Paradiso 37 reviews

Pleasure Island, Pleasure Island
Reader rating Reader rating 7.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.1  
"Yum- and such a nice place for adults to dine:)"
Reviewed on May 01, 2012 by Hulacat
Rating: 10  
We read about the nice burgers and icy cold beer- and it sounded like a true paradise after a hot day at MK. We tried the chips & salsa- very good, nice fresh chips. The burger was amazing- I ordered the grilled pineapple & cheese burger, what a wonderful taste sensation. The burgers were done exactly as we ordered them, the music was loud enough to enjoy without drowning out our conversation, and the service was fast & friendly. Next time, we will be making a beeline for Paradiso 37!
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2011 by MegLovesDisney
Rating: 9  
This restaurant was very cool inside, we got a seat by the window facing the tent for La Nouba and the Characters in Flight balloon, also VERY cool! Amazing view. The food was very creative, I got Swordfish Sliders, which were delicious. The drinks and apps were fantastic. We liked it so much the night we had dinner, we came back a few days later the day we were leaving and had lunch. Super friendly staff too. Loved it!
"What a shame"
Reviewed on Aug 07, 2010 by RWilliams
Rating: 4  
Paradiso 37 used to be unique and flavorful now it's dull and boring. I don't mind paying $15 for a burger if it's tasty and well prepared. Unfortunately, my most recent meal at Paradiso 37 was neither of those things. After a year of operation it's turned into nothing more than an overpriced tourist trap with unfriendly service. It's such a shame! It's very unlikely that we will return.
"How things change a year later"
Reviewed on Aug 06, 2010 by ptaylor
Rating: 4  
I just visited Paradiso 37 for the first time since my last review on Jun 06, 2009. Things have gone seriously down-hill since then. The menu has unfortunately been slashed, with a good amount of the interesting items now removed. I ended up ordering a burger with pineapple. It was dry, bland, and completely flavorless. Very disappointing for a $15 burger, and probably the worst I have had on Disney property (including park counter service). The service was unfriendly and poor.

The opening buzz has completely left this restaurant and it now largely comes across as though they have given up. I recently read that E-Brands who own this restaurant are filing for Chapter 11. Not good times for Paradiso 37.

I would no longer recommend this restaurant to anyone in it's current state and menu. Much better options are available at Downtown Disney - Ragland Road, House of Blues.
"Menu has changed...."
Reviewed on Feb 14, 2010 by 
Rating: 6  
As a frequent visitor - just 3.5 hours away - my daughter and I decided to visit a new place every time and an old favorite. This trip we went to Ragland Rose for the first time (see review there) and then Paradiso 37. I have to say the changes to the menu have not made me very happy. Some items have been re-vamped and others just taken off. On a positive note the Corn on the Cob with melted cheese..... YUM-O!
Try any drink made with hibiscus flower.... very good. We will go back because it is on the favorites list however... we want the menu the original menu back.
"Great variety!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2010 by lukacseven
Rating: 9  
I was a little disappointed - I thought the menu would be a bit more exotic and include some more signature dishes from South & Central America. However, the menu had a great variety to choose from, was priced reasonably, and included large portions. The constantly changing lights took some time to adjust to. Servcie was quick and friendly - be sure to make priority seating reservation.
"PS - Two Words: Frozen Sangria"
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2009 by GlenAngl
Rating: 10  
We went back late at night for some more drinks. This time we just sat the bar staring at the Wall of Tequilla. The Frozen Sangria was still good, as well as the Mangled Margarita.
"Two Words: Frozen Sangria"
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2009 by GlenAngl
Rating: 10  
Earl of Sandwich had a long line and Paradiso 37 had no wait. Where do you think we went?

We started with the Mexican Salsa Trio...all 3 were tasty.
I needed to start my day with a Frozen Sangria. And WOW am I hooked!!! If it wasn't so early in the day, I would have had more.

The bf had the Argentinian Skirt Steak which was tender and full of flavor. I had the North American Sausage & Pepper Hogies which were also very good and would make a great appetizer to share.
"Tried it last week with a few friends and it was great..."
Reviewed on Jul 04, 2009 by Elisabet123
Rating: 9  
Sorry this is not a formal review as I don't have the experience like some or the gift of writing. But I'm surprised about a couple of bad reviews since we tried Paradiso last week and I have nothing to complain about. Physically the place is beautifull, it has a lake side patio as well. The tequila tower was cool. The food itself was very good, very tasty. However, the night we went the place was packed so it took a while to sit us. Also you could see some orderly chaos with the service, but we never had a problem. I'm sure some bad reviews regarding the service must be because the place is new and it may take them a while to work out the gremlins.
But we will comeback for sure.

