Rose and Crown Dining Room reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 9.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.1  
"Great food! A definite favorite!"
Reviewed on Apr 30, 2014 by Figment89
Rating: 9  
Definitely one of my favorite restaurants at Disney! Excellent service, lovely restaurant, amazing food, and a view of the fireworks!
"British Food. Nuff said."
Reviewed on May 09, 2013 by drumbum67
Rating: 7  
British food seems to offer the same advantages no matter where you are - warm, hearty, and fairly-priced. While not a bargain, this is one of the less-expensive restaurants in Epcot. The food is prepared very well - some of the best fish and chips I've had. The atmosphere is pretty basic - exactly what you would expect from an authentic British pub - comfortable but never elegant. Overall, this is a good deal for Epcot. Definitely recommended if you want to sit down and eat, but not pay a fortune.
"Love!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2013 by MandyC
Rating: 10  
The food is delicious and the portions are large. Both times we've been, the service has been excellent.
"Couldnt be better"
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2012 by NNGrendel
Rating: 10  
This makes my second visit to the Rose and Crown in a two year span. Both visits I have been so impressed. The meals, atmosphere, and staff keep me coming back. Not only me but my entire family from age 40 to 10 years old loves the Rose and Crown. Although you cannot be guaranteed a seat on the veranda for Illuminations you are still able to go out to a viewing area when the show starts although the staff makes every attempt to seat you outside if you desire. I have had the fish and steak from here and both are very good. Well seasoned and cooked properly. The beer selection is very good and the pub atmosphere is the best! Dont forget to try a Pub blend the next time you are there if your into beers. If you want a taste of several beers ask for the Imperial Sampler. You wont be disappointed. During your visit dont miss The Hat Lady in the back of the Pub playing the piano. Always a good time!
"Good old british grub."
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2011 by real mad hatter
Rating: 7  
Now when i go abroad, no matter where,Europe or good ole USA,i do as the romans do,enjoy their cusine.(in other words if iam in Greece i dont look for fish and chips)so when i booked the Rose And Crown,i knew roughly what the food would be,the usual run of the mill,bland british grub,but taken that all in,i was very pleased with the choice,presentation,and tastes of all we had to eat,what made it more exciting was the fact i knew one of the waiters from our home town in Scotland and he got us priority seating at the front of the seas for illuminations.That said it was good value for money, and drinks were a resonable price.
"Stellar!"
Reviewed on Jul 10, 2011 by zacopeland18
Rating: 9  
The Fish & Chips were great. I also had a nice Harp beer to wash it down!
"Great food"
Reviewed on Jul 07, 2011 by Dtfsrdisneyfan
Rating: 10  
Loved the place went back 2 times
"best dessert EVER!"
Reviewed on May 31, 2010 by Tomi-Rocket
Rating: 10  
My two kids and I ate here in Sept. '09. It was our first time eating at the Rose & Crown but it won't be our last. DH wasn't feeling well after our breakfast buffet and went back to the room to rest so just the three of us made our ADR. We were seated within 15 minutes of our arrival. All the CM's at the podium were outgoing and friendly. I had the Apple Stilton Salad and didn't care for it, although I don't think it was made poorly I just didn't care for the flavors. DS#1 had the Meat & Cheese tray with all of us sharing it and liking the Irish Cheddar the best. For lunch I ordered the Cheddar Bacon Burger, DS#1 had the Fish & Chips and DS#2 had the Pizza, which he loved. DS#1 said the fish was flaky and cooked perfectly it was just too much for him to eat. We've never seen such a big piece of fish! He also liked the chips. My burger was good but I only ate half because it was so big and I wanted to save room for dessert. DS#2 gor the Ice Cream sundae, he was on the kids meal, and really loved the piece of chocolate that had a picture of the castle on it! DS#1 ordered the Chocolate Scotch Cake after being assured that he wouldn't actually be having real liquor! He said it was the best chocolate cake he'd ever had. I had the best dessert I've ever had when I ordered the Sticky Toffee Pudding. I think I'd go back here just for that dessert. Spicy, moist cake with a toffee and vanilla sauce. Amazing, just amazing. We are going back here again so my DH can try the fish & chips!
"Great food & fun atmosphere!"
Reviewed on May 04, 2010 by GlenAngl
Rating: 10  
I dined here this past weekend and had a very enjoyable meal.

