Toy Story Mania reviews

Pixar Place, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 9.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.5  
"rush over to this one!"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 9  
As is the case with newer attractions, the lines are INSANE! If you have any intention of riding TSM at all, make sure you get to the park early and make a beeline for either the attraction itself or the Fastpass line. I wouldn't say it's worth the 1-2 hour wait otherwise, though it is an excellent attraction.
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by fastpass99
Rating: 10  
Loads of 3D fun, easy to play for everyone! A ride coupled with a videogame, great idea! Well done! Too bad the lineups are gigantic... Get here early
"AMAZING, so much fun"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2010 by iheartdisneey
Rating: 10  
this ride was such a good addition to the park. the games inside were a ton of fun and the style of the cars were awesome. loved everything about it...even the wait in the line! they designed the interior wonderfully!
"Better than I thought"
Reviewed on Jul 07, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 8  
Going into TSMM I had no idea what to expect. I was impressed coming out, to say the least. The ride is a load of fun and the queue is one of the best in a Disney park.

8.5/10 stars
"Super Fun"
Reviewed on Jun 16, 2009 by jetsmom
Rating: 9  
This has to be one of the best rides ever,however the line was very long. Fastpasses at 10a.m. were for 8:30 p.m., so we just stood in line.
"great...but..."
Reviewed on May 29, 2009 by jgvc41
Rating: 8  
This is hands down one of the top 5 attractions in WDW. I would go on it 3-4 times each visit...but!!! The line is crazy, which is understandable, since it is a new and AWESOME attraction. However, what got me was they stopped giving out the fast pass tickets around 10-11am the two days we were there. I am sure to go on it again this year, but I will wake up extra early to grab a fast pass. Please make sure you do the same because this is such a great attraction!!! This would easily have been a 10 if you didn't have to wait sooooooo long!
"My favorite"
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 10  
This was the first attraction we visited at my first trip to WDW in 12 years and I was not disappointed! It was so much fun, so interactive, so entertaining....just amazing. My husband and I talked about it for the rest of the trip and were really disappointed that we couldn't ride again due to the insanely long lines. Can't wait to go back and do it again!!!
"Awesome and FUN!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2009 by Disneylover1302
Rating: 10  
No matter how long the wait is you have to (I mean HAVE TO) go on this ride! After waiting like a hour or two u will be happy that u waited on line! The ride is so much fun to go on!If u r staying in on Disney property go to the magic hours at night and ride the ride during Fantasmic! There is like a 30 minute wait! Cause everybody is at the show! That is what we did!
"Sooo much fun!"
Reviewed on Nov 18, 2008 by disneygrl24
Rating: 10  
Tjihs ride can't be missed. Although the wait can get long at times, it is definaetly worth it. The 4-D effects are amazing!! My applause go out to the Imagineers on this one!
"Must Ride"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
This is something you really have to ride, it's great! The 3D effects are great plus the added air effects are great.

The line is usually over and hour so be sure to get your fastpasses early!
"Family Fav"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 10  
As a whole, this was our fav ride! The Imagineers are just awesome! We could have rode this all day!
"great"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2008 by latina69
Rating: 10  
My hsuband,son and I just got back from WDW and this ride is awesome!!!
We had a great time.
"Great ride. Detailing amazing"
Reviewed on Jul 16, 2008 by moemoe55
Rating: 9  
Rode this ride July 4th weekend. Talk about crowded. Use fast pass or single rider line. Much faster. Only draw back you don't experience the great queue. Mr. Potato Head was great. You see all the games you played as a child, if you're a baby boomer. Kids these days wouldn't know what half those games are.

The ride itself was amazing. It's not 3D but 4D. Air blows on you when the plates break and we got rained on playing darts.

My advice is to work out before you go. You get so involved in the ride, your arm gets tired pulling the launch string at such a rapid pace. Once it's over, you can't wait to get back on to beat your score.

100x's better than Buzz Lightyear over at MK.

Can't wait to go back.
"Colorful Whimsy"
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
Firstly: if any member of your party has sensory problems, bypass TSM. It is stimulation overdrive from the moment you enter.

Aside from the overload of data your brain will receive as you whirl through various 3-D midway games, Toy Story Mania is very child-friendly. Nothing ugly, mean, or scary will jump out at you, though it is incredibly loud.

If you've played Battle for Buccaneer Gold at Disney Quest, you are already familiar with TSM's technology - complete with cannons.

Overall, however, after the elaborate queue, complete with over-sized crayons and that crowd-pleasing Mr. Potato Head figure, the ride let me down a teeny bit. It wasn't as personal or immersive as other Disney rides because when you turn corners, you get a clear view of the other riders.

Don't let me stop you from riding, though. You'll have a blast. It's a colorful whirlwind in which you'll meet up with some of the most lovable characters from Toy Story 1 and 2. It'll probably make you laugh with ectasy. At the very least, you'll leave smiling, beaming like a kid.
"A fantastic ride through a gallery of games that the whole family can enjoy! And EVERYONE'S a WINNER!"
Reviewed on May 02, 2008 by EpcotServo
Rating: 9  
MY REVIEW!

Trust Mr. Potato Head...Do you think he's kidding? Your life will not be mundania, after you play MIDWAY MANIA!


