Disney's All Star Sports Resort reviews

Animal Kingdom Resort Area
Reader rating Reader rating 7.7 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.7  
"Really outdated and small"
Reviewed on Jul 19, 2011 by chaser4
Rating: 5  
This was our first stay at Disney. I was surprised by how small and outdated the room was at all star sports. We were in the basketball section of buildings. The outside of the hotel was fine but inside the rooms are in need of refurbishment. The shower wouldn't stay in the "warm" position. We either got burned or took freezing showers because the handle was to old and worn to hold its position. The covers on the bed were so cheap and heavy that I had to pull them off and then I froze all night. I thought the whole resort was a little low class from what I was expecting. On the stairway you never knew what you would fine. Bugs, snakes or sick birds. We had them all on different days! Who knew the Holiday Inn would look like a deluxe hotel in comparison!
"No More than a Weekend Hotel"
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2011 by GatorGuy
Rating: 6  
I must begin by saying I consider myself a veteran to the WDW and it's Resort. We arrived for check in at approximately 10 pm and were recieved by a rude Cast Member at the desk. She split my group into two different rooms buildings away from each other, when I payed to be in the Preffered room and next to each other, she also did not explain anything in the folder she gave us nor how to get to our room (Although I didnt really need it). We got the rooms fixed and went straight to bed as it was late.
The rooms are rather small and the beds are no where near comfortable, they have springs that you can hear bounce up and down if you move sideways. I noticed a lack of maintenance around the resort ie. Paint peeling, faded lettering, overgrown gardens, dirty towels, etc.
Another problem I noticed was the amount of bugs everywhere, they are fun to look at, and disney can't do anything about bugs in the surroundings of the buildings. But when they are inside of the rooms, "Houston, we have a problem". We found several bugs crawling around our room.
The pool areas are great for children and families alike. The Food cart serves basic Disney quality food at high Disney prices but it's great for a morning bite, or a late night snack.
I will probably return to the All Star Sport if I am staying for a short amount of time but I would never recommend this hotel for anyone spending more than a weekend at the WDW. You could only take in this hotel for so much time.
"The Best For The MONEY and THEME"
Reviewed on Mar 20, 2010 by FamilyGuy74
Rating: 9  
It's the only Resort me and my family have stayed in and we love it. But would request not to stay near the Football Field, too many people playing at all hours, that's the only downfall.
"I love All-Star Sports resort!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 16, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I Can't wait to stay in the ASSports for Sophie's Birthday next month and I can wait to see the Sport Goofy gift shop and the food courts. this will be amazing place to stay for someone birthday! ASSports is will be awesome! Our family will enjoy this hotel too! I hope we stay in the Touchdown that is my favorite room theme! Thanks ASSports you bright the Sanchez family day!
"pleasantly surprised"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2008 by tazbear
Rating: 9  
Loved the resort. Very clean. The rooms and bathroom were actually larger than I expected for a value resort. The pools were great. The food court was great. Kids loved the sports theme, especially 12 yr old daughter.
"budget"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great budget hotel with all the disney ammenties, rooms are small, but you really dont spend much time in your room now do you
i must say the bathrooms are small and hard to move in and out of the tub
great for boys who are into sports
great pool area and food court
"loved it! "
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2007 by tropicanaorange
Rating: 10  
the past couple years me and my friend have been going to Disney, we have absolutley loved this resort. It's just about our favorite one to visit. Us, being teens, it was soo much fun to just hang out and watch all the sports teams doing their thing. It's located not even five minutes from the wide world of sports..so you can just catch a bus to a baseball game. There's always something to do and parents with teens...i sugggest you stay here....you're kids will love it. It's loud and filled with other kids for them to hang out with. basically, it's amazing.
"Not bad if discounted"
Reviewed on Apr 02, 2007 by Deadmanwalking
Rating: 7  
Look at it as a upscale Best Western. If you want to use the extra magic hours and if you are in your own car you can justify a discounted rate for this hotel. It is really a 65$ a night hotel and you can justify paying up to 80$ (the 10$ parking lot savings and 5$ value of extra magic hours). But if you can't get a discounted rate, stay off-site. It just isn't that magical.
"good value."
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2005 by col
Rating: Not rated  
this was my first time staying in a Disney hotel and i totally enjoyed it. i didnt know what to expect but it was awesome. me and my younger sister went and she did nothing but moan. we stayed in the american football area which is in the middle of the food court, the diamond shaped pool(by one of the laundry rooms) and the other pool which is in the surfing area. there are vending machines and ice machines on each floor. outside of our room was the x and o that you see in holiday brocures and of a night men and children who didnt know each other use to play american football i know this as i asked them could i watch them play as i have never seen people play that before so i sat on the bleachers and watched them play.
the room was nice it had 2 double beds in it, a safe with a key, a table with 2 chairs, air conditioning, in the bathroom there is a shampoo and bodywash dispenser, you get mickey soap and fresh towels every day and if you need any all you do is press housekeeping on the phone and they bring you some. the TV is fair in size. and the cupboards are big- bigger than what i expected.
i walked around the hotel one day and found that the foo court is visable from any themed area aswell as any pool. i went to the top of the baseball area and could see the All star music. the food court was nice and clean but as it was my first time in a disney hotel i found it expensive but only as every other time i have been i have bought my food from wal-mart or wallgreens and ate out at restaurants. the first thing i bought was a refillable mug as they are worth it.

