Walt Disney World Monorail System reviews

Walt Disney World
Reader rating Reader rating 9.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.4  
"Just another review"
Reviewed on Jan 03, 2009 by bbarnett
Rating: 10  
The only reason I am adding a comment to this is because I saw a rating of 9.4. If Disney has a 10 anywhere on the grounds it is the Monorail. Far and away the best service you will get at WDW.
"Walt Disney World Monorail is the best. "
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2008 by Denziroli
Rating: 10  
The Walt Disney World monorail system is the best invention disney has cooked up since the 1st park opened in 1955. Walt Disney has been & always will be one of the top inventors of all time. Walt Disney - R.I.P.

Dennis
North Providence, RI
"Walt Disney World Monorail is the best. "
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2008 by Denziroli
Rating: 10  
The Walt Disney World monorail system is the best invention disney has cooked up since the 1st park opened in 1955. Waly Disney has been & always will be one of the top inventors of all time. Walt Disney - R.I.P.

Dennis
North Providence, RI
"Great Transportation!"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
I love taking the monorail, it's fun and most times there are seats available. It's fun going from TTC to Epcot and seeing the park.
"Always a fun time!"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2008 by drizea
Rating: 10  
Who couldn't love the monorail?! It's always a fun time, since I was young at it was always packed, and now still to explore the hotels and parks. I think it holds a place in my heart, as I always thought the technology was pretty cool. And you can memorize how to say "stear clear of the doors" in a new language!
"YEAH"
Reviewed on May 30, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
The monorails are the best transportation in the complex and as fun as many rides.
"stitch speak on monorail"
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2007 by xx_lilo_xx
Rating: 6  
that made me laugh, hehe so much fun!!

on and ask to ride up front it a must
"A must do monorail ride"
Reviewed on Feb 05, 2007 by Madam Leota
Rating: 10  
At Christmas, one of the best things to do is to ride up front with the driver from MK to EPCOT. The monorail goes right around the Spaceship Earth ball and thru all the Christmas lights on the bridge. I did this last year and it was the most amazing suprise of my trip. Next time, I plan on having my camcorder ready so I can tape the experience and relive it over and over and over again!!!
"The Monorail is Awsome!"
Reviewed on Jan 04, 2007 by wdwron08
Rating: Not rated  
The Monorail is the best way to get from TTC (Ticket & Transportation Center), Epcot, And the Magic Kingdom, And the Resorts. I like the current Monorails better than the old Monorails because they are more comfortable. The best thing about riding the Monorail is riding in fromt of the monorail.
"needs expansion"
Reviewed on Dec 29, 2006 by harryk
Rating: Not rated  
Needs expansion to all the parks, and somehow to include AK and Wilderness Lodges. Cast members tell us that it is very expensive to run and maintain - but as a vision for the future, which Walt advocated, it is worth it.
Sure beats the overcrowded busses during opening and closing of the parks.
"Unique"
Reviewed on Mar 05, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Great way to travel...unique, and you get to see lots of other things en route to your destination with decent views due to its height. However, whilst enjoyable and a different way to get around, it can get VERY busy and to be honest, you wont want to queue for ages just to get onto transport! Choose you journey times carefully! Avoid early evening when everyone wants to get to a show at EPCOT. Otherwise, enjoy!
"WDW standard"
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
We have to ride them at least once on our infrequent trips to WDW. It's always a thrill on the MK to TTC direct line to ride straight through the Contemporary lobby. That never grows old. When possible, ask for a seat up with the driver.
"An Exciting form of trans"
Reviewed on Jan 06, 2005 by BeachClub1
Rating: Not rated  
An Exciting way to get around!
The WDW Monorail is an Exciting way to get around, and if you ask and are lucky, you can sit up front with the driver!
"Monorail!"
Reviewed on Nov 23, 2004 by Dr.Seeker
Rating: Not rated  
Mono means one and rail means rail, as Lyle Lanley would say. Over thirty years old and these are the most futuristic looking transportation system in the world. THat's Disney Magic.
"Least Favorite Transport"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2003 by surfsupdon
Rating: Not rated  
Granted, it's a must ride at least once per vacation. However, we only go during peak times, when the monorails are the least efficient. When you finally get on a monorail, you wait before ecah stop out on the tracks for a good 10 mins due to "heavy volume." At least with the busses when it is crowded they will stack multiple busses at the bus stops that need it most and get all home to a Resort in a timely fashion. However, monorails must keep a certian distance whereas the busses can come rapid fire and several at one time. Also, the bu drivers are friendly and talk--and even sing Christmas songs--while the monorail is very standard and un personal as it is all recordings. And the monorail staff seem "holier than thou" and are not too keen on smiling, jsut doing their job and heding Guests onto over cramped vestibules like cows. I'll take a bus over the monorail, especially during peak seasons. But, yes, the monorail is a must one trip...but then when I'm stuck on it pre station I regret it.
