Disney's Yacht Club Resort reviews

Epcot Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 8.6 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.6  
"Favourite resort! Absolutely love this resort!! "
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2013 by Colette
Rating: 10  
Before I stayed here it had always been my favourite resort. It looked beautiful inside and outside! I couldn't believe our luck when we stayed here, it's very pricy but it's totally worth it!! When we arrived we where in awe of home amazing and beautiful the lobby was. The check in staff where friendly and when we checked in we had been upgraded to a garden view room! When we got to our room it was perfect! A billion times better than how I thought the room gonna be. The layout, the design, the colours -everything was perfect! Even the view from our patio was perfect -we could see stormalong bay, crescent lake and of a night we could see the fireworks from EPCOT.

I love everything about this resort, some people will moan about it not having a food court but it's only a 2-3 minute walk tops to the Beach Club marketplace where you can get a variety of food and also at the Yacht Club the Captains Grille is one of the best buffets on property and every time I've been it's never been crowded or loud. Also it's just a short walk or boat ride to the Boardwalk and it's within walking distance to EPCOT and DHS. At night there is a campfire and movies on the beach.

Although a lot of people think because the Yacht Club is boring because it's grey in all honesty it's the complete opposite -I sat in the Beach Club lobby and it was so loud with kids screaming and crying, where as at the Yacht Club you got none of that! It's so serene and peaceful!

Likes:
The Cast Members
The atmosphere and whole hotel in general
The pools
The views at hotel and around it.
The closeness to EPCOT, DHS, the boardwalk and the Beach Club marketplace
The hotel shop has a lot of stuff they don't have in the parks
The bus stops at the Yacht Club first so your kinda guaranteed a seat lol

Negatives:
None!

I was a huge fan of the Yacht Club before I ever stayed there and after staying there I'm now hooked lol.
If anyone wants or needs additional information then you can always message me :)
"Excellent stay"
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2013 by Jen B
Rating: 10  
I had a work conference here last year. I couldn't recommend the Yacht Club enough! The rooms are amazing (my view was of trees/garden area but it was still lovely), clean, wonderful. The smell in this hotel is amazing! I don't know what they pump into the lobby but I love it! So many food options and Stormalong Bay is great. So nice to be able to walk to two parks and the Boardwalk. Its quite expensive but you are paying for convenience!
"The Best on Property"
Reviewed on May 22, 2013 by Stich626
Rating: 10  
This resort is the best resort on the entire Disney property! The service is the best and they treat us just like family. Every time you walk through the door they tell you "Welcome Home". To me it is these little things that makes this resort very special. The pool here is amazing. We love to just sit and relax in the lazy river. This place can be a little on the pricey side but it is completely worth the price. Everything about this resort is worth a 10! Probably the best part about this resort though is that you can walk to Epcot and take a boat to Hollywood Studios...I mean who doesn't like that!
"love it, love it, love it"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2010 by mousefan76
Rating: 10  
The YC is the only resort my family likes to stay at. We have stayed on the club level the past 6 stays and standard rooms the 4 prior to that. Since we stay for a week at a time we have come to know the staff and they us. The mousekeeping is always wonderful and the lounge staff as well. Granted it is more costly to stay there but the family that we have come to love there is great. We arrive with hugs and leave with the same. It is upsetting to read poor reviews of "our resort", but I guess eventually someone will have a bad experience now and then but I would suggest giving it another try. It is just an added bonus that EPCOT and HS are so close.
"Garden view, club level 2 Queen Beds Dec 13 - 17th room 5216 Will not return to this resort"
Reviewed on Dec 20, 2010 by 
Rating: 5  
Call me jaded, but the club level at this resort is not worth the price. While we all know that Disney has scaled back its decorations and has instituted cost cutting measures, the customer experience at least during our stay has significantly been impacted. Christmas Decorations have been scaled back. Thin walls allowed irate family arguments interrupt our sleep, "high speed internet access" @10Mb/half duplex LAN connection which was an additional $9.95 a day had a higher latency and lower throughput than my phone. We had reservations at both GF (which we've stayed several times before before in Sugar Loaf building) and YC, but on a whim decided to try YC. In spite of having reservations a month out, no YC email or postcard ever arrived for ADR assistance but we did get numerous GF ones. We did all of our ADRs via the Web including the coveted Cinderella Dining. While on property I can't fault the concierge greeter, bell service, or Mousekeeping as they were excellent.

When we checked in of course it was early in the day so we did the park the bags, get the room keys and head to the park routine. Normally how this would operate is they (the concierge) would either text or call your phone when the room was ready, but after 4pm we were getting tired and no such event had occurred so we schlepped back to YC Club level and got our room assignment then. The baseboards and corners needed paint and repair (looks like bumper cars ran down the hall...but after seeing the riding vacuum cleaner I suspect I found one culprit)

Bus service was not an issue, never more than 15 minutes wait to or from to the Magic Kingdom. AK I don't know as we only enjoy Flame tree there so we skipped it this visit. Boat service was fine to Epcot and Hollywood Studios.
"Very Relaxing"
Reviewed on Nov 01, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
As with almost all the resorts in the Epcot resort area, it's only a short walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studios. This is a much more relaxing resort than Beach club as it does not cater to families like they do but has the same Nautical theme.

