Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater Restaurant reviews

Commissary Lane, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 7.0 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.0  
"Cool experience"
Reviewed on Jun 13, 2014 by Courtney
Rating: 8  
Service was a tad slow, but the food was good. My husband had a burger with cheddar and bacon, and I ordered some fried pickles. The pickles were great, and the burger was huge and definitely worth the wait. Dining in front of the big screen was a lot of fun!
"Awesome place, terrible food."
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2013 by Austin
Rating: 2  
In all fairness I haven't eaten at the Sci-Fi Dine-in since my honeymoon back in 01'. This was one place my wife and I were super excited about trying too. The theming is incredible but the food was the worst..... We left hungry and we and got a quick service meal somewhere else. The only thing I enjoyed was the deserts. I guess one day we might try it again but it will be a while I got a feeling.
"Idk.."
Reviewed on Mar 26, 2013 by PrincessNelly_NJ
Rating: 6  
Maybe it was because it was the end of a long day, late into PM EMH, but me and my fiance didn't enjoy it much. Our servers were hardly anywhere to be found, and although the portions were huge, and it might be a good deal to anyone not on the dining plan. I feel that there's better options. It's definitely worth atleast one trip. I'll be back, not anytime soon but I'd go back
"Love this place!!"
Reviewed on Mar 24, 2013 by DugFan1
Rating: 10  
My family and I have visited the Sci-Fi Dine In 4 times over the years and absolutely LOVE it!! Despite what some reviews have stated, we find the food to be delicious, especially the burgers and the theme is fantastic!! I have always had a place in my heart for "B movies" especially of the science fiction genre, and love the concept of seeing the classic trailers while enjoying some good food. Our last visit in May 2012 was especially memorable, because of all the aforementioned reasons as well as our server Viviana, who was attentive and very helpful as well as being a sweetheart!! We are coming back to WDW in late April/Early May 2013 and have already reserved a dinner here again!! I will keep coming back for years to come!!
"Cool Theming"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2013 by GroomerMinnie
Rating: 9  
DH and I love this Restaurant! It can be a bit corny but that is part of the fun. The only complaint I have is the lack of lighting on your food. There is just a little light near the "dashboard" that your food sits on. Other than that we LOVE this place. The food is great. Onion Rings are served all over the World but to me the onion rings here are so much better! Dh loves the burgers. The setting of the old drive in is awesome! I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
"A lot of fun"
Reviewed on Jan 28, 2013 by aw14
Rating: 8  
Was there in 8/11, and to be honest, the food was very good, but overall it is the ambiance that sets this apart. My daughter wanted to sit in the back of the car by herself, and she absolutely loved it. She felt like she was a "grown up" and an old school drive in. I am not saying the food is the best on grounds, but we all need to keep our expectations within reason
"HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT"
Reviewed on Jan 28, 2013 by Slapps
Rating: 4  
We dined here on January 3rd, 2013. We did not have ADR'S. So were pleasantly surprised when we had only a 10-15 minute wait. My DW dined here before and enjoyed it. We were seated in the rear of a car and had a good view of the big screen. Our waitress was great and in character. My DW ordered a cheese burger that was not very tasty and was very greasy. I ordered the Picnic burger. This is a burger with two hot dogs, cheese, sauerkraut and some kind of sauce. I must say I like most Disney food, but, this was by far and away the worst meal I have ever experienced at Disney (11 trips). I would have given this a one if not for the funny movies and commercials. Our waitress also deserved a higher grade. I would not recommend this eatery. I truly hope this was just unlucky on our part to have such a bad meal. The atmosphere is great, just a shame.
"Loved the atmosphere"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2012 by Janice Stroud
Rating: 8  
We ate here over our last trip in November 2012. It was a neat experience to sit in the "cars" and watch the shows which we found entertaining. We enjoyed the burgers, fries and shakes for our meal. The food was average, the service was excellent and the atmosphere unique. A must try for everyone!
"Great Experience, Not So Great Food"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2012 by Carin
Rating: 4  
