Whispering Canyon Cafe reviews

Disney's Wilderness Lodge Resort
Reader rating Reader rating 7.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.9  
"OK"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2013 by Rwillams
Rating: 5  
I recently had lunch at the Whispering Canyon Cafe. We had the all you can eat skillet which consisted of: chicken, mashed potatoes, bbq beans, ribs, pulled pork, sausage and came with corn bread. I thought they did a pretty good job at making it taste close to real bbq but it didn't seem all that authentic to me- I doubt they are smoking any of the meats. The ribs and mashed potatoes were probably the worst of the bunch but the chicken, sausage and pulled pork were pretty good. The bbq sauce had a nice tangy flavor and was served warm, which I like. I always like corn bread, even bad corn bread, so the unlimited corn bread was a plus. For dessert I had the apple pie and ice cream. That was ok too, a little weird. I was expecting a traditional pastry based apple pie but the crust was almost more like a crumb/coffee cake. Not bad but not really what I was expecting. I didn't find the antics in the restaurant to be very entertaining, just noisy and distracting. Obviously, I knew about them beforehand and wasn't bothered by the idea but I thought it would at least be funny or entertaining in some way but it was really just noise. For me, it didn't add anything to the experience. Overall, if you need a bbq fix Whispering Canyon is probably going to be your best bet on Disney property (except for maybe the ribs at House of Blues). For me I think Whispering Canyon is a once and done experience.
"Awesome meal!"
Reviewed on Jun 10, 2013 by Melodie
Rating: 10  
Food was delicious and service great! Especially the fish and strip steak. Out girls loved the "pony" ride and milk shakes! We will be back!
"Thumbs Up"
Reviewed on Mar 06, 2013 by Mater_Disney
Rating: 8  
This restaurant is one of the most fun on the Disney property. It is definitely a restaurant to bring kids to! Don't choose here if you are looking for a relaxing, quiet meal. The restaurant is upbeat and lively. The food was fairly good.
"We want Ketchup!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2012 by bethymouse
Rating: 10  
The experience here is loads of fun! If you want ketchup, then you shout "We Want ketchup". The table with the ketchup bottles brings them to you, and then when you hear someone yell, you bring it to them. There are children's activities such as the hobby horse riding. The food is outstanding, especially the Skillet! The trout lettuce wrap appetizer is delicious and the bottomless shakes are the best on Disney World property! This restaurant is not to be missed!
"Lots of Fun!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 10  
We have eaten here several times & it has become one of favorite WDW restaurants.
It is lots of fun!
The staff interaction is awesome...the food is great...the service is the best.
I would definitely recommend this one!
"Awfully close to perfect."
Reviewed on Aug 08, 2012 by luv
Rating: 9  
And another trip to WCC. As the last five or so years have been hit-or-miss, my hopes weren't up too high. We were seated quickly...maybe a five minute wait, tops.

It was great! We had the All You Can Eat skillet and everything was fantastic. Juicy, tasty chicken. Awesome ribs. Everything was yummy and nothing was dry. Excellent cornbread.

The server was fun and stayed on top of refills for food and drinks without being asked.

We were even lucky enough to be a table that was involved in part of the fun.

If they had brought some wet-naps, I'd say it was a perfect meal. But they didn't, so it wasn't...but it was close!

