Kona Cafe reviews

Disney's Polynesian Resort
Reader rating Reader rating 9.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.1  
"Best place at Disney!"
Reviewed on Apr 25, 2013 by Mickeyandme
Rating: 10  
We went here a couple weeks ago and it was wonderful. The food was the best I have ever had. I got the lamb chops and let me say they were amazing. It is a little bit on the pricey side but it is worth it. Our waiter was also very kind and was always there to top our drinks. We also got some sushi and it was very good as well. We make a effort to get reservations here every trip.
"Great pressed coffee!"
Reviewed on Mar 02, 2013 by bethyah
Rating: 9  
Our dinner @ Kona Cafe was wonderful! The waiter was very attentive! My husbands coffee rubbed steak was delicious! My husband also ordered a fresh pressed pot of Kona Coffee- so delicious! I would recommend dining here to anyone!
"I have had better, not many."
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2012 by jharvey
Rating: 8  
That was my best Bill Murray from Ghostbusters II impression. Since we ate there, in mid September, I have gone back and forth on this one. I think I am hard on this because it was one of the restaurants I looked forward to the most. The absolute best thing was the macadamia nut butter (hey, I am at a point in my life where I made the choice not to google the spelling of macadamia. YOLO). Saying this was the best part is not an insult. It was that good. The strip I had was pretty good too, but I ate at Le Cellier earlier and all other steaks are now dead to me. The creme brulee (refer to the earlier admission to spelling if that is wrong too) was very good too. Problem with that is I had the maple creme brulee at Le Cellier earlier and all other creme brulees are dead to me also. I do have only one true complaint. The service. I have had better service at a busy Waffle House. So, food A-, service D+. That said, we will be back. The best part of our vacation happened after dinner at Kona. We walked to the beach, and set up in some beach chairs. While the kids played in the sand (we are from the Mississippi Delta and have nothing approximating a beach) my wife and I just let it all soak in. After thirty minutes the show started. Watching wishes from that vantage point was one of the top, non-child birth / wedding, moments of my life. Add to that, who knew they had a water pageant during the firework show. If you knew, good for you, if you have read this whole thing, you will realize I may in fact be slow. Kona, go for the crappy service, stay for the fireworks. P.S.... An earlier review said this place was great, gave it a great review, but only gave it a 5?
"I am home when I dine at Kona Cafe!"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2012 by Tinkgrl1685
Rating: 10  
Kona Cafe has always been my favorite restaurant in WDW. I absolutely love the atmosphere of the Poly, and this laid back restaurant in the upper level of the lobby, never disappoints! I mainly dine here for breakfast. I made an ADR for just myself to have an early breakfast on 9/25... I could not wait to finally try the pineapple macadamia nut pancakes after hearing such rave reviews! They were seriously as good as everyone says they are! The portion was huge, I actually wished someone else in my party was with me to help me finish them since I couldn't! Kona Cafe is always a must do for a great start to the day in WDW!
"One of the BEST!!"
Reviewed on Sep 21, 2012 by disneylemons
Rating: 5  
Kona Cafe is one of the best restaurants in WDW! When we go there we start with an order of some sort of sushi and end with dessert and its all good! One year my DS took his very picky eater girlfriend and she said the almond crusted chicken was the best chicken she had ever eaten- quite a compliment considering the source! The bread/butter is heaven - but don't get too full - you will want to save room for your main entree and be sure to leave room for dessert! I highly recommend Kona Cafe!
"Two words: Tonga Toast!!"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2012 by Megan
Rating: 10  
After years of hearing about the Tonga Toast, we finally made ADR's for Kona on our last trip and boy am I glad we did. This was the best breakfast we had on the entire trip and I can't wait to go back in October. I had the Tonga Toast, which is even more delicious than I thought it would be with the strawberry syrup. My husband had the Samoan which looked good. Can't wait, 47 more days till Tonga Toast!!
"Perfect place to start your day"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 6  
We love Kona Cafe for breakfast!! Two words... Tonga Toast!!! I dont know whats better, the banana stuffed goodness or the strawberry syrup!! The ham and cheese omelette is OMG good and fluffy! The Big Kahuna breakfast can easily be shared. (however, the macadamia nut pancakes have been reduced in size for the Big Kahuna breakfast) We love it for breakfast, but didnt love it for dinner. The desserts during dinner were wonderful, but the dinner meal didnt blow us away. I do, recommend Kona Cafe highly, for breakfast though. A perfect place to start a magical day!
""Better than expected""
Reviewed on May 25, 2011 by derelicte19
Rating: 9  
We went into this meal not expecting too much. WE were pleasantly surprised. This was one of our favorite meals during the trip. The bread and butter are soooo delicious. I ordered the coconut almond chicken and my mother and sister got the pan asian noodles. I tried some of my sisters noodles and they were so yummy.I wasn't a fan of my chicken. Not that it tasted bad, I just didnt like it so much but my mother and sister both tried it and liked it. The salad that came with it though ws very good with strawberries, almonds and a honey lime dressing. We were too full for dessert but they did bring a cupcake over for my Mama's birthday. We will definitely return again!
"Loved it! :)"
Reviewed on Feb 13, 2011 by PrincessSarah:)
Rating: 10  
We loved it here! We had a great server who was from our state so we talked alot about it. I had the Pan Asian noodles which were really great! We had a lot of fun here and we will definitely be coming back here. It's my new favorite WDW restaurant for sure.
"Pretty Good...once we were seated"
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2011 by GlenAngl
Rating: 9  
While visiting Orlando, we made a quick last minute ADR for the Polynesian for lunch.

