Backlot Express reviews

Echo Lake, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 7.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.3  
"one of our favorites"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2012 by JMagicFink
Rating: 10  
We eat here once every trip to WDW. The burgers are delicious and the toppings are great! They have lots of onions, pickles, etc. just like at Pecos Bill's in Magic Kingdom. The french fries are fantastic. We love the props that are scattered around. Great fast food!
"Not Good"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2012 by ThinkTink721
Rating: 1  
We have only eaten here once & didn't really enjoy it.
The food quality was poor.
I wouldn't recommend it.
"Noisy but ok."
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2011 by real mad hatter
Rating: 7  
Look,if your wanting a quick foodie fill and are on the go,and not looking for fine cusine,then Backlot does what it says on the tin,kids will enjoy it more than adults but hey,your on vacation,grab a burger and enjoy the noise.
"Improved!"
Reviewed on Sep 29, 2011 by jwakja
Rating: 7  
The new burgers/fries are really good and can't beat the drink refills. Will definately spend a CS her next trip to DHS!
"Passable CS"
Reviewed on May 03, 2010 by lebeau
Rating: 6  
If you have to eat counter service in DHS, this is the place. It's typical Disney burgers and fries. If that's what you're looking for, you won't be disappointed. Also has a decent toppings bar.
"Great"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2010 by DisneyKnowItAll
Rating: 10  
This is a great place to go after a long 40 minute backlot tour ride and also has a great variety of food for EVERYONE
"Good Food"
Reviewed on Feb 21, 2010 by sberg13
Rating: 10  
Great Atmosphere
"New favorite CS in studios"
Reviewed on Dec 02, 2009 by Ariel484
Rating: 8  
Grilled turkey and cheese was good...cheesecake for dessert was awesome! A little out of the way but worh it.
"Decent Counter Service"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2008 by lebeau
Rating: 7  
There was nothing spectacular about the Backlot Express. But we did get a decent lunch at the expected Disney prices. The atmosphere was enjoyable. Food was good, but not exceptional. There were no lines to speak of during our visit. And the toppings bar was quite nice.
"Looked really nice, but it was closed when I was there. "
Reviewed on Jul 10, 2008 by nuttyskadork
Rating: 7  
The bar was open however and had no line-up at all, as opposed to the nearby snack carts. They didn't sell any soft drinks or ice cream or food or anything, and I wasn't really in the mood for a beer at 2PM in the afternoon (which is like noon in my time zone lol). Actually there's never a bad time for a beer.....unless you're paying 7 or 8 bucks for it.
"good"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
really good food at the studios
also great place to sit down and relax
"Decent"
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
The food variety is a lot like the Pecos Bill restaurant in MK, but it is a bit bigger. There are many props and movie artifacts scattered around the place. The food is always good, theaming is better. overall, the Backlot Express is a good place to eat at MGM, check it out.
"Excellent Food"
Reviewed on Jun 28, 2007 by MaXXimus
Rating: 10  
During our trip last week we grabbed lunch here for the first time... all I can say is AWESOME burgers and fries and my 2 girls (17 & 19) thought the grilled turkey and cheese was amazing. I know it sounds silly to rant about something so simple but it was really THAT good... so good in fact that when we went back to MGM later in the week we couldnt resist going there again and got the same thing. I was suprised to see the below comment about being filthy. It was pretty darned crowded the first time and other then the table being dirty I had no problems... and actually the only reason it was dirty was because my wife was stalking tables and jumped at this one the second the group stood up to leave. The second time around we couldnt get a table inside and the lines were horribly long but then again that could easily be contributed to the Star Wars Weekend. Future trips to MGM will not be complete wihtout having lunch here.
"yuck"
Reviewed on Jun 26, 2007 by nile6000
Rating: 1  
crowded, long lines and the place was a mess! fility floor , fixin bar was empty.
Ordered chocolate pudding with my sons meal and asked for a spoon. Was told they dont have any? How do you eat it then with a straw? Finally found one near the coffee supplies.
"Same ol\' same ol\'"
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2006 by dduckfan130
Rating: Not rated  
We almost always have lunch here and the food is always good. Nothing new from other counter service restaurants but you can never go wrong here. I also really enjoy the themeing with all the movie props and such.
"Studios Secret Food Place"
Reviewed on May 07, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
The restaurant is located between Indiana Jones and Star Tours. I have passed it many times not knowing it was there. Just the normal quick and basic food and the themeing is good here as well, better than most value meal places.
"Not Bad"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Basic fast food (chesseburgers, hot dogs, ect.) in the atmosphere of a Backlot prop shop. Worth a stop for some comfort food and some AC.
"GREAT LUNCH"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
GREAT FOR A BREAK IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY DAY
"Good quick meal"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by enskywalker
Rating: Not rated  
Easy to miss but one of the better counter service restaurants. Always remember that fruit can be substituted for fries.
Backlot Express
Related News
 
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site