We started out with 2 Pub Blends of beer: Half & Half and Bumblebee.

For apps, we had the Mixed Greens Salad, which had croutons, cheddar, and bacon dressing, and the Dailies which was a combination of 2 traditional English foods (with some Yorkshire pudding and Toad in the Hole). The Dailies were very tasty!

For the main entrees, I had the Cottage Pie and the bf had Fish & Chips. Again, both dishes were very good.

Chris was our server who was friendly, knowledgable, and fun.

The place was crowded. We had a 1pm ADR, checked in at 12:45, and were seated at exactly 1pm. We sat inside with a view of the water from the back window.
"Great Place to watch Illuminations!"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2010 by stefan74
Rating: 10  
Loved this restaurant. The service was great and the four of us loved the food. We were able to sit right by the lagoon and watch Illuminations. How fabulous it was to sit there, eat, enjoy good service and good food. Will dine here again when I go back!
"A Lovely Place, Good Food"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2009 by 
Rating: 9  
My family and I dined here for dinner on November 1. We were seated inside as it was way too early for Illuminations. The decor was quite charming.

I had the Vegetarian Shepherds Pie. It was delicious and creamy (creamy being the operable word - I don't even want to know how much heavy cream was in it). Needless to say, it was very rich and I didn't think I would be able to finish it - but I did!

My husband had the Fish & Chips. He really enjoyed it and commented that the fish was very, very mild tasting. A word of warning: the fish doesn't come in pieces - but as a whole fish, minus head and tail. It didn't bother him, but I wouldn't have been able to eat it.

My kids both had the Meaty Macaroni. My daughter loved hers and ate almost all of it. My son wasn't as enthusiastic, but he is picky.

Our server was Katie. She was great - and very cute. With her melodious Glasgow accent, I really didn't blame my husband for flirting with her a bit.

The only downsides were how close the tables were (we joked that we were at the skinny table - I don't think any Pooh-sized people could have squeezed in there), and the bathroom facilities were very small (especially considering it's attached to the Pub).
"Authentic food, good location, but over-priced"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by ptaylor
Rating: 7  
You can get some good British food here in a very authentic pub environment. However, I think it's somewhat over-priced for what you get. If the weather is not too hot, try sitting outside on the terrace and take in the great views of the World Showcase lagoon. The Rose and Crown is certainly worth visiting at least once.
"Favorite Restaurant!!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2008 by BillsFanGabe
Rating: 10  
I have been to Disney World twice, in July of 07 and Feburary of 08 and both times I ate at Rose & Crown. Rose & Crown is an restaurant located at the UK pavilion in EPCOT. By far this is my favorite restaurant at WDW. The dinner's that they offer are delicious, really really great and yummy!!!! Second of all the best time to eat there is at nightime so you can get a great view of Illuminations. Its said to be the best viewing spot in EPCOT. You can eat outside right along on the lagoon. My favorite dishes are to start off with an appeitizer with Potato Soup, Entree would be Fish & Chips, and for dessert it would be the warm apple crumble ice cream dessert, wow its all yummy and deliocious :). The best restaurant that I would recommend to anyone to try at EPCOT or even at WDW would be Rose & Crown. Of course all the other restaurants are fabulous as well, but this is my personal favorite.
"Great Meal, Location, and Service!"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2007 by soccermike
Rating: 10  
My family and I ate at 'Rose & Crown' this past July for the second time. We love it for so many reasons. For one, the food is outstanding. With the dining plan, all 17 people in the party enjoyed both their appetizer and entre, as well as their desserts!! There was not one complaint (and I have some pretty picky family members). I ordered the Steak and Fish meal and it was incredible. The "Bangers & Mash" and Fruit & Cheese Plate were favorites among the family. Its location is great, too. We ate outside with a perfect view of Illuminations Reflections of Earth. Lastly, the service was one of the nicest (if not the nicest) our whole vacation! It was my birthday the day we dined, and our waitress brought out a card and a special desert in addition to the desert I had all ready ordered. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing sit-down dinner in EPCOT, with an incredible view of the fireworks. Make sure you make your reservations!!
"Quick & Friendly Service"
Reviewed on Jul 27, 2006 by Ringo8n24
Rating: Not rated  
The food is very good and the service is always on their toes with quick turnarounds on the food. They are always very interactive with my child and keep her entertained. We make it a priority to eat there each time we go. The best thing available is the Bailey\'s Creme Brulee. This is most delicious!!!
"Rose and Crown, April 06"
Reviewed on May 01, 2006 by DisneyMarg
Rating: Not rated  
We ate at Rose and Crown for the first time Sat night (party of 6, 3 old couples, Chris was our server). We really enjoyed it. We each ordered something different and all loved our choices. I had the Cottage Pie (shepherd\'s pie) which was delicious, but I ate part of my hubby\'s steak and fish. It was some of the best steak I\'d ever had, and he enjoyed it too. However, it was more well done than he really likes, but it was perfect for me.