We loved the the experience of dining at the Sci-Fi Dine-In. As far as the experience went, it was a lot of fun and it gives you a nice break from the park. However, the food was not very good at all. Only because of the poor food quality would I not return.
"Don't Waste Your Time"
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2012 by DisneyJunkie
Rating: 2  
The Sci-Fi Diner was on my short list of places that I'd never eaten at before in WDW, and had always wanted to try. So that time came the week September 24, 2012, during my most recent WDW vacation. Suffice it to say, I like the idea of the place and the decor....it is a cool looking restaurant. However, after having eaten there once, we were all pretty unanimous in agreement that we wouldn't have to go back again. Why? The food, with the lone exception of the delicious milkshakes, was merely tolerable....nothing to write home about, and in some cases, like with my wife (who got some kind of vegetarian burger), it was just "nasty". I got a burger too and it simply wasn't very good. I could have gone back to Cosmic Ray's at the Magic Kingdom and gotten a better burger. For the milkshake, I had gotten a "cosmic splash", which was basically an orange and cream (creamsicle-like) shake....and I loved it. But I wouldn't recommend going there unless I could advise that the food is good too, and it just wasn't up to par. Also, while the novelty of them showcasing bad, old sci-fi films is good, eventually it just loops back to the very beginning so even while you eat, you start seeing the same stuff over and over again. BORING. While our waitress was pleasant enough, we really never saw her unless she was bringing our food or check. No checks to see if we were ok or were enjoying our meal.
"A "Must" every trip"
Reviewed on Sep 21, 2012 by disneylemons
Rating: 4  
I read all the time about the food at SciFi and I have to disagree. Although it might not be a 'gourmet' meal - its is hardly as bad as some make it out to be. We have reservations here every trip - and yes mostly for the atmosphere but nobody in our party -(which sometimes is large and big age range) ever complains about the food. A couple of us usually have an 'adult beverage' which is always enjoyable and the others have milkshakes - YUM. But the bottom line is if you want to go somewhere that is FUN and nothing like any other restaurant - take a chance!
"Try it!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2012 by Monkee Girl
Rating: 10  
True
"Atmosphere A+/Food F"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2012 by Deb
Rating: 2  
It had been a few years since dining here and decided to go back. Big mistake. It is fun to do once because the atmosphere is good. The food leaves much to be desired. The menu is very limited compared to previous times we had dined there. Our server was wonderful. That is the reason I gave it 2 stars.
"Great themeing terrible food."
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2012 by Jeff456
Rating: 3  
Themeing is great no question, also really enjoyed the milkshakes. However the food was very poor the shrimp pasta had no sauce so was basically plain pasta with some shrimp in, burger was ok (huge) but fairly tasteless. Milkshakes are great, my tip would be to go just for a milkshake and skip the food, there are better options even most of the CS options at DHS are better!
"Must Visit!"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2012 by WishIWasAtWDW
Rating: 7  
I absolutely love the Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater! The theming in this restaurant is amazing and, if for no other reason, a major reason to visit on your next trip. The 1950s drive in movie theater vibe cannot be beat! As soon as you are taken to your table you are transported to a different era. It’s a really fun environment, watching old B movie trailers and sci-fi clips while sitting in your car. The only downside to the seating arrangement in the cars is that most of the cars seat 2 people per row and so it can be difficult to talk to the rest of your party if you have a larger party. If you are a smaller party, you will most likely be placed in a car with another party. This isn't terrible since you aren't sitting right next to them but they may be in the row in front or behind you. The food definitely takes a back seat to the theming of Sci-Fi but it certainly is not a major disappointment. I have had many good meals at Sci-Fi but I would suggest going for the atmosphere and not to expect the best meal of your life.
"This place is about atmosphere!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2012 by John (blackthidot)
Rating: 5  
For years I defended Sci-Fi. I am finally done with that now. The meals I had here were always decent. Nothing to really get excited over. But decent food and that theater made for a really nice meal.

