Plaza Restaurant reviews

Main Street, U.S.A., Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 9.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.2  
"simple and decent"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2013 by Rwillams
Rating: 7  
I recently had dinner at the Plaza Restaurant for the first time. Its a very small place serving mostly sandwiches, shakes, and ice cream. I had the cheesesteak sandwich, it was fine for what it was. It was simple and tasty but maybe a bit too much bread and not enough meat. I try to eat clean and healthy most of the time but I have to say that the best part of the whole meal was the french fries! They weren't the typical Disney french fry that you get everywhere from counter service to table service. They were perfectly golden and crispy steak fries! More than likely they still came out of the freezer just like their counter service counter parts but they were so full of potato flavor, soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. So for me the sandwich wasn't all that memorable but the fries were fantastic, I'd go back in just to have those fries. So if you're looking for a simple, unfancy sandwich joint in the MK the plaza is the place for you. Its better than Magic Kingdom counter service but there is definitely better food elsewhere on property in the same kind of price range.
"Calm in the Magic Kingdom"
Reviewed on May 21, 2013 by ptaylor
Rating: 7  
The Plaza is a nice break from the hectic Magic Kingdom and offers an almost hybrid table/counter service experience. The menu is mainly sandwiches, and the service does not require a lot of attention. So although it is a table service restaurant, it is very casual and laid back. The dining room is very small, and advance reservations are a must. I had the Club sandwich, which was served with thick cut fries. It was great to have a non-standard Disney fry, a great change from the usual counter service variety that I was expecting. The sandwich was OK, nothing great. The desserts are ice cream based, and although fairly large, are nothing really unique or special. I would hesitate to recommend the Plaza, as it is very average. There are better options available, but the Plaza is an acceptable choice.
"Great experience!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2013 by MissAlmyra
Rating: 10  
We had to grab a quick dinner before MNSSHP on 10/12/12 and had a wonderful experience at the plaza! Our CM was extremely attentive and friendly. Loved the food- I had a turkey club sandwich that was absolutely huge. He loved our costumes, too! Highly recommended. I don't hear this place mentioned often, but I really enjoed it and will be going again!
"This one is a hidden gem in the MK!!"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2012 by Tinkgrl1685
Rating: 10  
We made a last minute ADR on our trip in September, on our last day since we had an extra table service credit to use before leaving. We all have never been to the Plaza Restaurant before, but I think it is safe to say that we will be returning in the future! It is a little small inside, but it didn't bother us. I ordered the Plaza Club with french fries... it was delicious!! The fries were the best I have ever had in my life!!! The rest of our party had the Philly Cheese steaks and the Reuben Sandwich.. they all enjoyed their meals and thought the food was great! Service was good. Menu prices are more moderately priced which is great when paying out of pocket! Can't wait to go back!
"Great especially with picky eaters"
Reviewed on Oct 03, 2012 by evilqueenT
Rating: 10  
Background: We've been to the plaza probably 10 times over the years with our most recent trip July 2012. Experience: The setting is classic disney Main St. USA, very charming with a turn of the last century feel to it. My only negatives are that for the closest restrooms you have to leave the venue and go next door...mainly a problem with small children (I often travel alone with my granddaughter and it's weird to leave the table empty mid meal for a bathroom run). My second negative is that service always seems as laid back as the atmosphere...not bad service but for the type of menu the meal should be at about the pace of say an applebees not california grill. It doesn't seem to matter if the restaurant is full or not...the servers (and I guess the kitchen) move at the same pace no matter what. Positives are the atmosphere, the view, and the menu is great especially when you travel with picky eaters. A fun plus to this venue is the Mayor of Main St. often stops in engaging the diners in a bit of disney fun. The food: The menu is classic American and is varied enough to find something for everyone and is how we decided to go their in the first place many years ago... we have two picky eaters in the family. One of the best parts about their menu is their ice cream and shakes....super yummy! What's more classic than a burger and a great milkshake. Our food has always come out hot and cooked well. The fries are especially good as well. Our last trip I had the tuna salad croissant sandwich with fries and a chocolate milkshake (ok blew the diet there), my granddaughter had the grilled chicken strips. Both of us very much enjoyed our meal.
"Hidden Gem"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Cris P.
Rating: 9  
I had probably visited the Magic Kingdom 5 times before I knew this place existed, but we were never able to try it until recently. We had an awesome dinner here. The menu is very basic - burgers, sandwiches, and salads, but it is done very well. I tried the tomato soup, the cheesteak sandwich, and DH had the rueben. Everything was delicious. My daughter enjoyed their kid's meals also. I liked the fact that they had grapes and soup as appetizers for the kids. For dessert, DH and I split a brownie sundae. It was delicious and huge - we couldn't finish it! The girls loved the adorable Mickeylodeon sundae.

The service here was also really good and efficient, and we had a nice view of the castle from our table. I am just kicking myself that we waited so long to visit.
"Best kept restaurant secret at WDW"
Reviewed on Apr 03, 2012 by jpittore1
Rating: 10  
The food quality is fantastic, my family loves the hand scooped milk shakes. This is the PERFECT lunch spot for a salad and/or deli sandwich.

We visit WDW yearly and always make sure we have a lunch at the Plaza. Very cozy with high quality food at a reason price (considering it's Disney).
"great banana split!!!!"
Reviewed on Jul 20, 2011 by Mickeygirlie
Rating: 10  
always great service & amazing banana split :) A++++
"One of our favorites"
Reviewed on Jun 15, 2011 by dangeorges
Rating: 10  
The Plaza was easy to book - and the wait isn't long even without a reservation.

The service is good, the food tasty, and the location perfect.

The atmosphere is odd, however - it looks like a dainty ice cream parlor, but has the feel of a hustle-and-bustle big city deli.

Regardless - great meal and service at a reasonable (for Disney) price.

"Great lunch spot!"
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2010 by fauna
Rating: 9  
We tried this for the first time this spring, and my kids liked it so much that they requested we go back again on our fall visit.

I had the vegetarian sandwich. I thought it was just delicious, especially the whole grain, nutty bread. It was a lovely blend of flavors. DS loves the club sandwich, and DD10 finds enough on the kids menu to keep her happy. DH enthusiastically consumed his grilled reuben, and even a hot fudge sundae.

I think the Plaza has really found a place in our hearts and is now our go-to lunch spot in the MK. Even though we love a sit down lunch in the parks (we are not-big-breakfast-eaters, get-to-rope-drop people so I am ready to sit down and relax a bit by lunch time) and the Plaza gives us a perfect blend of location and menu. (But for those of you using the DDP, you may not want to use a TS credit on a sandwich place.)
Plaza Restaurant
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
Exterior refurbishment
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site