Disney's Old Key West Resort reviews

Epcot Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 9.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.2  
"Great resort"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2013 by Gary
Rating: 10  
It has been our home resort since 92. One of the best Dvc resorts out there. Great parking, large rooms, quite, beautifully landscaped. And a overall relaxed feeling. You will enjoy your stay here
"Disappointing"
Reviewed on Aug 18, 2013 by Zero Creativity
Rating: 6  
We had been upgraded here after POR was overbooked. I thought that the room was great, nice amenities, plenty of room and it came with a refrigerator when at the time POR did not. I think the resort is way too big especially with young kids and the bus service seemed to take forever. I was not impressed with the dining options and had a horrible experience at Olivia's. To be fair, this was a trip that had multiple problems and it could have clouded my perception of the resort.
"Really Like this place"
Reviewed on May 25, 2013 by Todd L
Rating: 8  
We spent a week at Okw last March. It wasnt our first choice But at the time of year we would be there and the need for 2 studios it made the most sense . From the moment we arrived we really loved the look of the place. Very well done with the typical color palette that you would see in Key West. After a huge mix up at check in...(inexperienced cast member and TWO familes checking in with the same last name) We finally made it to our rooms. The are HUGE. The small patio is great for an early morning cup of coffee and the laptop. Comfy Beds, Great bathroom, And we got some groceries to make the most of the Kitchenette . It was great To have a Bagel and Coffee Early in the morning , Cold drinks at Night and access to a fridge, toaster and Microwave made it so easy to have breakfast in the room every day. The buses seem to run with great regularity which isnt always the case at Wdw. We used the boat service to visit DownTown almost Daily and loved it. The pool is great and we really enjoyed the outside tables at the marina for late night drinks and snacks. I highly recommend this resort and would love to go back sometime in the near future!!
"A wonderful DVC resort"
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2012 by Lapp family vacation
Rating: 10  
We love Old Key West. We stayed in a two Bedroom Villa with our great family friends Alan,Debbie,Alex and the Abster. We were a group of 8 and we had plenty of room in the two BR Villa. We were close to the main pool and main bus stop. The buses were not crowded and we never waited long at all (this was during the holiday season), we have stayed at the resort hotels at the same time of year and the buses were very crowded and noisy. The rooms are huge and are in very good shape for them being one of the older DVC resorts. The kitchen was full sized and the livingroom dining area was very large as well. The bathroom facilities were also very nice. We were in building 12 or 13 can't remember. Everything worked well and we were very satisfied with our whole trip. We just loved Old Key West.
"Lots of room"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2012 by Deb
Rating: 9  
Stayed at OKW last week of July-first week of August. Loved this resort. The rooms were huge. We started with a 2 bedroom and then into a 3 bedroom. Have stayed at 2 other DVC resorts (Saratoga and Beach Club). By far this is the best as far as space and amenities. Would have given it 10 except for 2 reasons. First is location. Our first room was a 15 minute walk one way to get refills. You need a car or have to hop on a bus to get to the main building. Second, the food. We had breakfast at Olivia's and the service and food were fantastic. I highly recommend the banana bread french toast. But counter service was very limited and small. The cast members were very friendly and accomodating. The main pool was wonderful. If you are looking for a "relaxing" Disney vacation, this is the place to stay. Will definitely stay here again.
"Quiet, Secluded, and Great Service!"
Reviewed on May 18, 2012 by 
Rating: 10  
Stayed a OKW the last week in April 2012 and had a great time. We loved the layout of the property. You never got the feeling the resort was anywhere close to capacity, though you knew it was. It was especially convenient with a rental car, as you can just park right outside your room. It required much less walking than other resorts. The dining options were slim and we didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of them, but every cast member we encountered was exceptional. Rooms were clean and well-kept and plenty spacious. We stayed in a studio and more than enough space to spread out. We also enjoyed the leisurely boat ride to Downtown Disney. It may not have been as fast as driving, but certainly quicker than taking a bus and much more scenic and relaxing.
"Old Key West----Home From Home"
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2011 by patricia27
Rating: 10  
We just love staying here--it is so peaceful yet near all the action!! We usually use the buses to the parks as there is a good service, though we will drive to the Animal Kingdom. You can hire bikes and cycle down to Saratoga Springs --or you can walk down there if you feel energetic--you`ll get a glimpse of the Treehouse Villas. There is also a boat service to Downtown.