"Monorail Is Number One"
Reviewed on Oct 18, 2003 by MonorailGreen
Rating: Not rated  
The monorail is such an important part of any vacation to Walt Disney World. It really is your "Gateway To The Magic Kingdom" and has been since 1971. The monorail is THE BEST!!
"Efficient & A Great View"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
You get a great view of the Seven Seas Lagoon and MK resorts on the MK monorail, and a great view of Epcot's Future World on the Epcot monorail. You can get an even BETTER view if you get a chance to ride in the front with the driver. Also, the seats are comfortable and the trains run frequently. Highly recommended.
"Love this monorail system"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
Great system. The best way to move around MK. Love to be co-pilots upfront since thats how you get the best view of all around you. I say they should extend the monorail to all parks. I know this might never happen because of the cost...but a great idea.
"Glide Ride"
Reviewed on Jun 12, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
The monorails are one of the best forms of transportation at Disney World. I love gliding along, high above the ground, able to see so much of WDW from above. I try to ride at least once every visit. And the fun thing is, you can go have lunch at one of the resort restaurants (provided its on the monorail line) and be back in the park quickly and easily in no time at all. It's something that always makes me think of Disney World.
"Fun Highway"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
The best transportation at WDW. If you don't mind waiting a few extra minutes, ask to ride in the front cab! It fits 4 and gives you a great view.
"Fantasy Transport!"
Reviewed on Mar 25, 2003 by rokcandy
Rating: Not rated  
I'll always love the Monorail. There's just something so other-worldly and special about it - it should be expanded to the other 2 parks. The only thing I don't like is the smell of the interior, but maybe the cast can't help that due to the amount of people. Ride up front if you can, esp. if you have kiddies!
"Futuristic travel now"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2003 by scottnj1966
Rating: Not rated  
I love these things. They have always looked like how the future of transportation should be. Its hard to believe the track and idea was desogned in the 50's but they sure look like the belong 50 years from now. They are a quick fun way to travel to at least two of the parks here at WDW. Hopefully they will open there wallets and build more track to connect to all four of the parks. Dont miss riding in the front with the pilot. What a view!!! Busses....pssh
"The best part of WDW"
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2002 by Minnie85
Rating: Not rated  
Its my favorite part of all of the world! (earth and WDW!)
"awesome"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
it's great! I JUST WISH IT WENT TO AK AND MGM TOO!!!!! :(
"Great red monorail!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
I love the red monorail the best & it looks really cool!!! I can't get enough time to get to the line for some reason.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
It is amazing to me how a transportation device can capture so many hearts. The monorail is Disney to a tee. It is just a great way to travel.
"The highway in the sky!"
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2002 by ron777
Rating: Not rated  
Every time i come to Disney world the Monorail has to be the first thing i have to ride. It is the best way to get to the magic kingdom and EPCOT. I hope they can built monorai service to MGM and Animal kingdom.
"Cool"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
There is no better way to get around from the MK parking lot to MK, or to any of the three resorts that the monorail serves the the other
"A Total Classic!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2002 by orangefan15
Rating: Not rated  
What better way to get around than zipping on the monorail? I will admit that its not quite as great as it used to be given that it doesn't go to most Disney properties at this point, but its very convenient for those places where it does go. As a guest at one of the monorail resorts, its a ton of fun to the leave the park and wave at all the millions of people (at least it seems like that many:) ) in line for other modes of transport as you go right to the front of the line and hop on the monorail directly to your resort. Its very kid friendly (much more so than standing on a bus after spending hours treking through the parks on your feet) and you can even sit in the front with the driver (if only they still gave out the monorail "wings"... but you can still a "license"). The only way to make the monorail any better would be to build more of it and connect all of Disney with this mode of transport (yes, I know I'm living in a dream world).
"THE BEST!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by disneyanna0521
Rating: Not rated  
Take it to go to MK for the first time ever, or first time this trip!! it is pure magic!! Ask if you can sit up front with the driver for even more magic!!!
"A must do ride"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2002 by goofyman
Rating: Not rated  
You are not at Disney until you get on the Monorail...and hear them say "Please stand clear of the doors"..in Spanish!
"Best Ride at WDW"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
The monorail is the coolest thing in the world, It is one of the reasons that I love staying at the Grand Floridian and Polynesian.
