Disney's BoardWalk Inn reviews

Epcot Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 8.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.2  
"Great Atmosphere"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2013 by rnese
Rating: 8  
My wife and I stayed at the Boardwalk on our honeymoon back in 2002. We absolutely LOVED IT! The lobby, hallways, décor, etc. was beautiful. It truly felt like you were staying in a four-star luxury resort. The room was big and immaculate! The dining options were very good. Every morning we would walk down to the Boardwalk Bakery for a croissant and coffee, sit by the water and read the paper before starting our day at the parks. We would hop on a boat to go to DHS. We really liked how we could walk into EPCOT for dinner reservations. In order to go to the MK, we would simply walk through EPCOT and hop on the monorail. The ONLY drawback to the Boardwalk for me, since I have small children is that at the end of a day at the MK, you have to take a bus back to the resort. If you don't have small children, this isn't as big of a deal. If I didn't have small children, I would definitely consider the Boardwalk.
"Great Rooms"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2013 by CardsFan
Rating: 9  
Recently moved up from moderate resorts with our first deluxe stay at Disney's Boardwalk Inn and loved every minute of it July/August 2013. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed waking up, relaxing on the boardwalk eating breakfast and drinking coffee as the sun came up each morning was perhaps the best breakfast time we have ever had in 15+ visits over the years. Our room was overlooking the boardwalk, just above the arcade, was well appointed, spacious and surprisingly quiet even right next to the ESPN Club restaurant and shop. Access to Epcot and Hollywood Studios parks via walking path and/or boat was so much more relaxing than the buses; we even walked through Epcot once to get to Magic Kingdom so we could take our son by the pasty shop in France on the way. We ate at restaurants on the boardwalk, neighboring Yacht and Beach Club resorts and Epcot which allowed us to walk back to our room leisurely which is priceless. Being within walking distance of Beaches and Cream, The Captain’s Grille, Yachtsman Steakhouse, ESPN Club, Flying Fish, Shula’s Steakhouse, etc. while also getting to enjoy all the entertainment the boardwalk offers helped make our last stay one of the most enjoyable of any Disney vacation.
"Nice Rooms!"
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2013 by DisneyLemons
Rating: 7  
I have stayed here 2 times - found the rooms to be big and really pretty. Liked that we could walk to Epcot in a matter of minutes. The pool is also cool and the water slide was popular with the kids. I did not like having to go to the Boardwalk Bakery for breakfast/coffee/drinks.. it was crowded (I think they have remodeled since our stay) and a pain to get in and out quickly. We ate at the Big River Grille and enjoyed the food and the choices of beers. Night time can be fun on the boardwalk also with the "street performers" when you would like to slow down and just relax and people watch..:)
"Love the Boardwalk"
Reviewed on May 28, 2013 by Ariel484
Rating: 10  
We've stayed at the Boardwalk 3 times - twice on the Inn side (both in 2009) and once on the villas side in 2011. All three stays were great! The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the atmosphere is so relaxing and fun. Really love the Boardwalk Bakery for breakfast and am looking forward to going there again after the recent (and much-needed) renovation and expansion. Fantastic location...our favorite resort!
"Feeling the Disney Magic!"
Reviewed on Mar 07, 2012 by KDisney85
Rating: 8  
Even though the Boardwalk is not super "kiddish," you still feel the Disney magic, just on more of an adult level. Of course, kids will love the roller coaster pool! I would stay here again, although it's not my very favorite. It's definitely worth trying once. The proximity to other resorts, Epcot, and Hollywood Studios makes it very popular and pricy! When we stayed we got the garden view, which was beautiful. Flying Fish on the Boardwalk is my favorite restaurant on property! The brewery is also good! Have many good memories of my week at the Boardwalk!
"Amazing!"
Reviewed on Feb 06, 2012 by sstile
Rating: 10  
Themeing great, food great, everything awesome! Had a awesome time (as usual) and love the resort!
"Always an Unforgettable stay!"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2011 by Unforgettable8
Rating: 10  
Our last stay here at The Boardwalk Inn was in 2007. It was the most enjoyable time ever. We stayed in the Club Level Rooms, and everyone there was accommodating, friendly, helpful, and caring! They went out of their way to make sure everything was fine and we were happy. The staff always had a smile and suggestions if we needed them. They took the time to ask how our day was and what we did. They were interested in us as individual guests. The room was clean & comfortable. The food from the Club was excellent and there was always plenty. I would definitely recommend The Boardwalk and return to it as well. We have stayed there in the past, and we have always loved it!
