Captain EO reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 5.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 5.5  
"Kids and parents unimpressed"
Reviewed on May 31, 2014 by Andy
Rating: 1  
So the fast pass chose this for us (which is totally pointless as everyone gets in) and nowhere during the wait did it say that this show would include the aledged pedophile and 80s pop hero. Had we known, we would have given the show a very wide birth. Including wait, It's a whole 45 minutes of my life I'll never get back. Like Saville, Rolf and your other childhood heroes, avoid unles you have been groomed to still believe the magic. Sorry Disney, this show really wasn't cool.
"OMG Disney get a grip !!!!"
Reviewed on May 05, 2014 by Captain EO
Rating: 1  
The worst thing I have ever seen at Disney. What are you thinking awful awful awful. The only thing that was ok was the the hit song. Disney get your act together. You need to replace this with something else. You don't sit crap like this a universal !!!!!
"CAPTAIN EO ha to go"
Reviewed on Mar 29, 2014 by Disney fan
Rating: 1  
I would honestly give it negative stars if I could. The only reason anyone went was because they couldn't get a fast past to anything else. WDW needs to freshen things up and give us something new to entertain us. Don't waste your time even if you are a MJ fan.
"Captain EO-Worst Disney Film Ever"
Reviewed on Nov 11, 2013 by disneyfan4156
Rating: 1  
Recently I went to Epcot and saw Captain EO just to pass time before our fast pass time for Test Track. Hey, It was produced by George Lucas so it was ought to be good. Oh we were so wrong. It was literally torture to eyes and ears. Hooter was super annoying, as the movie went on the cheesier it got. Really stupid story line. My family wanted to leave mid-movie, while some people were yelling "Go Michael!" Are you serious? I wish we could've skipped this. Just walking around could've been funner. So happy they are going to permanately close this. It should've closed fifteen years ago.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2013 by D S
Rating: 10  
I'm gutted to hear this attraction is closing. It is a classic and something that disney can truly be proud of. It's classic 80's and would highly recommend going to see it before it closes!
"Captain EO is the worst attraction ever"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2013 by scarpia piano
Rating: 1  
We were at WDW in June of 2009 when both Michael Jackson and Farah Faucet died. We heard the news from a cast member while visiting DAK. Awhile later, I heard that Captain EO was back at Epcot. I thought that this might be a temporary homage to a strange and troubled entertainment icon. Four years later, this stupid, short sighted decision has continued without change. Why?!?!? Full disclosure, I was a fan of Honey I Shrunk the Audience. I realize I may be in a minority but if the 3D attraction needed to be replaced, please, PLEASE give us something new. Never in the history of WDW or DL was an attraction ever improved upon as much as the change from EO to HISTA. Captain EO was, and is stupid. It's crap! Anyone who enjoys EO should be forced into shock therapy! I realize the movies that inspired HISTA have come and gone. Still, the HISTA attraction was great. There were special effects added to the seating area that added to the experience. Just because a movie is a thing of the past, doesn't mean the attraction has to be changed. Nowadays, you can't even purchase a Song of the South DVD. Still, Splash Mountain is a great ride. If there are no plans to have a new 3D movie at Epcot, at least bring back the better attraction. EO makes Stitch's Adventure look like a headliner! I realize this is just my opinion, but I'm right! Death to any and all lovers or likers of Captain EO! So there!!!
"EXCELLENT!!"
Reviewed on Aug 06, 2013 by Dolli
Rating: 10  
Love this - i saw it when it originally came out and fell in love with it so when i heard it was returning i booked my trip ASAP!! It is a timeless classic! I was glad to see younger folks enjoying it like i did so many years ago and the music is awesome. It is a must if you visit epcot and i pray it is here to stay.
"Worst thing I ever saw"
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2013 by Peterj
Rating: 1  
I can't believe anyone would rate this more than one star. They replaced Honey I Shrunk the Audience with this piece of garbage. Disney should be ashamed to have this in their park.
"Love It"
Reviewed on Jul 28, 2013 by Beaminator
Rating: 10  
Yeah, I'm a Michael Jackson fan, and the storyline may be cheesy, but I love it. Oh, and don't sit in the first row. Sit in the second.
"no way"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2013 by kelly
Rating: 1  
half an hour of my life i will never get back...avoid this attraction at all costs.....we have been to disney 8 times and cannot rave about it enough but this ride is one of the worst experiences of my life !!!
"Don't waste your time"
Reviewed on Apr 03, 2013 by Lisa
Rating: 1  
We were just in Epcot last week and decided to check this out because it had no line. Well, there is a reason there wasn't a line. It was really bad. Hard to believe this is a Disney attraction because it is horrible. Don't waste your time. Stupid, cheesy, boring. Just really dumb. I can't believe some people actually liked this. It was way better when it was Honey I Shrunk the Audience. They seriously need to replace this with something else.
