Flame Tree Barbecue reviews

Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 8.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.2  
"GREAT!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2014 by Phil Smith
Rating: 10  
This is the only place I eat in AK
"Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Jun 13, 2014 by Courtney
Rating: 10  
My husband and I split the barbecue chicken for lunch, and there was more than enough food for the two of us, and the flavor was perfect! Add a little bit of the barbecue sauce that they have out at the condiments stands, and it's heaven on Earth. Great value, especially if you're splitting this between two people!
"Best food at AK"
Reviewed on May 26, 2013 by Andrew Drummond
Rating: 9  
This place has the best food at AK (IMO including the table service). It's fairly greasy with a heavy emphasis on BBQ. Also fantastic are the seating areas here. If you follow the path a bit, you can get a table in a pavillion right on the water with a nice view of Expedition Everest. Lastly, the cornbread is good.
"Top counter-service in AK"
Reviewed on Feb 16, 2013 by ThirtySomething
Rating: 8  
A great counter service with some tasty options. Great for lunch, and has some great views at the tables near the water. Big portions too, but can be kind of pricey if paying out of pocket. A no-brainer for those on the dining plan!
"One of the Best Quick Serves!"
Reviewed on Jan 20, 2013 by disneylemons
Rating: 9  
I come from a town full of bbq restaurants and I think Flame Tree is easily one of the best quick serves on property! Not only do you get a nice meal that is a QS but the food is really good also. I usually get the pork sandwich and my son always gets the ribs and both never disappoint! Unless the weather is really hot - sitting outside at Animal Kingdom enjoying a meal is a nice too!
"Great mid-day break!"
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012 by copcarguyp71
Rating: 9  
Although we have been to Disney many times we had not tried Flame Tree BBQ until our last visit...I wish we had found it sooner! The food comes in larger portions than many other counter service restaurants and the service is quick. We ate there twice on our last trip trying out both hot and cold platters and everything was great. Personally I liked the chicken salad and cannot recommend the key lime mousse highly enough! Seating is very nice and you can find a table with no problem in their large seating areas on many terrace levels. I would recommend this restaurant for families with and without kids. Be careful though...those chairs are HEAVY!
"Pretty good, but limited menu"
Reviewed on Sep 22, 2012 by mickey & me
Rating: 3  
We enjoyed Flame Tree Barbecue, but I really thought the menu was limited. It has potential; expand the barbecue menu!
"Visit every time"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2012 by Jaime
Rating: 8  
We love Flame Tree BBQ for a quick service lunch. The food is great and is a large portion.Its fast. Seating is nearby and it is usually pretty easy to find a seat. Beware of the birds because they sometimes will try to steal your food but it is a great place to sit and eat between rides.
"Delicious"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2012 by WishIWasAtWDW
Rating: 8  
I have enjoyed Flame Tree Barbecue on every visit. The food is always delicious and the seating area looking out towards Expedition Everest is beautiful. The pulled pork sandwich is my go to meal at this location and I have not been disappointed. Great food. I highly recommend.
"Great quick service option"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Derelicte19
Rating: 8  
We really like Flame Tree BBQ for a QS option at DAK. They have different offerings than the traditional burgers and fries like at most QS places. The BBQ chicken is good as are the coleslaw and beans on the side. Definitely check out the seating area down behind the restaurant. Great view of Expedition Everest!
"Nice Quick Service Meal"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 9  
Nice setting...good food...portions are very substancial for a quick service meal.
Really enjoyed our meal at this restaurant.
Would definitely recommend.
"Hidden Gem !"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2011 by ShadowMan
Rating: 9  
Awesome food, at a reasonable cost, and it takes you away from the chaos that always ensues around lunch time near the Yak & Yeti. By comparison, the Flame Tree is like an oasis away from it all, and (in our experience & opinion) waaay better food then Yak & Yeti.

Can't think of a better quick service option in Animal Kingdom.

