Cape May Cafe reviews

Disney's Beach Club Resort
Reader rating Reader rating 8.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.3  
"Disappointed"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2013 by Jayne 0902
Rating: 2  
For a deluxe resort both the quality of the food (luck warm and more than likely the day befores bagels and croissants) and the service left a lot to be desired. The server came across as rude and talked down to us as if we did not meet the standard of being there as we were staying at a lower value resort. Felt like they rushed as through as quick as possible
"One of our all time fav character dinings"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2012 by Janice Stroud
Rating: 10  
We always have at least one breakfast at Cape May when we visit WDW. We think it is the best buffet breakfast in terms of food quality, variety, and service. The characters that you see are a little less rushed with you too. We like the egg quich they do, the french toast cake and the salad offerings that are on this buffet. We also like the light and airy feel to Cape May as opposed to say 1900 Park Fare with no windows. Have never tried their dinner buffet but that is next on the list.
"Character breakfast was tasty"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2012 by JMagicFink
Rating: 10  
Short wait for breakfast with our dining reservation. Got pictures with Goofy, Donald and Mickey. The buffet had a lot of options and they were all delicious. Food was all fresh and hot and fantastic. Kids can still get their Mickey waffles too! Waitress was quick on the drinks and also offered to take a picture of my wife and I together at our table. Great service, great food and great characters. Next time you stay at Beach Club, make sure to get a reservation for breakfast at Cape May Cafe!
"Dinner was Pretty Good"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 7  
We ate here several years ago for dinner.
The food quality & selection were pretty good, as well as the service.
I would recommend this restaurant.
"Character breakfast"
Reviewed on Mar 11, 2012 by wdwfan317
Rating: 10  
Ok. LOTS of character attention. GREAT food. Kids ate a LOT. Great service. What more can you ask for?
"What a great find - one of our favorites!"
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2011 by ShadowMan
Rating: 10  
My family & I had the dinner buffet at Cape May on 10/24/11. What a great experience.

The service was top notch, the food was phenomenal, and the atmosphere was great. The restaurant was very busy, but not chaotic. The food was constantly being "refreshed", and as a result, loads of fresh mussels, clams, and crab legs kept coming out to the buffet. For seafood lovers -- this is pretty tough to beat!

However, it wasn't just the seafood that was good, all the food (from soup to dessert) was fantastic. We were simply stunned as to how good the food was, and feel that it's an incredible deal as part of the traditional Disney Dining Plan (although, I'm hearing rumors that it won't be as of 2012).

Can't say enough good things about it, and we feel like it may be the best dining experience that we've ever had @ Disney, and we've had a lot of dining experiences to date. The kids loved it, too! (4 & 5 years old)

HIGHLY recommended
"Great!!!"
Reviewed on Mar 13, 2011 by RussJT
Rating: 10  
Went to the Clambake dinner for my first time on 2/27/11. It was delicious, we will definitely go back. The clam chowder and crab legs were perfect. In fact, we had a party of 10, and we were all very please with the buffet. It was one of our favorite meals of the trip. It is a must-do for anyone who is a seafood fan. (There are also some delicious choices for non-seafood fans as well.)
"Great Fun "
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2010 by RAIDER
Rating: 8  
We went in June 2010 and had both dinner and breakfast there
and had a great time
The atmosphere is buzzing and the foods were constantly topped up
cant fault the menu except i wish the had ice cream on the dinner menu
"Clambake 1/3/09"
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2009 by awalkinthepark
Rating: 3  
I enjoyed the mashed potatoes and the mac and cheese from the kid's buffet..the sausage and peppers were good too.

They don't use the soft shelled clams(steamers) they use cherry stone clams(small quahogs)which were bitter and needed to soak in the butter for several minutes before being edible. Now I saw other people going to town on these clams, but as a former New Englander my expectation for 'steamers' was quite different from what was served. The corn on the cob tasted flowery. And I did not care for the ribs.

Drink refills were quite slow, it pained me to tip the automatic 18% with the Tables in Wonderland discount.
"yummy"
Reviewed on May 31, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
it was awesome . by far the best chowda outside cape cod and boston.
yummy breakfast and dinner
"great!"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 9  
DELICIOUS CLAM BAKE!

something for everyone, even the non seafood eaters out there.
Buffet is large and the soups and salads are delicious.
It is usually pretty calm in there and the service is great.
no need to dress casual. There are plenty of options for children as well.
"great!"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2008 by mro415
Rating: 9  
DELICIOUS CLAM BAKE!