my overall summary of the all star sports is:
it is worth it but it is nice if you can go to a food shop as im a vegetarian and i was getting sick of eating soya burgers and most of the food they serve has either cheese in it (which i dont eat) or meat. i didnt travel with any children but if you were to go with children they would really enjoy it, im 20 and i enjoyed it.
"Great resort!"
Reviewed on Dec 02, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
Like the other value resorts, this one is also worth the money. With a similar layout as AS Music and Movies, this one has a sports theme. My family personally enjoys the baseball and tennis sections. We've never found the food court to be trouble and the transportation has been efficient. Definitely recommended if you do not want to spend a lot of money on accomodations.
"Good for the money"
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2004 by NeverEnufDisney
Rating: Not rated  
Good value for the money. Does not have all the amenities of the higher price resorts, but gives you good value for the money. Best for those whose budget is tight. Great for families as it stetches your dollars for use in the parks. I use it regularly.
"we love the sports"
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2004 by wdwmom2
Rating: Not rated  
we stay here every year and have loved it every time! it has everything you need and you are still part of the magic also love the value price!
"a good deal"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
even if you are staying in a value resort in disney, you are still staying in disney. you still get the same cast members, the same theming, and the same attention to detail. the only thing you may lack in is the size and style of your room. I enjoyed my stay here, it was still relitivly quiet, the pool was big enough for everone, and I had a nice bed to sleep in. the only down side is the food prices, not quite the 'value' you may be looking for. great for those who are going for the parks and a bed.
"Good value"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by bps2h
Rating: Not rated  
For us Disney fans that make an annual trek to WDW, the All Star Resorts are a blessing. For a simple vacation, it is everything you need. And with all of the $$ you are spending on airfare, park tickets, food, and shopping, the value of All Star Sports really helps! And of all of the All Star Resorts, Sports is my favorite b/c it's the closest to the parks!!
"Almost on top"
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
This is the first All-Star resort I ever stayed at. Oversized everything. The basketball goals make you feel just a few inches high. This is the louder of the All-Star's because of all the kids running around playing various sports on the oversized fields.
"$$$=College Kids Friend"
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
As a college student, I know that sometimes cash is a little hard to come by. Just think of the Ramen noodles and other cheap foods you live off in times of need. But a vacation to Walt Disney World isn't out of sight, for the All-Star Resorts have very affordable prices. I stayed at the All-Star Sports a couple of months ago and enjoyed it throughly. It's not as cozy as the other resorts. The giant megaphones and surfboards can get quite tacky after a while, but it's still the Disney magic that impresses you. The rooms are nice. For being Disney's cheapest resort, you couldn't tell by the rooms. Well taken care of, themed to the movies of Disney. The swimming is something in need of desperate change. I mean, their is honestly nothing to the pool. The food court is just like every other food court in Disney's existence. Overpriced and half decent. I'd take a drive somewhere and check out other resorts for dining. But overall, very cheap prices, plus you can find some good discounts. Last time I went only $59 a night. Not bad at all!
"Good value"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by Chris
Rating: Not rated  
I like the theming of the sports BUT, it is always crowded with kids from sports teams or cheerleaders that are there for competition. We have stayed at the Sports twice and both times we have been awakened at 6:30am be cheerleaders practicing their routines before competition. That is fine and I kind of think that is why Disney made the Sports. I prefer the Music because it is more serious Disney people. The Movies get a lot of Families (many making their first trip to WDW). People at the Music seem to be DIE HARD WDW FANS on a budget.
"For what you pay great!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
For the price you pay the resort is fine! If you are looking to go to WDW for as cheap as possible and still be inside the world then this is great! The theming is awesome and thus the experience is enhanced. There is a lack of amenities and resteraunts but in the end you get what you pay for!
"Tons of Fun"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by timmy31
Rating: Not rated  
The All Star Sports is the place to go if you want to have a lot of fun without getting in trouble. This is definetly not a quiet, relaxing resort. I love playing football on the giant football field(kicking field goals especially), playing in the pool, and spending a lot of money in the huge game room. I also like to buy a disney mug in the food court because you can refill it as many times as you want while you are there. The hotel is a great value and just a great place to stay. Anyone who likes to have fun would love this resort
Disney's All Star Sports Resort
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site