Thanks for always making it MAGICAL!
"worst on site stay EVER"
Reviewed on Dec 21, 2009 by EvilQueen-T
Rating: 1  
I've been to wdw more than 20 times in my life and I will say I didn't have any problems away from our resort but had the ABSOLUTE worst experience at the Boardwalk Resort. I was traveling with my best friend from work and staying club level. Let me say first that wdw is my favorite vacation spot because of the level of service and this trip was my christmas present to myself and to her as she's a single mom who'd never gotten to do this type of trip. We've been looking forward to and anticipating this trip for a long time. It was planned to be totally self indulgent and a grown up girls trip (my husband and both our teenagers stayed home). I went to great lengths to ensure we had a double queen room (1st when i'd booked the trip 5 months in advance, 2nd when they sent an email from the concierge asking if we had any requests and to confirm our group details etc, 3rd when we went to the front desk the morning we checked in and a 4th time when the front desk person took us to the concierge person) all of which said we had a double queen room and i quote "no problem". Our first day started out without our "guaranteed" notification of when our room would be ready, ok not a big deal UNTIL we got back to the hotel. We got in after the park closed (around midnight) and couldn't get into our room. the front desk clerk (only person there at the time) who'd told us housekeeping would be right up to let us in finally came himself about an hour later after two phone calls to let us in, only to be told if we left the room we'd be locked out... of the king bed room (separate problem that was making me madder by the minute). his advice was "to call the front desk"... i said you were the only one at "the front desk" and he said, "yeah" and left. they offered us a roll away bed.... for club level prices i don't think so... at which point he said they had open rooms but couldn't give us an upgrade at "this time." so i ended up playing phone ignore with the front desk (put on hold and left there until the phone hung up on their end) and finally got a woman named joyce who literally hung up on me mid discussion as she told me to have a magical stay (click...end of call). We ended up having to share a bed... which i guess wouldn't have been as big of a deal if they'd handled the problem better maybe with an apology for the mix up but ooohhh no, we were given the i don't care, shut up and go away treatment. I was firm but did not raise my voice but at this point i was ready to start by breaking the phone i was staring quite dumbly at in disbelief. I've always had fabulous service at wdw and have stayed on site more times than i can count and have never EVER been treated like this. after almost 3 hours of bs (yes it's now like 330am and we'd been up about 27 hours straight) we were told they'd give us a room if and when something opened up the next day and it would be after 4pm... uh no i told them... the first queen open would be mine. they wanted us to pack and leave our things with them downstairs and i told them my stuff would stay in the current room and they could call me when our new room opened up and we'd move it then... at this point i figured they'd be a little more motivated to correct the problem if it tied up our current room and quite frankly i didn't know if they'd "forget" and we'd end up without a room at all. we were told it would be after 4 before we could get a room and i firmly told them that it didn't take 5+ hours to clean one room and that we'd be ready for the first available double room. this statement was made knowing that most people get up and go to the parks in the morning. (mentally i'm visualizing my arms swinging like a windmill hitting anyone nearby who works there). by 10am i had a phone call that they had an open room and that our things were being moved at this time to the new room... we got in a little after 3pm, couldn't get into either room and of course our things were still in the first room with more yes, more waiting to get things straightened out (it's now 5pm and there's no way to make adr's). i have always had a great time when we go to wdw but after so much bs over things that are soooo stupid you get to the point that anyone associated with the resort saying good morning you want to scream "liar" at them, you can't do any shopping because you can't have things sent back with the room problem so we weren't able to take advantage of that service either. i would NEVER again stay at the boardwalk resort even if it were free... that's how bad our experience with them was. i also thought the walk to dhs was a little scary at night for two women traveling alone... dark and isolated, and close to off property gas station with normal life type traffic and people (not the secure on site property feeling you get at some of the other wdw resorts) but that's another matter. club level offerings were way below what i've had at the gf and poly... tough chicken and beef skewers and pb & j cut into squares...are you kidding me???
"Awesome"
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2008 by readytogo
Rating: 10  
Stayed here May 2007, loved it , no complaints at all!

