Disney's Polynesian Resort reviews

Magic Kingdom Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 8.7 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.7  
"Family Favorite"
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2013 by DisneyLemons
Rating: 10  
Our family has stayed at the Poly club level a couple times and it is our family favorite of all resorts. Once they pick you up on the cart and take you to your check in desk you know you are on VACATION! I love the feel you are somewhere exotic and beautiful. The music that plays around the grounds in the evenings is relaxing also. We stay on the ground level, sit outside, enjoy the water show, fireworks, you name it..it just doesn't get much better. The food choices at the Poly are also fantastic. You can get a Dole Whip softserve at the quick serve! But our favorite is Kona Café! Once my son and I just stopped in for dessert for my birthday - yum! The waterslide at the pool is good as well as the waterfall. We have never been disappointed at the Poly..:) I will be retiring in 3 years and already saving my money for my "retirement" vacation to the Poly resort!
"Beat up room."
Reviewed on Jul 05, 2013 by DonChi
Rating: 4  
Stay there in 2012, had better expectations, the room was in really bad shape. Kona cafe made our stay much better with it's coffee and tonga toast, liked the theme and the smell of the main building. CM's friendly and helpful.
"Our Home Away From Home"
Reviewed on May 21, 2013 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 10  
We absolutely LOVE The Polynesian Resort!!! We usually stay here every Fall, and as soon as the DME arrives at the Poly, that *vacation* feel starts. We have stayed in just about all the buildings, but really do enjoy the Club Level Hawaii building. (Lawrence, at the Concierge Desk, is just about the best CM I have ever encountered) The rooms are nice and large, and balconies are just a must do to start or end a perfect day at Disney. Watching Wishes on the Poly beach is wonderful!!! Kona Cafe, and Ohana (two of our fav Disney property restaurants) are both steps away, as is Captain Cook's for a quick Counter Service meal. (Pork nachos are outstanding!!) Although the Volcano pool is LOTS of fun, the quiet pool is perfect for a mid day pool break (get yourself a Pina CoLava from the Barefoot Bar and R-E-L-A-X) The grounds are so pretty and have a definate calming feel to it. Nights are sooooo quiet too! The transportation options are just about the best at the Poly, in our opinion; the Monorail, Bus or Ticket Transportation Center are all a short walk away. The rooms are a bit on the dark side, but still very relaxing. The beds are big, comfy and inviting at the end of every Disney Day. Room service is quick and delish!!! I HIGHLY recommend the Poly for a perfect Disney vacation! Aloha!!!
"Better Options"
Reviewed on Oct 31, 2010 by 
Rating: 7  
Maybe we are spoiled from our many stays at the Yacht Club and BoardWalk, because our experience Oct 22-26 2010 at the Polynesian left us let down. Overall, we were all very glad we tried out the Polynesian (1st time on monorail loop) but decided that we like other resorts much better.

Yes, our lagoon view room in Tahiti was HUGE--very big room and a killer view of Space Mtn, Contemp, Grand Floridian, and Cinderella Castle, especially at night. But the room was so incredibly worn out. The walls had 'scars' and marks all over them, the bottom of the walls were obviously cracked, and the carpet and sitting chairs were stained. It was just wear and tear, no need to complain, but gave us an impression that better care is given over at Epcot Deluxe Resorts. The automatic slider getting into Tahiti was busted too and never on its track. Calls to maintenance fell on deaf ears.

Volcano Pool is incredibly tiny, but the waterslide was great. Water was only about 4ft deep. Quiet Pool was awesome b/c it had an 8ft depth. Views from pool were really nice too.

Capt Cooks had a nice selection and was very convienent. Ohanas is always super, Kona was decent.

Waiting for a monorail is the same as waiting for a bus, being herded into a monorail like cattle and standing packed like a rat while on the monorail "waiting for clearance at the next station" is the same as sitting on a bus in traffic. Yeah the monorail is fun, but not enough to get us back on the beam. Walking into Epcot and MGM is the way to go from a Crescent Lake Resort.

Yes, it was nice to stay at the Polynesian (it was a dream of my sis and I) but our entire family was let down. Yeah the place was nice, and I can see why so many people swear by it, but we are way more comfortable at Yacht Club or BoardWalk. We really wanted to love the place, but ended up just saying we were glad we tried it.

Oh yeah, the amount of screaming kids running wild in common places was very bad here. Parents not acting like parents. More quiet and peaceful at other Resorts.

"10 out of 10"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2009 by Nikki M
Rating: 10  
Great stay - worth the money for the location and resort. The room is huge, clean, staff is friendly and will meet your requests. Will stay here again and again. Monorail is a time saver.

