Tusker House reviews

Africa, Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.9  
"Best Character Breakfast"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2014 by notslim99
Rating: 10  
We loved our breakfast at Tusker House. Compared with the other character dining experiences we've had, this one stands out. Mickey, Minnie, Daisy, and Goofy all visited our table dressed in their safari gear and didn't rush off. We got our picture with Donald while we waited a few minutes for our table.

The food was fantastic. The buffet offered traditional breakfast fare along with some more exotic fruits and pastries and a few different savory dishes. The corned beef hash was great. Our son loved this place, and the characters really made his day.
"Excellent"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2013 by Jayne0902
Rating: 9  
One of the best breakfasts we have had. Food excellent and a wide variety. Service and interaction with the characters good
"Best breakfast in all of WDW"
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2013 by Austin
Rating: 10  
This is a must for the wife and I. We have been booking Tusker house on every one of our trips since our honeymoon and we always book it for breakfast. It's just incredible. Love the food. Love the atmosphere. I will say the wait staff isn't as good as it used to be but it still a great place to start your day off eating at.
"continues to surprise"
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2012 by jharvey
Rating: 10  
My family and I had breakfast here in late September of 2012 and lunch in May of 2010. Both meals were spur of the moment reservations. In 2010, after using our last TS credit, we noticed we were still showing an available credit. We decided to give it a try. Going in with no expectations, we were impressed by the environment, service and food. This was the exact opposite reaction we had to Teppan Edo. Fast forward to this past September and we had a similar decision to make. After a looooong night at MNSSHP we decided a 7:30am reservation for Kona would not happen. We were going to be in AK so we went the familiar route and picked Tusker House for breakfast. While waiting for our reservation we were able to get in line to meet Donald. The 2010 trip did not have Character lunches so this was an instant upgrade. DD,DS loved it, and we got the only visual proof that I attended this vacation when we took a group pic with Donald. Once inside, all was right with the world. Same great food, a good bit of which i was not able to name, great setting and service as before. Add to that this was a rather good character meal. Interactions were top notch. I do not know why this restaurant suffers, at least in my mind, from low expectations. While I put other meals ahead of it on both trips, Marrakesh, LTT, Le Cellier, etc, it beat better thought of Teppan Edo, WCC, and Kona Cafe.
"Great character dining experience"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Darolyn
Rating: 8  
We dined here for breakfast in May 2012.

PROS: We met Donald first with hardly any wait and then we were excorted to our table right away. There was standard buffet foods but then there were also things I didn't see at other buffets (donuts - glazed and chocolate frosted and the oh so delicious POG juice!)
The characters were Donald (who you meet outside) Daisy, Mickey and Goofy. They did a little parade around for the kids. We had our breakfast scheduled before the park opened so it allowed us to get in the park before rope drop.

CONS: The tables seemed kind of close together. When my mom pushed her chair back there was a small part of the wall that prevented her from moving it back very far. Characters seemed a bit rushed which for us was no issue but some children might like to spend more time with them.

OVERALL: We would definitely dine here again. Daisy is one of my favorite characters and to see the characters in their safari gear is pretty cool.
"Great Character Meal!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 10  
In my opinion, this is one of the best breakfasts on the WDW property.
The characters were very interactive and there were tons of food choices.
I believe we saw Donald, Daisy, Mickey, Goofy, & Pluto.
The food quality was very good.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant!
"Great Experience!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Cris P.
Rating: 8  
We had a nice experience here during our most recent dinner there. The service was good, and the food was fresh, hot, and delicious. I was a big fan of the prime rib they served while my husband liked the pork loin. They also had a seafood stew that was excellent. I think this is a good choice for both adventurous eaters and for picky eaters. There are some dishes with exotic spices while others are more simple and recognizable. There was a huge slection of desserts and all that I tried were great. This is definitely a nice way to end the day at Animal Kingdom!
"Amazing Food!!!"
Reviewed on Jun 06, 2012 by danap0115
Rating: 9  
We wanted to try something new so we made a reservation at the Tusker House. I was a little concerned when I made the reservation but I was pleasantly surprised!!! The food was amazing! Even the most picky eaters in our party were happy. We will definitely dine here again!!! P.S. The hummus is the best I have ever eaten.
"What a PLEASANT Surprise!"
Reviewed on Jun 14, 2011 by IRTSTARS
Rating: 8  
The Breakfast Buffet was FANTASTIC!!! It was different and vast.