After checking in, they accidentally gave our table to party that had already been seated, so instead of giving us their table, the hosts didn't know what to do with us, so they seated the party behind us instead. After a few minutes, another host finally said to just seat us already, no matter where our little piece of paper with our name was at.

Bob was our server and he was on top of things! The food was very good. I had the Barbecue Pork Tacos which were very tasty!! My boyfriend had the Shrimp & Coconut Curry soup (amazing!!) and the Stir-Fried Asian Noodles which I thought was only okay.

So to be fair, the rating will only take service and food into consideration (not the seating incident at the very beginning).
"Lunch and Dinner Wonderful!"
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2010 by DizneyPryncess
Rating: 10  
My husband and I have been to Kona Cafe 4 times, and continue to make it a tradition to eat here during every trip. In fact, it's the only restaurant we insist on eating on during each trip.

Dining at the Polynesian is an amazing experience in itself. The hotel is by far the best themed, in my personal opinion. We always make a point to visit and dine there, whether it's Kona Cafe or Ohana.

Every time we've dined at Kona Cafe, we have had outstanding service. Our servers have always been so friendly, and chatted with us about lots of things. One waitress we had twice, and we feel like she's a friend. She remembered us 6 months after we were there, and we thought that was great. We've been surprised with several celebration desserts here, which is never expected, but is always wonderful. The food is absolutely fantastic - I've never had a bad meal here. The Polynesian Plate Lunch as my favorite lunch entree, and both the Pan Asian Noodles and Coconut Chicken are my favorite dinner entrees.

I prefer to order off of a menu here then to have the large portions at Ohana, and that's why I choose here first of the two. A great option is to have dinner close to Wishes, and to watch them from the Polynesian Beach after. All in all, it's a 10 in every way!
"Great Dinner"
Reviewed on Dec 20, 2009 by stefan74
Rating: 8  
The dinner here was great. It was the first table service meal of our trip and we were all excited. Me, Mom, Sister and 14-year old nephew eached ordered and entree and dessert. All of the food was delicious and my nephew said it was the best restaraunt he had eated in the World. Our server was okay, not great. Overall, a good time was had by all!
"The Best Breakfast Ever"
Reviewed on Nov 18, 2009 by DisneySuzy
Rating: 10  
The Kona Cafe is mine and my kids favorite place to eat breakfast. We have made it our tradition to go there on our last day for breakfast. We buy a few bags of Kona Coffee so that we can enjoy it at home.
"best for late night snack"
Reviewed on Oct 18, 2009 by PrincessJen
Rating: 10  
Last time I went to Disney World, I came back from Magic Kingdom very late and I was hungry for a snack. Kona Cafe was open and they had great food! One of my favorite hidden mickeys is here!
"Best Breakfast"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by Eeyore
Rating: 9  
Kona does the best breakfast at WDW. Its unique and flavorful with great service and large (maybe too large in the case of the Tonga toast)portions.