My last trip there was simply AWFUL. The food was just terrible and the service was absolutely horrible. Our server was not rude or anything...he was just nowhere to be found. It was very busy when we were there but the wait staff at other "cars" were always around. Our guy was lost and barely spoke English.

This one bad time sadly does out weigh the good times we did have here. We really do want to go back so next time we will just go for milkshakes so we can enjoy the great atmosphere this place provides.
"Great atmosphere - decent food"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Derelicte19
Rating: 7  
We dined here in May 2012 du to my sister wanting to change it up a little and try somewhere new.

PROS: we were completely in awe over the atmosphere of the place. It really did feel like you were outside at a drive in theater. Dining in the cars was cool too. I got the burger and it was good. My sister really enjoyed her buffalo chicken potatos skins and my mother got the turkey sandwich and said it was good.

CONS: We had to wait awhile past our ADR time (This wasn't their fault as there was a pushy woman who demanded they seat her party without an ADR ahead of all the people who had made ADR's) It is kind of dark in the cars so it's a little difficult to see what you're doing.

OVERALL: I think we will throw this into the mix every 2-3 years or so but it won't be a must do. I do think everyone should try it at least once, if just for the atmosphere.
"Fun Atmosphere & Good Food"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 9  
This is one of our favorite WDW restaurants.
I love the atmosphere.
The service & food quality were both very good.
Be sure to try the milkshakes - they are GREAT!!!
"Great Atmosphere and Okay Food"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Cris P.
Rating: 6  
You can't beat the atmosphere -it's stellar! The fun of watching movie clips in a cool car on a starry night can't be beat. The food here is okay although their red velvet cheescake is excellent! I think if you stick to basic burger, fries, and shakes you will be happy with what you ordered. I had the pasta during the last visit and it was fine, but a little bland. Everyone who ordered simpler fare were pleased.
"Agreed"
Reviewed on Feb 29, 2012 by dsdmbU2
Rating: 8  
I agree with most of the reviews. The food is average at best but the theming and/or atmosphere is pure Disney. I hate to review service (because how good or bad it is one time doesn't necessarily mean you're getting the same the next) but we had a great waiter who went over the menu in detail and had us all laughing with his sense of humor. It's one of those places you have to experience at least once or every few visits. We did it in the Spring of '09 and just made reservations for our Aug. '12 trip.
"Good food great atmosphere...."
Reviewed on Jul 20, 2011 by Mickeygirlie
Rating: 10  
I always go for lunch here when I can. The burger fries & choc shake are always great. Pricey but good & I love the atmosphere too.
"Fun place. A little creepy."
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 7  
The atmosphere creeped me out. I think a lot of it had to do with the movies playing on the big screen. My food was fine, big portions, but nothing fancy.
"Great food and atmosphere!"
Reviewed on Jan 01, 2011 by ladycameron
Rating: 9  
Despite what people say about the food, i thought it was great. We had onion rings and milkshakes and it was delicious. The atmosphere was excellent too and the staff was really friendly. Will definitely eat here again.
"Unique Atmosphere "
Reviewed on May 09, 2010 by RAIDER
Rating: 6  
Went for lunch . The cast members cant be faulted but the menu doesnt have alot of choice . The atmosphere and seating tables are brilliantly thought out
"Fun atmosphere, so-so food."
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2009 by fauna
Rating: 7  
My family and I dined here for lunch on Nov. 3. My kids were both pretty excited to see this restaurant and really enjoyed sitting in "cars" and watching the movie clips. Although, it was disappointing that halfway through lunch the clips were already repeating. Can't they add enough to have more than a 45 minute loop?

I had the Barbeque Chicken Sandwich - it was ok. Nothing special or flavorful. My husband had the Reuben and felt the same way. It was ok.

My kids both had the hot dogs and no complaints from them.

Our server was very nice - kind of an old fashioned diner waitress. She took the time to explain everything to us and the kids. Our only problem was after paying the bill, we had to wait 10-15 minutes for her to come back with our card (we had this problem in many restaurants).

This was fun experience, but because of the lackluster food this will not be a "must do" restaurant for us..

"Better than I remembered..."
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2009 by GlenAngl
Rating: 9  
We were looking for a last minute table-service lunch, so we tried 50s Prime Time Cafe first but they were booked.

We went to Sci-Fi and were told he would get us the "back of a car" within 20 minutes. It took about 10.

I had the Beef & Blue salad which was very good and nicely sized for $15.99. The bf said his Turkey sandwich was also good.

