"a do not miss"
Reviewed on Jun 26, 2007 by nile6000
Rating: 10  
one of disneys best
who can resist capt jack!

go late at night lines are shorter
"6 it be! 6 bo'les of rum!"
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
Okay, first I'll review it, then I'll make my statements.
This is one of the Magic Kingdom's best attractions.
Queue Time--Not bad at night or early morning. Mid-day can be brutal, though, especially in summer.

Audio/Music-Some of, if not, the best Disney music ever on an attraction. The soundtrack is great, too.

Preshow--Very cool dungeons and then the port area where you dock (get on the boat) is very well done.

Storyline--Awesome.

Theming--Some of the best theming you will ever lay your eyes on anywhere.

Postshow/Merchandise--The exit spills you out into a Caribbean Plaza.....good I guess.

Thrill--Back when this came out, it was probably a bit more exciting. But it still gives you a rush on the little falls.

Duration--Um, on it's own, it's fine. More on this later.

Kid friendly--Almost any kid will love the ride.

Overall--Not to be missed! Excellent use of visuals, audio, theming, lighting, music, Audio-Animatronics....



NOW---With all that being said....this version of the ride is not as long or as entertaining as Disneyland's in California.

Queue Area-I like WDW's a lot! The dungeons and lairs and Spanish port you leave from at the start is cool. BUT--the old bayou swamp that's in California's is way more detailed and adds more to the actual ride itself.

The Ride---Geez, where to begin. WDW's is missing the whole beginning scene in the swamps. It only has one small drop instead of the 2 (I know, I know, it's because WDW's doesn't have to go below a berm--but still!) The dungeons and underground caves with all the skeletons in the bar, the beach....none if it is in this version. And then the finale is much, much, much shorter. No creaking wood on fire that's ready to collapse. And again, you get off the boat before it goes back up the hill. Which I understand, but it's still neat at Disneyland. The finale at Disneyland and WDW are also completely different. I actually like WDW's arsenal scene better.
"classic"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
This and the Haunted Mansion are truly classic Disney rides in design, theming, atmosphere, detail, and especially storytelling. It will be interesting to see the upgrades intended to integrate aspects of the 3 Johnny Depp films.
"Classic, but too short!"
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2005 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
I don't go on this attraction as often as I used to...and I don't know exactly why. It's a classic, but I've always felt it's too short. I still enjoy it though. From the skull right before the fall to the "pata cochina" ("yucky foot" in Spanish lol), this is a family favorite. I guess I'll have to revisit it again if I enjoy it so much lol.