"Old, but neat"
Reviewed on Feb 12, 2013 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 6  
I always catch this, just because there's never really a wait for it and it's relaxing and cool inside. It's Michael Jackson and captures most of what was lost at EPCOT over the past few years. It's very, very strange and weird. But it's also pretty entertaining. Catch if the crowds are high or if it's very hot outside. Not a huge crowd-grabber but worth the trip. Now if only Imagination was worth seeing..
"Horrible "movie""
Reviewed on Jan 16, 2013 by Matt
Rating: 1  
My wife and I went into captain eo because there was no line and we were filling time before a fast pass. This movie/Michael Jackson musi video was terrible. I wish I had walked out. I suppose if you really like Michael Jackson and you really like the 80's, you may like this. I don't care much for either. The funniest part was when the movie ended the kid says, "welcome back to 2013 folks". We were all excited to be back in 2013 from the 1980's, although it was suppose to feel like we went into the future. I can't believe Disney stooped so low to bring this back. They need to turn that theatre into a mOvie like the Mickie 3d show at magic kingdom, that's a great show. I would stay away from eo.
"Captain EO"
Reviewed on Jan 07, 2013 by Luis
Rating: 10  
I just get so tired of Disney updating their attractions to make them more "modern" and hip that they completely remove all the original magic and fantasy they once carried. EPCOT back in it's glory days was filled with one adventure after another, they massacred and destroyed such treasures like "Horizons" and "World of Motion" as we'll as "Wonder's of Life" or the original "The Living Seas" and "Journey Into Imagination!"to replace them with more up to date attractions that get old after the second time you ride them. Captain EO embodied the magic and spirit of EPCOT back when it was the coolest place on the planet, I am so happy to have it back and who cares of the special effects are not "Lord of the Rings" or "X-Men" quality, Captain EO is plain Disney fun and makes its audience happy, singing and dancing for the rest of the day, through world showcase and other future world attractions. What more can you ask for? There are certain theater techniques with choreography, puppetry, make-up, and modeling that highly advanced and cutting edge CGI just can't compete with!
"Waste of space"
Reviewed on Dec 26, 2012 by Any2010
Rating: 2  
What a waste of space and resources. is there too much Michael Jackson fans out there?. Don't think so.
"WOW!!! Just WOW!"
Reviewed on Nov 11, 2012 by jharvey
Rating: 1  
First, my score. I gave it a one because I was afraid if I did not, you would think it was an accidental omission. This attraction is the worse thing to happen to Disney World since, I don't know..... Harry Potter. I say that as a 32 year old man who grew up listening to the mostly sane Michael Jackson of Thriller and Billie Jean fame. So, when I went in September, I took DW, DD5, and DD8, to try out EO. First strike is the video they show before the main event. Whenever you push the fact that Francis Ford Copolla (sic?) and George Lucas were, along with Michael Jackson, were driving forces behind the attraction, you have certain expectations. My advice, stop. If the guests only walk in expecting 80s nostalgia, the disappointment will be reduced. Note: I say reduced, not eliminated. Second strike is the actual movie. It was cheesy. I lived the 80s and know what chessy is and Captain EO, you are cheesy. If Dune had a love child with Ice Pirates, that kid would grow up looking down on Captain EO. Guys, and ladies, I cannot stress this enough.....STAY AWAY. Only watch this if you enjoy punishing a family member that has been bugging you the entire trip. I would advise updating this attraction but cannot think of a way that would work. Captain PSU, the Paterno years? Makes as much sense as having an attraction headlined by Michael Jackson in a place that caters to kids. This attraction must be stopped, again. Better uses for this area: - yet another DVC counter - interactive telemarketers booth - "Fun With Gout" - "Estaban's Gift Of Guitar" Any other ideas should be forwarded to TDO. Listen, I am the ultimate Disney Dork. The glass is always half full and all four parks are perfect and all that fun stuff. I can spend all day riding Splash, which, if you listen to 80% of posters on this page, is one broken down AA from ushering in the end of the world. I say Universal is the evil empire. Guys, I am your typical WDW cheerleader. But this attraction is the biggest joke in the park.
"Very old, yet very awesome!"
Reviewed on Jul 16, 2012 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 9  
Captain EO is one of the most weirdest, unique attractions you can find in the parks! It's got that good Michael Jackson music, and it was a good replacement for Honey, I Shrunk the Audience.. for now. I can see this getting a good replacement sometime soon, along with the rest of the pavilion it lives in. But it has my respect for now.