Our napkins were the drink-sized ones that say "Disney Parks" on them. Thought I'd mention that, since Napkin Quality is important these days. :)
"Pleasantly surpised"
Reviewed on May 25, 2011 by derelicte19
Rating: 9  
We dined here for dinner celebrating my birthday. Our waiter was Right and Neighborly and he was great. I ordered the skillet, my sister got the pot roast and my mother got the meat loaf. The skillet had soooo much food: chicken, ribs, pulled pork, mashed potatoes, salad, corn on the cob... I ended up taking a doggie bag with me! My sister said the pot roast was the best meal she has ever had at Disney. Mama said the meatloaf was great as well. They brought me out a cupcake for my birthday and everyone sang to me. The kids did pony races around the dining room. All in all it was a great experience and we will return next spring!
"Very Entertaining"
Reviewed on Mar 30, 2011 by habe20
Rating: 10  
I went here when I was younger, it was a little crazy at first, but once I warmed up to it everything was hilarious and quite enjoyable. The food from what I can remember was great, and ask for the ketchup you won't regret it ;)
"We loved this place"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 9  
I had heard this was a good place (the kiss of death) and finally we decided to try it. We were seated quickly and our waitress "Spicy Margarita" was very good. If you want somewhere quiet and reserved then pick another place. If you want a place where you can laugh and enjoy the "show" while you eat then you have a good spot here. We got the all you care to eat skillet and we thought the food was great no problems with any of the meat. I must have been good because my picky eater even asked for more. More food was brought out fairly quickly (the key is ask before you run out then it gets there when you need it). I can see why some people may not like the Whispering Canyon but your attitude makes or breaks the meal.
"Fun and Good Food"
Reviewed on Jun 10, 2010 by mwedon09
Rating: 9  
This place is always a fun time, but can also be annoying if you just want to eat your food and be left alone. But if you have an open mind and want to have some fun then eat here. The waiter makes the meal and experience here so hope that you get a good one. The waiter will play tricks on you and be crazy which is very funny. The food is also all you can eat and the food is very good. Chicken, Ribs, Potatoes, you know. Its a very fun place, just make sure to not ask for ketchup!!
"Great fun!"
Reviewed on Feb 18, 2010 by hibbsofep
Rating: 8  
We decided to try this since we were staying at WL. Our 11 yr.old observed that it shouldn't be called "Whispering" Canyon since it is so noisy and loud--but that's also what made it a fun experience. We had the family style dinner, which is pretty much the same menu as the Hoop-de-doo Review with only a couple of differences. I would not recommend doing both places on the same trip. The pulled pork was my favorite. My son did not catch on with what was happening whenever someone asked for ketchup until I told him to request it and he got to see for himself. Quite a hoot! We were way too full to eat the desserts, but our waitress told us at the start of the meal that they would gladly pack up the desserts for us to take back to our room and we noticed many people did just that.
"Won't be back."
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2010 by Semitide1214
Rating: 3  
We had herd alot of good things about this place but after our diner here we wonder if we had gone to a different place. For what we got, it wasn't worth the money we paid. Our server was not rude but did not do a great job. Had to ask for silverware and refills thoughout the diner. We order an all you can eat meal and also had to keep asking for more of something and had to wait along time for these items. We wanted to try something new because we have been to Disney World many times and thought this might be fun. Boy were we wrong. My wife liked the food but for myself and older son we did not. We won't do this place again. There are too many different places to have diner.

"It was good!"
Reviewed on Nov 17, 2009 by WDW 3
Rating: 10  
We had lunch during the Backstage Magic Tour. The restaurant was almost empty at noon. We were served the all you can eat Canyon Skillet with an entire skillet full of peach cobbler and ice cream for dessert. It was all delicious and the service was fine. Not over the top a little quirky and attentive.
"Turned into a family tradition"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2009 by litesabergirl
Rating: 10  
My husband is really hard to please as far as Disney dining. (We’ve had some bad experiences) So when he came home for his 2 week R&R from Iraq, I thought it was time to introduce him to WCC. He loved it!!! He couldn't get enough of the ribs, and the price for lunch is half of what it is for dinner! You get almost the same menu less I think a salad and pulled pork for 50% off!!! (hint if your trying to save money) This was July 06' we went back later for a Christmas Eve dinner with my folks and Santa was there. When my husband had to redeploy to Afghanistan all he could talk about was going back to WCC on his leave, so in July 08' we got to go this time with our son. (our little souvenir from our last Disney trip :P) Our waiter was so fun, he had a great time with our toddler. The all you can drink milk shakes are a BIG hit with us, and still the food is to die for. We love the fun you get to have, and my husband loves to play along with the wait staff. We have planned another trip to Disney this time 6 days because of the new Military Salute that’s going on, and this time we are going for Breakfast so we can't wait. We have told all our friends you MUST eat here at least once.
"Breakfast 1/3/09"
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2009 by awalkinthepark
Rating: 10  
Had the all you can eat skillet....very good value, very good food.

