The Hollywood Brown Derby reviews

Hollywood Blvd, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 6.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.4  
"Not much good to say"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2013 by Annie G
Rating: 3  
We went for lunch, were seated immediately and introduced to our less-then-exciting-or-interesting waiter. We placed our order - fettuccine, cobb salad and children's grilled chicken - and waited 45 minutes for our order before my mother in law asked a waitress where our food was as we were watching people who came in after us receive their food. Within minutes, our order arrived, but it was quite obvious that the food sat for some time as the sauce on the fettuccine was pooled in the bottom of the plate and dry and the chicken cutlet was rubber and dry and inedible. Only the cob salad was good. It took our waiter 15 minutes before he stopped by the check on us and we told him how bad our food was. He merely shrugged and took the chicken cutlet away because we didn't want another made made since the other 2 in our party were nearly finished. We contacted the manager and explained our concerned and he seemed upset by it all and took the chicken off of the bill. We were still disappointed, but at least we didn't have to pay for what wasn't eaten.
"Mandatory meal for us"
Reviewed on Aug 27, 2013 by senor_jorge
Rating: 9  
This is one of our favorite restaurants when we visit WDW. We always dine here at least once and frequently twice over a 7-10 day trip. The mandatory visit is lunch on the day we leave to come home, and catch a 7 PM flight out of MCO. After 7-10 days of eating more than I should, I'm craving a Cobb salad for lunch. OK, a Cobb salad and a cold La Fin du Monde. It's light but filling, and I know I'm not going to have 'issues' during the flight home! Dinner is another favorite meal. I'll usually start with the Cobb salad, and have a med-rare filet. The latter has always been cooked properly and arrives tender and with great flavor. The butter compliments the flavor of the beef and doesn't overpower or disquise it. And finally, no visit is complete without the grapefruit cake. I like grapefruit, but I never crave it. I crave this cake. It's a great blend of flavors that you wouldn't always expect to work together but they do! Service has almost always been excellent or better. The one time that it wasn't I'll attribute to "one of those days".
"Great Food....But"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2013 by GroomerMinnie
Rating: 6  
The food was fantastic, I had Filet Mignon and Cobb Salad (I could not eat even half of my meal) and my husband had steak as well. They were cooked perfectly and the flavor was perfect. The restaurant was quite and simple. BUT...I wish this location had a lunch menu with smaller portions and would change lunch to 1 point for DP. I don't find that the restaurant holds up to the standards of other 2 point restaurants. I can't really put my finger on it but something is missing. However, the food is great and as far as HS is concerned I am glad it is there as a upscale option. If you have the means to dine here get the Cobb Salad its great and large you can surely share it with a few people.
"Delighted at the Brown Derby"
Reviewed on Jan 09, 2013 by rsoxguy
Rating: 7  
We ate dinner at the Brown Derby on 1-5-13. We requested a booth earlier in the day, and they were more than happy to accommodate the request. It was an extremely busy week at WDW, and the restaurant was full. The restaurant has a very pleasant decor, and the atmosphere has a very genuine feel. The server was friendly, well informed, and accommodating. The bread was hot and tasty, and the entrees were delicious. I had a Gouda cheese pork chop with apple slaw. My wife had a seafood cioppino dish, and my daughter had the cob salad. Each dish was presented well, and each dish was cooked well and flavorful. I had a citrus honey nest over a lemon cheesecake for dessert, my wife had a chocolate three ways, and my daughter had creme brulee. All three desserts were delicious, with the chocolate three ways being a very clear winner. I honestly wish that I had ordered it myself. One damper on the evening involved the appetizer. We ordered a crab spring roll dish, and it looked absolutely delicious. The problem, however, lies is the fact that they served it with our entrees. I blame this oversight on our server, as I considered it to be her responsibility to act as a liaison between the kitchen and the table. We asked that they take it back, as we did not desire to eat an appetizer with our entrees, and they did so willingly. Any other criticism that I might have for this restaurant would involve the prices, which are typically "Disney" high. Overall, I would recommend The Brown Derby for an in-park dining experience. We enjoyed it very much.
"tried it twice, but still bad the second time"
Reviewed on May 30, 2012 by jpittore1
Rating: 1  
We ate there a year ago and had a bad meal...thinking it was a fluke we tried it again and it was awful again...how can you NOT cook a filet correctly? It was dry and full of salt! Spend your two credits elsewhere on the Disney Dining...
"First and last visit"
Reviewed on Sep 17, 2011 by GoBeavs
Rating: 2  
My wife and I decided to visit the Brown Derby for our 30th anniversary. We made resevations 3 months in advance. We showed up at 5:30 for a 5:45 reservation. We didn't get seated until 6:30. We may as well been eating in a cafeteria. Even though there were seats around the edge of the restaurant that would have been a little bit more private, we were stuck in the middle so close to other people that we couldn't hardly talk to each other. Once we ordered it was 25 minutes before our food showed up. It was ok, but not nearly worth 2 meals on the dining plan. We ate at 5 different sit down restaurants during our visit. We saved this for last because we thought it would be the best. It was not. We won't go back.
"Slight Degradation"
Reviewed on May 20, 2011 by Trotsky
Rating: 6  
Went around May 15 2011. SLIGHT degradation since November 2010. Quality of offerings still excellent, but preparation went down a bit (we think this was due to going on a Fantasmic Dinner Package night - staff appeared overloaded).