Some things about Beach Club are better but Yacht Club more than makes up for it and I think it's the better of the two. If only it was a DVC resort :)
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
amazing. i like beach club better, this is second. great food and pool, reminds me of marthas vinard and nantuct
beautiful
"Almost perfect"
Reviewed on May 17, 2008 by reptar77
Rating: 9  
Mousekeeping is terrible. Everything else is perfect
"Great Resort!"
Reviewed on Jun 05, 2007 by TwoTigersMom
Rating: 10  
The Yacht Club is an awesome resort with the greatest staff! We stayed at the YC April 27th -May 6th, 2007. From check in to check out we had great service and wonderful experiences with all the CMs we came in contact with. I think we used most of the services available too. The concierge staff is awesome, the mousekeeper that had us even showed my grandma how to make towel animals! On our last day, management, concierge and EMTs flooded our room because my son fell in the tub and busted his chin. They were all great! Even though it was chaotic with so many people in the room, they all stayed very calm so it was easy to give all the appropriate info to each person who needed it.
"What's Not to Like?"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The Yacht Club has wonderful amenities - StormAlong Bay, the Boat Launch to Ep/Boardwalk/DS, the Marina. The restaurants are great, and its sister resort, the Beach Club, has the Sandcastle Kids club and a character breakfast.

The lobby is beautiful, as are the rooms.