Ohana and kona restaurants are two of the best in WDW. Don't miss them!
"fabulous"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2009 by EvilQueen-T
Rating: 10  
My family (5 adults and 1 preschooler) stayed in a two level two bedroom suite on the King Kamehameha Club Level in Jan 2007. omg this was the best room ever, the room was a full two bedroom apartment with club level service over looking the water with full view of the castle. full kitchen, dining room, 2 1/2 baths, living room w/pullout sofa, double queen room w/bathroom, huge king room with a regular bathroom and a separate one with a huge tub with space for more than one adult. fabulous service, fantastic theme, easy access to the monorail and buses. room super clean with lots of room for all of us. went off season so price wasn't to bad. would stay there again in a heartbeat. tied for first place for me in all time favorites.
"The Best!"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2009 by Titan17
Rating: 10  
The Polynesian is by far my family's favorite. Every resort has something unique to offer but there's just something about staying here that puts it over the top. Monorail access, boat access, walking distance from TTC, the beach, the luau, the hammocks, the lobby, O'hana's, the theme, the volcano pool, the view across the lake... there's just too much to list. One of our favorite things to do is to just sit in the swing by the beach at night and take everything in. After going a hundred miles an hour and spending all day in one of the parks, it's nice to come back and relax at the Polynesian. Just awesome.
"Beautiful but not our favorite"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2009 by Agent1964fem
Rating: 9  
My family had the opportunity to stay at the Poly in July we stayed in the Fiji longhouse. We had a gorgeous view I took a picture of sunrise 2 mornings just breathtaking.
We did have problems with out safe but it was explained to us that only one key card would work in the safe.
We didn't get a chance to go to the Luau but you could walk outside our longhouse and listen to the show before the fireworks . The fire dance guy is the best. I can't listen to Hawaiian Roller Coaster without tearing up--thanks guys.
We also did not get a chance to eat at Ohana's we went peak of Summer season so it was packed.
It was also nice to see that the people working at the Poly seemed like the enjoyed being there.
The food is a little pricey but..eh its vacation it is what it is. Will I stay at Poly again maybe but its not my favorite
"always a favorite!"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by archikri
Rating: 10  
The Polynesian has always been my favorite of all the Disney resorts. It could be mostly for sentimental reasons - it was where we stayed long ago when there were only 2 resorts on property! However, the more I have visited, the more I think it's really just the ambiance of the resort!

The atmosphere is great - the tropical/Hawaiian vibe is really relaxing. Although, the buildings on the ouskirts are a good walk to the main building, for the most part, everything is very easy to get to. A huge plus is that you are right on the monorail! This is perfect when you are travelling with small children and know you'll be in the Magic Kingdom for the most part. It's a quick ride back to the resort in the afternoon for a nap or some pool time. The beach and pool are great - especially since the pool remodel a few years back. The restaurants are wonderful - we go to Ohana or Kona Cafe on every single trip. The luau is also wonderful.

I have nothing bad to say about this resort other than I wished I stayed there more!!
"Top Notch"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2009 by fngoofy
Rating: 8  
We stayed here in May of 2009. We thought the Poly is more Hawaiian that much of Hawaii. The room was big, clean, and had the detail we have come to expect from WDW (iPod clock radio, pretty artwork, good food, etc.)

The monorail is a huge plus, as is the view and general feel of the resort.
Proximity to MK is another big plus.

The only cons we experienced were CM related. Had a waitress at Kona that was pathetic, one of her tables left because she never went over to them, another of her tables complained to the manager, as did we. Which brings me to my next CM, the manager of the Kona. We had asked our waitress for some water that she never brought. When we called the manager over to explain the situation he just wandered away from us and didn't bring us any water either. There were a couple of other drips on the CM front, but they are almost to be expected anymore (as many drips as there are in the general population it is unrealistic to not have them show up at WDW, however the dippy manager at Kona was probably the worst manager I have ever seen.)

All in all I give the Poly an 8 out of 10. With some work on staff and some detailing they would be a 10 out of 10.
"Paradise on Seven Seas Lagoon"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2009 by FoxyAllan
Rating: 10  
My partner and I have been to the Polynesian twice and will be there for the third time the last week of this month - it has become our favorite Disney resort. The theming is perfect and the atmosphere is tranquil as the Polynesian transports you away from the ordinariness of everyday life. The rooms are luxurious and spacious. If you're lucky to have a view of the lagoon, and especially of Cinderella Castle, a stay at the Polynesian becomes a slice of heaven. (On our first stay in 2007 we received a free upgrade from a garden view room to a castle view room, simply because it was my birthday - what a magical gift that was!) In addition to all of this, there is Kona Cafe, which has become one of our favorite restaurants in all of WDW. We have yet to have a meal there that was less than superb. The availabilty and convenience of the monorail to MK and the close proximity to the TTC and the Epcot monorail is icing on the cake. Yes, it's expensive, but you get what you pay for.
"Polynesian......As close to a perfect Disney paradise as you can get. "
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2009 by DisneyJunkie
Rating: 10  
My wife and I have stayed at the "Poly" twice, once for our honeymoon and then a year or so later....and got the same room.

The resort is beautifully decorated and themed. From the lush waterfall/rock garden in the lobby and just outside, to the landscaping and whole general feel of the area, you're treated to a feeling of both being in Disney World and at the same time being in a tropical resort.

It is on the more expensive side, being a "deluxe" resort AND on the monorail line and all, but its conveniences (i.e. monorail access, and proximity to the Magic Kingdom) can't be beat. And for eating establishments, 'Ohana is a MUST and Kona Cafe has its own fair share of delicious meals.

The resort Cast Members are always very friendly and helpful.

