Universe of Energy reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 5.6 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 5.6  
"Could use updates"
Reviewed on Apr 14, 2013 by Epcoter
Rating: 6  
The movie (from 1996) is really looking dated: Ellen retracts the antenna on her brick mobile phone, Trebek's moustache, the old light-bulb based scoreboards on Jeopardy. And you can't help thinking about the BP Gulf disaster in the part that talks about how deep sea drilling for oil is the next great opportunity.
"A trip to the doctors without a lollypop"
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2010 by themeparkpioner
Rating: 1  
They should of demolished that ride and kept one of the better rides.
"A Ride that has had better days.....Or has it?"
Reviewed on May 16, 2009 by jtizzle1023
Rating: 2  
I rode this ride for the first time last year and thought it was a waist of time and that they could use the space for a better ride. No one relle goes to the parks to be educated. I love epcot but just not this the animatronics are very out dated and need to be fixed. Just would never waist 45 mins on this ride
"A Ride that has had better days.....Or has it?"
Reviewed on May 16, 2009 by jtizzle1023
Rating: 2  
I rode this ride for the first time last year and thought it was a waist of time and that they could use the space for a better ride. No one relle goes to the parks to be educated. I love epcot but just not this the animatronics are very out dated and need to be fixed. Just would never waist 45 mins on this ride
"An excellent show! The ride through prehistoric time is outstanding--the swamp even smells swampy."
Reviewed on May 16, 2009 by oldgeezer
Rating: 10  
I give this attraction a 10 because it fits the concept of Epcot so well: it teaches while it entertains. I saw it before Ellen was in the show and, while the graphics were good even then, the content was a little dry. Ellen's adventure makes a better show.
"Pleasantly Surprising"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 9  
This part-movie and part-animatronic water ride will surprise you considering how tucked away it. You'd never think it was a major attraction, but Disney invested quite a bit in this one.

Ellen DeGeneres is dreaming that she's on "Jeopardy!" and is losing to a college rival when her neighbor Bill Nye the Science Guy shows up and takes her back in time. (This show is all about energy resources.) The movie theater you are sitting in turns into a boat and the screen lifts to give way to an elaborate animatronic water ride about how the dinosaurs became fossil fuel and life evolved on earth afterwards. The movie resumes again, Bill teaches Ellen about oil, coal, alternative energies, etc. and Ellen goes back to "Jeopardy!" in a cheesy ending where she wins.

As this is sponsored by Exxon, global warming advocates, expect to be disgruntled. Also, small children may be frightened by the large animatronic dinosaurs despite their distance from the boat.

Creative, inventive, and laugh-out-loud hilarious, don't miss it.

