Planet Hollywood reviews

Pleasure Island, Pleasure Island
Reader rating Reader rating 5.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 5.3  
"Great choice"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2013 by Jayne0902
Rating: 9  
Have been twice whilst on the dining plan. Found there to be a good choice of food. The staff were great and the food good. Portion sizes are large and if anything that is the only complaint.
"Maybe 10 years ago, but not now"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2012 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 4  
Years ago this place was really good, but has been steadily going down hill. The Worlds Famous Chicken crunch is good, well was. Three years in a row, we have gone here and saw *bar fights* twice with 2 to 4 girls, once with two *gentlemen*. Just loud, obnoxious, food quality has gone down. Sorry this is a sinking ship
"Sorry Arnie,I Wont Be Back."
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2011 by real mad hatter
Rating: 3  
Well what can i say,the memorbilla stuff was fun to look at but theres where it ended.The food was pretty poor,even the rain was comming thro the ceiling at a thunderstorm from outside.(hold on,was that a special effect)i wont run it down too much incase the big man and Bruce come looking for me.
"OK"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2011 by jwakja
Rating: 8  
It's a loud dining experience run by young adults wishing they were someplace else so what do you expect. The memorabilia is interesting to view but you have to sit on someone's lap to see a lot of it. The food isn't bad, big portions.
"okay"
Reviewed on May 31, 2011 by guardboy21
Rating: 7  
I had the spaghetti was which good, and i liked my mixed drink, the service was okay, but the one thing i didn't like was all the steps you had to step to get to the restaurant, ugh
"Appalling this place made me ill"
Reviewed on May 14, 2011 by mark-p
Rating: 1  
I ate here Jan 2008 on the last day of my vacation. We were seated on the lower floor right by the kitchen exit. The place is like a bad museum inside. It looks dated and was in a very bad state of repair. The food made me very ill during my flight later that day.

I would never go to this place again and advise anyone in the area to steer clear of it. If you are in the area please go to House of the Blues or Raglan Road. This is a terrible restaurant and should be torn down. If 0 was available I would have selected that!
"It is what you would expect"
Reviewed on Jan 13, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 4  
This is the same thing you will find everywhere from Myrtle Beach to Washington DC. Same menu, average taste and pricy food. We have been there a couple of times and the result is always the same. It is also kind of weird when the guy is working in the bathroom, it always makes me uncomfortable and then have to explain to the kids why someone works in the potty. There are just so many places to eat at Downtown Disney not sure why you would chose this place.
"Ugly & Cheesy Atmosphere, Bad Food"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2009 by fauna
Rating: 3  
My family and I had dinner here on November 5. We had never been, and I thought my son would enjoy the movie memorablia.

When we walked in I was surprised by the tired and shabby decor. I was expecting something much nicer.

I had the Sizzling Fajitas, which were neither Sizzling nor Fajitas. It was sauteed vegetables that had been placed in a cast iron pan, with a grilled chicken breast on top. A plain grilled chicken breast. I don't think it had even been seasoned with salt and pepper. Yuck.

My daughter, who adores pizza, didn't care for the kids pizza. She finally took the mass of chewy cheese of the top and ate it cheeseless.

My husband had the Crunch Chicken, which was decent - but a very small portion for the price.

Our server was very pleasant and professional, but this did not make up for the bad food.
"looking very very tired"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by ptaylor
Rating: 4  
This place more closely resembles a museum of the early 90s than a great up-to-date movie themed restaurant. All of the props inside are unchanged from opening day, and are not at all relevent to today's movies or to most of the current visitors. The menus also look and feel like they are unchanged originals - dog-eared, shabby, and very unappealing. Many of the staff seem very uninterested in being there, and in many cases do not contribute to a good experience. The food is typical large chain stuff, nothing inspiring, unique or particularly good. Some of it is OK, but on the whole, I would have to say there is much better to be had in Downtown Disney, and I would avoid this location until it gets a complete refurbishment of decor and most importantly, the food.
"Not Bad"
Reviewed on Mar 16, 2009 by look1angel
Rating: 8  
My daughter loves eating here mainly for the atmosphere. It's noisy, but we've always had a good time. The food is alright and service was good. I always have a specialty drink so that seems to help.
"Awful! Don't do it!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 1  
Horrible experience...from all the steps, to being out of breath and having your picture taken, to our crappy service, and mediocre food. We will never, ever, ever, ever, ever eat here again.