something for everyone, even the non seafood eaters out there.
Buffet is large and the soups and salads are delicious.
It is usually pretty calm in there and the service is great.
no need to dress casual. There are plenty of options for children as well.
"Good Food"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2008 by mousebymarriage
Rating: 10  
We ate here on Jan. 31st for dinner, we were a Grand Gathering of 14 plus 1 infant in a High-chair. Unfortunately, we were not seated anywhere near each other, we were seperated into 2 tables but at opposite ends of the restaurant. Most of us have eaten here before and as always it did not disappoint. The seafood selection was good as was the selection of other foods. All the food was well prepared and our server was very attentive with refills etc. . We would definately return here and we would highly recommend Cape May Cafe to others.
Even though I don't like seafood there is always plenty of other things for me to choose from such as pastas, carved meats, beef stew, roast chicken,a large salad bar, veggies and other foods. The kids won't be disappointed either, they can eat from the kids area that serves pizza, chicken tenders, mac & cheese, hot dogs or they can eat anything from the regular buffet that they want.
"great time!"
Reviewed on Jan 17, 2008 by Darthfinkles
Rating: 10  
I ate here the last day of my trip for breakfast. the characters were great and the buffet was by far the best breakfast buffet I have ever experienced.
"Great character interaction!"
Reviewed on Jun 04, 2007 by DDuckFan130
Rating: 8  
We ate here on May 27, 2007 for breakfast. We were seated almost immediately and the characters came around soon after. Although our table wasn't the most ideal for characters to notice us, we got to see Goofy and Minnie twice, and Chip/Dale once. They were great at interacting with us, considering we were 5 adults. I loved their bathing suit costumes also lol. The food? Well, I loved the breakfast pizza and the other selections. But we felt the selection was lacking as opposed to say 1900 Park Fare. However, we did fill ourselves up with what was there. I told the girl at check-in that we had two birthdays and they brought out 2 rather large single cakes (bigger than cupcakes). My brother and sister couldn't even finish it and we took it back to the resort with us.

Would definitely recommend this place as an underrated character breakfast with some of the original "gang" of characters to be met.
"Very Enjoyable"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2007 by WEDisney
Rating: 7  
This meal was not the best but it was definitely enjoyable. Again I am not a fan of the buffet style meals but this one was by far different then most. The seafood tasted fresh and the salad bar alone could fill a hungry man. There were ribs, and many different items that should allow everyone get their money’s worth. The setting was nice but we had a great table. I did see some tables that I would not have wanted but you can always reject your table and take the next one. The resort that this is in is very quaint and cozy. The one complaint I have about it is the wait to get in. We had first seating ADRs and still waited on line over 30 minutes to get to the hostess. This might have been a fluke but it did seem like a bad way to start the meal. We were happy that even a bad start didn’t hurt a great dinner.
"Not the best buffet"
Reviewed on Sep 20, 2005 by kellydisney
Rating: Not rated  
This was the longest wait we had once we arrived for our PS right on time at 6:30 pm. We waited about 15 minutes before we were seated. Our waiter was really great. The buffet, however, was not. It is decent if you are just looking for a heavy meal. There’s nothing WRONG with the food. But it is standard buffet fare. Nothing fabulous about any part of it. I was really looking forward to this meal because it was the only Disney buffet or nice dinner I had on the college program and I remember it being amazing. Looking back, that was probably because I was living on Canned Soup, Mac & Cheese and Pasta Roni at the time!! LOL It was a virtual feast back then!
I was looking forward most to the steamers. I love steamed clams with butter so I planned to have many. They were ridiculously small. Not what I’m used to in the summer up here in Boston. They were tasty, but too small to even put a dent in my appetite without having loads of plates filled with shells on the table and I wasn’t interested in going up that many times. Nothing stood out except for the mashed potatoes. The mashed potatoes are the reason I left there full. Very creamy with a cheesy garlic taste, it’s the only thing on this buffet that I can highly recommend. The dessert bar also had a really tasty treat, an oreo cookie/fudge pastry. I had 2, they were petit. (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!) Just your average fare and not worth the price IMHO, I was super glad it was free and a little bummed we didn’t try somewhere else. Overall rating: Ambience: A, we like the Beach Club! Food: C –

If you have only one buffet option, go to Ohana.
"Ordinary at best"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I really felt this was not as good as most of the travel guide reviews said it was. The main reason to try this place is supposed to be the seafood, but I found it really wasn't that fresh at all. I feel some of their fish items was comparable to that from a cafeteria. It just seemed like an ordinary buffet with nothing that stood out. For my money, Ohana's is the best dinner buffet @ WDW.
"A very good Secret"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Poohfan29
Rating: Not rated  
This is a very big secret character breakfast. We enjoyed this so much we are going back on the 12th of Oct.
"Great buffet restaurant"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2002 by Kingdom Konsultant
Rating: Not rated  
We loved both the charecter breakfast and the Clam bake. This restaurant is an excellent choice!
"One of the Best in WDW"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by rmcd73
Rating: Not rated  
There's a great variety of food here and the clam chowder is great. We've dined here each of our last 6 trips to Disney and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and the dessert selections are quite extensive and no doubt fattening.
"YUM YUM"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
The Cape May Clam Bake is excellent. The best Buffet at Disney. Ribs, Shrimp, Clams, and then some!
"OK"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
SINCE I AM FROM AN AREA THAT HAS A LOT OF FRESH SEAFOOD IT WAS JUST OK
"Fab Seafood; Kid Friendly"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The seafood was excellent, and my kids loved coloring the (paper) table cloth! The steamed mussels were particularly tasty.
Cape May Cafe
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site