Two of the guys tried the Imperial Sampler of beers - 5 6oz glasses of a variety (Bass, Guinness, Harp, and two others I can\'t remember). None of us regularly drink beer - the ladies disliked most of them and the guys liked two or three. This was only $10 and would have been enough for all 6 to get tastes of each.



For dessert we had the Guiness chocolate cake and the sticky toffee pudding - all very yummy.



As for seating, our reservation was at 6:20 and we were seated in a perfect spot for Illuminations, but we finished and were very nicely escorted out before Illuminations. Not that we wanted to stay - we had a couple of fast passes left for Test Track and Soarin\', so we hadn\'t planned to stick around for the show. But just so you\'ll know, don\'t plan to park there for hours waiting for the show. That wouldn\'t be right and they won\'t let you do it.



With so many other choices we had never considered this restaurant a must do, but we were very pleasantly surprised and would happily eat there again.
"Authentic Experience"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2005 by BeachClubVillas
Rating: Not rated  
We had lunch at Rose & Crown for the first time in July. Boy have we been missing out! We tried the Cottage Pie, Chicken Pasty and Fish & Chips. All three meals were fabulous. Our waitress was so friendly, making jokes and providing us the recipes for our food! The portions are HUGE. I was so full but didn't want to stop eating. We didn't try dessert, but it looked good when I saw it going by. We ate inside because it was raining, and it was very warm and cozy. I felt like I was in an English pub. I can't wait to go back
"Had A Great Time"
Reviewed on Mar 13, 2003 by hayuk
Rating: Not rated  
Stopped here for lunch during our last visit. Staff very friendly and attentive. Really liked the food. Theming not as good as other World Showcase sit down restaurants, but we loved being able to sit outside. Maybe a little pricey, but you have to expect that at Disney.
"Excellent theming"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
My wife loves this place but I cannot stand English food. I would rather eat live worms. The theming is well done and the restaurant provides the only indoor seating with a view of the World Showcase Lagoon.
"rose and crown dining ro"
Reviewed on Sep 25, 2002 by mitros
Rating: Not rated  
We have been disapointed in the rose and crown on our last few visits. The quality of the food seems to be suffering. About the only really good dish there is the fish and chips. At one time {pre-1998} we enjoyed the food there . Don't know what happened.
"OK"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Not my favorite EPCOT restaurant. The theming is pleasant, but pales in comparison to other World Showcase restaurants like Mexico or Germany. Also, the food is basic "pub grub" and not the best in the world. Worth a visit, but not the best.
"Great Food"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
Overall this restaurant is great. They have the best fish and chips that you have ever tasted. The other food is great too. I have never had a bad meal here. The service is great too.
"Traditional English!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by Alberrisford
Rating: Not rated  
The Rose & Crown is really the typical english pub. The menu serves traditional english quisine, and the themeing is excellent. The portions sizes are very generous, and excellent value for money. The Rose & Crown provides a perfect spot to view the Epcot fireworks from, so be sure to book a table ready, as it tends to get very busy around the time of the fireworks.
Rose and Crown Dining Room
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
Rose and Crown food
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site