Boatwright's Dining Hall reviews

Disney's Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Reader rating Reader rating 4.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 4.3  
"TERRIBLE!"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2013 by GroomerMinnie
Rating: 1  
We LOVE Port Orleans Riverside, mainly because we are from Louisiana and love the theming! We could not wait to try Boatwright's now I wish I would not have tried it. First of all the food was horrible! I am a true cajun and I cook cajun food all day everyday. I also know that anywhere other than here in Louisiana it is hard to get good "Louisiana Food" with that in mind I really did not have high authentic expectations. The food tasted like cardboard. I had the "jambalaya" either I received the wrong food (not likely) or the jambalaya in my food ran away. It was a pasta dish with no resemblance to jambalaya. But okay I am going to eat it anyway, I am at Disney and I have never had a reason to doubt Disney. I sent it back because the taste was horrible. It tasted like they used taco seasoning to flavor the food. (wrong culture) My dh food was also sent back and we ended up going to the quick service to get our food. We will return to Port Orleans time and time again but not to Boatwright's not ever!
"Bottom of the Barrel of choices"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2012 by Gabe
Rating: 2  
My family attended the Grand opening of the Port Orleans and the following year staying for the Grand Opening of Dixie Landings. PO, FC always had the better table service, Bonfamillies. It was excellent and the service was superior. Over a two week stay we would always eat there 4 or 5 times.

Boatwright we tried hard to avoid. We would truck over when there was a shuttle between the sister resorts and our kids were small and unexpectedly not up to returning to the parks. Now on the flip side POR always had the better CS so it balanced out. Boat has always had snippy staff, especially the greeters and Lordie help ya if you didn't have an ADR and dared to ask if they had openings. Last time I asked that question and was genuinely told off, I went to the lobby to find out who had ressies, I so didn't want to go out that night and there were openings at the BoatWright, duh I saw the empty tables. I chose not to go anyhow and flipped over to Key West, I was afraid of what the greeter would do if I showed up with an ADR 5 minutes after she put me in my place for inquiring.

I did give it 2 stars over one because their breakfast isn't so bad.
"one word awful"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2012 by be warned
Rating: 1  
Last year we ate here twice, because we really enjoyed the food. This trip the food was awful. Super small portions, tough meat, and inedible sides was only the beginning. You know it's bad when you leave half your food on the plate. Place was empty even at 6pm. We only enjoyed the dessert.
"Disappointing"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2012 by bethymouse
Rating: 2  
I would only eat here if you are staying at Port Orleans Riverside. The place was practically empty, yet we still had to wait for a table around 6PM. The food was served rather cold, and the waitress was not good at all. The only reason we'd eat here again is for the convenience if staying at Port Orleans Riverside.
"Not Good At All"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 1  
My husband & sons ate here for dinner the first time on our last trip.
They were not very impressed with the food quality or the service.
I would not recommend this restaurant.
"Simply AMAZING!"
Reviewed on Apr 02, 2012 by tarjaybuff
Rating: 10  
We had 2 alcoholic beverages, 1 appetizer, and 2 entrees. Our bill was almost $80, and I can't wait to do it again. The food was probably the best we have ever had in Disney.
"Great Place for B and L"
Reviewed on Feb 14, 2012 by sstile
Rating: 10  
we ate breakfast here almost everyday and it was delicious! Everybody is so happy and it was so peaceful looking out the window! Reflilable mugs are a must and there are a multitude of choices for lunch and breakfast:)
"kind of disapointed"
Reviewed on Jan 10, 2011 by elw316
Rating: 5  
I was looking forward to eating here but was disapointed with the outcome. We had a early dinner reservation and enjoyed the cute opening of Boatwright's. The service was not the best and I was not pleased with the dinner options. We were on the meal plan so we wanted to try new places. Knowing now what the place is like I would have chosen differently. The food was good but nothing great, If you already have plans to eat here and can find another option I would switch. I also could hear the tables around us making the same comments and the childern had a hard time finding something they liked on the menu.
"Worst Food and Service I've Ever Had"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2008 by rickmusic53
Rating: 1  
We go to WDW every year and stayed at Port Orleans French Quarter every year but one. On one of the nites it rained, instead of going back to a park we decided to make reservations at Boatwrights. Our waitress was more interested in her table of 12 than she was the 3 of us. She was very hateful when ask a question about the types of potatoes served. She walked past us 3 times with our glasses empty before she filled them. She brought the wrong food and to be honest the food there sucks. It was the worst experience I've ever had at Disney World or anywhere else for that matter.
"yum"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great food, hidden gem, great for when you want to stay at the resort
great for arrival and depature day
"A Good Sit-Down Meal"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2006 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This is a GOOD restaurant. Nearly everything about it - the food, the atmosphere, the portions - is good. The service is excellent. My wife and I enjoyed our steaks. They weren\'t the greatest we\'ve had at WDW (that distinction would go to the Yachtsman Steakhouse), but they were good. The cornbread was very good. The kids meals were good.

I wouldn\'t go out of my way to eat here, but if you are staying at PO-R or PO-FQ, it\'s worth a try.
"Good family restaurant"
Reviewed on Sep 30, 2002 by Kingdom Konsultant
Rating: Not rated  
My family and I have enjoyed this restaurant many times. We love the whole southern theme. The food is good and plentiful.
"Perfect Theming"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Boatwright's has to be one of my favorite WDW-Resort restaurants. I think the theming of this restaurant is head and shoulders above any other restaurant on property. Boatwright's is set in a workshop where a new boat is being built. The skeleton of the hull of the boat is put in place over the tables and tools can be found on the walls and tables. Your napkins are shop rags and can be found with the salt & pepper, and other condiments inside a toolbox at the edge of your table. Boatwright's is a excellent place for breakfast before leaving for the parks or other day activities. I haven't eaten at Boatwright's during Lunch or Dinner, but I must say the breakfast is fantastic.
"Boatwright's"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by chellnjr
Rating: Not rated  
My husband absolutely loved the gumbo here. For some reason it is hard to find good prime rib, but their prime rib was wonderful. We are considering visiting POR on our next trip just to eat here again!
Boatwright's Dining Hall
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site