Restaurant Marrakesh reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 8.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.3  
"Open mind - Open mouth"
Reviewed on May 09, 2013 by drumbum67
Rating: 7  
This was one of the biggest surprises at WDW. Not accustomed to this cuisine, my family was initially off-put by the outlandish dishes. Overall, the food was good and seemed very true to its Mediterranean roots. Unfortunately, we did not get to see any of the entertainment and were a bit disappointed. It took place in the adjacent room, but never came into our dining room. The service and atmosphere were both lively and fun, with very friendly (patient) staff to ease us through ordering. Overall, this is a good restaurant with very authentic food. I will probably not return, but am very happy that I tried it.
"Wonderful!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2013 by MissAlmyra
Rating: 10  
Out of our entire trip, Restaurant Marrakesh was my favorite table service meal! The live musicians and belly dancer added an exotic atmosphere to a place that is already gorgeous. The interior tile work has to be see to be believed! I ordered the chicken shish, and it was my favorite meal of the trip. The chicken itself was cooked and seasoned perfectly, while the couscous and olives were delightful on the side. The baklava for dessert was perfectly prepared. Our CM was gracious, knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. Overall an A+ experience. I'm going to make it a habit to go back to this place!
"Great Food"
Reviewed on Jun 10, 2010 by mwedon09
Rating: 9  
If you are into this sort of cuisine, then Marrakesh is the place for you. Great scenery inside even though it is sort of a small place. There is a band that constantly plays and a belly dancer comes out every once in a while and puts on a show. Fun place, food is great...fun place to be in Epcot.
"The Best Counter Service in Epcot"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2010 by WDW Insider
Rating: 8  
Keep in mind, the restaurant is a counter service restaurant... however, with that in mind, the Restaurant Marrakesh is a terrific place to grab something to eat. The hummus here is especially good, as is the couscous. However, there are a few drawbacks - one, there is limited seating, and two, there is little to no air conditioning. So while the food is terrific, I recommend this restaurant in the evening, but not in the middle of a blistering hot August day.
"Not impressed."
Reviewed on Jan 20, 2010 by TippyPixie
Rating: 4  
I was very disappointed with Restaurant Marrakesh. I was there with a large group and they had the seats crammed together (5 of us were at the end table, which normally would seat 4). Our server wasn't around that often. He stopped by maybe 3 or 4 times total, including when he came to take our drink and food orders. It was really loud so I had a hard time hearing the people sitting next to me. There was nothing special about the food. We had a question about our bill and ended up having to find the manager because we couldn't find our server. Overall it was a very bad experience.
I've eaten at many of the restaurants on property and this was the worst experience I've had at a restaurant on property. I won't eat there again.
"great time in Morocco"
Reviewed on Jan 16, 2008 by Darthfinkles
Rating: 10  
Restaurant was beautiful, the entertainment was great, food was outstanding, price was, well it's Disney.
"Marrakesh "
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2007 by tigsmom
Rating: 10  
We first found this gem a few years ago when we were hungry, but didn't quite want the "usual" food. We were lucky enough to be seated right away and were struck at once by the beauty of the restaurant.

While the food may sound exotic it is just everyday food given a twist by the spices they use; everyday spices, but used in an unexpected way.
We love the Jasmina Salad, the chicken kabobs and the brewat rolls. Crepes Atlas is the best way to end the meal and you cannot skip the mint tea.
The Sultan Sampler is a great deal and you get to try some of their best dishes all on one plate.