It's a fun atmosphere inside and the tacky B-rated movies are enjoyable to laugh at.
"Will come back every trip!"
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2009 by princessmommy
Rating: 9  
We loved it here. We got luck and without ADR's were able to sit at the tables in the back. Even then my three year old loved it! I had the BLT soup and it was delicious!! The milk shake was also yummy! We will be eating here every trip!!!
"A great themed experience, good service, and decent food"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2009 by Markz
Rating: 7  
Atmosphere : 5/5
This has to be one of the nicest themed restaurant in the World. Everyone from the decor to the ambiance just feels perfect. It's everything you would expect from an old style outdoor theater. The nightly effect that surrounds the theater is very well done, and it gives a great feel to the place. Similar to the San Angel Inn (in Epcot - Mexico Pavilion), it actually feels like you are outdoors eating in a car at an old Sci-Fi theater. The people responsible for seating you are all moving around with old style roller-skates, which just adds to the authenticity of the experience. To me, it is definitely one of the best atmosphere in concordance to what you would expect from that kind of restaurant. The only thing I would maybe change are the movies they play, for some old times Disney classics. I know this would totally break the idea of a "Sci-Fi dine-in theater", but still, it would definitely make it more family-friendly.

Food Quality : 3/5
We both ordered the St-Louis style prime ribs. This meal was served with sides of coleslaw and fries (which you could change for rice). The coleslaw and fries we're pretty stale, nothing spectacular here. It was a slight bit worst than what you would expect from your average American table dinner restaurant. The only thing stopping me from giving the food quality a 2, is the actual quality of the prime ribs rack we got. I gotta say the ribs we're quite flavorful and well presented. They really look and smelled delicious. If you don't mind the stale sides, this is probably the best meal you can get at this restaurant. The quality of the ribs wasn't exceptional, but it's a slight bit above average, hence why I'm giving this meal a fair rating of 3 out of 5. As far as the desert goes, we both had the apple crumble. My girlfriend didn't quite like it because she thought it was way too sugary. I actually enjoyed it a lot more than she did, though I gotta say I'm a big sweet tooth.

Service : 4/5
The service here was quite good. From the reception desk, to the seating person, along with our actual server, everything went quite well. We waited around 15 minutes to be seated, even with our reservation, but we didn't mind it at all since it was raining like crazy outside. We we're just glad to be out of the rain for a while. The drinks came quite fast, same goes for our meals and desserts. Our server was a very nice Argentinian lady who did he really best to make sure everything went smooth with our meal. I remember my girlfriend dropped her Key to the World card under the car table seat, and she came right up with her flashlight to help us find it. Overall the service was above average for the whole experience.

Portions : 3/5
The portions we're exactly what you would expect from your average restaurant that serves that kind of meals. The prime rib rack was average in size, while the sides we're a bit substandard (which was fine because they weren't that good anyways). The deserts we're quite big, but considering the price tag was somewhat high for an apple crumble, we we're excepting something of that size.

Price : 3/5
We paid 21.99$ each for our main course, and around 7$ for the desert. For what you get, I would the say the prices are a slight bit above average. Making this restaurant a tad bit pricy for what you get. However, I could say that the extra money spent goes to the experience you get walking into this restaurant, which is something you won't get anywhere else. Our total tally was around 65$, which I would have paid out of pocket for that kind of dining experience. Being on the dining plan and not shelling out a single dollar on site just makes it even better.

Overall rating : 3,6/5
"Awesome! Worth the wait"
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2009 by Deboona
Rating: 9  
This is a great example of the detail that Disney goes into, for everything! Such a great dining theme, excellent food and service. I enjoyed it when I was 5 and still enjoy it. =]
9/10 - it is essential that you book a table
"Food is average, but worth the kitschy time"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2008 by drizea
Rating: 7  
I've always liked this restaurant, since first it opened. Honestly, I've probably never even had a great meal. As I recall food is average, and slightly slow coming. I go for the theming - it completely puts you in another time and place. Sitting in the cars, at the drive-in watching old horror and sci-fi movie trailers, I just think is a cool time. haha. It's just a fun flashback of a time I never got to be a part of.

But if they try to seat you in a table not at a car, just say no, it's not as much fun.
And be prepared if more than two people to not be able to sit and have a conversation, as the table in cars are in two seat rows.
"Generic"
Reviewed on Aug 04, 2008 by wickedsoccer22
Rating: 5  
Great atmosphere but the food is too generic. Too expensive for a burger you can get right next door at the ABC Commisary.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2008 by tazbear
Rating: 10  
the atmosphere was the greatest. Surprised by how quiet it was inside. Very relaxing. The food was good.
"interesting"
Reviewed on May 31, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 4  
bad food, ok desserts, great attmosphere
"One of the best at WDW!"
Reviewed on May 31, 2008 by Scott75
Rating: 10  
FUN! Excellent food! Have been here twice for dinner, and will go back again in the future! Try the steak, it's fantastic!
...Also, try to find the hidden Mickey. Give up? Ask your server. ;)
"so - so"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 5  
I love the theming of this restaurant it is really cool. If they played other things on the telvision screen that would be awesome.