The kids had a wonderful time with the characters and the staff was great.
"Paled in comparision to Boma"
Reviewed on Feb 25, 2011 by jrogerbeck
Rating: 3  
I shouldn't have went here so close to my visit to Boma. It didnt compare.
"Best Breakfast!"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2011 by ladycameron
Rating: 10  
This was our favorite place at Disney. There was a large selection of breakfast food available which was all delicious. The characters were also great! Will definitely go here again.
"Would Go Back Again!"
Reviewed on Jun 08, 2010 by CrazyEm
Rating: 10  
We went to Tusker House for the first time in April 2010 and it was fantastic! We made ADRs online and we only had to wait about 10 minutes before our table was ready. The food here is very good. We enjoyed having classic breakfast meals and a few different ones too. The characters cames to every table so you got to meet all of them at least once. The parade was also cute. This is the perfect place for any age and we will defiantly be going back.
"I don't really like buffets, but Tusker House is one of the best"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2009 by Markz
Rating: 7  
Atmosphere : 3/5
This restaurant is themed to look like an operation base for African elephant poachers (hence the Tusker House name). From the outside, the location looks like an outdated gas station, which doesn't make the restaurant look attractive at all. Good thing we had our map, because this restaurant doesn't stand out very much. On the inside, it sort of looks like a giant cafeteria, with some decorations sticking on the walls. The only positive point about the atmosphere, is the awesome buffet section. It is themed to look like a North African marketplace, with carpets hanging from the ceiling. The overall mood inside was pretty bland, perhaps this is because of the terrible rain we had that day. From the staff to the guests, everybody pretty much looked like they wanted to go home.

Food Quality : 3/5
Most of the vegetable or pasta items offered in the buffet we're a tad bit above average. The couscous and rice from the African selection we're great. The fried potatoes and spicy vegetables we're also some of my favorites. The main gripe I have with this buffet was the quality of the meats. Most of the meats we're awfully dry and tasteless. The deserts are exactly what you would expect from typical Disney buffet. Small portions of regular cakes and pies you would find anywhere else, nothing spectacular here, but decent taste whatsoever.

Service : 2/5
When we first walked up to the entry counter, we we're greeted by some of the rudest CM's I've ever seen in the World. A trio of three old and grumpy ladies we're in charge of taking your name and sending you inside. None of them actually looked at us, or even smiled at us. We we're wondering what was up with them, maybe it was the rain? Who knows. During our dinner, we had 2 servers. The first one was a Latino man who seemed as serious as an army drill sergeant. He never smiled, and never engaged into any conversation beyond the basic needs of service. We thought he was very rude, and we we're glad to see him getting done with his shift, only to be replaced by an awesome server named Luis (which I talked about in the CM gratitude forum). The only thing stopping me from giving the service at this place a 0 is the super cheerful second server we had waiting our table. He kept joking around, signing with his fellow cast members, taking pictures for people, talking about menu items, the whole deal... This guy was beyond amazing, if it was just for him, I would have given Tusker House a 5 on 5 for service. But because the overall experience from the start was so dreary, I can't give it anything higher than 2. Probably one of the worst experience I've had in my 16 trips to Walt Disney World. And trust me, I know service ratings are attributable strictly to individual experience during a set time period, so take this with a grain of salt! Some people might have amazing service experience at this place, but It wasn't our case

Variety : 5/5
There is one thing this buffet has going for it, and that's the variety of food choices available. There's about 15 African specialties, ranging from Marrakesh couscous (which is awesome!) to spicy tender marinated lamb. There's also your usual Disney buffet American food to complement the offer. There's also plenty of deserts along with the main course choices. This buffet will have you stuffed out if you try to have a bite of everything.

Price : 4/5
The price here is very good for an all-you-can-eat buffet. They charge 19.99$ so this would have been one of our lowest priced meal we had during our whole trip. For the amount of variety offered, and the actual decent taste of the food, the price is great. Considering you get unlimited food for a very good price, I think this is one of the most affordable restaurant in the World.

Overall rating : 3,4/5

Would I eat there again on my next trip ? No, I'm not a big fan of all-you-can-eat buffets, I prefer the seated table service kind of dinner, On my next trip I will definitely be trying Yak and Yeti instead, or maybe Rainforest Café (if it's included in the Dining Plan)
"very very good"
Reviewed on Dec 12, 2008 by bbbfamilyinsf
Rating: 10  
this is one of my favorites in disneyworld - great selection of food satisfied a varied crowd (2 kids under 3, 2 grandparents and 1 very thankful mom). lots of simple, predictable choices as well as fun new things to try (the african preserves with baba ganoush, couscous & pita were my favorite!
"i loved it"
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2008 by sarahjeanine
Rating: 10  
i just went to disney animal kingdom this summer and ate at the tusker house for breakfast and i loved it they had so many things to chose from there is somthing for everyone. and for us it was a character breakfast with donald and daisy, mickey and goofy. they all come around to the tables and i got a picture with everyone. i had so much fun.
"Tusker House is not a Counter SErvice"
Reviewed on Jun 15, 2008 by catne
Rating: 10  
But it's a great table service buffet now. We really enjoyed the foods, many ethnic choices but also lots of "american" fare for the less adventurous among you.

Great service, and they serve beer/wine
"Best Character Breakfast"
Reviewed on Apr 01, 2008 by PhilharMagician
Rating: 9  
We have always enjoyed the Donald's Breakfastasaurus and were highly disappointed when we heard that it was closing and taking over the Tusker house. Of course we had to at least try it since we have tried all of the character breakfast buffetts. After being greated outside by the bar in Harambe I was a little puzzled that there was no indoor waiting location. Minutes later we were greated and walked over to the picture location and asked if we would like our picture taken. We said no and were taken inside to tour the buffett. The buffett area is humongous with many different sections. Finally we were seated and found that the seating was more spacious and had more walking room around the table than in Restaurantasaurus. Now up to the buffett to pig out! I tried most of the foods and found it wonderful. There are many common items to the rest of the WDW buffetts, but many special items with the african flare also. The food was awesome!