A tip though: THE SHOW IS OVER 45 MINUTES LONG. TAKE THE BATHROOM BREAK BEFOREHAND.
"Universe"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 9  
One of the most underrated rides in all of WDW. It combines ride with show and huge screens. The part with the dinosaurs is the best but the entire ride is a great experience overall. It's also one of the longest rides in EPCOT. The preshow isn't the best, but hey the rest makes up for it. Also the waiting is fairely short unless there are about a thousand people waiting to ride.
"Ellen is funny"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I love this show. It incorporates a few films, some great technology with a moving theater that breaks up into ride vehicles, and some cool animatronics. Ellen DeGeneres is not everyone's cup of tea apparently, but I think she's pretty funny in this show. I love that Alex Trebek plays it straight, and Jamie Lee Curtis is perfect as "Stupid Judy." The two films in the theater have fantastic special effects and animation, and the entire storyline is Imagineering at its best.
"Has potential"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2005 by brettman35
Rating: Not rated  
While the ride itself is somewhat dated, it's not too bad of an all around experience. However, Ellen Degenres degrades the whole experience. Her attempts at humor drag down the whole ride. If she didn't host the Universe of Energy, I wouldn't hesitate to ride it numberous times, however I think next time I'm near the UE, I'll pass.
"Fun"
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
This attraction is long, but entertaining for the most part. Ellen is very funny in it, and it is worth seeing at least once. Definitely worth it to cool off and get off your feet for a while.
"Uniquely fun"
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2003 by Michael M Crave
Rating: Not rated  
"Ellen's Energy Adventure" is a fun, epic ride and show that takes you through billions of years in time, all while teaching you small, interesting facts about energy, making you laugh, and, if nothing more, inspiring you to be a little more conservative with your own energy output. This attraction is a highly unique blend of IMAX theatre and slow moving dark ride - to my knowledge it has never been duplicated elswhere, and I'm quite surprised. While no other company than Disney would dare to be so bold as to actually try and teach you something, I could see plenty of other theme park chains coming up with their own more cartoonish verision of this concept. Then again, maybe that's where the "Spiderman" idea got started. Ellen Degeneres hits the perfect note for this ride/show by being naive, cute, and, of course, dryly hilarious, while Bill Nye gets to do what he does best - be a know-it-all, yet lovable geek. If you suffer from attention defecit disorder, or generally dislike slower, more educational rides, this one is probably not for you. If you like a little comedy, a little education, and a nice, long, 40 minute attraction that pulls you completely into its story, then this could very well end up being one of your favorite attractions - I know its one of mine.
"What is ... edu-tainment?"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The pre-show with Ellen DeGeneres is the most entertaining part of this attraction. Very funny. It also sets the stage nicely for the rest of the attraction, which contains a plethora of energy-related information presented in a fun way.
"I still enjoy it!"
Reviewed on Jul 05, 2003 by rickeff
Rating: Not rated  
I've always loved this attraction. I know it's not the most popular thing to do, but I think it's one of the best ways to cool down and relax for a bit while being entertained.
"Interesting"
Reviewed on Jul 04, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
This is a fun ride once you get inside and get to see the animatronic dinosaurs. They aren't as scary as the huge roaring dinos in Dinosaur! over in AK so it's a good ride to take younger kids on. Esp. if they like dinos, but the AK ride would be too intense and bouncy for them. Ellen and Bill Nye the Science Guy do okay with the storyline, but really, I go for the dinosaurs. The smell is especially interesting!
"Great Attraction!"
Reviewed on Mar 25, 2003 by BenS
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great attraction! If you (or your child) is a fan of Bill Nye, this is a MUST! Tip: To avoid crowds, see this at night (right before Illuminations). We once had an entire ride vehicle to ourself.
"Very Dated....Needs Work"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Universe of Energy has been in desperate need of a major rehaul for quite some time, at least a good 15+ years. While the idea of the audience cars breaking up for a trip through the prehistoric age is still quite a good one, Disney really needs to re-do their dinos. They've made big leaps with animatronic technology, why not apply them here? Also, I can't stand Ellen Degeneres. Her addition does nothing to enhance the attraction, rather it detracts from it. It's worth riding if you haven't in a long time, or never have, but it's not a must-see by any means.
"ALWAYS THERE"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
ANYTHING CLOSE TO TEST TRACK THAT DOES NOT BREAK DOWN HAS TO BE GOOD - LARGE SCREENS WITH A RIDE SIMILAR TO THE GREAT MOVIE RIDE BUT NOT AS GOOD. I AM NOT A BIG FAN OF ELLEN'S COMEDY SO THE PRESHOW WAS DULL.
"Not too Energetic"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This isn't a bad ride, but it's not my favorite in EPCOT. It's much too long, the subject not too interesting, and I have never particullarly cared for Ellen's comedy. The Dinosaur section is good but pales in comparision to DINOSAUR at AK and doesn't seem to utalize the moving theater as well as the Great Movie Ride does. Worth seeing if you have the time, but I wouldn't make it a priority.
"Feel the flow!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great area to cool off - and learn about Energy! I am a fan of the original Universe of Energy attraction, but I don't find much lost in this current version: Ellen's Energy Exchange - except the theme songs! Journey into Ellen's imagination where she meets up with Bill Nye the Science Guy to win a Jeopardy! game against "Stupid Judy" and Albert Einstein. A highlight is a tour through the time of the dinosaurs. This isn't the best EPCOT attraction, but I highly recommend it for first timers. It's great for a few laughs - and a lot of knowlege when it comes to energy! Like most attractions at EPCOT, visiting it will really pay off.
Universe of Energy
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site