What's not to like?
"Great"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2004 by RetiredFRN
Rating: Not rated  
Recently stayed at the Yacht Club for a conference and I thought the YC was a great place to stay.
The service was excellent, the rooms were average but clean and I have to say all the CM's were friendly and helpful. The location is great, you can either walk to MGM or Epcot or take a transport boat. The boats were a little slow and you have to stop at either the boardwalk and/or Swan/Dolphin before you arrive at the parks. I thought the bus service to MK was fine. Did not have to wait long, and compared to my experience with the busses at All Stars, the Yacht club was much better.
The pool was loads of fun. The pirate ship slide was a blast. The one thing about the pool area was the lack of available chairs. We went a few times and had difficlulty finding chairs without towels allready on them. Plus if you want to have a drink (which by the way was very expensive, two drinks were about 15.oo) you can't sit near the pool or on the edge with your drink. So with the lack of chairs it's hard to watch your kids in the pool and relax with a beverage.
All in all, I really liked the YC. Compared to all stars, carribean beach and the boardwalk, I thought the YC was a better overall Disney Resort.
"My favorite"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2004 by madalex
Rating: Not rated  
Favorite resort at WDW. Sure, it has great service, since it is a deluxe resort, and the great pool. But it is my favorite beacuse the location cannot be beat. Two of the four parks are walkable and with all the other resorts nearby, you are really right in the middle of the magic at all times. Just a great place.
"Yacht Club is awesome!"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2003 by Corum
Rating: Not rated  
Stayed for 8 days in Oct. 2002. The staff is just wonderful. We had a great time. I feel the best part of the Yacht Club Resort is its proxity to all of WDW, especially, Epcot, Boardwalk, & MGM. The restaurants on location are top-notch too.
"Loved it!"
Reviewed on Mar 30, 2003 by monte
Rating: Not rated  
My husband and I stayed at the Yacht Club Sept 28-Oct.7, 2002 and absolutely loved it. When we first checked in, we were on the 3rd floor, in a room that was not renovated. I asked if they could move us and they did so w/out any hesitation, our room was 1036, which overlooked the private pool. You can't beat the YC for it's location to Epcot, MGM and the Boardwalk. The buses did stop at the BC, Swan & Dolphin and I think one other hotel, but I'm not sure which one. Sometimes it seemed forever to get anywhere, but all and all the buses weren't too bad. The amenities, such as fitness room, steam room, pool, etc...were wonderful. There were many jacuzzi areas where you could relax after a long day at the parks. There is another jacuzzi in the fitness center that was empty the entire time we were there! I don't think you will go wrong choosing this resort, it's beautiful!
"Disappointed"
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2003 by jab300
Rating: Not rated  
We have stayed at Monorail deluxe resorts before, but they were booked for our trip this time. The reservation taker highly recommended the Yacht Club, especially emphasizing the pool for the kids. Indeed, the pool was great and I couldn't get the kids out of it to go to the parks! Walking to Epcot was wonderful, a great way to sneak over and catch the fireworks without the usual hassle. Boatride to MGM was slow but enjoyable. Room service personnel were gracious and housekeeping did a great job. Now onto the reasons why we won't be staying here again. The check-in and valet service were not up to Disney par. We had to call twice to get our luggage picked up to depart, and when we got to the front our car still wasn't there! We are not normally people who care about such silly things, but when you are paying as much as you pay to stay at this resort you expect at least adequate service (and at the Polynesian have always gotten above and beyond service.)The main reason we will never stay here again is the bus system. We gave the buses several chances to perform and they failed each time! We even missed the hour early opening for resort guests at the Magic Kingdom because the bus was 45 minutes late and took 45 minutes to get to the Magic Kingdom! We timed our trip from Downtown Disney to the return to the Yacht Club and it took an hour and 10 minutes. Unbelieveable but true. There was better bus service at the All Star Resorts when we stayed there. If you are looking just to relax at a good hotel, stay at the Yacht. If you will be visiting any park other than Epcot or MGM, forget this hote.
"Disappointed!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2002 by DisneyMan25
Rating: Not rated  
I visited the Yacht Club in Sept of 2002. I originally had reservations for a Savannah view room on the concierge floor at the Animal Kingdom Lodge, but changed my reservations to this location because I had stayed at the YC before and it was a very enjoyable stay and also due to the fact that the AK lodge does not offer savannah view smoking optional rooms. I switch from the AK lodge to a water view concierge room at the Yacht Club. There were no problems at check-in and the rooms were as I remembered, very nice, worth the price tag for just the room?,...not really but with all of the extra amenities it usually makes it worth it. Unfortunately, on this trip it was not the case. The concierge staff was very helpful and myself and my travel partner received excellent service from them. Now with the bad. Bus service from this location leaves a lot to be desired and I mean A LOT. It was AWFUL. I find it very inconvenient that the Yacht and Beach Club bus stops at the Boardwalk as well and sometimes even the Swan and Dolphin. One day, we waited and hour for a bus to the Magic Kingdom, we actually had to have a bus driver that was going to Downtown Disney radio a bus in. I was really disappointed, I have experienced better bus service at the moderate resorts. The real problem came at check out when guest services charged us for an extra 2 nights. At first, I thought it wouldn't be a big deal. We would just go down to the desk and have it taken care of, boy was I mistaken. First off they acted like we didn't know what we were talking about. They basically tried every thing they could to keep the extra $1000 that was charged. Finally after an hour and a half of waiting for them to make supposed phone calls, they tried tell us that we had to pay that. After a much heated debate with the staff and the hotel manager, they finally realized that they had made a mistake. Keep in mind it was very obvious what had happened. It almost seemed like they were trying to scam us out of our money. Without hardly any apology, which is very un-disney-like, they credited the $1000 back to my card. The worst part is that the credit on that card will not be available for 10 days because of their mistake and we didn't even receive and apology from the guest services staff for their mistake. Needless to say, I would never recommend this location to anyone traveling to WDW. After what I encountered on this trip to Disney, which was my 22nd I might add, I am going to Universal Orlando next time where I feel my money will be much better spent.
"Excellent Location!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by omahadisneyfan
Rating: Not rated  
We've now stayed at the Yacht Club 3 times and will keep going back. Although not connected with monorail service, you can't beat the location and it's proximity to both Epcot and Disney Studios. In addition, you are walking distance to the both of these parks and to the Boardwalk. The swimming pool covers a great deal of land mass, but we've found it very difficult to find chairs to use. Oftentimes it appears that people "reserve" their chairs early in the morning by putting books or sandels on them and come back 6 hours later to claim their seats. The rooms are standard size Disney rooms with no real noticeable difference between those in other resorts. They have many childrens activities mostly in and around the pool area. The nautical theme is prevelent throughout the resort and most noticeable on the outside with a lighthouse and large shipwreck doubling as a water slide. The restaurants are good especially Yachtmans Steakhouse if you're into beef which I love. They also have one of the best snack bar open 24 hours a day serving breakfast items, snacks, and several large ice cream treats. For the adults, there is an evening reception with a small bar setup only for a few hours each evening. The area is small and it's not a place you would go to meet others. It is great if your looking for a casual place to go and just relax for awhile. There is also a snack bar with adult beverages at Hurrican Hannahs grill. Unfortunately, because it's the only bar in the area, it is quite busy at all times, and standing in line for 30 minutes to get your order is not at all unusual. If your interested in exotic drinks Hurrican Hannahs has a great selection to choose from. The real appeal is the location and activities available within walking distance. We've also stayed at the Grand Floridian and Boardwalk and feel the Yacht Club is about equal to the GF but not nearly as pretentious, and much better than the Boardwalk. I believe it has a very broad appeal to families with children of any age as well as adults.
"GREAT LOCATION"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
EASY TO GET TO MGM OR EPCOT COUNTRIES BY BOAT. ROOM WAS SMALL BUT WELL FURNISHED.POOL AREA AT BEACH CLUB WAS AWESOME.COULD SEE FIREWORKS FROM OUR ROOM.
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site