It's alot of fun and with the effects it got to use from HISTA (Bouncing auditorium, new lights, ect.) it made it even more enjoyable. Plus it's very loud so you can get into the music and start tapping your feet. It's characters are very strange yet loveable and I could consider this 1986 treasure a "not to miss!"
"Not just to have fun, but to remember a living legend."
Reviewed on Jan 20, 2012 by tron1988
Rating: 10  
There is no doubt that Captain EO is dated and that you will have the occasional laugh when you see dude's rocking mullets. All that aside most should look past that, to enjoy and reflect back on one of the greatest musical legends of all time 'Michael Jackson'. I guarantee some foot tapping on your part when you watch this. The music is old school, and just so perfect. Disney did a great job also in restoring the original film, and adding some really cool special effects that were never before seen in the original attractions run. This is a must for all MJ fans.
"Nostalgic !!"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2011 by draybook
Rating: 10  
This is not ground breaking by any means. However, if you ever saw this as a kid you'll take quite a nice trip down memory lane. I hadn't seen this since roughly 1992, and I got to see it again this year. I was thrilled, and I felt like a 12 year old again.
"Glorified Music Video"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2011 by Disneyfreak05
Rating: 1  
All this is, is a glorified music video.. I liked Honey I shrunk the Audience a whole lot better
""Remember Michael Jackson""
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2011 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love Captain EO it's my favorite 3D movie and the songs awesome! RIP Michael Jackson I love you!
"Brings back awesome memories!"
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 9  
Sure the movie is cheesy, but man, I felt like I was in the 80's again. Really fun!
"Lets do a flash mob June 25th 2011!"
Reviewed on Jun 13, 2011 by sisdunk2
Rating: 10  
I might as well start by saying I am 60...Hold ON...I saw Captain EO when it first came out at Epcot and thrilled it is back!! Way before its time in 3D. Think about it...Videos are not that much more advanced today. After the space ship crash, MJ is RIGHT there...IN YOUR FACE...it does not get any better than that. I started jamming again to MJ after he was "passed away" ...lost 45 lbs!!!
Is there a tribute at WDW at EO June 25th 2011???
What a positive influence on my life that guy has been. You know? I love the way he thanked God for his talent and said we should be like Jesus and in EO... ANOTHER PART OF ME ...it's life defining.
"Captain EO-Mazing!"
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2011 by Skooterkid
Rating: 10  
(Sorry for the terrible title!)