Atmosphere was great, wait staff was wonderful. We have determined that this will be a must do each trip.
"Why the long wait?"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 4  
We arrived at 6:30 for a 6:50 dinner ADR, only to be seated at 7:30!!! DD was complaining she was hungry and tired, and as a result, by the time we got to eat, she barely ate anything! All the yelling and hoopla really annoyed us, as we were already annoyed. We will not eat here again. It was so not worth it.
"Bad food, not fun"
Reviewed on Apr 27, 2008 by MADIZFAN
Rating: 2  
Our family of 5 ate here on 4/16 and experienced our worst meal during our 7 night stay. We got the canyon skillet and found the food to be terrible with the exception of the corn on the cob. The ribs were dry and looked and tasted like shoe leather! Our waitress crossed the line when she made DS(7) cry because he hadn't eaten much (I don't blame him, the food was gross). She told him if he wasn't going to eat that he should leave. None of us enjoyed this experience and would not eat here again.
"Very Noisy but, fun!"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2008 by mousebymarriage
Rating: 9  
We ate here on February 1st for dinner, we were a Grand Gathering of 15 plus 1 in a high-chair. We waited about 40 minutes for our table but we were a bit early, it was only about 10-15 minutes past our actual seating time. Unfortunately, we were seated at 3 seperate tables in the same area but, not close enough to talk to each other. We were told that it would be an additional 30-45 minutes if we wanted to sit together. My Hubby and I had the skillet which had pulled pork(to die for), ribs (delicious but a little fatty) and roast chicken (very tasty). It also had corn-on-the-cob(good and crisp not mushy), and mashed potates( yummy). The other members of our party had either the skillet, prime rib or chicken everyone said the food was good. The portions are quite large even the salad was huge. The kids had chicken tenders, mac & cheese, burgers etc. they enjoyed the food as well. Our waitress was very entertaining and sweet. She was quick with refills or anything else we needed. The kids loved the pony on a stick contest (they race around the restaurant like the old west). We ordered a special cake for my nephews 8th birthday and the waitress had all the little girls come to our table to sing Happy Birthday to him it was adorable, and he had a huge smile on his face!
Be warned this restaurant is very LOUD but, the kids seem to love it and the food is good.
"Breakfast skillet was not enjoyed"
Reviewed on Dec 13, 2007 by jws25
Rating: 3  
We ate breakfast here on our last morning, Dec. 6, '07. My DH requested a hot, sit-down breakfast for our last day. We both ordered the breakfast all-you-can-eat skillet, which featured scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, waffles, biscuits and country gravy. All was ice cold. The waffles were hard and inedible. I asked for more gravy, and to please make sure it was hot, and the server used the opportunity to get into character. And then proceeded to serve me more cold gravy in a very hot bowl. We did not eat much. Possibly the food had been better if ordered from the a la carte menu.
"Easily the best time eating in Disney. EASILY."
Reviewed on Jul 09, 2007 by ElectricMayhem
Rating: 10  
Not only is it the most fun restaurant just to be a part of fun, but i found it to be the best food in Disney!!! The "All-You-Care-To-Enjoy Canyon Skillet" is incredible and also physically impossible to stop eating. The staff is hilariously cheesy in only the way Disney could be and you won't find ketchup on your table so you better ask your waiter for a bottle... or 100. (I promise you'll get that once you've eaten there) So what are you waiting for?!!?! Go make your reservation now!!!

"Great Food & Entertainment"
Reviewed on Feb 01, 2007 by SJTSmith
Rating: 10  
The food is always good. You can't beat all you can drink shakes. Every time we go to Disney this is a must. I have never had a bad meal here. The entertainment is always enjoyable. The wait staff is great!!! If you are looking for a quiet resturant this isn't for you.
"Must love Noise and Kids"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 5  
This place is very loud and full of kids. We went there twice then it became old. It was fun but the food is fair.
"awsome"
Reviewed on May 04, 2006 by tracyandalex
Rating: Not rated  
we ate here for breakfast and abolutely loved it. the atmosphere was great and so was the food. i had a chocolate shake and the pancakes and alex had an omlet. the servers were great and in character the whole time. our sever decided that because were we on our honeymoon she should embarrass us. she got a microphone and called us up to the front of the restraunt. we had to dance while the whole restraunt sang that going to the chapel song. it was very embarrasing, but very funny. we\'ll definately eat here again.
"Tons of Fun & Food!!"
Reviewed on Apr 27, 2006 by jrsyfuncpl
Rating: Not rated  
We have to stop in here each time we visit WDW. Located in the Wilderness Lodge, this restaurant serves up a BBQ feast fit for a King - or your whole family!