DO go - but try to AVOID Fantasmic Dinner Package nights.
"Good but not worth 2 credits."
Reviewed on Mar 17, 2011 by thetony45
Rating: 5  
I arrived at the Brown Derby about 15 minytes before my 4:35PM reservation so i was prepared to wait. I waited the 15 minutes plus another half hour after my reservation time.

First sound I heard when I finally got in the dining area was a screaming child. While not out of place for a theme park it was unwelcome at the a place that is to be considered fine dining.

My server then "recommended" the highest priced items on the menu. He was quick to bring me my soda and basket of rolls, but that was the last i saw of him until my Cobb Salad arrived 10 minutes later.

When the salad came my server asked if he could mix it up in front of me which I recommend passing on. Half of the salad ended up on the tablecloth and floor.

The salad tasted good I was just a little annoyed that so much was wasted.

there was another long wait until my entree (duck two ways) arrived, during which i emptyed my glass but had to wait until my server came with the entree befoe i could get a refill. The duck tasted great despite the wait.

For desert I decided to try the Grapefruit cake. It was a little on the dry side, but tasted ok.

All in all, the food at the Brown Derby is great but the service needs work. Not worth 2 credits on the dining plan.

"food was great"
Reviewed on Nov 21, 2010 by GHOST1000
Rating: 8  
still love this place but was there on 11/10, food was very good crab cake was the best, love the grouper BUT had martini flight and was not chilled at all, D- for this, and the waiter would disappear forever between sightings, had better service there before.
"Return to EXCELLENCE"
Reviewed on Nov 21, 2010 by Trotsky
Rating: 10  
The Hollywood Brown Derby is BACK as a TRUE Signiture Restaurant. Did I say back? They have, within one year, achieved EXCELLENCE. New Head Chef Craig Schleider has restored, and exceeded, the classic BD menue. The REAL fillet is back on the menue, and it's EXCELLENT. Crab Cakes are totally KILLER. God would get ANGRY at the fact that he can't have the BD Cheesecake :).

Craig appears to have rescued the BD from oblivion... you MUST go here.

I have NEVER seen such a dramatic turn around. For now (Nov 2010 timeframe) this is one of the four BEST, REAL Signiture Dining Restaurants at WDW. Great job Chef Craig... PLEASE keep it up :).
"Thankfully, back to the best!"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2010 by GrumpyMarmot
Rating: 10  
Had dinner on Sunday, January 3, 2010. Both the food and the wait staff were back to wonderful! We've dined here almost once a year for 10 years, and for the past several years things seemed to go downhill: food was mediocre, and the staff seemed very disinterested. This time, the food was marvelous, and, probably just as important, the staff was back to it's old self. We took our time through the whole dinner, and our waiter was as attentive as we wanted him to be. He answered every menu question we asked knowledgeably, and seemed like he really wanted us to have a great time. Looking around, and listening to the waiters at other tables, it seemed as if our positive experience was also happening elsewhere in the restaurant.
"I felt like Lucy Ricardo"
Reviewed on Jul 19, 2009 by GlenAngl
Rating: 8  
Great service, good food, and fun atmosphere!