"A WDW Classic"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
The coolest mode of transportation, there is something special about the monorail. When you see one, you know you're at Disney. I always make a point to ride it, even if I'm not using it to get somewhere.
"Monorail is #1!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Disney4648
Rating: Not rated  
The Disney Monorail is the best type of transportation. There is little or no wait for the Monorail.
"Mediocre Magic Monorails"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WeirdOne
Rating: Not rated  
I must say that the monorails are great rides in themselves. The queue time is usually average and okay, but sometimes they really push the limit on how much guests can wait. The service is very average. Monorail loaders/greeters/etc never smile. They are always cold and sterile. They merely slide the gates open and with a sarcastic frown they tell us to haul into the vehicles. The monorails are themed to the min, and sometimes are very bad show when they haven't been rehab in a while. Compared to other monorails, Walt Disney World's are among the worst. The experience on a monorail inspite of all that is really good. - The WeirdOne
"Disney at its best"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
One cannot call it a WDW vacation until you have travelled on the monorail. Although in terms of the entire property, the monorail is quite unpractically... it is great for the Deluxe resorts and hopping from MK to Epcot. Great for kids, especially the front.
"best way to travel in WDW"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by jp3raptor
Rating: Not rated  
Once they expand the Monorail to include MGM and AK It will be even better... But for now it's definitely the best way to travel in WDW
"Monorail Madness!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
The monorail is a great transportation method for disney guests. It offers an easy way to escape parking and trams but then again you must use the ticket and transportation center first which can be a hassle. Always remember to ask for the front seat which can seat up to 4 comfortably, and after your done ask the driver for a monorail liscense. The liscense states that your officially a co-pilot for the monorail!
"GREAT RIDE"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THERE IS SOMETHING DISNEY MAGICAL ABOUT THIS TRANSPORTATION THAT WHILE IT PROVIDES A BASIC SERVICE TO MK- EPCOT AND THE TRANSPORTATION CENTER IT SEEMS TO BE ENJOYED AS AN ATTRACTION OF IT'S OWN.IF YOU STAY AT ONE OF THE THREE HOTELS ON ITS ROUTE YOU WILL FIND YOURSELF SPENDING AND ENJOYING THE TIME RIDING, TRY TO GET ON AS THE FIREWORKS AT MK GO OFF. OR WHEN LOADING ASK TO RIDE UP FRONT WITH THE OPERATOR.
"its awesome"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by lakersfan17
Rating: Not rated  
its the best way to get around the wdw resort
"why arent there more?"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by blink148
Rating: Not rated  
with the amazing capabilities of monorails, why dont we see more of them in america? the best way to get around, and sometimes even fun
"Best Way to Get Around"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Even when I'm not in one of the parks, I get a lot of enjoyment simply in riding around on the monorail. It's a major part of the Disney magic for me and I try and ride on each track as often as I can. Sure, each car happens to have a strong smell of body odor, but it doesn't necessarily effect my enjoying the ride. It's very relaxing and enjoyable simply to ride as it circles Future World in Epcot or rides around from the TTC to the Polynesian to the Contemporary to the Magic Kingdom. It's the best type of Disney transporation.
"Monorific!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by DisneyWorldGuru
Rating: Not rated  
The monorail is the best way to get around.
"Por Favor Mentega Se Alaj"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by gjpjtj
Rating: Not rated  
There is no better way to travel around the World. (Or at least nothing else is quite as fun.) The monorail system @ WDW is great fun. There's just something special about riding the "beam" around WDW. When loading ask if you can ride up front, can't beat that view!!
"The Magical Way to Go"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
This is a clear example of how Walt wanted to awe his Guests. There's no other sensation for those who see the monorail approaching for the first time, and when you move into the Contemporary Resort, for example. If it's your first time in WDW, you should definately get to the gates in one of these, especially to EPCOT. Otherwise, avoid it during opening and closing times.
"FUN!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This is sometimes the most fun part of going to Disney World. The monorail it just so much fun to ride. If you're going to MK directly from the TTC, you will ride through the Contemporary Resort on your way to the Magic Kingdom. This is a fun and fast way to get to MK and the other resorts that are along the route. Make sure you ride the Monorail at least once
"A cool way to travel"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Alberrisford
Rating: Not rated  
Where available, the monorail is an excellent means of travel. It is fast, clean and efficient. Some people actually refer to it as a ride. The monorail is special because its not ordinary, like the buses are, it is something that is not normally present in everyday life. The monorail is narrated as you pass by certain things, which means your short journey will not be boring. If you get a chance, then ride the monorail!
Walt Disney World Monorail System
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site