Disney closes PI, but this place stays open??? I don't get it. Take it's supports away and let the big blue ball roll off.
"Not on our list "
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by ktflisa
Rating: 2  
We've eaten at the PH at Disney twice over the last few years, the most recent being in 2006. (The first one was around 2000) We did not change our mind - we still don't like it. Service unfriendly and slow, food just so-so. It's fun to look at all the memorabilia, but it hasn't changed much either.

With all the great places to eat at WDW - I'd tell anyone to skip this place.
"A big round dump"
Reviewed on Apr 04, 2008 by Eeyore
Rating: 3  
I couldn't have been more disappointed with my visit to Planet Hollywood. The outside of the building is a shambles and the inside isn't much better. They were only operating the bottom level of the restaurant when we were there so the wait was very long despite only a few parties waiting for tables. Once we were taken to a table we were given dog eared and sticky menus. The service was VERY slow and not very friendly. The food was edible but the presentation was very sloppy (fingerprints in the sauce around the edge of the plate, brown lettuce, etc.) For the cost of the food I would expect a much better experience. Unless you are a major movie buff (or a fan of movies from 1996 or earlier- I didn't see any memorabillia from any recent movies) then I wouldn't bother with Planet Hollywood.
"Atmosphere!"
Reviewed on Mar 01, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Planet Hollywood is like no other. It resembles a movie museum crossed with a restaurant. There are tons of movie props located all over the "planet." There are three or four spacious levels. The food was very good if expensive. They could almost charge admission just to walk around in the restaurant!
"Great theming, food good, but not great"
Reviewed on Jan 22, 2008 by wdwmagic
Rating: 7  
This place is a great restaurant to visit at least once. There are some great movie props and artifacts all over the walls. The interior is huge, with 3 different levels. The food portions are very large, so come hungry! The quality of the food is fairly typical of a themed restaurant. It isn't bad by any means, but it isn't outstanding either. The cost is a little on the high side for what you get, but you may find it good value if you can eat very large portions.
"Loved this place"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 10  
This was by far my favorite place to eat during my vacation. We ate here Nov.14th,2007. We had ressy's for 6:15 and got right in. The food was absolutely awsome. We had the dining plan so there was soooo much food to eat. I ordered the penne with shrimp. It was outstanding and choc. cake with icecream for desert. We had a great time in there. I would def. go back next year.
"It's What You Would Expect"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2007 by WEDisney
Rating: 6  
The food is good (think Bennigan’s or TGIF) and the atmosphere is lively and colorful. On weekend nights the wait here is crazy so be sure to have ADRs and even with them you might have a wait. The memorabilia is very nice for a movie buff like me but the place does look like it is falling apart. I am not sure who’s jurisdiction (I would say Disney because it ruins their aesthetic appeal) the crumbling structure falls under but it is in much need of repairs. Other then it being a little on the pricey side for the type of food you get it is a nice place to eat and the kids will love the props. This is one thing from Hollywood that actually NEEDS a facelift.
"Planet Disney"
Reviewed on Feb 13, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
There are divided camps when it comes to Planet. I think if you know you want burgers, steaks or pasta, then you will be pleased by above average portions and good quality food in a very lively environment. NOT good for your wallet however and watch out for very pricey drinks. The wait in line can be horrendous so watch your timing. Yes, it has a chain feel to it, but that's what it is...
Planet Hollywood
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site