My only real complaint is something that has been rectified for some time now: Captain Cook's. During the two stays we had there, Captain Cook's was sorely inadequate. It was too small, had too few food choices, and really needed work. I have learned in the past year or two that it was re-done, expanded, and is much better.

I would go back and stay at the Poly again in a heartbeat. I loved waking up each morning to looking out my balcony to Cinderella's Castle just across the lagoon, and enjoying a drink and watching the Magic Kingdom's nightly fireworks show from that same balcony.
"Great Location, Too expensive...."
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2009 by tcwinch
Rating: 7  
Stayed at the Poly for 10 days in early August. Great resort. Here are my pros and cons

Pros:
Magic Kingdom Monorail is the best transportation in the "world".
Volcano slide is fun
Rooms are large
Service is good
Being near the TTC is a great option.

Cons:
Way overpriced. We used the by 4 get 3 free deal, plus 2 additional nights at a room only discounted rate of $264 per night. I've stayed at Ritz Carlton resorts for about the same amount of money.

Main pool is overcrowded. I had people bumping into me, swiming under me, etc. I have heard that people use the pool who are not resort guests. Thats a problem.

Seeing the boat parade and/or fireworks is great, but after seeing it once or twice, its not really special anymore.

Captain Cooks is too small and doesnt have enough variety.

Aside from Magic Kingdom monorail, all other transportation is about as good as it is in every other resorts (slow- even the Epcot monorail)For the price, it should be better.
"overall"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2009 by msk0879
Rating: 9  
overall great if u have kids as a couple u need a water room
"LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by cckovach
Rating: 10  
I'm a Disney Vacation Club member and I will still pay cash to stay at the Poly.

We have only stayed in Concierge (Hawaii and Tonga) and I think that the Poly has the best concierge services on property. The view from the Concierge Lounge is unbeatable - the view of Cinderella Castle especially during Wishes. Even more luxurious, get a room on the 1st floor, look out your window and see the Castle and walk out onto your patio right onto the sand. Love it! My favorite bar in WDW is Tambu Lounge and one of my favorite restaurants is Ohana so staying at this resort is the best location for me and my family.
"You must stay here!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by 
Rating: 10  
I have had the pleasure of staying at almost every resort on property, and some are truly amazing, but the one that I can't forget and keep going back to is this one. Between its older look and style, complimented with perfect "island charm" this resort reminds me of the idea of what Disney World was and many years later, still is. Now I am partial to polynesian themed anything, so I understand how some people don't feel as strongly about this place as I do, but with that said, this resort compares and surpasses the rest on the property. It never has a crowded or "over run" feeling. It realy has a feel of Polynesia, secluded from the rest of the world, yet everything you could ever want from it. The grounds are wonderful, the food is great, the staff is super and the views are some of the best in Disney. If you can stay here, stay! You won't regret it.
"Simply Amazing!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by DisneyWorldDork
Rating: 10  
This restort is not only one of the best Disney Resorts i have ever stayed in but one of the best ones period! I loved it! The atmosphere is amazing. You walk in the door and you are insintly transported to the south pacific. The place even smells like it. I sware I could make a trip and stay in this restort and never actually leave. I was lucky and I could see the Magic Kingdom from my room. (If you stay here you have got to try and get one of these rooms.) We were able to sit on our balcony and watch the fireworks. I have seen Wishes more times than I can count but some how seeing it from the comfort of my own hotel room made it even more amazing. Walt Disney would be very proud to know that this resort was part of his Magical Family.
"Captain Cooks counter service"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by DisneyRunner
Rating: 10  
I love Captain Cooks for CS meals. My family always makes a stop here when on vacation. Tonga Toast for breakfast, pork sandwich, adult grilled cheese and of course, dole whips.
"Overall I rate it very good"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by zurgandfriend
Rating: 7  
We recently stayed in the Roratonga longhouse at the Polynesian resort.
Accommodations: We found Roratonga quiet, comfortable, clean and convenient to everything in the resort. The entire resort is decorated in dark woods which, sort of makes things “gloomy”. The bathroom only had one sink and the ceiling fan was on a sensor so it turned on automatically when you walked into the bathroom which tended to be annoying. The only complaint was that we had trouble with the safe in our room several times, i.e. would not program or would not open.
I had read somewhere that the showers were not very hot in the morning and to shower later in the day or before bed. I found this to be true, the water just wasn’t that hot in the morning.
We thought the volcano pool too small for the number of guests using it. We found the resort grounds to be clean and well kept however.
Restaurants: We attended the Luau which was good but we felt the show was drawn out. We also ate breakfast at the Kona Café several times, our son particualy enjoyed the Tonga toast and the “Big Kahuna”. We did not book Ohanna as we ate there on previous trips. Captain Cook’s was good but could have had more menu items.
Cast Members: I had read in “The Un-official Guide” that there was “front desk in-efficiency” and difficult cast members at the Poly. Let me say that I did not find that to be the cast at all. Instead at the Polynesian we found the cast members among some of the best we have ever encountered at WDW. As stated above we had trouble with the safe in our room on several occasions each time the issue was quickly addressed.
We had an excellent vacation and a very good experience at the Polynesian. We all felt however that there was nothing to “knock your socks off” at the Polynesian as compared to the other Disney resorts we stayed at such as the Grand Canyon Concourse of the Contemporary or the lobby of the Wilderness Lodge. That said, I would recommend the Polynesian to friends as it is on the Monorail so close to the magic Kingdom and many dining locations. I would consider staying there again, It would not however be my first choice.
"Resort was very nice.. Rooms not to good"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by k27goat
Rating: 4  
Ive been to Hawaii and the resort was very nice. The room needed some help. Under the bed was plywood board as a bedframe. I wouldnt go back to this resort to stay..
"Stay at the Poly, 7 nights in August. Rate a 7/10"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by NCDisneyGal
Rating: 7  
Stayed 7 nights in August 2009