For first timers, this is a must in order to appreciate an attraction personally supervised by Walt Disney before his death. Kids may be a bit frightened, but not as much as say Haunted Mansion.
"Okay - its no been deal!!"
Reviewed on May 27, 2004 by joyDisney
Rating: Not rated  
This ride was okay to me. I'm not really into Pirates, but it was a short wait so I just walked in August (you don't find too many rides that you can just walk during this time of the year). Its no big deal. If I missed it I don't think I'll be missing anything.
"Awesome"
Reviewed on Feb 24, 2004 by WDWFred
Rating: Not rated  
A ride that can be repeated and enjoyed again and again.One of the few classic rides that has stood the test of time and new tech.
"Unbelieveable"
Reviewed on Jan 26, 2004 by Kramjam33
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is one of the best themed rides at Disney World. The sky for example looks like a real sky at nighttime. Throughout the whole attraction i feel like I really AM in a carribean town with pirates. This ride clearly amplifies the quality and "magic" of Walt Disney World. A one-of-a-kind thrill, a must see.
"parle!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I LOVE THIS RIDE. it is a must for any fan of any size, and everything about it is very good. I love that the attention to detail is well done, and the shop after is a swashbuckeling good time. you cant help but pick up a sword and pretend to be in a fight. with the recent movie, it makes my love for this ride only grow, and now I see the movie within the ride, and the ride within the movie. a must must must do for anyone, and another ride that will stand the test of time!
"A must!"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2003 by DVCMommy
Rating: Not rated  
I've never missed this one in all the times I've visted WDW or DL. The DL one has a better waterfall, and I love the cannons, but the details and the cue is much better at WDW.
"Admire the Details"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The attention to detail here is phenomenal, in both the ride and the queue. Given what Disney was trying to do with this attraction, it could not have been executed much better. That said, however, the ride itself is not particularly exciting and the storyline is not particularly compelling. There's definitely a "cool" factor associated with this ride, and it's worthy of admiration for its theming, but it's not dazzling.
"Love it"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
For thrill I only gave this a "GOOD" only because i just got back from Paris and the Pirate ride in Paris is geat with two drops and a looonger ride....but I still love ours...its a classic.
"Hoist the Jolly Roger!"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Aside from the small waterfall at the beginning of the ride, there's not much to take a person by surprise on PotC. The fun thing about this ride is the incredible attention to detail that Disney's Imagineers worked into the ride. No matter how many times I ride it, I always see something new and fun. Some aspects of the ride (skeletons, cannons going off) might scare younger kids, but most people will enjoy themselves. And the song will linger in your mind, but not in that annoying "It's a small world after all" way. In a fun, amusing way.
"A Pirates Life for Me!"
Reviewed on Apr 22, 2003 by SmithG
Rating: Not rated  
Ahoy there matey's! This ride is defintely a classic as others have said, but the lack of a real thrill may deter the teenage to college age crowd. It can be a little scary for young tikes, but I don't think its too bad. This ride is a great ride though with wonderful animatronics and themeing. A major plus of this ride is the fact there is NEVER a wait unless its raining outside, people generally seem to go on this as soon as they are done with the two Moutain rides. I recommend this to EVERYONE! Sure, it doesn't have a lot of thrills, but most Disney rides don't, this is Disney after all, not Six Flags!
"A timeless classic!"
Reviewed on Apr 22, 2003 by Joalovar
Rating: Not rated  
I love it, always ride first when I get to the MK.
"One of The Best"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2003 by Steveo83
Rating: Not rated  
I absolutly love this ride. It is in my top 3 at Magic Kingdom.
"good ride"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by Mickeyman819
Rating: Not rated  
I cant go one visit to disney without riding this ride. The ride is aweosme and i love it. I can get stuck though at the end of the ride by the jail. I cant wait until december so i can ride it.
"Two Thumbs Up"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
Great Ride! I've never had a long wait for this either. It's a must do for me, and it's just a fun ride to go on with great theming. Be sure to check it out.
"Perfect"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
There is nothing negative you could say about PoC. In every aspect it is flawless. To dislike Pirates is to be Un-Disneyan.
"the best"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
disney at it's best.a must see every visit. nice to see everything in disney is not always pc.
"Disney at it's best"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
Outstanding ride, a must see on any trip to MK. This one has so many great moments it's hard to list them all: The city on fire, the pirate ship, the cannonballs splashing in the water, the cloudy sky overhead, the guy with the hairy leg hanging over the bridge, "We wants the redhead!", the skeletons playing chess in the queue. Just terrific.
"Classic"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Pirates of the Caribbean is one of Disney's finest attractions. Fun for everybody and one of the best thrill rides at MK.
"Dead men tell no tales!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum, ride pirates of the caribbean at disney world before your done.Pirates of the Carribean is a great ride for the whole family, the theming and the music are a great addition to the ride. Who thought pirates getting drunk and singing would be more fun!?The storyline is great and is a nice way to relax after a big thrill ride.No trip to disney is complete without riding it!
"Another Classic!"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by wolf359
Rating: Not rated  
Another of MK's best. Also another attraction I ride several times EVERY time I go to MK. Even though I personally think the DL version of the ride is a little better I think the Queue is much more interesting at MK.
"Yo, Ho! Yo, Ho!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Pirates of the Caribbean is a great attraction. Between its awesome theming and incredibly lifelike animatronics, it's just a great show. Particularly enjoyable is the sudden drop experienced quite surprisingly if you're not used to it or don't remember where it is. Pay attention to the scenes as you'll find something to chuckle at in each one. The gift shop after the ride is full of pirate attractions too. Don't pass on by this attraction, it's a lot of fun.
"A Pirates Life for Me"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This attraction in Adventureland is what Disney is all about, entertaining attractions combining thrills, fantasy, and comedy. The attraction is arguably the best themed indoor attraction in the park making you feel as if you really have gone back in time to see pirates sacking the Caribbean. A definate must-see for all but young children who might find the attraction too dark and scarry.
"be prepaired..."
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by AliciaLuvzDizne
Rating: Not rated  
There is so much to look at and to notice on this fun ride! This is one of my favorite rides at the park. Be ready to be singing verses of 'A Pirates Life for Me' for the rest of the day!! Yo Ho!!
"Yo Ho!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
One of the best "story attractions" at the Magic Kingdom, guests are first taken through caves and beaches where pirates once thrived. But, alas - we are taken back in time by going down a waterfall - and into the Caribbean to see some hilarious and some not-so-hilarious pirates at work! Anyone will surely love this attraction, the last one Walt personally directed.
"First to Review This?!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by pisco
Rating: Not rated  
What can you say. This one has it all. This has become my absolute favorite MK attraction.
Pirates of the Caribbean
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site