I wouldnt reccomend this for big groups. The cars are not big enough to hold a TON of people and you sit with your backs to eachother unless you sit in a round table in the back which is right next to the kitchen.

The food is decent, but the menu isnt that great.

Not one of my favorites on disney property, but for people who have never been there you should try it for the experiance!
"MY favorite restaurant in the world of disney themeparks!"
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2008 by ctxak98
Rating: 10  
THis scifi dine in theater is the coolest place to eat with your family or a huge group of people. Not only do you order food but your all in a car designed as a table and watching old corny scifi movie trailors and is an absolute don't miss restaurant and be sure to make reservations early if you want a certain time to eat there.
"Being a 50's Sci-Fi freak, I might be biased!"
Reviewed on Dec 03, 2007 by SonicRuin
Rating: 8  
We didn't make reservations for this place due to the reviews we had read on other sites, but when getting to MGM my family was hungry so we decided to make an attempt at getting in anyways. We were seated right away, dead center to the screen. The food itself was good, not great, but good. It's that middle ground between your great "greasy fastfood burger" and your standard sitdown joint burger. My main suggestion on the burgers would be to drop the price a bit and actually do a true old drive-in style burger. Don't try and get fancy, just do a good ol' dirty burger.
The onion rings are a great beer batter ring though, so that was a great little treat.
The entertainment is a ton of fun! Though I was amazed to see a Tex Avery toon on the screen (The Cat Who Hated People) considering how Tex felt about Disney, and vice-versa. But it's one of my fave Tex toons, so I was happy!!! I just wish there were more trailers, as if you get stick there a little long you will start to see the same trailers all over again. Add another 10 trailers and this won't happen.
All in all, a cool place I would go to again in a second.
"So, So"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 6  
I wasn't crazy for this place this year. Last year was better food wise. This year i really didn't like what i had ordered. The taste was not that good. The menu just sucks. Theres like 5 things to choose from on their dinner menu. I think i'm done with this place. But i gotta say, i love the themeing. It is cool.
"This Place Is Fun!"
Reviewed on Oct 01, 2007 by GenerationX
Rating: 9  
The theming here is extraordinary, and the "tables" are all incredibly cool. The film is very interesting and entertaining. We had some of the best service here that we've had anywhere in WDW. The food is nothing to write home about, but it wasn't bad, either.
"Highly recommended"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2007 by hooters dude
Rating: 9  
My wife and I are always at disney for our anniversary and the sci-fi is always visited at least once per visit to celebrate. Sure it's not the classiest but it has character and those great corny sci-fi clips to watch on the movie screen. The sky at night effect is lovely and it's quite romantic in a noisy sort of way cuddling up in the cars to have your meal, kind of like a date.

We've always found the service good with friendly servers who have refilled our drinks enough to our liking. The food is basic but cooked well and the portions are more than enough to fill you up. The space in the cars is a little tight, but once again can make things a little more romantic for a couple. We tend to go for burgers and fries and while you pay more than you would in most places, it's the experience you're paying for and we've never been rushed.

Preferred seating is a must for normal lunch or dinner slots but we've never been kept waiting more than ten minutes when turning up at our allocated time. Want to try it out and save some money first, just go for a desert there's a good choice on the menu!
"Overall 4/5"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2006 by jakeman
Rating: Not rated  
We dine at Sci-Fi at least every other visit. The main thing the place has going for it is the theming. The food is good, not particularly up to the high standards my family holds Disney restaruants to.

The service is very hit and miss. One visit we will have a great server and on another I feel slighted enough to warrent a deducation in the server\'s tip.

As for value, it is on par with the rest of the food at WDW, it is slightly overpriced for what you get. We have never made it for dinner, but the value, according to the menu, seems to be better at dinner.