"Awesome villas!"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2010 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
Old Key West is awesome! Our family can't wait to stay in OKW for christmas and New Years too! On December! This will be awesome! Maybe 2 bedrooms villas will be awesome too! I love to stay in OKW for this December! Old Key West is my favorite excellent villas! including food courts and everything else too!
"Home Sweet Home"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2009 by xdan0920
Rating: 10  
I figured since there hadn't been a review written about OKW in so long that I would add mine. I have been staying here yearly for the past 9 or 10 years, and I have never had anything but a wonderful experience. I have stayed all over property and still always look forward to my OKW trips the most. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly, and the room amenities can't be beat. I highly recommend OKW to anyone looking for a resort with a little less hustle and bustle, and a little more R&R.
"Wasn't really kid friendly"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by zero creativity
Rating: 7  
Great resort for relaxing and being away from it all. We were upgraded there when Riverside was overbooked. Since we had a baby it was nice that the room had a microwave and fridge. But we were a very far walk away from everything. There is no counter service and the sit-down restaurant wasn't that impressive. Since the buses looped through the entire resort they were packed and long rides. My wife and I talked and believe that if we were going without kids or when the kids were older and could do things on their own, then this would be a great resort to stay in. But with young kids the need to do things quick and easy is necessary.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
awesome
totally reminds me of key west
nice pool and great food
"Love this Resort"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2008 by cblodg
Rating: 10  
The rooms here are some of the largest rooms on property (studios and up are large!). The resort is pretty big, but not stifiling bug. There are several buildings one can stay in and one of the best resort restaraunt there are in Olivia's.

You feel at home here, and very relaxed. When I threw my back out on vacation, I just lounged in the room and watched the people playing golf.
"Our Favorite"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2007 by Baylordad
Rating: 10  
We have stayed at Saratoga Springs, Yacht & Beach Clubs, Dolphin, Coronado Springs, All Star Movies, Several Downtown Disney Hotels and Old Key West is our Favorite.
"OKW stay Nov 05'"
Reviewed on Dec 20, 2005 by PhilharMagician
Rating: Not rated  
I was not all that happy with this resort. Our room had an aweful smell that we could not pinpoint and they did not have any other rooms available to move us to. That is not the way to start a 10 night stay. We did like the main pool and the new sand castle slide and there was activities going on occasionally which is very nice. Another great feature was the walkway that goes all the way to SSR and DTD. I would get up and walk that every day.
I was however very disappointed that you could not get anything to eat or drink early in the morning. If you wanted to get breakfast or a cup of coffee at 7:00 AM you would have to make it yourself or go to another resort. Also Turtle Shack Snacks was closed during the Thanksgiving week when the place was packed.
I will go back to see if I have better luck only because I can save points here versus any other DVC resort.
"Old Key West: Home"
Reviewed on Jul 09, 2005 by tara mae
Rating: Not rated  
I have been going to "Old Key West" for about 10 years now. I used to go to Polynesian, but got tired of it, and I heard about this place. From the first day, I was hooked. The service was prompt, the cast and crew friendly. The pools were wonderful, never too busy. Despite having no lifegaurds, all the children were well, as many workers came by and kept an eye on things. As youc an see, everything got the vote of "Excellent" from me, and that's the truth. Nothing has ever gone wrong in my many stays here. The rooms were always sparkling, the kids were always running around with joy. The prices never rose too high for me. I will never NOT go here.
"Great place to relax"
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2004 by krafty
Rating: Not rated  
Old Key West is a wonderful resort to relax in. The villas are huge, the rooms are quiet (especially the buildings along the river), and it's a beautiful, peaceful place to stay.

This resort is difficult to get around in unless you own a car. It is spread out and the bus stops can be as far to walk to as the main building. Bus service can be spotty at times. Olivia's is the only full-service restaurant, but it is a decent value. I guess that's why you've got such a huge kitchen in your villa!
"perfect."
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I love going home to OKW. there is any size room to suit to your taste, and the quiet and serene atmosphere is perfect. great golfers, families, and those who want peace after a long day at the parks.
"The ONLY place to stay"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2003 by WDWfred
Rating: Not rated  
A quiet break from all of the hussle of the parks or down town. Has a large will themed main pool with smaller out lying pools. Don't miss the sauna in the lighthouse at the end of a hard day in the parks. a fitness room, childrens play area and tennis and shuffleboard courts are usually available.Bikes, either single or up to 4 people can be rented for the trails arond the area.A MUST STAY every trip.
