Grand Floridian Cafe reviews

Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa
Reader rating Reader rating 7.8 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.8  
"First and LAST meal at GF Cafe"
Reviewed on Dec 19, 2013 by mbtohill
Rating: 2  
My family just got back from a quick trip for the Christmas season and had our first and most likely LAST meal at the Grand Floridian Cafe. We were all very excited to try this place given the wonderful reviews and I have to say we were horribly disappointed.

First the service was painfully SLOW. It took a solid 10 minutes after we were seated for dinner for our server to make her first appearance. Not a good start. We ordered our meals. I had the burger and ordered in medium, one of my daughters ordered the chicken breast, the other the pork chop, while my wife ordered the shrimp and grits.

We had to ask for bread and our drink order was not correct when it was delivered to the table.

The food finally arrived and my burger was horribly overcooked. My daughters pork chop was overcooked and rubbery. My wife shrimp and grits were bland, lacking any flavor at all. The only meal that was decent was the chicken. We were all exhausted from 3 long action filled days at the parks and didn't have the energy to complain. But suffice it to say we will NOT be returning to the Grand Floridian Cafe anytime soon
"Excellent Breakfast"
Reviewed on Nov 17, 2013 by DisneyDebNJ
Rating: 9  
We had breakfast at GFC twice during our November, 2013 trip and LOVED it. We were seated promptly, and the staff could not have been more pleasant. I ordered the eggs benedict with key lime hollandaise and absolutely enjoyed it. Cooked perfectly. Other members of my family ordered the malted Mickey Waffle, Ham and Cheese Omelette, steak and eggs, the vanilla french toast and the American breakfast. Everyone enjoyed their meal, very much. It was not crowded at all, and very quiet and charming. We will definately be back!
"Found by accident and liked it"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 8  
The one time we stayed at Grand Floridian we were going looking for somewhere to eat the day we arrived, it was lunch time and we got a table for 10 without a wait or problem. The server was good and the prices were not bad considering we were at the most expensive resort. Everyone found something they liked to eat. We liked it so much we changed another reservation later in the week to eat here again. I think if you tried it you would like it, no characters so you can eat without a problem.
"Very enjoyable meal"
Reviewed on Dec 07, 2010 by RWilliams
Rating: 9  
While the Grand Floridian Cafe doesn't have the atmosphere of Narcoosee's or Citricos the meal we had there was very enjoyable. I had the ribeye with parmesan fries and vegetables. The steak was tender, well seasoned and cooked to perfection and the fries were some of the best I've had in my life. My only complaint about the food is a minor one, I would have liked to have had a better balance of fries to vegetables. There was a metric ton of fries but only two brocolini and two baby carrots. We shared the dessert sampler at the end of the meal and enjoyed it. It was very good but probably not a standout in the world of desserts. The service was good as well. Overall, if you're looking for a casual sit down meal I'd highly recommend the Grand Floridian Cafe.
"not my fave"
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2010 by soarin829
Rating: 3  
Unfortunately, this is the one bad dining experience I had at Disney. We went for lunch and just had awful service. Our server was quite unattentive and not friendly at all. And the food just wasn't enough to make up for it. I'm sure most experiences aren't like ours, but it was really disappointing to have a bad experience in the happiest place on earth :(
"lovely place, great food"
Reviewed on May 30, 2010 by Tomi-Rocket
Rating: 9  
We ate here for the first time on our trip back in Sept. '09. The decor was lovely! But there were also touches that my two boys liked as well. We had breakfast here and had a great experience. We were seated right away and the service was friendly and prompt. DH ordered the Lobster Benedict and said it was really good, which is a great compliment from my DH! He said there was plenty of lobster which surprised him. DS#1 had the Eggs Benedict for the first time ever and thought he didn't really care for the hollandaise sauce (it was very heavy on the citrus) he liked the rest of it. DS#2 had the kid's Chocolate Chip pancakes and was in heaven! I ordered the Vanilla-Maple Challah French Toast and it was the best I've ever had! The bread was wonderful, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. It was so flavorful, I loved it. We all liked it and will definitely eat here again on our next trip in 2011.
"Dessert Heaven!"
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
OMMIGOD! This is my favorite restaurant at WDW! The rueben is juicy and warm. The atmosphere is similar to an old-fashioned tea room. It is the most casual place you'll find at the Grand Floridian, which is a plus for midwestern me.

It's the desserts that are nirvana for women, however. The GFC has created a beautiful concept: MINI-desserts!!!!!! It's like getting a light yet satisfying taste of a dessert. I could drink the peach sauce that goes with the key lime pie by the gallon! Skip the chocolate-hazelnut mousse, though. It's got an aftertaste like bitter cherries.
"yum"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
its a sit down, reservation required. really good breakfast and lunch. i would def. recommend it for those staying at the grand and want a sit down meal with good food
"um"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 10  
This is not a counter service restaurant.
You actually can make reservations for this and you sit down and eat in a dining room with a waiter/waitress.


I would reccomend breakfast. Stuffed french toast is delicious.

Dinner is great too.

If you are looking to slow things down for the night and have a nice meal that is delicious and not over priced, this is the place to go.
"All around the kitchen co"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2006 by Tara Stone
Rating: Not rated  
An average resturant all around! Prices are pretty good compared to some of the wildly expensive disney meals. What was of interest to us was the table next to us..those of you with children will know who I mean1 We sat next to Dan Zanes!
"If you're at GF"
Reviewed on Oct 30, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
I would love this if I go there for lunch. It would be much better than 1900 Park Fare. I love the selections of lunch because they're really good.
"Pretty Good!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by atticus
Rating: Not rated  
This place is nice if you are looking for a small lunch or early dinner! The menu is pretty well rounded and everything comes in good proportions! The cast members are great and their costumes really add to the theme!
Grand Floridian Cafe
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site