Bistro de Paris reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 7.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.9  
"Be Their Guest!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2012 by Monkee Girl
Rating: 10  
T
"In the Toilet as of Nov 2010"
Reviewed on Nov 20, 2010 by Trotsky
Rating: 1  
VERY sad - BDP is now serving cheap, stringy meat. The chefs are clearly TRYING to deal with this, but combined with a lack of Dress Code enforcement, the experience is now one of Drunks in cuttoffs combined with poor, overly priced food.

STRONG suggestion - take the boat, go to Shula's at the Dolphin. EPCOT no longer has any real Signiture Restaurants on property.
"Excellent."
Reviewed on Mar 14, 2010 by NattyBumppo
Rating: 9  
Food and service were outstanding.

Next trip I'm planning on watching Illuminations from here if possible.
"Perfect."
Reviewed on Nov 21, 2009 by Trotsky
Rating: 9  
My wife and I are passholders - we go to WDW about every 6 months, and tend to favor Signiture Restaurants.

Bistro de Paris is the only Signiture Restaurant in EPCOT. The big brother of Chef's de France, it does not disappoint. It's ambiance is perfect... smaller, quieter - EXCELLENT food and service. Not the place for a two year old throwing a Tantrum :)

We're booked for April 2010 - and we are going back :)
"Fabulous, Delicious, etc. "
Reviewed on Sep 04, 2008 by JenniferRenee
Rating: 10  
I can't find enough words to explain how wonderful this meal was. I was very disappointed to read the previous "blah" reviews and the last reviewer that rated the Bistro de Paris 4/10 - this is a 11/10!

First off, I am a very picky eater so I didn't go in with high expectations or the thought that I'd eat everything on my plate. My husband and I were walking through the France area and stumbled upon Bistro de Paris and decided to give it a try. What a wonderful surprise!

We walked in, in our daily attire and all sticky from outside - but even though we may have not felt the prettiest, they didn't treat us any different. Polite and helpful right at the start with the Hostess. We both ordered the Beef Tenderloin (Filet Mignon) plate. We were both expecting small pieces of meat and, because I am so picky, I wasn't expecting to eat the potatos. Oh my goodness, was I shocked when we got our plates! The Tenderloins were at lease 8 oz. (not sure exactly, they were just large for a Filet) and the POTATOS!!! They were the perfect "whipped" potatoes, and in the middle there were little meat shavings. It's difficult to explain, but trust me - I only eat meat and potatos - and this was the best (and of course, fanciest) I have ever had. For the $37/plate price - I was more that pleased and satistfied to hand over my $$$. Needless to say... desert was amazing as well.

This is an EXPERIENCE. We were at the restaurant for an ENJOYABLE two hours. The staff (our waiter: Damien) was wonderful, checking on us and providing us rolls/refills/etc. I was happy to take the time to have a top-notch meal and really enjoy it. I was willing to give up $140 (with tip and 2 glasses of Chardonnay - delicious) for the food and experience we had. It was nice to to have to settle for a burger or chicken fingers or slob down food in a crowded atmosphere. It's been a few hours and I still can't stop thinking about this meal and experience. I'm axious to go back already.

This is a wonderful place for you and your loved one to go to have a private and meal without feeling like you have to have a million bucks.
"Now I know what a sardine must feel like"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2008 by cdr point luvr
Rating: 4  
Bistro de Paris was a "last minute" choice for us since we changed our park itinerary at the last minute.... our first choice for dinner at EPCOT was the Coral Reef at the Seas pavilion, but with no seating available we settled for Paris as an alternative. We walked up to the restaurant and got a reservation for 45 minutes later (which turned out to be more like an hour).

The restaurant offers traditional French cuisine, which was quite good by my standards. The servers, all French, spoke somewhat broken English and were, in my opinion, arrogant. Every time I wanted more bread, it was like I was asking them to give me one of their kidneys - I felt somewhat like a beggar, which is rediculous since I spent over $2500 for my Disney vacation. The worst thing about this restaurant was that it was small, and they tried to force as many tables in there as possible. The result was us sitting on top of our dining neighbors, and although the restaurant was way too noisy to have to speak in hushed tones, we could still hear the couple next to us whining and moaning about being tired, etc. It was all "too close for comfort" for me and an experience I would have rather not had.

We decided to pay for this meal in cash since we had used two table service meals for California Grill, and with appetizers and dessert (no alcohol), the meal was about $100 for two people.

Would I do it again: No
Would I recommend to others: Not in good conscience; there are far better dining options at WDW.
Why Not: Tables waaaaay too close, rude waiters
High Point: Respectable food
"wow"
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really nice french food. great menu and variety for those who arent into the whole french cusine thing. i cant have french food , but i was able to order off the kids menu, they were very accomidating
"Excellent Excellent Food"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2008 by brucie
Rating: 9  
We went here not really knowing what to expect.. But we all loved it!! The cheese plate app is delicious and the chicken was the best I had ever had. And the Creme Brule is not as good as Le Celier but still very good. It's a bit crowded, meaning the tables seem to be a bit to close to one another. We felt like we were eating with other people. But excellent food.
"EXPENSIVE!"
Reviewed on Sep 23, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 9  
Looks pretty stunning but we'd about have to sell the house to eat here.
"Elegant, upscale evening."
Reviewed on Nov 01, 2006 by davinakb
Rating: Not rated  
I\'ve eaten here several times, most recently a few weeks ago. We have been lucky to always have great service and really enjoy our dinner. As adventurous eaters, there\'s always something that just WOWs us, lots that\'s very good, and usually something that just didn\'t meet expections.