Medium Spoilers Ahead







PIXAR PLACE

Still ALOT To be finished. The gift shop, cafe, meet n' greets, and whole left side of the street is still under construction. Though from what I've seen, there is going to be lots of detail, and the whole are just looks beautiful with the trees and brickwork. I woudn't judge the area harshly, as again, it's still under construction, and even when done, there will be lots of cool little details showing up in the months ahead. The story here (As I mentioned before.) is that Pixar Place (Like Maroon Studios) is where all the Pixar magic takes place. The toys are all out in full force, because they're inviting us all to become Toys and see the great new Midway games they've set up. (Neat detail: Some of the CM door signs say to Keep out Pixar Studios Animators: Toys Only. This means that the Pixar Studios Animators from the outside are just as excited to shrink down and see what the Toy's are up too, just as we guests are.) After we pass through the beautiful glass hall, we are now TOYS! The Cast Members are Andy's Toys, keeping in grand MGM-Studios tradition. (RNR has their Parking Attendents, Tower its' Bellhops, and who could forget the Muppet Labs workers?)

QUEUE

Without a doubt, I can say I pitty Disneyland for once. (I know! Who thought I'd ever say THAT?) They have a nice building, but we have SOOOO much space, and the Imagineer's put to good use. At every twist and turn of the queue you'll find great details and your favorite childhood toys bigger than life! I can't possibly mention all of the details because there are so many (And spotting them is half the fun!), but I will point out my favorite: And it was clearly made for two groups, Imagineers; And us. After entering the queue, there are two giant viewmaster slides. Look for the Disneyland Tomorrowland one, featuring the Peoplemover and the Mighty Microscope!



After working your way to the back, you finally get the chance to meet Mr. Potato Head! He's fantastic, and the crowd LOVED him. One trip through he had some problems and had to go behind the curtain. (Themed to a giant blue hankie with Stars & Boots on it.) Yes, Jim Hill was WRONG. They do not "Just throw a sheet over it."


After all this build up, you finally pick up your bright yellow glasses in a house built out of Lincoln Logs. (And it's just about the size of a real house!) Then it's a trip up the stairs, and you get to see a great view of one of my favorite parts of the ride: THE LOAD AREA!

(Also be sure to listen throughout your trip through the queue and ride: the music made for the ride is really good!)

LOAD

Andy's room in all it's glory! Again detail abound, and this room in HUGE! I won't go into details, but let's just say (Again) it follows the grand MGM-Studios tradition of theming. I'd say it's on par with Tower's Boiler Room, and RNR's Parking Garage. I'd go further to say it's the best load/unload area in all of WDW. Be sure to look for all the details! When leaving, be sure to pay close attention to a very large Golden Book featuring: Tin Toy!



THE RIDE

Really, I'd have to say that you have a serious mental condition if you don't at least have "a really fun time" on your first go-around. If you don't, go ahead and just check yourself into Arkham Asylum. The beautiful details, great dark-ride sets, moving, twisting-and-turning gametrams all add up to an auroa of fun. And that's not even counting the games! All of them are so fun to play, and all four rides had new surprises and targets that had eluded me the ride before it. Four rides, we found a super-surprise combo that yielded some great bonus targets! I won't tell because that's the fun of it. Each time you go on, you'll find new surprises and details. Go and find them! Don't let the internet tell you. I can attest 100%...you'll have a heck of a great time finding out the first way! Some things that I'm sure you're dying too know...

Yes, all the big voices are reprised by the proper voice actor. Hamm & Rex are the best! Keep an eye out for their peformances.

I, like you, kind of had a grudge against "Screen-based attractions", but this one (Unlike any other) breaks the mold. It's SO much fun, and the 3-D is so amazingly life-like, I forgot I was watching screens.


I said it!

I forgot. The games, animation, and all the Toy Story pals makes this one of the finest screen based attractions ever.

Gameplay! Unlike Men in Black, Buzz, and other "Shoot em' up" rides, this is the first one that if I've done poorly, I don't care. It's doesn't change how fun it was to play. As the box says, "Everyone's a Winner!" and unlike Midway Games of real; It's quite true. If you don't get an amazing score, you won't feel bad about waiting 120 Minutes. (I'm lookin' at you BUZZ AND MEN IN BLACK!)

Also, whatever new process they use to make the 3-D is amazing! No matter where you are in the building, no matter how you look at it, the space adjusts iteslf, as it would if it was actually there. (You know how Spiderman has to move the image in synch with the cars? Take that Spiderman! I can look up and down and it looks PERFECT!)






SPOILERS END.

In summary, you may feel like a winner: But the real winner is Walt Disney Imagineering. I was so proud to be there in the first line for Midway Mania ever. And nothing could beat seeing and talking to the Imagineers there, as they were very pleased to see such a great reaction to the ride. I really think that this is a perfect addition to not only the Studios, but too all of Walt Disney World. Everest is amazing, but it's great to have a brand new E-Ticket that the WHOLE FAMILY can ride. (In the vein of Haunted Mansion and Pirates, everyone can ride: Everyone can have a great time.)

In short, get to Midway Mania as soon as you can! You'll have a great time: No Assembly required!*



*Some Assembly Required


Toy Story Mania
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site