Highly recommended

"Always good, never fails!"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2011 by 
Rating: 9  
The ribs & chicken are very good and always enjoyed. I can't imagine going to Animal kingdom and not diving into a Flame Tree BBQ plate.
"It is not bad but options are limited"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 6  
There are not many counter service places to eat at AK and this is a good choice. I liked it but my family didn't. I will agree that they have taken away a lot from Flame Tree and that has hurt but if you have never been here you would not know any different. Cost is about the same as anywhere else. We now leave and eat a resort and then come back (that is the great thing about the bus you can pick anywhere to eat) and since AK is the hottest park it never hurts to sit and ride the bus
"Just so-so"
Reviewed on Jul 18, 2010 by 
Rating: 5  
My mom and I ate lunch here in March 2010. We both had the barbeque chicken salad. The salad itself was okay, but not great. I wasn't thrilled with the dressing that they used. It was some sort of italian/olive oil type dressing, which tasted somewhat bitter to me.

Since I was on the dining plan, my meal came with a dessert. I had the key lime cup, which is essentially some kind of gel type of substance with a graham cracker crust. It was not good at all. The consistency of this dessert just did not work for me, nor did the taste. And I usually am a fan of key lime.

I wish I had ordered something different since this was my first time eating at Flame Tree. I will give it another chance, I just won't be ordering the BBQ chick salad.
"pretty good"
Reviewed on Dec 02, 2009 by Ariel484
Rating: 8  
Pork sandwiches were great, but bring back the chocolate cake! They now offer chocolate mousse instead, which was a good sub. They woldn't let us sub in a bottle of water for a dessert, which was disappointing, but the lunch itself was very good.
"Used to be great, has declined year by year to a point where I dont visit anymore"
Reviewed on Aug 06, 2009 by ptaylor
Rating: 5  
Flame Tree used to be great. Each year, things were taken away, like the thick cut fries, the seasoned fries, the combos, the beef sandwich, the real plastic plates, the basket for the fries, some of the sauce pits. It's really got to the point where the food quality and experience just doesnt justify the price anymore. You can get far far better quality barbecue at somewhere like Chilis just off property. The slight saving quality of the restaurant now, is that it has great views over the water to Everest. Apart from that, I would no longer recommend Flame Tree.
"Pretty good"
Reviewed on Jun 10, 2009 by Ariel484
Rating: 9  
We visited Flame Tree BBQ using a credit from our DDP...pretty good counter service! The chocolate cakewas excellent and the pulled pork sandwiches were tasty as well.
"USED to be a favorite"
Reviewed on May 29, 2009 by Eeyore
Rating: 6  
Flame Tree BBQ used to be one of my favorite counter service locations in WDW. It WAS unique, tasty and offered good value for money. Unfortunately, the prices have been on a steady increase while the quality and number of options on the menu decrease. The ribs are particularly bad- tough with very little meat. Now when I'm in Animal Kingdom I just keep walking past Flame Tree BBQ.
"good"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really good food and variety in animal kingdom
great place to relax
"Hands down, our favorite fast food in Disney"
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2008 by timmymack101
Rating: 9  
We love to eat here and find ourselves making sure we plan it into our schedule. The BBQ ribs are my fav and the seating choices are great. We like sitting in the main area to the left of the counter because the birds have learned to come for food. I know that this would be a turn off for some but we love feeding them (after we are done eating.) They don't pester, just come over and quack, then move on - very entertaining. I didn't know about the seating by the water, I'll have to check it out next time we're there.
"OK"
Reviewed on Feb 11, 2008 by Baylordad
Rating: 7  
The barbecue is ok for a fast food place, but not even close to Texas BBQ.
"Very Filling!"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2008 by BillyBuff
Rating: 10  
We had the half slab of rib combo and it was quite filling. Plus it was delicious! Now I want some ribs!
"Best of AK"
Reviewed on Oct 22, 2007 by Imagineer3000
Rating: 10  
This is up there with the sunshine season foodfair and the Crystal palace as thed best Disney has to offer. The food portions are large and delicious and the seating area is great. My favorite is the 1/2 slab of St. Louis Ribs and the corn is just delicious. 10/10
"One of WDW's Best"
Reviewed on Apr 11, 2007 by Belle of WDW
Rating: 10  