There is a full menu, but we order the family style BBQ platter, which consists of all you can eat BBQ Chicken, Spare Ribs, Pulled Pork, BBQ Baked Beans and many other items.

Every so often, they round all the kids up and do things like hobby horse races around the perimeter of the restaurant.

We once asked for a spoon and got a 3\' spoon brought to the table. ***If you ask for ketchup, make sure you realllllllly want it!!***
"Shouting about Bad Food"
Reviewed on Dec 18, 2005 by bondq
Rating: Not rated  
The Whispering Canyon Cafe sounds like a great idea on paper, but fails in many ways.

The first and foremost problem with the restaurant is that it is the "Cafe" for the resort, also known as the least expensive, table-service location for the resort. Anyone and everyone who travels expects a "Cafe" for simple table-service, where you can get common food items, at a reasonable price, in a quiet environment with little wait. The Wilderness Lodge Resort only has two other dining options-Artist Point, the high-end end dinner only restaurant (which by the way is excellent), and the Roaring Forks Snack Bar (a self-serve counter that specializes in food that is fast and poor quality)
With this said Whispering Canyon is your only option if you want to sit down to a table service meal for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner.

The premise is that you are dining in the Old West. Apparently, in the Old West, everyone is hard of hearing, because all the servers at the restaurant think that you need to SHOUT to be funny or authentic. The servers joke throughout your meal using words like, "Partner" and other typical western phrases to evoke a smile or embarass their diners.
They threaten to force you to do the dishes and if you ask for ketchup they bring you 30 bottles and scream through-out the restaurant that you wanted ketchup. Later, when another, unsuspecting visitor asks for ketchup, then the first table's patrons take all 30 bottles to the next table and so on.
Admittedly, the first time you see this, you will laugh as long as it isn't your table.

Ultimately the jokes are good for kids, but adults will be irritated that this is their ONLY Table Service Option for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the Wilderness Resort.
Before or after a long day at the parks, the last thing you want is to be SCREAMED AT, while eating POOR QUALITY FOOD, that is too expensive for what it is.
Really, the jokes and yelling would be acceptable if the service and food offered was better.

The food is sub-par at best, the skillets that are served at Breakfast and Dinner are ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT, but the food served is very poor quality. You will begin to notice that most of the food offerings are strikingly similar to those found in the snack bar, only you pay more money and you get to get yelled at! How enjoyable!

The Breakfast skillet includes scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, formed hash browns, (like at McDonalds) and rock-hard biscuits that you would never serve to guests.
The Breakfast Plate at the Roaring Forks Snack bar is almost identical for a fraction of the price.

The Dinner skillet includes smoked pork ribs, smoked pulled pork, potatoes with onions, & link sausage.

Most items are smoked meats that frankly taste FAKE. The smoke flavoring tastes nasty and has a really bad aftertaste. Anyone who barbeques or smokes their food at home will know immediately that what they are eating is not very good.

But, because you are on vacation, with the kids, and at Disney World the adults at the table feel forced to shut-up and just eat what's in front of you. As mentioned, there's really no other option, aside from leaving the resort, which we were forced to do. We ultimately went over to the Grand Floridian Cafe which has excellent common breakfast options (like Eggs any way & Eggs Benedict) and the service that is way, way better.

I did overhear others on some of the transit buses while on our stay talking about avoiding the Whispering Canyone Cafe simply out of frustration and irritation with the format of the restaurant.