The theming makes up for the average food, and in my opinion, this could be what the restaruant banks on. It is top notch, from the cars to the movie screen. My only very minor compliant is the amount of room in your car for the table is very small.

We do not have kids but it seems to be a place that kids would love.

The portion sizes are good. I never finish my meal so there is enough food there.

Overall, I would have to give Sci-Fi a 4/5. The inconsistent service and the only slight above average food hampers this restaruant form receiving a perfect score.
"Good spot for a Yuengling"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2006 by chazezez
Rating: Not rated  
Yeah, the food quality is not great and you\'ll spend more than you ever thought you would for a burger, but come on, you\'re at Disney World and you\'re in a drive-in theatre in the \'50s and they\'ve made it into a cool summer night in the middle of a blazing Florida day!!

All the kiddos seemed to really like being in a car and having their parents sit in the back seat. I don\'t have kiddos of my own, but that was my gereral observation.
"Sci-Fi Miss"
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2005 by sjtsmith
Rating: Not rated  
The theming was amazing. They missed on the food quality and seating. The food was the same as if you would have gone to counter service but it was higher priced. The seating was uncomfortable and cramped. The overall experience was poor other then the theming. If you are a Sci-Fi fan this restaurant is a must see but only once. I would not go back again. But being a huge Disney fan I have to try every attraction and restaurant at least once.
"A good spot for a burger"
Reviewed on Dec 24, 2004 by aefx
Rating: Not rated  
Sci-Fi is really one of those places you have to try at least once. The unique atmosphere is enough to make it worth it, in spite of several less than stellar features.

To begin with, the menu is rather limited - and you are best to steer clear from the "fanicier" sounding dishes. Sci-Fi is best reccomended as a burger/onion ring meal or just dessert after a meal elsewhere. The burgers are great, and so are the rings and shakes - but that's about all I can reccomend from the food I've seen/eaten there.

The service is a bit spotty, but still good - I chalk a lot of that up to the non-traditional seating and darkness of the restaurant. It's just harder to flag down a waitress (or give them that "look" that you need something) because of the enviornment. The portion size is also adequate - I wouldn't rate it as huge but certainly enough to satisfy most people.

It's a hit or miss with kids - either they absoultely love it or they hate it. The novelty of eating in cars amuses most - but the dark atmosphere is a bit too much for some kids. The movie screen doesn't show anything terrifying (you aren't going to see the alien from the Alien films), just clips from old "classic" Sci-Fi films from the 40's/50's (Plan 9 from Outer Space, Attack of the 50ft Woman, etc.).

I had to give it an overall "excellent" only because the theme makes it worth it; however, I'll add the caveat that it's only excellent for a burger or dessert - anything else and I'd have a hard time even giving it "average".

