Earl of Sandwich reviews

Marketplace, Marketplace
Reader rating Reader rating 8.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.2  
"Great Sandwich"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2012 by Mark-P
Rating: 9  
This is a really good place to eat if you want a quick light meal. The sandwiches are excellent and taste really good. They are all prepared freshly based on your order. The only disappointment is the stresses of obtaining your sandwich and drink. The Earl is busy at most times of the day, you will need to stand in line to place your order and then pay. After this is done you need to collect you order and then wait in line for the single drinks machine. You will find a very cramped and confined area to achieve all of this in.

Overall though the pains in getting your order are very much outweighed by the quality of the sandwich.
"Great sandwiches!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2012 by disney1077
Rating: 8  
The sandwiches here are amazing! The bread they use is so good. It is soft and crunchy at they same time. My favorite are The Full Montagu which is roast beef, turkey and swiss cheese and the Italian which is salami, capicola, roasted ham, mortadella, and mozzarella cheese. The only problem I have with earls is there is just not enough seating.
"Good food, bad chair"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2012 by Luv
Rating: 2  
I had the meatball sub. You order at one end and pick up at the other, kind of like subway. I also got a little cup of about 20 grapes for $2 and a diet pop. Pop only comes in one size (not big), but the refills are free. This didn't seem like a huge problem when they explained it after I ordered an XL pop. And a brownie.

The sandwich was ready pretty quickly and was suprisingly good. It was made on a funky kind of flat kind of bread, not a hoagie kind of bun. The grapes were fresh. I didn't even finish the whole sandwich because I was so full. Had the brownie later that night...they're huge brownies...it was yummy.

So based on food, I'd have to give them a great score. It's loud and crowded, of course. It's still Disney, but good food.

HOWEVER, I had a problem. I stopped to explain this to a guy replenishing cups and napkins.

"One of your chairs is kind of broken. The seat is only attached to the wooden seat base in the back. So, when you sit down to pull your chair in, your finger can easily slide in, just a little bit, between the two, causing it to be smashed between them when you sit down, like this (held up finger, all red and purple and swollen at the tip.) I dont think its broken, but someone else could easily break a finger, even a kid. I put it over there (pointed) by the high chairs. I'm not complaining; I just wanted to let you know, so that nobody else gets hurt."

And the guy is nodding while I talk. When I finish talking, he keeps nodding and, with a spirit of helpfulness, he says, in a thick accent, "You want high chair?"

"No, no thank you." I shook my head. "I don't want a high chair." He appears confused. People are waiting on me, so I say, "Forget it. It's okay." i smile and move to a girl behind the counter.

I get about two sentences into my story and she turns and begins to walk away while I talk. She pauses and looks back for a second to say, "Sorry. Hold on." I hold on. I really want to save someone else....especially a kid who sticks their finger in there...from getting hurt.

Then a manager-looking guy comes up and the girl waves at him to attended to me. He, too, appears extremely busy and a bit miffed, but he listens, nodding distractedly and looking around while I talk. When I'm done, he says, "Thank you," and turns to attend to the food. I don't know if he actually heard anything I said.

Of all three of them, the guy who couldn't understand me was the one who appeared to care the most.

I hope someone fixed the chair. I hope it didn't get grabbed and put back on the floor to injure more people.

My finger tip has since turned black under the nail. It still hurts. If a little kid sticks their finger in there, it could really do some damage. They could lose a fingertip!

I'd give them an eight or nine for food and quick delivery of food. The broken chair and black finger wouldn't have been mentioned if I thought they cared even a little bit about preventing it from happening to someone else. But I don't think they did.

Since they have so little regard for their customers' safety, I knock the review down. I think safety should count.
"WOW."
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2011 by real mad hatter
Rating: 9  
Now if we had a place like this back home,alot of bakeries would be shutting doors,everything,and i mean everything here is soooo good,and fresh.If someones had a bad meal here,their either way too fussy or their having a moody day,trust me,if your in Downtown and like a variety of sandwich,head for the Earl.
"The best meal we had at Disney"
Reviewed on Jun 15, 2011 by dangeorges
Rating: 10  
Surprisingly, the sandwiches we had at the "Earl of Sandwich" made this quick-pick lunch one of our best on our trip - and that includes all the parks.

The choices and prices are outstanding, and the sandwiches we had were the best I've had in a quite a while. Panera was beat easily.

My wife and I both had the Caprese (Fresh Mozzarella, Roma Tomato, Fresh Basil and Drizzled Virgin Olive Oil). Excellent choice - don't worry that there's no meat on that sandwhich!

My son had the Italian, and said it was better than Subway's toasted BMT.