Bathroom is smaller than other deluxe resorts, only one sink, but there is more counter surface which I prefer. The bedroom area is larger since the bathroom is smaller, another preference of mine. Room is dark with dark furnishing and poor lighting. Fridge has a tendency to overheat since it is in a closed cabinet (tip, leave the cabinet door open to cool off the fridge).

Location to MK and Epcot is great, Monorail access great. Bus service was slow to DHS, MK, and DTD.

Dining options were great: Ohana's, Kona Cafe and Captain Cook.

Volcano Pool was great, but tended to get crowded. Pool Bar was great. Loved the fact that the pool was located next to the beach. It was easy for the kids to run back and forth from the sandy beach to the pool. Life guard staff was great and helpful.

Housekeeping services were fair and slow to respond to requests. Don't know if it is a budget cut, but only received towel creations at check-in. In the past at other resorts, we have had them daily.

Front desk CMs were slow and not very knowledgable when asked questions or dealing with problems. Check-in was extremely slow, even with doing online check-in (arrived at 10:30 AM, and it took 30 minutes to check in). Was pleased that room was ready when we arrived and ME luggage arrived by 12:30 PM. Room request for buildings and floors was not met, but we were located next door to the Great Ceremonial House.

Tip: In the evenings there was a Photo Pass Photographer in the Great Cerimonial House (lower level) taking pictures. Great chance to get a family picture done when everyone is dressed up for dinner.

Overall, we had a great vacation. Don't know that the extra cost is worth a stay at the Poly over Wilderness Lodge. Beach Club is still our favorite resort!
"great hotel"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by 
Rating: 9  
My family and I have recently stayed at the Poly a half dozen times in so many years, our last visit was May of this year ('09). My first visit was in '76 when I was a youngster.

I rate the Poly a 9 out of 10, as no place is ever "perfect", but I will say, in my eyes, the Poly is close to a 10.

First the negatives (maybe a stretch here...).
-The "quiet pool" is a bit outdated and not themed. It's older and could use some updates. (My guess is that Disney is keeping the pool old-school to keep it "quiet"...so maybe that's actually a good thing).
-The bathrooms, although completely refurb'ed over the past 5 years or so, are small and have poor lighting.
-Price. Although there are many aspects that are difficult to put a price to (see below)...it's tough to justify $400+/night for any room.

Positives:
- Location, location, location (especially with 3 kids under the age of 10 who spend the majority of time in the MK). How can you beat a one minute ride to the MK via monorail ? Monorail access to EPCOT ? Monorail (or more efficiently a resort only boat ride) back to your hotel ?
-Refurb'ed rooms, new walls, ceiling, floors, furniture, TV, etc.
- Pool and beach (hammocks, volley ball, Tiki bar, etc.)
- 2 pools (one "quiet"...see above :) and of course the Volcano pool)
- Fireworks from the beach
- Electric Water Parade from the beach
- Sea Raycers
- Surreys
- Fishing
- Sailing
- Luau
- Spa (shared with the Grand Flo)
- Kona Cafe, OHana (character), Capt Cooks (now serving Dole whips)restaurants
- Themeing, flora, fauna, tiki torches (the orange seeds must stay warm...:) )

We've always found our rooms to be clean and tidy. Staff has always been excellent and very accomodating. We'll be going back again in May !!

I suppose as the kids get a little older we'll once again venture to some other resorts to try them out (especially to AK Lodge which I'm interested in trying as well as Beach Club). But for now, it will be the Poly for several more visits.
"Our Favorite!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by Rinx
Rating: 8  
We've only stayed at the Poly once and that was prior to the refurb. The rooms were beautiful but the walls a bit thin....but my review is not based on my stay.
When I think WDW, the Poly is one of the first things that comes to mind. It's just incredibly beautiful, both inside and out, the theming among the best of all the resorts, and is home to my absolute favorite Disney smell!
"Fantastic"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by bigthundermicky
Rating: 9  
I stayed there a few years ago during Thanksgiving week. The weather was cold (unusually so) but the resort is so steeped in atmosphere, that it made all the difference. I spent some time at the pool bar and it kind of felt warmer then it actually was. The theming was exceptional, the food options - Brazilian style BBQ @ Ohana, sushi, sandwiches and phenominal coffee @ Kona, and one of the best counter service spots on all of property - Captain Cook's. The best feature (better, in my opinion than the themed pool) is the lobby. Disticntly and uniquely themed. High marks!!
"nice"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
awesome
reminds me of hawaii,
great food and pool
great luau that rivals the ones in hawaii, but not don ho
but really nice hotel
"Best stay ever at WDW"
Reviewed on Jun 06, 2008 by EvilQueen-T
Rating: 10  
January 07 went with a group of 6 family members and stayed in the 2 story Big Kahunna (sp?) suite at the Polynesian resort. To cold to use the pool but WOW is all I can say for the view...the castle is directly across the marina. Easy access to room, quiet and private. The room had a full living room, kitchen, bar, full diningroom. We had a giant king room that had two bathrooms... one had a tub big enough for 4. the connecting double queen room was great size w/full bathroom, and another bathroom downstairs with pullout sofa. Livingroom had a giant flat screen tv and fireplace. I wasn't expecting the room to be as nice as the hotel is so old but they've obviousally updated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
"We love the Poly!"
Reviewed on May 18, 2008 by elizs77
Rating: 9  
We just returned from our first stay at Poly (5/7/08 - 5/12/09). We absolutely loved staying here. I had requested Tokelau, 2nd or 3rd floor. We received room 1002 in Tahiti. I wasn't happy about being on the first floor at first, but when we got in our room, I loved the view. It was of nothing but mature foilage! No one could see into our room, so it was so very private. Since we were in one of the "newer" rooms, it was enormous, and our family of four had more than enough room. We also had the double sinks directly in the bathroom. This was one of the quietest rooms I've ever had anywhere.