As most character meals have a celebration, so does this one. We had our napkins high in the air as the children played there moracco's in a conga line through the restaurant. The kids had so much fun.

This is a definate repeat, and I look forward to trying their dinner menu.
"New Table Service buffet Tusker House"
Reviewed on Dec 13, 2007 by jws25
Rating: 10  
We had a reservation for lunch at 11:40am on Wed., Dec. 5, 2007. We checked in early at 11:30 so that we would have plenty of time to get on line for the 1:00 show of Nemo. We were given a pager, and were not seated until 11:55. At that point, a friendly but painfully slow hostess sauntered us to our table. Once there, we were greeted quickly by a friendly server. We explained the situation, and she wasted no time. She took our drink orders, and by the time we'd returned with our first serving, our drinks and bill were waiting for us. We did not use the dining plan, but when my husband ordered the yummy exotic fruit punch, we noticed that we were not charged for it. (I had tap water.) We felt it was well worth the $20/person bill, especially had we not been rushed. We still left full and happy. If you've been to Boma and enjoyed it, please consider Tusker House. There were many similar dishes, and the spirit and variety was the same, as well as the superb quality. The cuisine was pan-Asian. There were several curry dishes, lots of cold and hot couscous dishes, and plenty of veggies and a variety of meats, including chicken, beef, shellfish and salmon. Also appearing was the familiar "short" buffet table, with mac & cheese, chicken legs, and other favorites. This is a terrific option for a vegetarian or ethnic food lover, and long overdue at Animal Kingdom! We will absolutely return.
By the way, yes, we did make it to the show, and our seats weren't bad, either.
"Tusker House ...Wonderful"
Reviewed on Nov 07, 2006 by lulabell1972
Rating: Not rated  
This was by far the BEST counter-service restaurant I have eaten in to date. The menu was very diverse. The food was fresh and the portions were large.

If you are going to order desert, beware!! The portions are huge! The cheese cake is woth every bite.

"Head to Tusker House"
Reviewed on Dec 13, 2005 by cherrynegra
Rating: Not rated  
If you're tired of burger and fries and want good healthy meals, then I highly suggest Tusker House. I personally think Animal Kingdom has the best counter service park food of all the WDW parks, and Tusker House is at the top.

The grilled salmon with rice and vegetables is a wonderful change from the average. The rotissire chicken is also another great choice. I wasn't too impressed with the turkey wrap, but the corn chowder that came with it more than made up for it. Yummy!! They also had a vegetable stuffed pita with a side of grapes that was also quite good. If you're trying to eat healthy in the parks, you can't go wrong eating here.
"YES"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2005 by MSTINKHERBELL01
Rating: Not rated  
If you've ever passed by and wondered should you give it a try....the answer is YES! The food is really good. The rotisserie chicken is a change for counter service and it's so darn good comparable to Pollo Tropical (if you've ever dined there). The Garlic Mash Potatoes are excellant and I ate mine and my girlfriends. She loved the veggies but she did mention they needed more salt. Overall, it was a great experiance and we will def. eat at Tuskers again.
"Great theming"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Never had lunch or dinner here yet, but the breakfast is a slight step above you're typical fast food breakfast, and the theming in this place has a very geniune feel to it. Favorite restaurant at Animal Kingdom.
"another winner"
Reviewed on Jun 27, 2005 by hollyberries
Rating: Not rated  
again another good choice---tasty food, plenty of room for seating and the lines were well coordinated here. i'd recommend this counter service to anyone
"Yummy Chicken"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great place to grab a meal in Animal Kingdom. It has counter service and rather limited choices, but the food is plentiful and very good. I highly recommend the rotisserie chicken, which is juicy and flavorful. The restaurant has a very rustic decor, and is a nice place to stop off, get a bite to eat and rest up a bit.
"Our Favorite!"
Reviewed on Apr 01, 2003 by AddyL
Rating: Not rated  
This was our favorite counter service eatery in the Animal Kingdom, perhaps in all of WDW! The portions are large, the menu has some variety, and the food was excellent! Also, even at 12 noon on a day when Africa was jammed to the gills with people, this restaurant was very uncrowded! We had no wait to order, and tables were plentiful!
"GREAT FOOD"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE FOOD HERE IS THE BEST INSIDE AK. WHEN YOU GROW TIRED OF EATING AT THE RAINFORREST CAFE THIS IS THE PLACE. LIMITED SELECTION BUT IT'S ALL GOOD.
"#1 Counter Service at AK"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This is a must-eat for me at the Animal Kingdom for lunch. Good food, pleasent surroundings, and the much appreciated air conditioning in a park that seems to lack it.
"Good chicken"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by Enskywalker
Rating: Not rated  
If you don't want to eat at the Rainforest Cafe in Animal Kindom, this is the place to go. The portions are big enough to split between two adults and the rotisserie chicken is the second best we've had on property including full-service restaurants.
Tusker House
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site