Hoop Dee Doo Musical Revue reviews

Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Reader rating Reader rating 9.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.2  
"Once and done"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2012 by RWilliams
Rating: 7  
The Hoop Dee Doo Revue is a fun show. I had been hearing about it for years and thought it was about time to give it a try. I'm not really into hokey shows that rely on audience participation so I was a bit wary. I was pleasantly surprised, it was a very cute and entertaining show. I had never been to any kind of dinner show so I wasn't sure how it was going to work. When you're seated the table is already set and there is corn bread and salad waiting for you. I'm very much a food person and love home baked breads and desserts. I try to avoid processed and packaged foods, so I'm pretty embarrassed to admit this but the corn bread was really good and completely addicting! I think I may have eaten a whole loaf! Its also served with a maple butter- yum! They begin the show while the audience is finishing up their salads and then take a break while the main course is served. The main course consists of fried chicken, ribs, bbq beans, corn (frozen), and mashed potatoes. The food was ok. It was decently prepared and flavorful but the chicken and ribs were not at all meaty. The ribs in particular were much more bone than meat. The show resumes as you're finishing up the main course and pauses again for dessert after a cute musical number about the dessert. Dessert was strawberry shortcake, which again I'm embarrassed to admit, I really enjoyed. It certainly wasn't homemade. It was a golden sponge cake with strawberries similar to a jarred ice cream topping and tons of canned whipped cream. I would have liked to have seen more strawberries but it was very good despite being full of chemicals lol. I'm very glad I had the opportunity to see the Hoop Dee Doo Revue once but for me its a once and done kind of experience. Even thought I enjoyed it I feel for what you get its very pricey to do more than once.
"2 Times, 2 DIFFERENT Reviews"
Reviewed on Jun 14, 2011 by IRTSTARS
Rating: 8  
Ok, so the first time I went to the Hoop Dee Doo it was great (2004).

This past summer, in August, it was ok.

I would still recommend it and suggest it for all age groups, but I was a little disappointed the 2nd time around.
"Great entertainment"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2009 by bolitho
Rating: 9  
Food is, cornbread, Fried Chicken, Pork Ribs, beans, mashed potatoes, and strawberry shortcake. All you can eat too. (and you'll like it or go without)

It's a fantastic show, the food is actually quite good for what it is. Our server had a good sense of sarcasm/humor he made it entertaining also.

Did I mention the cornbread is fantastic?

I just wish that this crowd had more people from other countries, I think many of them would enjoy this more than even we do.

This show/dinner is about as good as you can get at WDW.
"10, 10, 10"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2009 by kktwinsdad
Rating: 10  
Was the best show/dinner in all of WDW. Blows away the Spirt of Aloha.
"The most fun I've ever had while sober!"
Reviewed on Dec 21, 2008 by Tiggerfanatic
Rating: 10  
Did this for the first time ever, and am sorry I waited so long!! The food was good and plentiful - some of the best ribs I've ever had, and the strawberry shortcake was to die for. I could have made a meal of just the salad and cornbread alone. And the entertainment! We laughed so hard our faces hurt. Go prepared to be silly and just have fun with it - you won't be sorry. Definitely worth the price of admission. I just wish I could give it higher than a 10.
"best time"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by bears163
Rating: 10  
First time there...food was ok...entertainment was great....sat in level 3 on left side of stage.....just a real fun time...kids loved it
"Time of our Life"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2008 by RandyHNC
Rating: 10  
We had the time of our life. Great show. Great food. Great time.

Bottom line? YOU MUST NOT MISS IT.
"A Great Fun Show"
Reviewed on May 04, 2008 by Twain45
Rating: 9  
What an unexpected surprise. This show was an absolute blast. The humor is G-rated and loaded with puns, but it is very well done and thoroughly enjoyable. Our three kids (7,5,3) laughed so hard that we couldn't help but join in. Tip: Take the boat from Magic Kingdom to save time but get here! Its a must do on our family list now. We went in April 2008 and it was one of the highlights of our trip.
"Great show!"
Reviewed on Jan 05, 2008 by Spaceship_Rob
Rating: 10  
We loved Disney's Hoop De Doo Musical Review. The food was good and plentyful and the show was great, vaudville Disney style. It was funny enough that our 10-year-old was laughing her eyes out. What a great time, we'd go back!
"NEVER CHANGES"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2006 by Tara Stone
Rating: Not rated  
I saw the Hoop dee do for the first time when I was 5 years old...30 years later it hasn\'t changed...thank goodness. In every trip I have ever taken to WDW we go to the show... this past time was the first for the 5yr old and the 1 yr old. 5 loved it...belly laughed the whole way thru. even the 1 yr old clapped and sang! Our 14yr old was hooting unashamedly along with the little ones! My husband said if we did nothing else it was worth it to see those kids at that show! I hope it always stays the same!
"Hoop-Dee-(Must)-Do"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2006 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Similarly to the Spirit of Aloha, this show is broken up into three \"acts\". In the first act, you\'re introduced to the characters. The second act involves recognizing anyone in the audience celebrating, and the third act is the heart of the show.

The six actors and two musicians making up the Hoop-Dee-Doo troupe are a joy to watch. They\'re skilled at comedy and music and I sensed a lot of real camaraderie among them. They really seemed to be having a good time entertaining us and entertain us they did. Some good singing, some good dancing, a wealth of goofy comedy.

We were lucky enough to sit so close I could touch the stage from my seat. Sitting that close, I could see the sweat on their faces. I could also see the women\'s microphones on their foreheads under their wigs. Kinda caught me off guard when I first noticed them. Freakish.
"Hoop-De-Doo"
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2006 by Fan4isles
Rating: Not rated  
I\'ve gone to Disney 5 times (6 in 5 days) and every time my family goes we go here! The food is excelent, the service is excelent, and the show is hilarious.If you like dinner shows, then you can\'t miss this, period! It\'s excelent!
"Best show ever!"
Reviewed on May 23, 2006 by 1ststaric2nite
Rating: Not rated  
What a fantastic time! I have never laughed so hard or have been so entertained. Wow... we had so much fun we plan on seeing it on our next trip. The food is alright... Whispering Canyon has the better food, but as with WCC, there is A LOT of food. The strawberry shortcake was yummy. The waiters were awesome and the show was hilarious. One of the best WDW memories I\'ve ever had!
"Hoop Dee Doo Good Time"
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2005 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
Hoop Dee Doo Revue is a great dinner show. The show hasn't changed much over the year which to me is the only down fall. The show is entertaining and the food is great. If you are a fan of fried chicken and fixins this show is a must. This show is great for the whole family. I have attended with a large group and a small group and it is great either way.
Hoop Dee Doo Musical Revue
 
Related Photo Galleries
Hoop Dee Doo Musical Revue seating plan
Copyright 2011 The Walt Disney Company
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site