Cookes of Dublin reviews

Pleasure Island, Pleasure Island
Reader rating Reader rating 8.2 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.2  
"Loved it!"
Reviewed on Dec 01, 2012 by Jennie
Rating: 9  
We tried this by chance while in Downtown Disney! It was fantastic. The fish and chips was great, and there is a great outdoor courtyard with a bar. This was a great experience for a quick service. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a different quick service option during your vacation.
"Hidden Gem"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by Real mad hatter
Rating: 6  
well this was a surprise.we popped in around 11.40am for lunch,it was quiet and got seats no problem.My DS fish & chips were super and DW had the chicken & mushroom pie and I opted for beef pie.Both superb.This is a great QS place and the pies are home made,hence the 20 min wait,but it was worth it.
"Let us DOWN!"
Reviewed on Sep 26, 2011 by 
Rating: 6  
We looked forward to eating here last week from the reviews but were somewhat disappointed. We used our counter service dining plan but were restricted to basically only a cookie as our dessert choice, the fried candy "Doh-Bar" we had looked forward to trying or ice cream was off limits to us according to the stone-faced counter helper. We ordered the chicken and mushroom pie which was OK but basically a 3-4" high baked crust with about a half cup of chicken soup in it. Frozen pot pie was a strong competitor. The "chips" or french fries were good and really comprised the meal. Hope you find it a more pleasant experience.
"Yum"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2010 by DisneyKnowItAll
Rating: 10  
Great Food for everyone..... Great Chicken Strips for kids.... Great Fish for adults or vice versa... Also Try the DEEP FRIED SNICKERS BAR!!!!!!! Yum
"Excellent fish and chips!"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by Bellagio
Rating: 8  
This is my favourite eatery if we don't fancy the sit-down of Raglan Road.

The quality of the fish and chips is very good, as good as Raglan Road in my opinion, made all the nicer with the outdoor air. Its also nice to wash it all down with a pint of Guiness.

If you have got room the Dohbar is also nice - and i don't like Snickers bars!

I haven't experienced any delays in the ordering process like other reviews, its normally on your table within 10minutes.


"Excellent counter service"
Reviewed on May 21, 2009 by Eeyore
Rating: 9  
Cooke's of Dublin is one of the best counter service locations at DTD (possibly all of WDW). The food is made fresh to order and the chips (french fries) are always done perfectly. They have recently expanded their menu to offer more options for those of us who don't particularly enjoy fish. I love the chicken and chips and the dohbars (battered and fried snickers)are excellent! My only minor complaint is that the indoor seating is very limited and the outdoor seating isn't covered.
"Great food, some of the best fish and chips anywhere"
Reviewed on May 14, 2009 by 
Rating: 9  
If you like Raglan Road food (Irsh inspired), but want something a bit quicker and cheaper, check out Cookes of Dublin. It's the counter service counterpart of Raglan Road, and specialises in fish and chips. The fish isn't quite of the calibre of what can be found next door at Raglan Road, but it is certainly very high quality (I believe the main difference is that the batter does not contain Harp beer as it does next door, and the fish may be originally frozen). The chips are thick cut (seriously thick cut!), and lots of vinegar and tartar sauce are at hand to complete the meal.

My only criticism is that there isn't a lot of seating, maybe 5 or 6 tables inside, and 6 or 7 outside.

Overall I highly recommend Cookes.
"good"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great food and atmosphere, especially for on the go at downtown disney
"Good food but..."
Reviewed on Jan 05, 2008 by DisneyMarg
Rating: 7  
This is the counter service counterpart to Raglan Road. We ate there for lunch one day. There were only a very few indoor seats, and those were only tables for 2, however, we were able to grab a couple for the four of us. Hubby and I had the fish and chips, because that was the house specialty. We thought they were tasty and good. The teens both chose the chicken and field mushroom pie. Sometimes "pot pies" are all pastry and sauce but these were full of good chicken and musrooms. Both kids really enjoyed them and ate them all. We were on the dining plan, which includes dessert. The only choice was the "doh-bar", which is a deep fried Snickers bar. It seemed very out of place - more appropriate for the county fair than this pub type restaurant. None of us really liked it - and we are no strangers to fried foods - especially fried sweet foods!!

We also ate at Earl of Sandwich and Wolfgang Puck Express for counter service at DTD and liked both of those better than Cookes of Dublin, since they had a better selection for both entrees and desserts and had better seating. But the food was fine and if I were with a group of other people who wanted to eat there, I'd be OK with it.
Cookes of Dublin
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
Cookes of Dublin food
Photos by WDWMAGIC
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site