For the price ($5.99), you can't beat this place!
"Good not great "
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 6  
It is what you would expect from a sandwich shop, good sandwich tough to find seats but you are at Downtown Disney so you can always eat by the lake near the stage. It is not my favorite place to eat have only gone there twice. It is a sandwich after all.
"amazing.."
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2010 by Birdflu
Rating: 9  
seriously... the atmosphere and such may not be that of a great restaurant.. but these are some of the most incredible sandwiches you will ever have in your life.
"amazing!"
Reviewed on May 24, 2010 by aladdin4000
Rating: 9  
We always stop at Earl of Sandwich when we're in DTD. I would recommend it to everyone!
"Worst Sandwich I have ever had "
Reviewed on May 09, 2010 by 
Rating: 3  
My family and i decided to take trip to Downtown disney to grab a bite to eat. Based upon the great reviews Earle of Sandwhich recieved we chose to give the Earle of Sandwhich a try. The place was extremly crowded and very difficult to find a seat, but at the time i thought dealing with the crowds and the lack of seats was worth it to taste the so called greatest sandwich in the world. After fighting through the crowds obtaning a table for my family we were finally ready to eat. The sandwich i got was so bad i could'nt even finish half of it, even though I was extrmely hungry and I was'nt the only one my Brother,Daughter,Son,and Wife could not finish their food.We ended up going back to the hotel and eating at the food court. The only good i can say about the place is it is very clean and the food is reasonably priced,but I would rather pay double for food that tastes good.
"Great place for a light snack "
Reviewed on May 09, 2010 by RAIDER
Rating: 9  
The sandwich menu is varied and the staff are helpfull . I wish they had more seating room but otherwise i cant fault it
"good food ruined by lousy atmosphere"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by Eeyore
Rating: 7  
I really enjoy the Earl of Sandwich food but the ordering process and the choas of the place really ruins it for me. Its so frustrating to walk around with your hot sandwich getting cold while you try to find a table. The indoor and outdoor seating areas are almost always full- mostly of people who don't even have any food yet! Its just too loud and hectic for me, I skip the Earl these days and just head next door to Wolfgang Puck Express.
"Good, but not the best sandwich"
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2008 by wdwmagic
Rating: 7  
The Earl of Sandwich is a good choice for something quick and tasty. However, the place is usually VERY busy, and the ordering and pickup process can be chaotic at best. There is also a high likelyhood of not getting a seat at busy times. Food quality is good, and always fresh. However, if you frequent places like Quiznos, or Wolfgang Puck, you can probably find a better sandwich, in a calmer environment. The Earl is definitely worth a visit, and with some changes to the setup, it could be a great location.
"So good, it needs to be bigger! Fabulous sandwiches and yummy, fresh baked rolls :-) "
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2008 by mlittig
Rating: 10  
My daughter and I ate at Earl of Sandwich two times when we were shopping at Downtown Disney (first time we were Downtown and absolutely LOVED it!).
The seating is very limited and Earl's is so fantastic that there should be more seats available. Both times we lucked out and one of us found a table while the other ordered.
They make each sandwich fresh to your specifications but THE very best part of eating here is their fresh baked rolls which are still warm as you take your first mouth watering bite!
We will make Earl's one of our destinations whenever we are blessed enough to take another vacation to Disney World :-)
"GREAT!"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 9  
The sandwiches are very good! Good portions for the price. My favorite quick service location in Downtown Disney.
"Best. Sandwiches. Ever."
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 10  
It was like a flavor explosion in my mouth, and a party in my tummy! Awesome food! Will eat here again.
"Always on our must visit list each trip"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by ktflisa
Rating: 9  
Husband and I love the sammies here. He likes soup, so always gets the tomato soup. Always crowded, but the line seems to move along pretty quickly. It is hard to get a table at times. Even the iced tea tastes fresh! Don't pass up the desserts either. I think they are so busy that it keeps the food fresh.

Only complaint is the noise level... VERY noisy.

"good"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really good. so many varities, you will be sure to find something
really great prices
"Great"
Reviewed on Feb 11, 2008 by Baylordad
Rating: 9  
Best spot for breakfast or lunch sandwiches!! Best value at Disney.
"Not expensive... No I mean REALLY not expensive"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 9  
This place is angelic in a money-sucker place like Disney. $5.95 for all the absolutely delicious, warm, and tangy subs. I reccomend the Earl's Club or the Full Montagoo. Be sure to stop in before 6pm, though because it can get noisy and crowded pretty quickly. In theory, the atmosphere is supposed to be potent-coffeehouse chic, but is lost somewhere in the execution.

Still, you'll love the food and the especially the price.
"Always crowded for a reason!"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2007 by GymLeaderPhil
Rating: 10  
I work at a local supermarket that has awesome deli subs, but there's something about Earl of Sandwich that makes it unique. Sure the process is similar to a Quiznos or Subway, but the quality and variety is hard to beat. For one thing they age their meats. When you place your order look directly behind them - that's fresh baked bread back there. Salads prepared while you watch and awesome cookies.

Don't forget to try the HP Sauce on the table. I've had to special order it for myself since we don't stock it!
"Great Sandwich and Best Value in FL"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by Computer Magic
Rating: 9  
The sandwiches are the best and the prices are low....
"Sammiches Ahoy!"
Reviewed on Apr 20, 2006 by dandaman
Rating: Not rated  
Normally, I don\'t like to buy sandwiches anywhere, but given the name and boastings of the restaurant, I figure I\'d try it. Very good sandwiches! I forget what I had, but it had really good roast beef, from what I recall. Highly recommend it for both value and quality.
"Earl of Sandwich"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2005 by mikmin
Rating: Not rated  
Where can you go and get a GREAT sandwich at such a great price Earl of Sandwich is the place.
"ENJOYABLE"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2004 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
GOOD FOOD AT REASONABLE DISNEY PRICES WHICH MAKES IT A GREAT PLACE TO EAT WHEN YOUR AT DOWNTOWN DISNEY. EVERYONE IN OUR GROUP WAS ABLE TO HAVE AN ENJOYABLE MEAL. IT CAN BECOME CROWED AT TIMES SO BE SURE TO VISIT DURING OFF PEAK LUNCH HOURS.
"Hellllo Earl!"
Reviewed on Aug 28, 2004 by WDWFreak53
Rating: Not rated  
Great food for decent prices. If you're looking for a quick lunch...pass on MickeyD's and grab yourself a sandwich from the Earl...the Pina Colada smoothies are mighty tasty too :)
Earl of Sandwich
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site