"Unique experience"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2004 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
This was a very unqiue, unsual, and terrific dining experience. I would highly recommend trying this place on your next trip!
"Bad Food, Great Fun"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2004 by ZHoyt
Rating: Not rated  
We always try to make a stop here, it is one of the best themed places in the parks. But as for the food, watch out. This place even managed to mess up a hamburger! As a kid I never had problems with the food, but I refuse to eat there anymore. I recommend going for a milkshake or a cocktail to relax in the cool, fun atmosphere. If you want to eat at a full service restaraunt at the Studios try the much better Mama Melrose's or the Prime Time Cafe (which has a similar problem of theming over food, but their food is worlds ahead of Sci-Fi).
"Better than they say"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2004 by Wilt Dasney
Rating: Not rated  
This place gets a bad rap, but I enjoyed my only visit. The ribs are pretty good, and topped off with a cold one and the unique ambience offered here, they made for a memorable dining experience. People complain about the price a lot...welcome to Disney World. It'll be $3.50 for that oxygen, please. Yes, it's overpriced, but what isn't at the World? Give it a try...I think you'll like it.
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2004 by MsSnuzi
Rating: Not rated  
I make it a point to hit this restaurant everytime I am at the World. I love themeing and this place is great! Try it, you'll like it!
"Get out of our backseat!"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2004 by tacojbunny
Rating: Not rated  
This restaurant has incredible themeing and good food. The Shrimp pasta was yummy. It really felt like we where eating outside under the stars watching a drive-in movie. However, when we went there for lunch we where placed in the back seat of one of the cars with another family. The place was pretty much empty so we asked to be moved and they wouldn't do it. It didn't take away too much but still it was aggravating.
"run! fast!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I love going back in time to the 50's and seeing some of the B-rated movies of the past. the food is definatly second to the theming, and after a while, you will feel that you are truely in a drive in theatre. Kids will love it if you let them drive. ;)
"Definitely Different"
Reviewed on Dec 25, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
On the whole, I enjoyed this restaurant. It was fun to get in from the heat, sit in a "car" in a drive-in and watch cheesy sci-fi movie previews and cartoons while I ate. This is one of the most innovative ideas for a restaurant that I've ever seen. My big complaint was the way the "cars" themselves are set up. Each car has three booth-type tables one behind the other. I was seated in the middle of my car, so I had a couple in front of me and a couple behind me. And the booths are really close together, so I could hear everyone's conversations. I just felt really uncomfortable and unhappy about that. It's the only time, as a solo diner at WDW that I've ever felt conspicuous about dining alone. Also, if the diners in front of you are tall, they block your view of the screen. Other than that, the food was good and the service was excellent. The menu is not fancy, but that's okay if you just want a quick burger and a milkshake. And a unique atmosphere!
"must see"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2003 by hershdog
Rating: Not rated  
Our kids loved it..I thought it was a bit pricey (imagine that for Disney) but it was a nice and Quiet get-away from the noise of the park.
"Turn your lights off!"
Reviewed on May 07, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
A great little place to hide out during the hot middle of the day. Though you are indoors the theme makes you feel outdoors during the night. Your table is a car and you can watch old sci-fi movie shorts while you eat. Most will make you laugh. The food was good for sit-down service. Felt stuffed too quick though.
"So much fun!!!!"
Reviewed on Feb 05, 2003 by EchoOfOphelia
Rating: Not rated  
I make it a point to eat here every single time I'm in MGM. It could just be that my fiance and I like old sci-fi movies, but the atmosphere is the best I've ever seen. Watching the movie clips is just always fun, although I wish the cycle was a bit longer. And the food is fantastic! The service is awesome, on roller skates mind you!
"ants???"
Reviewed on Jan 12, 2003 by feenie
Rating: Not rated  
We were not overly thrilled with the Sci-Fi Dine in theater. It was a neat atmosphere, but it got old pretty quickly. The food was ok, but not worth the price. The most "authentic" feature was the three little red ants that were visiting our table.... Gross!!!
"Horses for courses"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2002 by happy snapper
Rating: Not rated  
Even in this thread there are a variety of opinions and experiences. I can only go by what happened to me. The service was excellent and the CM did his upmost to ensure my wife and I had a good time. they made such a fuss of all the kids we were adamantthat on our next visit we would return. Yes the menu is not extravagant akin to the Hard Rock or Planet chains, both in quality and price. As for the setting that appears to be the one thing that everyone is in agreement on, its excellent.
"I love this place!"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2002 by jodigrl328
Rating: Not rated  
I have heard so many bad reviews about this place. I think it is the most amazing and uniquely themed restaurants I have ever been to. Anything I have ever eaten has been delicious and the milk-shakes are very good. And it is the quietest Disney restaurant you can find. A welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the parks. Definetly try it!
"Retroriffic"
Reviewed on Nov 09, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
While I didn't find the food very good (neither did my family), I enjoyed this restaurant as the only sit-down at MGM I've been to. Watching the old commercials and films on the television - especially Walt Disney - is a great education of the time. This is a very creative and beautiful place to eat.
"Fun Time!"
Reviewed on Nov 04, 2002 by grimone24
Rating: Not rated  