Since we were in Tahiti, we were super close to the TTC. We caught the Monorail there most of the time instead of at the Great Ceremonial House. Not only was it closer, but we could get the direct line to Epcot, the direct line to the MK or the Resort line. Great time saver! And when we left the Studios or Animal Kingdom, we had a choice of catching the bus to the TTC or to the Poly, whichever came first. Another timesaver!


Our 5 year old son loved the Volcano Pool! The slide wasn't always open in the early evening, but my son and husband spent a good deal of time in the pool while I rested with the baby. One night, they watched the MK fireworks and the electrical parade from the pool.


We didn't have any problems with Capt. Cook's. Even one morning when it was jammed packed, no one seemed to be grabbing a seat, just food. The food was decent, and we definitely liked it better than quick service at the GF and the WL.


The only complaint I had and the issue that keeps me from giving it a 10 was the cleanliness of the floor. On the first day, I plopped my 10 month old in the floor so she could crawl around (I didn't like doing that, but what else was I to do?). It didn't take long for her hands, knees and toes to turn black with the dirt she was picking up from the floor. The rest of us checked our socks, and they were black as could be. Since it was about 11 at night, I didn't get to address the issue until the next morning. The front desk was non-apologetic, just said that they would leave a message for housekeeping to clean the floor. Sure enough, it was clean that afternoon. Well, clean as I would have expected it to be the first time. I have no idea how often they clean the floors in the rooms, but they seem to need a good shampooing more often than they are receiving.
"Beautiful"
Reviewed on May 17, 2008 by reptar77
Rating: 8  
Very pretty, we loved everything about this resort except it is very spread out.
"Great Time"
Reviewed on Jan 12, 2008 by BillyBuff
Rating: 10  
We stayed at the Polynesian from 1/6/08 to 1/11/08 and was glad we did. Previous years our stay were at off-site locations outside WDW. The Polynesian was our first WDW resort ever and won't be our last!

The staff were friendly. They helped us with directions to the Monorail and buses when we got a bit lost. The place is BIG too!

Contrary to other reviews about dirty rooms, I was a bit apprehensive about going to this resort because of housekeeping problems. Upon arriving to our room, it was CLEAN. So, I was glad I didn't change my original plans and went elsewhere.

We also had dinner at the Spirit of Aloha. I would give this show 3 out of 5 stars. The show was pretty average. Nothing exciting. The food was also average.

Breakfast at Ohana was great! Despite having Stitch picking my nose, I did have a great time and the food was great.

Also another place I had tried was the Kona Cafe. I had the BEST porkchops ever! It was JUICY! (Note, I am drooling as I type this)

Overall we loved this resort and would go back again.
"Pricy but maybe worth it"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 7  
Though not as family-friendly as I would have hoped, the Polynesian did provide quick counter-service, the beach, big-screen movies for kids on that beach, and the sand-bottom pool even if it was small.

My biggest complaint was the noise from the WDW Raceway or whatever its called. The roaring engines disturbed our afternoon naps twice.

Kona Cafe gave one of the best meals of my life period. The only problem was the overwhelming noise level. Kids love the chocolate sculpture of the animated alien Stitch and his Hawaiin friend, Lilo.

I didn't get to see the Ohana show, which was dissapointing. Seems like reservations months and months ahead of time are the only way to get in.

However, a senior member of my traveling party pointed something out: if you weren't in Disney and took away the fancy pool and view of Cinderella Castle, the longhouses look rather stereotypical Polynesian motel - the sort of motel that's been considered offensive since the '80s. And despite the size, the rooms aren't anything to get excited about.

The best part was the view of the fireworks from the beach while we ate our pineapple ice cream; Dole Whip. However, I know from a previous experience that at Fort Wilderness Campground they pipe the syncing fireworks music in on the beach, which they didn't do at Polynesian while we were there.