Its a must for us on each trip.
"Marrakesh Review"
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2007 by Shere_Khan
Rating: 10  
I happened upon this restaurant in February of 2007. The atmosphere of the restaurant was phenomenal and it was not crowded at all. I was seated immediately and the service I received was very pleasant. I am somewhat of a picky eater when it comes to something new so I chose the chicken kabobs because they seemed to be something I would enjoy. The chicken was very tasty and I really enjoyed the sauce that they were in. It was different, but very enjoyable. I was fortunate enough to see the belly dancer show. The music was great to listen to while eating, and the belly dancer put on a great show. She even called up a few people from the restaurant to try and do the dance it was hysterical. Some of them really got into it. I would recommend trying this restaurant at least once. It is really a great experience.
"Amazing!"
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2007 by drantis
Rating: 10  
I went to Restaurant Marrakesh as a spur-of-the-moment change on 9/3/2007. I was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant wasn't too packed and service was very quick. My waiter, Anas, was really great and since I've never had Morrocan food before, helped me to pick out some amazing choices. I started with the Harira Soup, which was a delicious soup, then had the Shish Kebab. I very impressed with that part of the meal. The flavor was beyond words, and the meat was incredibly tender. Even the rice that came with it was perfect. I didn't think that the meal could get any better after the Shish Kebab, but Anas suggested I try the Moroccan Symphony. These little pastries were melt in your mouth good. I normally don't like almonds, but I couldn't stop eating them!

The decor of the restaurant was very nice. It was very open and easy to move through. I didn't get to see the entertainment however, since I went for an early dinner.

All in all, I think that this was the best meal of my entire trip this year!
"Loved it!"
Reviewed on Oct 22, 2007 by mouselvrmom
Rating: 10  
I was apprehensive about eating here in January 2007 because I am a picky eater and I don't like my food too spicy. However, my husband wanted to see the belly dancer and he thought it would be fun, so we went. We had a party of 8 with 4 kids. Well, needless to say, we loved it and I was worried for nothing. I got the shish kabobs because I thought that would be the most like food I was used to. They were great! I really liked their rice, too. I tried their iced mint tea and it was delicious. Very cool and refreshing.

The entertainment was nice. The music and belly dancer very good. She tried pulling my shy kids up with her to dance, but they felt self concious. My husband and father in law enjoyed her very much.

Overall, it was a good meal in a great setting. We would definitely come back!
"Sub Par"
Reviewed on Jul 09, 2007 by ElectricMayhem
Rating: 3  
The restaurant is architectually appealing and the belly dancer was definitely worth seeing but the food was nothing to write home about, not really worth all the "different" hype and our waiter was a sketchy creep and that made the meal uncomfortable. If you really want to try something different, you could do better than here.
"Moroccan Jewel"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2006 by MainSt1993
Rating: Not rated  
Lacking an attraction, the Morocco pavillion is easy to skip over. We were at EPCOT on New Years Eve though, and it was the only place with availability. About half of our group didn\'t want to try it, but succombed to peer pressure (we were hungry!!).