Very fun especially on your first visit! Seats 250 so there is rarely a wait! I loved the fiber optics that gave the impression of being outdoors!
"Fun Food"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
We always try to hit the Sci-Fi. However, the last two times we have been the service was so bad. We had to sit through the B movie loop twice before we got our food. It is a neat place though. For those of us old enough to remember the drive-ins, it brings back a lot of memories. Food is not bad but is just normal Disney stuff given weird Sci-Fi names.
"Fun to do once."
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by EthylCooper
Rating: Not rated  
The idea of this restaurant is awesome, but it's just not all that pleasant to eat in. The trailers and clips were a lot of fun, but that was really the only part of the experience I enjoyed. Each car seat only holds two people and they all face the same direction, so when I went with my two friends, they were in a seat together facing forward and I was in the seat behind them talking to the backs of their heads. The tabletops are shelves across the "dashboard" area and they have a light running along the length where the table met the seatback. With the lights so dim in the restaurant, it was unpleasant trying to see my food silhouetted against the table-light. My food was kind of bland, but my friends' entrees were better. All in all, it's definitely fun to do at least once, but not an experience I'll ever want to repeat.
"AWESOME"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
THis placve is awesome, you either sit in convertibles in a drive in movie type setting of in boothes in the back, they show clips from old B sci-fi movies. complete with twinkeling stars overhead. The food is preety good mainly good for the experience but will difinetly go back, a glorified fast food joint made into a sitdown resturant is th type of food they serve but excellent to say the least
"Great Atmosphere"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
The Sci-Fi is a really neat place to eat. The atmosphere is great and the service,in my experiences, is top-notch. The menu is a little weak and the food is average at best, but it is still a fun dining experience.
"Great Theming"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
The Sci-Fi Drive-In is a great place for theming. One of my favorites when it comes to the atmosphere. I could sit in those cars and watch the trailers for those hilarious movies abuot all day long. But remember, this is a restraunt. Which means you must grade the food. I usually get either a chicken sandwich or a burger when I got there, I will admit they are rather good. But the rest of the menu doesn't appeal to me. When I down there about a month ago, the menu changed from my last visit and it was very short. Only about 7 entrees, which was disappointing. I didn't even eat there the first visit to the Studios. The next day I headed back for lunch and liked the lunch menu better and chowed down and laughed at the movies. As all Disney restraunts, the service was fantastic. Has Disney ever given you bad service? As a waiter myself, I'd say these guys and girls are fantastic!
"Do not miss"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater should be on everybody's "To Do" list at WDW. The service is great and good for a laugh. Although the highlight of the experience is the 1950's television on the big screen. My personal favorite is the "Future" commercials which depict kitchens of the future, transportation of the future. Just a great experience and anybody with kids should not miss this restaurant.
"Drive in Move style!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
The Sci-Fi dine-in theater is a great addition to mgm. You go in and have a seat in a booth which looks like a car. The restaurant simulates that your in a drive in movie theater!The food is really great here and theres a lot to choose from. The movies are interesting to watch while you dine there also. So next time your in mgm around dinner time stop at the sci-fi dine-in theater!
"Fun"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This one gets the "fun theming award". The car-shapped tables, cheezy sci-fi movie clips, and roller-skating waitresses are great touches. The food isn't great, but it's worth it just to eat in the theming. Stick to cheeseburgers and milkshakes that are hard to mess up.
"Bait and Switch"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by mtaft
Rating: Not rated  
Talk about Bait and Switch! This vastly overrated place has an excellent and fun environment, but is probably the most poorly managed sit-down eatery at WDW. High prices, indifferent service, long waits. Tried it twice five years apart- never again!
"NOT AGAIN"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
RUDE WAITER SOSO FOOD, TOO MANY GREAT PLACES TO EAT AT WDW TO WASTE TIME HERE!
"My favorite restaurant!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by steamboat_kevin
Rating: Not rated  
This is my all-time favorite restaurant at WDW because it not only has wonderful food but it is entertaining because you get to watch lots of cheesy previews for old sci-fi films and you sit in cars! Kids love this place and so do adults, I highly recommend it! If you go, be advised, save room in your tummy for their delicious milkshakes!
"Great Atmosphere"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
There's no denying it, you feel you're in a perfect drive-in. Your tables are cars, the waiters and waitresses move around in rollerskates, and you get to watch old sci-fi trailers and parts of movies. It can be a little expensive for burgers and salads, but the theme is worth it. Kids will have fun eating in cars, but the overall theme may escape them.
"great for snacks"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by disneycp2000
Rating: Not rated  
When first entering you'll seriously think you're drive in. You're table is a car and you'll get to watch sci-fi movies on the big movie screen. It's fun and the food truely matches it's theme. It's basically sandwiches, shakes, and sides. I've tried the milkshake and onion rings and they were pretty good. Both were rich and hearty. As for a complete meal, I don't think this would be the right place. I'd suggest it for a quick bite and another place for dinner.
Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater Restaurant
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site