As said before, LOCATION can't be beat! Being able to walk to 2 parks, if needed, and the ferry boats...very convenient! My daughter got sick one night, just before Fantasmic, and she and I just went back by stroller rather than worrying about getting on a bus/ferry and having her get sick again. It's such a nice walk too!

The atmosphere out on the Boardwalk is a lot of fun, the kids loved it.

The rooms didn't make me say "Oh. My. God", but they were what I expected. I'm more concerned with cleanliness and convenience that what the room actually looks like...we weren't there much.
"Boardwalk Villas"
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2008 by nicci@venus
Rating: 10  
Stayed at the Boardwalk Villas in April 2008. Absolutely the best location for park hoppers! Had a room clear at the end of the hotel...long walk, but it made less of a walk to Hollywood Studios. My son enjoyed feeding the ducks bread from our room. The performers on the boardwalk were cool, but the sword swallower caused many questions from the six year old. We walked back and forth between Epcot and Hollywood Studios many times...found it quicker than the boat. Many people reviewed the rooms as crusty, but I found them clean and well attented to. ALL the workers were pleasant and accomodating (even when confronted with pain in the @$$! guests!!!) and should be commended for their patience/tolerance. The pools are awesome, although the slide will force water through your nose to your brain. As for the boardwalk itself, clean and relaxing. The ESPN club should have at least one cheap beer (love the sports memorabilia go STEELERS!). The eclairs at the bakery are great. Spoodles makes a good pork chop (order a blue spoodle drink). Boardwalk games were fun. I would recommend this resort to EVERYONE!
"Ok, Not Great"
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2008 by Silver Britches
Rating: 6  
We stayed at the Boardwalk Villas, and overall it was a good experience. But compared to other deluxe resorts, I really wasn't impressed. The location is great, and the theming is cool, but the room just wasn't that great, especially for the price. It felt like it needed upgrading-- it was starting to feel "worn". I think the resort is overrated, at least without some major upgrades.
"amazing"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
beautiful hotel, reminds me of a classic board walk. i urge you to spend a day on the board walk, even if you arent staying here. great entertainment and pool
"Best resort. ever!"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2008 by bellegirl
Rating: 10  
The Boardwalk Inn and Villas resorts are the perfect place to stay if you love Disney but still want a sophisticated resort feel. We normally split our stay each vacation, spending a few days at a monorail resort and then switching to the Boardwalk. A huge draw is the location, nestled between Epcot and the Studios. It's great being able to take the boat or walk to the parks and bypass the bus system.

Last time we reserved a 2 bedroom villa, as we had extended family members along with us. Upon check-in, we were informed that a pipe had burst in our reserved villa, completely flooding it. In true Disney fashion, the front desk made a seemingly bad situation magical. We were given a complimentary upgrade to 3 adjoining concierge service rooms. This visit was my seventeenth trip to WDW (I'm 21), and i have to admit, after experiencing Disney concierge service, I'm really spoiled. :)

The concierge room looks out over Epcot's Paris section, giving a balcony view of the Eiffel Tower. Combined with the resort's casual and breezy ambiance, it's not surprising to find yourself lost in Paris, or any other romantic location.

This resort is wonderful for guests of any age; the bustling boardwalk and themed pool is great for teens and children, and adults looking for entertainment will enjoy Jellyrolls and Atlantic Dance. On the other hand, the resort itself also provides a quiet atmosphere for those wishing to enjoy a relaxing stay. The numerous restaurants, ranging from a casual sports bar to a sophisticated dining experience, are sure to satisfy everyonre's palate.

Again, the location between two Disney parks cannot be beat. I would reccomend this resort time and time again.
"One of our favs"
Reviewed on May 17, 2008 by reptar77
Rating: 10  
We lover everything about this resort
"Great location, great look, comfortable rooms, but missing something"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Pumbas Nakasak
Rating: 6  
We stayed at the Villas and loved the space. It was great having a kitchen, although the dinning plan meant that we only used it for breakfast.

The pools were quiet and even the Luna Park pool was never too busy. For me thie best thing about the Boardwalk is its location. We walked to the studios and Epcot, although there were boats.

The one thing we found is that the resort had no real atmosphere and felt sterile. This may be because there are no resturants in the hotel itself and the shops etc are all on the boardwalk.

I wont rush back.
"Resort not worth the price"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 7  
We didn't enjoy the Resort for what we paid. We walked in and both had the look of disappointment. The balony was small and over looked the awning. Maybe we just got a bad room. But for that price I would stay at Beach and Yact club next time

I love the Epcot Resort as it's close distants with two parks, Epcot and MGM. So that made a quick trip by boat or walking.