I figured I should stick with tradition and get the Cobb salad and Grapefruit Cake. The salad was a little salty but the cake was great!
"Don't eat at the Brown Derby"
Reviewed on Jun 26, 2009 by 
Rating: 2  
I made reservations for me and my husband the day after we got married. We were on the DPP, which was a good thing, because I would have refused to pay otherwise. We both order the chef's selection, which was the New York strip steak. Both of ours were so tough that we had to swallow most of it whole. Part of his had a tendon in it. We hadn't eaten since that morning, so we were starving; otherwise we probably would have sent it back.

Before this experience, the Brown Derby was one of my favorites. But now we have vowed never to go back - horrible! And we used up two of our dining plan meals apiece (4 sit-down meals) on that.
":-D"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2009 by Jaytrod
Rating: 10  
By Far the best food in the Studios! Great place to get away from the normal Burger and Fries and get something a little more gourmet.
"Degraded Menu as of mid 2008"
Reviewed on Jan 22, 2009 by Trotsky
Rating: 3  
Still has the "Signature" title, but filets are off the menu, replaced by poor NY strips. Very sad, as this was one of my favorites... can no longer recommend it.
"Yum"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
The Cobb Salad was one of the best things I have ever tasted, the chicken was great too. Our waiter was so nice. Even though it costs 2 table service meals on the dining plan, it's worth it.
"amazing"
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really good. old hollywood themeing and decor is the iceing on the cake. its def. worth a visit, to complete the old hollywood day of your trip
"Very Good!"
Reviewed on May 30, 2008 by Scott75
Rating: 9  
Ate at the Derby for the first time on May 21, 2008. The atmosphere was very interesting. The place almost seems to take you back in time to the 1940's. The wait staff and decor was very up to keeping with the theme. The food was EXCELLENT! Fantastic steaks and fish! I ordered the seared tuna. My wife had the halibut. Someone else in our party ordered the steak. We all sampled one another's dish. They were all top notch!! Then came the desert... Two words - Grapefruit Cake!! Absolutely delicious!!
"Loved it"
Reviewed on May 20, 2008 by jeffk410
Rating: 9  
I have been to the Brown Derby twice in the past year. We did the Fantasmic Package both times so we could ride other rides while others were trying to get seats for the show. The steaks were amazing both times i had them and i assure you i will be back again.
"fantasmic dinner."
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 6  
In July i ate at the brown derby restaurant with my family with the fantasmic package.

The night we ate, it was raining so they took away our fantasmic tickets and told us we could not get new ones for the next day and basically they were very very rude. ( we wound up getting tickets anyways! )

The service was very poor. this is not to say that everyone will not have a better experiance there.

The food was upscale from the other restaurants in the hollywood studios.. basic creme brulees and steaks and such. It was decent.

It seemed over priced for what it was. If you are going to eat there i would reccomend the fantasmic dinner because you get appetizer, entree, and dessert.. all for a little more than 50 dollars. the seats for the show are good as well! just off to the right.
"I loved it"
Reviewed on Apr 21, 2008 by gardenia
Rating: 9  
I had avoided this restaurant for years because of the mixed reviews, but finally made a lunch ADR to try it out. We were a party of five, 2 adults, 2 teens and a "junior". We all loved it. The food is very imaginative, well made, and delicious. The service was quite good. The Derby has a great wine list, charming atmosphere, and is more "grown up" than many WDW dining spots. The only thing that might turn some people off is that the portions are normal - not small, normal. They aim for quality, not just sheer quantity like some restaurants.
"A great place for lunch"
Reviewed on Dec 17, 2007 by Eyorefan
Rating: 8  
Mom mom loves the Brown Durby. The first time we went we did the Fantasmic Dinner Package. I wasn't a fan of the package or the restraunt. I felt that it was over priced for what it was and I wasn't wowed by the stake.

Mom mom insisted we go back on our next trip though and the compromise was that we went at lunch. The food is the same, but the price is better. Also I got the Cob salade and it was wonderful! Also they had a good wine list.