Lastly, the fauna in the lobby gets old after the initial check-in, but is energizing and eye-catching the first couple of mornings.
"Very Nice but can be expensive."
Reviewed on May 27, 2007 by ryguy
Rating: 9  
Let me start out by saying that the Polynesian is my favorite hotel on property. It's location and newly renovated rooms are simply the best on property. However, the Polynesian can be quite expensive. $450.00 a night for this property I feel is to much. If you can try and get a AAA rate or a discount code it will help offset the cost. The atmosphere is great and I love the aspect of being able to walk out to the beach and watch the fireworks. The rooms are quite large in three of the buildings: Tahiti, Tokelau, and Rapa Nui. I have stayed at both Tokelau and Tahiti and both are great.
If you don't want to spend the money go to the Caribbean beach resort. They have a similar theme and both have nice beaches. An added plus to CBR is the beach has a playground. Overall if you can get a discounted rate at the Polynesian take it and have a great time. Its by far one Disney's nicest resorts.
"Aloha!"
Reviewed on May 21, 2007 by Madhatter06
Rating: 9  
My mom aunt and I spent 5 days 4 nights at the poly in January 2007. I still feel like I've been to the real hawaii! lol

It was just so relaxing and beautiful and we were always greeted with a friendly aloha from our "cousins".

We stayed in Tahiti with a magic kingdom view. There's nothing more spectacular then watching the fireworks over the castle from your own balcony!

The dinner at Ohana's was a lot of fun. The food was amazing and more than you could ever eat, and there are plenty of activites for the young and young at heart. (I'm 19 and there were adults without kids joining right in too!) You can learn to hula, do the limbo, or have a coconut race around the restaurant! Plenty of chances to get leis! (I came home with 10! lol)

The volcano pool was also great for young and old. The slide is great, though might be a bit dark for the under 6 crowd. The pina colada's were great as virgin and probably better as the real thing. It's a great backdrop to relax. You have the pool on one side and the white sand beaches and seven seas lagoon on the other.

Staying at the Polynesian is like having two vacations in one!
"Love the Resort but service is lacking"
Reviewed on Mar 24, 2007 by Lane
Rating: 5  
I have stayed at the poly for over 20yrs. I just love the it. I recently booked a stay here for the fall of 2007, 10 nights, concierge level. This past week when I tried to call them for help making my travel plans, dinning etc. They acted as if they couldnt be bothered with me. I was crushed to say the leaset. If coustomer is important to you, You may want to consider another resort.
"Love it! "
Reviewed on Feb 01, 2007 by MouseMadness
Rating: 10  
Absolutely my favorite resort. I think we initially started staying there because of the convenience of transportation with the TTC and MK monorail loop no more than a 5 minute walk away, but we will continue to choose the Polynesian becase the whole feel of the resort is just so relaxing!! The music being piped in all around really helps transport you to somewhere very serene. And when you've had enough serenity, you can hit the parks or the volcano pool! I realize it's not affordable for all budgets, but I really would recommend people try it, just once, if they can. :)
"LOVE this place. "
Reviewed on Jan 26, 2007 by tiggerific418
Rating: 10  
I take any opportunity I can to go to this resort. It has the most atmosphere and beautiful surroundings of all the resorts. The pool is awesome and the activites available are plentiful. I also think the resort has the best transportation options also. Definetly go if you can!
"Excellent hotel."
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
Can't say enough good things about it. The location is perfect if the Magic Kingdom is your favorite park. There's a very laid back, relaxed feeling you get at this hotel. It isn't overly fancy, yet it is still quite nice. Kids will enjoy it since the main pool area is themed very well with a volcano and waterfalls.
The property is huge for this hotel, so I wouldn't recommend it for seniors or for people who can't walk well or have health problems. But because it is so big it also is very quiet and feels like you're a world away from everything else.
There's also lots of wildlife. Rabbits, ducks, lizards, frogs, bugs and tons of other birds. It all adds to the natural beauty.
Food is slightly above average for the most part, although it should be much better considering what you end up paying for it.
Transportation is great here-Monorail, ferry, bus or boat. You can get anywhere you want from this hotel!
The ambience here is by far my favorite reason to stay at the Polynesian. The lush vegetation and beauty of the tranquil surroundings is soothing. The sound of rushing water inside and outside of the Great Ceremonial House is calming. The views of the lagoon and castle across it are stunning. The tiki torches that are lit everywhere in the evening. Even the music piped through the walkways adds to the relaxing pace.
Be aware that none of the resort's buildings are connected at all. If there's a torrential downpour (almost an everyday occurence in summer), you will have to run (not recommended!), get wet walking, gear up in your ponchos! or just wait it out til it's over.
If you like a care-free, tropical setting and price means nothing, stay at the Polynesian Village--you won't be disappointed!!!!
"Amazing Resort"
Reviewed on Mar 29, 2005 by melerella
Rating: Not rated  
I got to stay here in August 2001. It was an amazing hotel, and I'm dying to go back there again. My family and I did have a cleaning woman who just didn't like to clean the room, which kind of dampered the situation. But I still love this resort. It's relaxing, calming, beautiful, and very tropic. You truly lose yourself completely at the Polynesian. Great choice no matter who you are. = ).
"Paradise"
Reviewed on Feb 11, 2005 by Tikiman
Rating: Not rated  
I have traveled all over the world and spent many of my vacations since I was a teen in Hawaii. I love the Polynesian Culture and the Polynesian resort is the best mix of a Hawaiian vacation and a Disney Vacation.