I have two minor complaints:

1. the scrambled eggs- they don't seem to be freshly scrambled eggs but rather powdered eggs from next door at 'Ohana. next time I would opt for over-easy instead of scrambled.

2. The price of the Lilikoi juice. $3.99 per glass and no free refills. The same juice is available at 'Ohana with free refills why not Kona too?
"Kona cafe - King of Breakfasts"
Reviewed on May 11, 2009 by ptaylor
Rating: 10  
Kona is a real gem of Disney dining, and has so far managed to avoid a lot of the dining cutbacks that have been going on around property. The breakfast in particular is very well done. What sets it apart are the unique items that you can only get at Kona - such as the Tonga Toast and the Big Kahuna. Even the regular offerings, like Steak and Eggs are very well done. Besides the great food, the Poly is a wonderful place to visit, and it has a great ambience to start your day.
"kona"
Reviewed on Oct 11, 2007 by dizzyworld
Rating: 10  
this is a great place for breakfast i would recomend it to everyone. If you like a big breakfast this is the place to go the selection is good and everyone in our party loved it here. I will be making this a come back destination. great food and a good deal as far as price goes.
"One of the Best Meals I've Ever Had"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
This is the real deal. Although pretty pricy, it's worth it! The strawberry lemonade is to die for and the Pan-Asian noodles were one of the best things I've put in my mouth in my life ever! The scallops are also spectacularly fresh and well-cooked.

However, the desserts are lackluster so grab a foamy, sweet Dole Whip over at Captain Hook and watch the Wishes fireworks on your night outside the parks. Pretend like you're staying at the Polynesian 'cause the beach is supposed to be exclusive.
"very good"
Reviewed on May 04, 2006 by tracyandalex
Rating: Not rated  
we ate here for breakfast and really enjoyed it. i had the pineapple macademia nut pancakes and alex had the tonga toast, but were excellent. neither one of us could finish because it was so much food. i also had the guava juice which was great. for our honeymoon we got free dessert. we will definately eat here again
"good not great"
Reviewed on Apr 30, 2006 by bartbrine
Rating: Not rated  
We stayed at the Polynesian in July 2005 and ate at Kona every morning. The Great House gets very crowded because of the character breakfast at O\'hana but we got seated at Kona within a reasonable amount of time. I did feel that the portions could be bigger but they were adequate. My wife and eldest son had Tonga toast every day.
"Very Good in Every Way"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
There's a lot to like about the Kona Cafe, specifically the delicious food and the top-notch service. The only place it falls short is the atmosphere. It's on the second floor of the Great Ceremonial House and is wide open to the lobby area. Were it more closed off, I think it would have a more intimate feel.
"Needs a better menu"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2002 by Mississippian
Rating: Not rated  
Although this place has very little theming, the service is good, and the desserts are GREAT! However the pan-Asian memu selections are a bit tedious. Not that the food isn't good, because it is, but the menu selections are limited. These observations are based on a Nov. 2002 visit. Back in February 2002 I ate here are remember the menu being a bit better, although this could be my imagination. I didn't eat breakfast here, but I have had the Tonga Toast through room service, and certainly it is worth a try for anyone.
"TONGA TOAST RULES !"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2002 by DMC-12
Rating: Not rated  
Tonga Toast is a piece of sourdough bread...stuffed with bananas....cooked then rolled in Cinnamon and sugar...and is the most awsome French Toast I have had in my whole life....and I make some great french toast myself....lol There Coffee is out of this world to! Service was most excellent....and the Kona Cafe has now become a must do on my list...anytime I am in the Central FL. area!
"Average Dining"
Reviewed on Sep 26, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
We ate here for dinner one night during our vacation and while it had a few good dishes, I wasn't overly impressed by it. I'm a very picky eater so I wasn't able to find much that I would eat, but what I did eat was decent. It did have a very fun, friendly atmosphere as the people got the children involved in hula-hoop games and had fun with the guests. It wasn't bad, but wasn't anything particularly wonderful either. I guess I can recommend it, though.
"Excellent Breakfast"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
It costs as much to eat breakfast here than it does for counter service at the Polynesian. The french Toast is great. I highly reccommend dining here, Regardless if you are staying at the Polynesian.
"Tonga Toast"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by DisneyWorldGuru
Rating: Not rated  
I only go to Kona Cafe for one thing, the tonga toast.
Kona Cafe
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
Kona Cafe dining room
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site