Yak and Yeti Local Foods Counter reviews

Asia, Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 6.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.2  
"A decent lunch alternative"
Reviewed on Feb 16, 2013 by ThirtySomething
Rating: 6  
The quality of food here is basically that of a mall food court's token 'Chinese' operation. Lots of fried and sauced options with rice. Nothing phenomenal but a great alternative to pizza, burgers, and chicken fingers. Don't be fooled by their mango pie option, it is *not* the same as what is being served at the table service Yak and Yeti.
"Pretty good for park food, not pizza or burgers"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2012 by JAG107
Rating: 7  
This is our go-to CS in Animal Kingdom (even over Flame Tree).
Great outdoor themed seating area, and the portions could be easily shared with other family members (maybe 2 orders for 3 diners).
Relly like the chicken and beef offerings. Not the best Chinese I've ever had, but considering the location, it gets 7/10.
"Good for CS"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2009 by fauna
Rating: 7  
My family and I ate here on Nov. 5. My husband got the Honey Chicken, I got the Chicken Fried Rice and Egg Rolls. Both kids got the cheeseburger kids meals.

I enjoyed the Fried Rice and the Egg Rolls. It was your basic Chinese-style fast food. My only complaint was that the egg rolls were a little too greasy for me.

My husband really liked the Honey Chicken - his comment was "for CS, this is really good!" I would probably get the Honey Chicken next time.

The kids devoured their cheeseburgers so I guess they were good, too.

It was a beautiful day and we found seating in the shade - but this would be a tough location during the heat of summer (many table in the sun) or a rainy day.

We will definitely go back.
"pretty good but expensive"
Reviewed on May 29, 2009 by Eeyore
Rating: 7  
I had the honey chicken. It was the typical chicken breast nuggets coated in a honey sauce (they were quite good!) on top of white rice with some vegetables thrown in the mix, mainly broccoli. It comes in a cute Chinese take out type container. Because of the price my husband and I split it and it was plenty of food for the both of us, though it was mostly rice.

It's a shame that there is no covered seating at this location. I would hate to be eating here when one of the abrubt summer downpours comes along!
"Awful!"
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2008 by WDsMouse
Rating: 1  
My husband and I enjoy eating at Animal Kingdom all the time. We usually eat at Flame Tree, but we were excited to try something new. We were very disappointed with Yak & Yeti quick service food. We dined at around 1:00, so it wasn't even an "off-peak" time, but the food tasted like it had been sitting there for a while. I had the honey chicken ($8.99). It was supposed to be crispy with a honey glaze sauce, but the pieces of the chicken covered in sauce were soggy and those not covered in sauce were dry and on the cold side. The sauce had seeped down into the rice and it was very soggy - and I typically like sticky rice. My husband had the beef dish and said that he wouldn't have paid $5 for it (yet it was $10.99). You can get much better Chinese at a local take out place for half the price. I recommend Flame Tree BBQ, Tusker House or Pizzafari over this place. Perhaps the other dishes were better, but we were not pleased with our overall experience.
"Loved it!"
Reviewed on Dec 06, 2008 by Wolfclan Dan
Rating: 9  
For my family, the Yak and Yeti Counter provided us with THE best photos of our kids in all of the World! The little section to the left of the service area made a spectacluar photo. My given bias aside:

We loved the food. I have a soft spot for sweet and sour chicken/pork and egg rolls and this place delivered!

Yes, I suppose that is the "cheeseburger" of asian food, but I love cheeseburgers too!

The only drawback was the seating area. LOTS of sun, very little shade and far too few seats.

Even with that, we will visit again and again for our counter service meals. May I also recomend the Y & Y table service meal, it was twice as nice!
"A Nice Change of Pace"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2008 by DisneyInsider
Rating: 7  
While the Yak and Yeti counter Serve location isn't the greatest food in the world, it is a definite nice change from the standard hamburger. When I first looked at the menu I thought the prices were a little high. However, when I received my order of Honey Chicken, I felt it was justified. You get a nice size container filled with sticky rice and your meal. For 8 dollars, I don't think that it is too bad. So, if you are in Animal Kingdom, I recommend taking a break from Restaurantosaurus or Pizzafari and giving Y&Y QS a try.
"Good greasy Chinese food"
Reviewed on Jan 26, 2008 by ASJHLJ
Rating: 7  
We really liked the counter service portion of Yak and Yeti. There was nothing that made CS portion of the restaurant stand out from typical Chinese take out, but there was nothing outstandingly bad about it either. Also, the portion/price ratio was fairly good by Disney standards.
"If you like Chinese take-out..."
Reviewed on Jan 25, 2008 by sillyspook13
Rating: 5  
...you'll love the counter service meals at Yak and Yeti. For the most part the food is pretty average. My sister described the shrimp lo mein as "ok." The egg rolls are delicious and the portion is very good for the price. The child's meal of an egg roll and fried rice was also a bargain. Otherwise the food is similar to your neighborhood Chinese take-out but with much higher prices.
Yak and Yeti Local Foods Counter
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site