One of my favorites. You're given a huge amount of food, and if you're trying to save money, it is very easy to split a meal. There's ample seating, with great views. Be sure to check the hours though, because they close early sometimes.
"The Bestest Jerry the Bestest"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 10  
What can I say we go there everytime we visit AK. So that is a least 2 twice every vacation.
"Love the Ribs!"
Reviewed on Nov 05, 2005 by imamouse
Rating: Not rated  
In addition to the excellent ribs, we enjoy the seating area at Flame Tree BBQ. You can go all the way down to the edge of the water for a peaceful meal with fantastic views of EE.
"Hey, it's not a burger!"
Reviewed on Sep 20, 2005 by kellydisney
Rating: Not rated  
I have to say, for the price you do get quite a bit of food. I was sufficiently stuffed after this meal. I had to go it alone, my fiance went to the McDonalds in Dinoland haha and came to eat with me down by the river. The one cool thing about this place is that you can sit in so many different seating areas that I didn’t know existed. We were able to sit next to the water and watch the boat with the characters go by. Very cool!
I ordered the ½ rack St. Louis Ribs, Corn and Beans. I also got a dessert so I chose the frozen lemonade which was completely melted by the time I was done with my meal. I gave the corn to my fiance who really liked it. The ribs and beans were great, much better than most counter service meals in Disney.
Overall Rating: A, for counter service, this is good stuff!
"BBQ sauce too salty"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
BBQ sauce is a bit too salty and rich for my taste. Nice view of the river though, and so much seating provided that it's not too difficult to find a table away from others, if you're looking for a quiet respite.
"most underrated"
Reviewed on Jun 15, 2004 by lukacseven
Rating: Not rated  
The pork and brisket sandwiches are ridiculously good. The seating area is very scenic. Great place for a quick-stop lunch!
"Hey...Not Bad!!"
Reviewed on Jan 06, 2004 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
It took a bit of doin' for me to find this place, but it was worth it. First the setting, along the river, under lovely shade trees in a picnic area is really, really nice. I found the atmosphere one of the best at WDW for having a bit of lunch. Second, as a Southerner, let me say, the barbecue is not bad at all, considering it does have to be tempered to the tastes of a wide variety of people. It was very mild and a little sweet. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I even liked their slaw (which is the acid test). Next time I'm at AK, I'm eating here! It's delightful!
"Nice..."
Reviewed on Nov 09, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I find most of the food here messy (I don't really enjoy messy food)...but it's pretty good overall. I really enjoy the atmosphere in this wooded area. I also get some "de ja vu" listening to some music from the Adventureland Music Loop from the Magic Kingdom in there...
"NICE BREAK"
Reviewed on Sep 15, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
GOOD PLACE TO STOP FOR LUNCH AS THE DAY HEATS UP IN AK. WE ENJOYED SETTING ALONG THE RIVER WHILE COOLING DOWN TO GET UP ENOUGH ENERGY TO GO ON.THE BARBECUE WAS NOT AS SPICY AS SOME WHICH I GUESS IS DONE TO KEEP EVERYONE HAPPY.
"Good"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
I like this restaurant. The food is good (and this from someone who isn't a big barbaqueue fan) and the view of the Discovery River and Aisa is great. Worth a try.
"The Best BBQ"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
The flametree bbq is a great place for lunch...although its pricy it still has its kicks. Most of the food is in good portions and is very good. Any park usually has high costs of food so its not that bad. Make sure to try the ribs!!
"terrific BBQ"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by mtaft
Rating: Not rated  
Our first place to eat at AK didn't disappoint us. Terrific BBQ at decent prices.
"Great BBQ"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by turkey leg boy
Rating: Not rated  
A good place to go to get some BBQ. I don't see why some people don't like it.
"Great Barbeque"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
One of my favorite counter service restaurants at WDW. Great tasting food, and superb seating along the riverside.
"You Mean I Paid for This!"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by disneyprep50321
Rating: Not rated  
Animal Kingdom is my favorite park. But, I found this restaraunt to be very bland. I ordered a chicken sandwich, and I don't know, maybe there was something in the water, but it wasn't very good. The views from the deck were good to look at while eating, but I think I would have rather eaten the algae growing on the posts. I would save my money for elsewhere.
Flame Tree Barbecue
 
Related Photo Galleries
Refurbishment
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site