Every resort has its horror stories but on average the Polynesian has many more good reports than bad and still holds the number one spot for repeat guests out of all WDW resorts.

The Polynesian also keeps the resort up with frequent rehabs and updates. Infact most of the resort you see today has been worked on or fully replaced (down to the wood on the buildings) in the last few years. They are also in the process of redoing the decore of the rooms to add a whole new look from the look you see now that was done in the late 90’s. The new look will have all new furniture and electronics and even down to the light fixtures and carpet. The rooms will be more open and seem larger even with them being some of the largest standard rooms on property (400 sq-ft +).

We return about every year and every time there is something new and different about the resort.

The staff has always gone out of their way to get to know us and make us feel like family. You also cannot say enough about the concierge.

The views, beautiful grounds, large beaches, great food and the BEST transportation in WDW only makes the resort better. No other resort has the monorail, busses, boat to the MK and walking distance to the TTC for the monorail to Epcot and because of its location you are never last in line for pickup by the busses or the monorail which means it is rarely full before it gets to your resort.

I never settle for “just ok” and I always return to the Polynesian even after trying other Deluxe Resorts.
"Worst Deluxe Resort!"
Reviewed on Feb 10, 2005 by FamilyMan
Rating: Not rated  
This hotel has really gone down into the dumps. The rooms are covered in heavy layers of dust, the air filters looked like they were 5 years old, and the carpet was dirty. Service was horrible in some areas like the Front Desk and Guest Services. Excellent service was found in the shops and eateries, though some CMs were rather pathetic and had some interesting problems doing what a guest asked. One CM insisted that pizzas had to be burned in Captain Cooks. Another CM corrected her though. and he was very nice, but he was moving to AZ I believe.

Overall, I'd never stay at the Polynesian again, but I would visit the resort whenever I visit the Magic Kingdom. The Kona Cafe has excellent prime rib.
"vacation"
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2004 by jeanylaser031
Rating: Not rated  
the polynesian resort is the excellent place for a vacation for families and i hope our family will like to stay in this hotel. alsome
"Romantic!"
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2004 by wishesmom
Rating: Not rated  
My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Poly...without the kids:)
The atmosphere is so romantic. The restaurants are wonderful and I don't know if I will ever find a Pina Colada as good as the ones that are served at the Poly!!! (O'hana Colada)
Transportation was great. We love the boat ride to MK, especially in the evenings. It was so nice to sit on the beach and watch the electric parade and fireworks.
We were fortunate and got a great discount code for our stay and we will keep our eyes open for more discounts in the future. We are looking forward to bringing our two teenagers next time.
"Dark, dingy, depressing.."
Reviewed on Apr 10, 2004 by matrod13
Rating: Not rated  
From what I read, I expected a lot more from the Polynesian. Instead, the hotel seemed dark, dingy, and depressing. We had stayed at the BC and GF before and both were three times better than this hotel. We had switched here from the BC halfway through our trip (shame on us for booking so late) and everyone wanted to go back. The pool was tiny compared to other hotels (especially since the only other pool was closed), although the underwater music was very nice. The rooms weren't anything exciting; it seemed cheap (we were in a previously refurbished longhouse). The worst part was that our room looked right out towards the GF, making everyone long for those bright, airy rooms. The lobby isn't anything great either. The big waterfall engulfs the space and hinders the flow of guests. The only thing that I loved about this hotel is the monorail access (walk straight to TTC for Epcot too). Overall, though, I would definitely recommend any of the Epcot resorts or the GF anyday over this place.
"the ultimate"
Reviewed on Jan 22, 2004 by Debbie
Rating: Not rated  
I say this is the ultimate due to the theming, pool, and rooms. The only throwback is the rack rate of $300.00 per nite. At $159.00 (what we paid in 1999), it was a bargain. The addition of a food court similar to Port Orleans' would be a big plus. Otherwise, it is the type of resort that my family could spend several days and never go to the theme parks. And when spending the afternoon in the pool; Tigger sometimes bounces in!
"Something for Everyone"
Reviewed on Aug 15, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The Polynesian has something for just about any type of vacationer: 1. Water activities (boat rental, swimming). 2. Convenience (on the resort monorail line, walking distance to TTC). 3. Great theming/decor/views (waterfalls in the GCH, lush tropical plants everywhere, MK fireworks looked fabulous from our lagoon view room). 4. Large, tastefully decorated rooms. 5. Excellent food at two restaurants and at the dinner Luau show. 6. A fabulous kids' play area / babysitting service - the Neverland Club. The only negatives: 1. The pool area is small. 2. Housekeeping came late (around 3:00pm) the first two days. Not a huge deal, but mid-day is when we like to rest in the room. 3. The service at the 24 hour snack bar was painfully slow during the lunch rush. The negatives pale in comparison to the positives, and this is a top quality resort.
"BEAUTIFUL"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
Ill start with the bad.....when we came in the Frond Desk Agent was not happy that day or something...because not even a Good Morning was said to us. It was just a bad start. Then we had lunch the following day at Captain Cooks and waited 40 min to get a burger. They had cooked the wrong order for someone and everyones order after that (mine was one of them) was wrong and it became a mess. Now the good: Beautiful resort. I have stayed at a few and this is by far my favorite one. Rooms are HUGE! Lots of space. The view from everyroom is great. The lagoon is nice but you have an island on the lagoon that covers most of the MK which means your view to the castle is blocked. So not worth to pay the extra money for a blocked view. Room service and maid service is A-plus. Pool is a load of fun. Has a slide and all. Beach area is nice I enjoyed it alot. I cant wait to go back.
"Paradise"
Reviewed on Nov 22, 2002 by DisneyInsider
Rating: Not rated  
Aloha, and Welcome to Paradise! Here at Disney's Polynesian Resort you can forget everything in the outside world and relax in the setting of your favorite tropical islands. From the second you pull up to the Great Ceremonial House you realize the warmth of the Cast Members at the resort. Each and every person goes out of their way to make sure you are happy.