"Welcome Home!"
Reviewed on Jul 28, 2003 by daniam2188
Rating: Not rated  
Wow! from the molment i drove into this resort i felt home. the room was immense (2 bedroom villas) and had enough space so the 5 ppl and a baby staying there were not on top of eachother. transportation was convienient and even though we were far away from the main desk area all we had to do was hop on any disney bus and we would be there in no time. i highly reccomend a visit to "Conch Flats" especiall if you have a large family stayng together and need a kitchen / washer & dryer.
"The Best Disney Resort"
Reviewed on Mar 08, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
I had gone to the Caribbean Beach and Grand Floridian before this and coming here for the first time I was a little relunctant to go. But years after 1996, we have always gone to Old Key West. Not that I don't want to go to other resort hotels but this is definitely one of the best if not the best out there.
"One of the best in WDW!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
This place was perfect!!! We aren't DVC members but had such an awesome time! The theme, cast members, proximity in the world, and overall experience were 100% magical and awesome. My family could not find one fault in the resort and reccomend the resort to EVERYONE!
"WELCOME HOME"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
CAN'T WAIT TO SEE THE WELCOME HOME SIGN. ONLY PROBLEMIS EVERYONE WANTS TO STAY HERE EVERY VISIT. GREAT PROBLEM TO HAVE!
"A Best Kept Secret"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by lt-hambone
Rating: Not rated  
This is Walt Disney World’s best kept secret for a resort! My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon last November, and we loved the place! My review will be based on a 1-bedroom villa, since this is what we had during our stay. Pros – 1) Large, large, large room! This is one of the biggest rooms on site, measuring over 1,000 square feet! Compare that to a moderate resort where you only get 314 square feet! 2) Park in front of your door! No need to slog your way through a general parking lot, then walk to the other side of the building – you get out of your car, and in a few steps, you’re in the front door! 3) Nice screened-in patio with a fan, with table and chairs! 4) Two-person Jacuzzi in the master bath – very romantic! 5) Washer and dryer are included, and if you get the right mouse-keeper, unlimited laundry detergent! 6) Fully stocked kitchen – eat some or all of your meals in your room! Keep snacks and cold beverages handy for mid-day snacks or late night munchies. Of course, there is a dish washer, so dirty all of the dishes! 7) Two TVs in two separate rooms. Does a member of the family need to take a nap? No problem – send them to the bedroom, close the door, and watch TV in the other room without disturbing them! 8) A TV with a VCR, if you need to watch a movie (which can be rented in the main building). 9) A very quiet, low-key resort. Cons – 1) Average theming – nothing spectacular, but coherent. 2) Not very kid friendly. 3) Because the resort is sprawling, most buildings are a long hike to the main building for provisions, front desk, food, etc. But there are numerous bus stops and three extra pools strategically placed around the resort so you don’t have to walk very far for those services. 4) A stand-alone resort – you can walk or boat to Downtown Disney, but that’s all. You’ll need to use either the bus or your own car to go anywhere else. 5) The age of the resort is showing through in a few places. 6) Can be expensive – prices range for a 1-bedroom from $340 to $510 depending on the time of the year. This is almost $200 more than a moderate, BUT, you get a whole lot for the money. Overall, this is a great place to stay. You get an awful lot for the money – more room, more amenities, more room, and some peace and quiet. Our honeymoon here was outstanding, and we will be back but maybe not with our kids. Having seen how other resorts cater to the kids (two words – Stormalong Bay), there is not a lot to keep young kids occupied. But if you are on a budget, a family of four could stay here comfortable, and the use of the kitchen for dining would save a lot of money. Also, having a free washer and dryer available meant we brought less clothes, and went home with only clean clothes. And did I also mention how big these rooms are? Give Old Key West a try, you won’t be disappointed!
"Home away from home..."
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by NowInc
Rating: Not rated  
This is still my favorite resort. I like its "calm" layout and the "home away from home" feel that is more obvious here than at any of the other resorts. The kitchen area in the deluxe suites is perfect for anyone..no matter how large the family. The layout is a TAD bit confusing, so a map is sort of required. The resort itself is very pleasantly quiet, and a very short drive to downtown disney...perfect for all types of people!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site