It\'s definately fine dining, and there is a kids menu, but for the money, I would say it\'s only kid friendly to well-behaved, non-picky eaters.
"A best meals ever."
Reviewed on Jul 09, 2006 by bsikor
Rating: Not rated  
I had wanted to try Bistro di Paris for some time now. I have been going to EPCOT since it opened and have even worked there for many years yet I had never tried Bistro di Paris. I have always heard great things but had not had a reason to try. After moving back to the Orlando area my wife and I have purchased some annual passes so for our sixth anniversary decided to make a reservation.

Our reservation was for 8pm and we requested a table by the window which they were more that willing to accomidate. They appologized that the air conditioner was broken, but it did not bother us. The room is quiet with no music all you can hear is the quiet whispers of the other guests. The tables are dressed with simple white table cloths and a single candlelit lamp.

We ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings. You are given 2 or 3 items to choose from that will best pair with the wines.

Before the prelude, they served an extra course. A special amuse bouche of bread crisps with tuna and olives. It was a nice treat.

For the prelude I chose a heirloom tomato with a parmesan crisp, tomato and pesto soup with ravioli and a portion of creamy goat cheese. My wife selected the fois gras which was served in two styles one was lightly cooked and the other seared with a balsamic vinegar. They were paired with a light and simple blush wine and they both were fantastic.

The fish course was next Melissa chose a lobster with mussels in a bouillabaisse while I chose the seared scallops over goat cheese and tomato stuffed ravioli. They were paired with a Pouilly-Fouse. I am not a big fan of seafood, but who can pass up goat cheese? As we were finishing the fish course and moving to the aperitif, Illuminations had started. Our window gave a perfect view of the lagoon and the show out on the water. Our waiter recommended I move my chair to the other side of the table and watch the show on the same side as my wife.

As we were watching the show, our aperitif was delivered. A sorbet made from special strawberries found only in france. It was served in a cocktail glass with a sidecar of a French liquor which we were told is drank right before going out in the snow to ski because of its warming qualities. It was different. My wife described it best by saying it was light eating aftershave. It did do its purpose as we were prepared for our meat course.

The show had ended and our meat course had arrived. Mel chose the rack of lamb with vegetable confit and fresh herbs while I chose the beef tenderloin with marrow served with potato boulangere and asparagus in a red wine juniper berry sauce. Both were paired with a pinot noir which was wonderful.

After the meat course we moved to the cheese plate which contained a slice of a cows milk cheese whos name I can\'t recall but reminded me of a wonderful grassy field. There were also two goats milk cheeses, one a little firmer and sharper and the other soft and smooth.

After the cheese came a dessert sampler paired with Champagne. The plater had a tasting of every dessert on the menu. There was an almond flower ice cream which was to die for. Mel let our some four letter words in describing its flavor. There was also a chocolate souffle, a lemon tart, a mini creme brulee and a fruit cup soaked in vovray wine.

The entire meal lasted about two hours and fifteen minutes. It was great from beginning to end. The food was excellent and was the service. I recomment making a reservation for 8:00 because half way through the meal you get an un paralleled view of Illuminations. Just be sure to ask for a table by the window. One of the other neat things was that when we left the restaurant there were no other people around. They had all gone home. My wife and I got to walk along the streets of the France pavillion by ourselves under an umbrella as a soft rain fell on us. It was great.
"Excellent single dining"
Reviewed on Jun 20, 2004 by Redsilas
Rating: Not rated  
I always rate the restaurant I go to at Disney World by how well they serve a single person. As a solo diner I was seated near the window to watch the evening events and attended to just as good, if not better than the large parties and couples sitting around me. The waiter took the time to answer my questions and have a good conversation with me during my wait.

The wine he recommended with my dish went perfectly and I was not rushed out at all.

I also do not like sitting near children and there were only adults nearby, nice and quiet. I recommend this place for solo diners as well as couples without children.
"Good and expensive"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2002 by Mississippian
Rating: Not rated  
This is a fairly formal, French restaurant, with an upscale rendition of the food sereved downstairs in Chefs de France. Don't bring young children here -- They won't enjoy it and no one will enjoy them. Anyone not familiar with French cooking should try Chefs de France first. A cheese course is available after dinner, although to our surprise it was not on the menu. We had to ask about it. The menu was not just loaded with things we wanted to order, but the things we did get we enjoyed. The service was good, and we had an outstanding view of the fireworks. On the downside, it is expensive. We started with Kir Royales, got a bottle of wine, had appetizers and my wife had dessert while I had a cheese course. I think our bill came to about $230. For this price we could get two slightly less-fancy meals, which is what we will probably do next time. But Bistro de Paris was still very good.
Bistro de Paris
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site