So if you must go, do lunch and have a salade and wine.
"brown derby"
Reviewed on Oct 11, 2007 by dizzyworld
Rating: 4  
had dinner reservations here ahad heard it was a must do but we were not impressed. The steak was nothing special it was good but nothing that stood out. Portions are small and i didnt care for the dessert grapefriut cake. this is way to overpriced for what you get i wont be putting this on my return list.
"Ewwwwwwwwwwww..."
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2007 by MaXXimus
Rating: 1  
Flys were everywhere and my daughter swated at one in her face and it landed in her drink. The duck I had was nasty and had a horrible gamey taste... my daughters chicken I think was put into a dryer for an hour before serving it to her. Would never think about going back here, even if someone offered to pay for my entire meal.
"Grouper"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 10  
One word Grouper. Great place to eat
"oddly, my favorite"
Reviewed on Aug 02, 2006 by Lucretia
Rating: Not rated  
On my family\'s trip in June, We used the Disney Dining plan and it was great! I made reservations at all of the restaurants we had never visited before. The Brown Derby was NOT one of them. On our last day, (we were out of Disney Dining meals at this point) it started to pour at around 11 am. There was nowhere to sit at any of the covered areas at the counter service places, so my husband suggested we duck into the brown derby. At first I resisted, I knew it was more expensive and we were out of our \"free\" meals. My husband also usually picks the crummiest places! Amazingly, they had plenty of tables despite the rain (maybe because of the early lunch hour.) It looked stunning in there, and our waitress was awesome! After we ordered our meals, the waitress came back with a maitre\' d type guy carrying a tray. The tray had an old fashioned phone on it and they plugged it in right at our table! My daughter and her friend both were amazed! Then the waitress told them that they had a phone call & usually only the biggest stars got phone calls at their tables. She handed my daughter the phone & it was Goofy! He told her that he would love to join us, but stayed too long in the cement at the Chinese theatre! The girls were delighted! The food was the best of our whole trip. I begrudgingly told my husband that he made an awesome pick! I would absolutely go there again!
"A great break!"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2006 by ciciwoowoo
Rating: Not rated  
We did the Brown Derby along with the Fantasmic seats. What a great deal!

Food was soooo good! Service was very nice too. Make sure you save room for dessert!!!
"My favorite"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I had such a good time there. This is a very classy restaurant, an exact copy of the old Hollywood Brown Derby that no longer exists. If it had to be in a theme park, Disney Studios is the most obvious fit, though I'd say it's out of place to be in any theme park, it's too nice for that. The Cobb Salad is wonderful.
"Best Steak in the Parks!"
Reviewed on Dec 24, 2004 by aefx
Rating: Not rated  
Brown Derby is easily my favorite eatery at WDW. I rated the menu as only "good" because there isn't a huge variety - but I enjoy the dishes they do have, especially the steak cobb. The service is always stellar - I feel like a "star" when I'm there. :) The value for what you get is good - a filet mignon cobb, an appetizer, a soft beverage, usually runs me just under $30. The theming is wonderful if you enjoy that old Hollywood feeling - though younger people might not recognize many of the names/faces that grace the walls in caricatures (i.e. Joan Crawford, Lucille Ball, etc.).

Overall I highly reccomend it - the food is fabulous, and the understated decor is classy and really gives you a break from the bustle of MGM. Kids are iffy - they won't be out of place, but it's not as outwardly fun for them as Sci-Fi or 50's PTC.
"Yuckey and Cramped"
Reviewed on Oct 04, 2002 by RobFL
Rating: Not rated  
I hated everything about this restaurant. I'm not one to normally bash restaurants and I even give really bad waiters really good tips and chalk it up toa bad day, bu the restaurant itself was horrible. The food was nearly inedible, the verdict from a panel of those trying to "enjoy" their meal. The seating was cramped and not made for anyone over 5'11. The service was nonchalant and looked bored, waiting for someone else to fill our space. We payed way too much for a meal we really disliked and will never do again.
"brown derby"
Reviewed on Sep 25, 2002 by mitros
Rating: Not rated  
One of the nicest restaurants on the property. The ever changing menu always has something new. The food is teriffic, the ambiance is wonderfull. We make sure we eat here everytime we visit the studios
"Classic Hollywood"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Walk into the Brown Derby and it's a dream come true, just walking back in time to the golden age of Hollywood's favorite hangout. Theming is incredable from the characatures on the wall to the Streetmosphere characters that come to the restaurant "to be seen". The food is delicious and a great deal combined with the Fantasmic Dinner Package.
"DO NOT MISS"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
GREAT FOOD,NICE DECOR. BE SURE TO GET RESERVED SEATING FOR FANTASMIC AFTER YOUR MEAL !!!!!!
The Hollywood Brown Derby
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site