The menu has a variety of simple beef, chicken, lamb, and seafood kabobs, as well as more exotic dishes. I had one of the lamb dishes, and it was perfect. My friends that didn\'t want to try it ended up enjoying it as well. I can\'t remember for sure, but I think there were one or two totally American dishes. This is also a great restaurant if there is a vegetarian in your party. The belly dancers are a lot of fun too.
"Beautiful restaurant"
Reviewed on Sep 21, 2005 by julieh
Rating: Not rated  
This is a wonderfully decorated, themed restaurant with comfortable seating in a peaceful atmosphere. I wanted to dine here for the experience of the different foods and the entertainment. I was surprised at how much everyone, including myself, actually liked the taste of the food. The kids had a great time dancing beside the table as the belly dancer did her thing. Our waiter was very patient in explaining items on the menu.
"Entertaining & Tasty"
Reviewed on Sep 20, 2005 by kellydisney
Rating: Not rated  
I went here on my very first trip to Disney when I was 12 or 13 and I ended up loving Cous Cous after that. So I was excited to try the restaurant again. We arrived 30 minutes early because we were hungry and wanted to get to our end show that night. They seated us right away one table away from the dance floor. I was a little irked at this because there was NO ONE sitting next to the dance floor. I think it was because the servers were better able to get to your table that way. The belly dancer had just done a set so we had to wait another 45 minutes for her performance, which was fun since we have such an elaborate meal plan! I ordered the Marrakesh Feast but substituted the Lemon Chicken with the Roast Lamb Meshoi. This meal comes with soup, Beef Brewat Rolls for appetizer, Lamb, Beef Shish Kebab, Cous Cous with 7 veggies for dinner and tons of Baklava for dessert. JD ordered the Chicken Bastilla for appetizer, Shish Kebab dinner and Crepes Atlas for dessert.
The appetizers came out and I didn’t really like the soup. To be honest, it tasted like Campbell’s Vegetable Alphabet Soup. It was good but I could have it at home so I only took a bite or two. The Beef Brewat Roll was like a pastry covered with confectionary sugar and stuffed with beef. It was sweet. I actually really liked it. The Chicken Bastilla was just ok. It looked like a fried pastry saucer with chicen inside. JD didn’t like it but keep in mind he’s not very adventurous when it comes to dining.
Our dinner came out very quickly. I have to say here, the Lamb tastes like dirty laundry. I tried, but it tasted like some of the dirty kid smells I was running into in the parks. EEW. The Cous Cous was as I remembered, perfect! So very yummy. I seriously could have eaten a big bowl of that. The Shish Kebab we agreed was excellent. The beef was cooked perfectly. The one thing that I didn’t like but JD didn’t mind was the tomato sauce they put it in. I’d have rather had it plain.
Our dessert came and I absolutely love Baklava so I was in heaven. I tried the Crepe and I didn’t like it, tasted like straight honey. JD liked the ice cream but not the Crepe.
The belly dancer came out as we were eating dessert and she was only on for about 5 minutes and that may have been stretching it. It was actually funny because two little girls went running up and she danced with them. Now that was funny for about a minute. You could tell she was annoyed that their parents just sat there laughing and taking photos and did nothing to remove them from the stage. Then she kept motioning for them to go back to their seats and they refused. Still the parents did nothing. This stopped the show. They were on there almost the entire time she was. Here’s my nasty side coming out… A quick note to parents out there… yes, your kids are cute. Yes, kids are funny. However, your kids will never be AS cute or AS funny to the rest of the people on vacation who are trying to enjoy a show or the Disney workers who are trying to do their job, as they are to you. When they are disrupting something, please take a quick photo and remove them. Thank you! (can you tell this happened A LOT on our trip?! Hehe)
Overall rating: A-, I still can’t get the horror of the lamb taste out of my mind. I wouldn’t pay to go here as a regular diner… but if on the DDP, I would try it again and get the Chicken Cous Cous.
"Great place to eat!"
Reviewed on Mar 27, 2005 by vettenut
Rating: Not rated  
We've been to this restaurant twice and had a great experience each time. The food was great as was the service. If you want something different you must check it out.
"Better than you'd expect!"
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2003 by mandib
Rating: Not rated  
Get the chicken kabobs! lol The sauce they serve with them is the best. I have to go there every trip just to get them. The belly dancer is always fun. I love watchin the men drool over her! lol
"Love the belly dancer"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
Terriffic dinner music and a belly dancer to boot. How can you not love this place. The meats are spiced perfectly and the couscous has great flavor. Never seems crowded and the services has always been very good.
"Great"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This reatuaurant is a welcome change from the burgers and french fries of usual Disney World eateries. The atmosphere is nice and the food suprisingly good. Entertainment adds a lot to the restaurant as well with live band and dancer.
"DIFFERENT"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
NOT MY FAVORITE FOOD BUT IT WAS WELL PREPARED FOR THOSE WHO ENJOY THIS TYPE OF FOOD.
"Different, but good"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by disneycp2000
Rating: Not rated  
If you want to try something new, this is a great place to start. How often do you get to Morroccan food anyways? I've dined there twice for lunch and dinner and the food was delicous. The food is nothing too exotic (or they would never get anyone dining there)so you'd shoudn't fear getting something stange on the plate. If you're still unsure, check the the photo menu located outside the pavilion. That will solve any qualms about what you'll be eating. Entertainment is part of the dining experience too. With musicians playing on stage, you can dine and enjoy the atmosphere. At certain times a belly dancer will come out and make the experience even more enjoyable. She'll perform for everyone dining and will even pick guests out to dance with her. I've been one of those guests and have great pictures of it (LOL).
Restaurant Marrakesh
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site