I love love love Captain EO. As I was born in 1992 I didn't get to see it first time round, but on my last trip to EPCOT in August I saw it three times! I am a massive Michael Jackson fan, and my favourite album of all time is the Bad album, so I was ecstatic watching Michael performing 'Another Part of Me' in front of our eyes. Other than watching This Is It on the big screen, thats the closest we can now get to experiencing Michael perform onstage. I love the whimsical characters and the whole 80s vibe. Sure it may seem a little old fashioned and not as technologically advanced as other attractions, but EPCOT needs rides which provide a taste of the past for audiences. We have to acknowledge and learn from the past to move on in the future! =)

Go see it. Now.
"Old stuff"
Reviewed on Oct 29, 2010 by Leo!
Rating: 4  
Michael Jackson was huge, but I don't think this is so good to bring it again. Maybe in the 80's-early 90's this attraction was the best, but now I think
it can't compete against the rest of the epcot wonders. Completely out of place.
"Awesome "
Reviewed on Jul 16, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love Captain EO! because of Michael Jackson and his dancing and his acting! I hope to bring Back Captain EO in EPCOT! RIP Michael Jackson!
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2009 by jaques21
Rating: 10  
What a fun show! You cant beat sci-fi, plus Michael Jackson, and all in 3-D. All i got to say is r.i.p Michael and Captain EO.
"Loved it"
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2008 by TinkSassy
Rating: 9  
I miss this one. I remember hopping parks in my teenage years to see this one more time. Might be dated now - but would like to see it again ;(
"I liked it. The music was good, and it was for all ages."
Reviewed on May 14, 2008 by MAGICFLOP
Rating: 9  
I am sorry it is gone. It was way better than the Honey shrunk show.
But it was lost during the random destruction of that area of future world. The got Fingment too....shame
"You think me..beautiful?!"
Reviewed on Nov 19, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
This is/was my favorite Disney 3-D movie so far and was definitely their most imaginative and expensive one to date. Michael Jackson starred as the heroic leader, Captain Eo. On a mission to find the Supreme Leader they crash land on her planet accidentally only to find the planet's been turned into a wasteland. As captives, the band of freedom fighters use music and dance to overcome the Evil Queen and end up converting her and the planet's people back to good.

Yes, it all sounds kind of simple and almost hokey, but the movie was a really great action-packed adventure. The music and sound were loud and crisp and the visuals were on an epic scale. The combination of Lucas (produced and wrote) and Coppola (scripted and directed) made it a real quality show. The characters were cool, too. The little furry creature, the twin-headed muppet Idee, Hooter the blue elephant and the Blue robot dude, Major Domo.

Contrary to what many people think, the attraction was not removed due to Jackson's legal troubles. In fact, the Paris and Tokyo versions were still around in the late 90's;and even California's didn't close until 1996.

Anyways, Honey, I Shrunk the Audience is a somewhat mediocre replacement for what Cpt Eo was. I will always have fond memories of Captain Eo. I still remember walking in EPCOT's Future World East and actually being able to hear the bass from the last song, 'Another Part Of Me', rumbling from far away as the show ended.

Hooter, btw, was played by Tony Cox, the same black dwarf actor who was hilarious in Me, Myself & Irene as the limo driver and more recently in Bad Santa as Santa's helper!
"Magical 3D show!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 29, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
I love this show at Journey Into Imagination!!! It was replaced by Honey, I Shrunk the Audience, but it looks really cool. I love the magical 3D glasses because they're good to wear them. I like the heroes & the villains the best at the Magic Eye Theater.
"BYE BYE"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
ANYTHING 3D AT DISNEY IS GOOD TO BAD THE STAR FELL OUT OF DISNY'S GOOD GRACES.
"Changing the World"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I was not a true Captain EO fan, but the two times I saw the 3-D film, it was pretty fun! The 3-D effects were out of this world (literally) and the music wasn't exactly my style, but it wasn't a bad EPCOT Center attractin at all.
Captain EO
 
Related Photo Galleries
Captain EO 2010
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site