We love the food choices, Beaches n Cream, Yachtsman Steakhous. etc
"Our Favorite!"
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2005 by mbaker1277
Rating: Not rated  
The Wilderness Lodge used to be our favorite resort, but the Boardwalk Inn has won our hearts! The rooms are so large and nicely decorated, and the shops and restaurants along the Boardwalk are great. We could easily stay here and never visit a park. It is wonderful to be able to walk or boat to Epcot and MGM. The Boardwalk Inn is definately a little slice of heaven!
"GREAT LOCATION"
Reviewed on May 31, 2004 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. GREAT TO BE ABLE TO WALK TO EPCOT AND MGM OR TAKE AN AC, RELAXING BOAT RIDE. GOOD REST. EVERYWERE.POOL IS ALOT OF FUN FOR ALL AGES WITH IT'S WATERSLIDE!!ONLY DOWNSIDE WAS THE WALK FROM OUR ROOM TO THE LOBBY,BUT THIS WAS NO BIG DEAL.ONE OF THE BETTER PLACES TO STAY!!!!!!!!
"The Best Resort!!"
Reviewed on Apr 08, 2004 by Disneyguru
Rating: Not rated  
The Boardwalk Resort is unbelievable....I loved the theme, and the Boardwalk area is just so cool.
"fun!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I highly enjoyed this resort, including the ESPNclub. My only down side was with the vacation club part of the hotel, where we had to walk nearly to the other end of the resort. it was quite a walk after a day out.
"ATLANTIC CITY!"
Reviewed on Jan 30, 2003 by Resortpro
Rating: Not rated  
This hotel is great! I stayed a little less then a year ago and, the rooms are very nice but I had to walk about 1/3 mile just to get to it. The price I thought was a little high the room was nice but not $350 nice. I would have moved hotels if I wasnt a cast member so I only paid 175. The Boardwalk was great though being out there at Dusk was just breathtaking. The Boardwalk has some great resturants on it (ESPN,Fishbones,Jellyrolls,etc.) The pool was just ok but across the way was the stromalong bay at the beach club which is a great pool so just take a little walk. The location is also great 1 mins to MGM (bus), 5mins to epcot (walk), and about 10 to Magic Kingdom (bus).
"The BEST of the Resorts"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by tinkerbell9988
Rating: Not rated  
I give ***** for this resort. My absolute favorite resort on Disney property. Tons of things for the kids and the adults at any age.
"Really NEAT fun"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by Tramp
Rating: Not rated  
The Boardwalk Inn is perfectly themed to take it's guests back to a typical mid-atlantic shores hotel of the 1930s. We stayed in a garden view room and was able to see portions of Epcot, including Spaceship Earth from our balcony. The rooms are quaint, a good size and decorated in a New England motif to add to your comfort. At night, the boardwalk steams with activity from dining to bike riding to carnival games to shopping...there is an occasional show such as a Magician or Juggler to entertain. Just a lot of fun even if you want to just sit around and take in the delightful setting. We ate breakfast at the Boardwalk Bakery and had lunch at ESPN...highly recommend these. The walk to Epcot is super fast and easy but preferred taking the boat to MGM...the walk is a little too long for hot summer days and nights. The boardwalk becomes very crowded on Friday and Saturday nights with young adults because of the Dancehall...many of the local kids frequent the area for this reason. The pool is excellent for kids, and us older kids too, with a very cool slide that spirals down...I found the pool to be very crowded at times and wish it was a little larger, but this opinion is from an old man who occasionally likes a quiet pool to do some laps. Overall...this is a GREAT hotel...try it, you'll like it.
"It's Just So Good"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by markymark
Rating: Not rated  
Far and away the finest resort I have stayed in in Florida. This resort is themed to resemble a 1930's baordwalk, and whilst I wasn't around then, I feel they must have the theming just perfect. We were located in a waterview room, literally above the ESPN arcade area, but heard no outside noise at all, the soundproofing was excellent. The rooms were an excellent size, and had all the facilities you need (hairdryer, iron, ironing board, in room safe, tv, and plenty of storage) The views from the room were just perfect, looking over towards the Dancehall, and Yacht & Beach Club. The convenience of being able to walk or use boat to get to EPCOT and The Studios was just great. Food wise, I have to recommend the Boardwalk Bakery for breakfast treats, ESPN for lunch, and Spoodles (a must visit in my opinion) I would say the only drawback might be depending on where your room is, there is quite a trek from the elevator to your room. This wasn't a problem to us, but may be to others, and when I saw the view from our room, I was more than happy with the walk.
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site