"Not worth the wait"
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2009 by foxfire
Rating: 1  
We dined here earlier this month and were displeased with our experience. We were told there was no wait when we called; and by the time we arrived it had jumped to nearly 45 minutes. Service was extremely slow and they ran out of several items. Also, our appetizer didn't arrive until AFTER the meal. The manager eventually took it off the bill; but only after waiting another 10-15 minutes for him to return.
"Underwhelmed"
Reviewed on Jun 24, 2009 by jolney27
Rating: 5  
The appetizers and drinks were good, but the pretentious nature of the menu, price points, and tequila selections were overshadowed by the underwhelming flavors in our entrees. The entrees arrived cold and without the array of flavors you would expect in a place touting it's high variety of the same. Great place to meet for a drink. Eat somewhere else.
"not as exotic as we'd hoped, more overpriced than most"
Reviewed on Jun 16, 2009 by rtphokie
Rating: 5  
We went with a couple of "sharable appetizers" to try several things but found the portions to be very spall. Even 2 appetizers per person was not enough. Be aware that kids menu items don't come with a side. Food was okay but not as exotic as we were hoping, about half the menu is something you can find at your local Chilis.

Our bill came to $55 for 2 adults and a child but we left hungry. I expect to may more at Disney World, but no more than double what I'd pay for a similar meal at home and usually closer to 1.5x as much. For what you get at Paradiso, it's about triple what you'd pay.
"different, colorful, and very appealing"
Reviewed on Jun 06, 2009 by PTaylor
Rating: 9  
The information that we had prior to the opening didn't give a lot away, and I went into Paradiso 37 on it's opening night expecting the food offerings to be a bit quirky and not really my thing. I was very pleasently surprised to see that the menu seems to be able to offer the South American inspired foods, with a North American twist. If you think you won't like the food, I'd say skip your instinct and give it a go. There really seems to be something for everyone, but not in a Planet Hollywood kind-of-way.

The dining room looks great. Lots to look at, great ambience, lively, colorful - a nice place to be. The decor was still having some finishing touches whilst I was there, so there will be more added to an already great looking dining room. The centerpiece is the open kitchen and the 37 tiquila variety tower.

I had a great tasting Tiki Tango speciality drink, a Mexican Chips Salsa Trio, the BBQ Pork platter, and Sopapillas to round things off. Everything was fresh, straight-forward, and perfectly prepared. I would certainly have all four items again, but the menu has a lot to offer, so you wont get bored with the menu on repeat visits. The real standout of the food was the BBQ Pork - it was probably the best pork I have ever had, rediculously tender and flavorful. Dessert deserves a mention - the Sopapillas fritters were fried to perfection, very fresh, and perfect to split.

The service was excellent, very attentive, friendly, and the food came at just about the right pace. No waiting around for courses, but not being rushed either. The servers were always willing to bring out more chips, and they kept the drinks coming.

For two of us, including drinks, 3 courses, and tips, the bill was around $70. I felt it offered slighty better value than a lot of other Disney area restaurants, but it's obviously not cheap. I did however feel the experience was worth the cost. No discounts are currently offered, but hopefully Annual Pass and Cast discounts will come online in the next few months.

When Disney talked of a "bold new vision" for Downtown Disney, a lot of people wern't at all happy. If Paradiso 37 is a hint of what we can expect in terms of quality food at Downtown Disney, the bold new vision certainly has my backing. Disney-owned or not, quality food and restaurants like this are a great addition, and something that Downtown Disney has sorely lacked. Along with Raglan Road and Wolfgang Puck, Downtown Disney now has some real quality restaurants that would stand up on their own anywhere. I would highly recommend trying Paradiso 37 on your next trip.
"uncomplicated and fresh"
Reviewed on Jun 06, 2009 by RWilliams
Rating: 9  
I had the pleasure of dining at Paradiso 37 tonight on its opening day. It has a very nice mellow vibe and subtle yet ecclectic decor. It looked like rain so we chose to eat inside but on a warm and breezy evening it would be wonderful to eat outside overlooking the water.

They have 37 different varieties of tequilla, all displayed in their tequilla tower. I had the Palermo Passion which was tequilla, vodka, passion fruit and cranberry I think. It was excellent!!!

We had their fresh house made tortilla chips with salsa trio as an appetizer. I highly recommend it, YUM! My favorite salsa was the pineapple, but it was difficult to get out of its little container. The tortilla chips were bottomless too!

The menu is based on street foods, so it is uncomplicated but flavorful and consists mostly of finger foods. There isn't anything overly exotic or intimidating on the menu. I chose the sliders. You get 3 per order and you can choose any combination of grilled chicken, bbq pork, or mahi mahi. I had two chicken and one bbq pork. The pork was very good, the chicken was a bit dull and kind of dry (but that tends to be the case with just about any grilled chicken I've ever had). In the future I would stick with just the bbq pork and skip the chicken.

For dessert we had the sopapillas. One word- amazing!

Overall I think Paradiso 37 is an excellent addition to Downtown Disney.
Paradiso 37
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site