Once you walk in to the Great Ceremonial House you are transported to Polynesia. The large gardens and waterfalls complete the feel of the resort. When you check in, you are greeted with tradition tropic lei's. After check in, you can go to the longhouse where your room is. Each longhouse is the name of a Polynesian Island. Since the resort is not that big, you are never too far away from the main resort areas.

The rooms are very nice, and very big compared to the other Disney resorts. I did like the rooms, but I did not feel that they are worth the $300 a night price tag. However if you can get a room at a discounted price I would definately recommend going to this resort. Each room has two queen beds, a day bed, large bathroom, and a real safe (not the wall type safes at most other resorts).

There are many dining options at the resort. For quick service Captain Cook's Snack Company has options such as burgers, chicken fingers, and pizza. 'Ohana is an all you can eat feast serving breakfast and dinner. Kona Cafe is the more adult eating area in the resort. The Polynesian Luau dinner show is shown most nights of the week.

Transportation from the Polynesian cannot be beat. You have the Monorail to the Magic Kingdom, Grand Floridian, Contemporary, and Transportation and Ticket Center. You also have a walkway to the TTC which makes getting to Epcot very easy. There is also a boat that can take you to the Magic Kingdom and Grand Floridian. Busses will take you to the Studios, Animal Kingdom, Water Parks, and Downtown Disney.

The resort also has great recreational options. The new Nanea Volcano pool is beautiful, and it has a great slide. There is a nice beach that is perfect for relaxing. It is also a great spot to watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks and electrical water pagaent. The marina rents out different types of watercraft and surrey bikes. There are also a bunch of kids activities that take place during the week, just ask for a schedule at check in.

All in all, the Polynesian is a wonderful resort. It truly deserves the deluxe title it has. It is now a family favorite of ours, and we plan to return again as soon as we can.

"Incredible Experience"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
The Poly is GREAT. We love the concept and the beach. The rooms are large and have ceiling fans. They also have the one of WDW's best restaurnats, O'Hana's. Short walk to the T&TC. Hotel grounds are so dark at night that it can be difficult to get around and easy to get lost. My kids like it but I prefer to stay at the Poly without them. It is a great place to spend a week as a couple! Glad they are doing a renovation, it was getting a little long in the tooth.
"Nice Big Rooms"
Reviewed on Sep 25, 2002 by jeffs10
Rating: Not rated  
I stayed there Sept 13-20 / 2002 and it was great the biggest hotel room I have Ever Stayed in. Close to TTC , you get to see the castle everyday. I would stay there again.
"Beautiful, Tranquil"
Reviewed on Sep 16, 2002 by kennyj29
Rating: Not rated  
We have stayed in many resorts. Most of which we loved but when we stayed here, this one had it all. We love the tranquility, the pool, the restaurants, it's on the monorail line and you can watch the fireworks at Magic Kingdom from the beach. We stayed for 12 nights last year and i wasn't enough. This year we're coming back for 9 nights. Beleive me when I tell you, we are not rich, but for everything you have to give up to stay here, it is well worth it for our family. As much as we loved the other resorts, we love this one the best!!!!
"The Polynesian"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
A recent rehab has really thrown The Polynesian back into the runnings as one of the best resorts to stay at on Disney property, it can be a quite costly adventure when compared to Wilderness Lodge or Animal Kingdom Lodge who have comparable service, theming and amenities.
"RELAX"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
RALAX AND ENJOY THE ISLANDS .ALSO CLOSE TO MK AND TRANSPORTATION CENTER
"Relaxing and proper"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by Daannzzz
Rating: Not rated  
We had a deal price here and it was way worth it. In the warmer times the theme seems real!!! Though the buildings are a bit dated, it still feels tropical and fun here. I love the vegatation. The room was very large and the decore is nice with the bathroom decore being great. My favorite WDW restaurant is here. I hit 'Ohana on every trip.
"Polynesian"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by disneyman15
Rating: Not rated  
The Polynesian is a great themed hotel. It has a great atmosphere especially at night walking on the beach or walking down one of its torch lit walkways.
"Excellent As Usual"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by seano846
Rating: Not rated  
We stayed Concierge this time around and all I can say is WOW.
Disney's Polynesian Resort
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site