Ultimately, the Whispering Canyone Cafe could be great at the Wilderness Lodge if there was another regular Cafe at the resort. In this fashion, those who wanted to experience the oddity of the Whispering Cafe could do so optionally. The FOOD and SERVICE must be significantly better though to be successful. Also, the pricing for what you get in return is a Poor Value.
"Just Bring Me the Skillet"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2005 by fredtom
Rating: Not rated  
Whispering Canyon Cafe has some of the best food and at exceptional value. The all you can eat Canyon Skillet is one of the best deals to be found anywhere. Many people think this is primarily a "barbeque" restaurant, which it isn't. They do have some barbequed and grilled items on the menu, but they offer much more than that. However, the barbequed and roasted dishes they do have are outstanding-- the ribs, pulled pork and chicken especially. The Cowboy Beans are delicious along with the corn on the cob.
Since my wife and I were dining alone for dinner, we asked for a quieter table, which you might think would not be possible at this venue, but it is. We had to wait a few minutes since the restaurant was full, but it was well worth it. We were seated at a cozy table for two next to a fireplace. Our server, "Lazy" Susan, was wonderful and took great care of us.
This is one of my favorite restaurants-- delicious food and great service. I never need to look at the menu-- I just say "I'll have the skillet, please".
"Rowdy Good Time"
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2005 by SJTSMith
Rating: Not rated  
This restaurant is great for the whole family. The wait staff keeps you entertained the whole time, it is like you are attending a dinner show. The staff interacts with guests and it is always a good time. The food is great and there is always plenty to eat. I go to this restaurant every time I visit WDW.
"Good food!"
Reviewed on Oct 17, 2005 by SheenaXena
Rating: Not rated  
I really enjoyed the food here! I ordered off the menu, instead of the all-you-can-eat deal. I had a grilled chicken sandwich, I can't remember what it was called, but it was really good. My aunt had the all-u-can-eat and she really didn't like it. I had some of it and I liked it. The banana dessert was awesome! We weren't seated in the main dining room, but that was ok. We enjoyed listening to the things that went on in the main didng area. The waitress was really nice too. I give it two thumbs up.
"Good home cooking"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2003 by stephsim
Rating: Not rated  
This was one of my favorite casual places to eat. It had really good western food. The all you can eat special is what we had. It served ribs, pulled pork, baked chiken, baked beans, salad, corn on the cob, new potatoes and rolls/cornbread. It was really good and it wasn't too expensive.
"so so"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
GREAT PLACE TO EAT IF YOU LIKE SMOKED FOOD. IF YOU CAN GET AN OUT GOING CM AS YOUR WAITER IT CAN BE THE HIGH POINT OF YOUR TRIP. AS WITH ALOT OF WDW REST. IT DEPENDS ON THE WAIT STAFF TO MAKE IT SPECIAL.
"it was okay"
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2002 by hellokitty1
Rating: Not rated  
I guess I am the only one so far who did not care for this place. The wait staff makes one liners all night and poke fun at the guests, however, we got a very shy, quiet girl. She did not make the mood fun and my kids were very disappointed that everyone else got to have fun! It was even my husbands birthday and she asked him if he wanted a song, you dont ask you just do!! they sang to so many others! my kids were sad since we had gone here for dad's big day and didnt get nutin'. O well. Try something else next year.
"Fun and good food"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2002 by Kingdom Konsultant
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great restaurant to go to if you want to have some good down home fun!
"Family fun"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by goofyman922
Rating: Not rated  
Lots of food and plenty of laughs and fun.
"Fun Place for Families"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by mktiggerman
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great place to take the whole family to... especially on a birthday (horsey ride anyone?). The food isn't bad, but I've definitely had better, but since you can eat as much as you want, that definitely makes up for that. The service was beyond phenomenal, and it's in the Wilderness Lodge- my favorite resort.
"A Fun Meal!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
You'll truly feel in the frontier in this one, and the fact that it has one of the funniest team of CMs in the World makes eating at the Whispering Canyon a great experience. They even have horse races in there! It's mostly smoked meat and Wild West food, but it does come in large portions.
Whispering Canyon Cafe
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
Whispering Canyon menu items
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site