The Seas with Nemo and Friends (Pavilion) reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 6.8 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.8  
"It's a Disappointment"
Reviewed on Aug 15, 2008 by cdr point luvr
Rating: 4  
I didn't care for the original version, and I really didn't care for this much-ado-about-nothing remake, either. I found the queue line really really long, and the preshow, although very cute for little ones (and is arguably the only reason to go to the attraction), wasn't enough to make me want to go back. The ride portion was a technological let-down... I found the aquarium water murky and dirty-looking; perhaps that wouldn't have been the case if the bright Nemo digital wasn't superimposed on the tank. And were there supposed to be a lot of fish in the tank? I don't recall there being the dazzling variety of fish that I have seen at other aquariums. I don't know, but the whole effect was just lost on me. Is this Disney imagineering at its' finest? I don't think so.

The pavilion is a horrible attempt at something Sea World does a heck of a lot better. My advice - do it once, especially if you have kids; you probably won't care to do it twice. I find this attraction, along with the Imagination pavilion, the most tired at EPCOT and the most skippable.

High Points: Seagull animatronics at the entrance, short line during EMT.
Low Points: Technologically boring, murky aquarium, kinda depressing
"Wonderful"
Reviewed on Jul 18, 2008 by DisneyNut2007
Rating: 10  
Excellent upgrade to a once-boring pavilion. It now gets both kids and adults interested in our oceans and sea creatures and makes them want to learn more about them.
"Ride is OK, Aquarium needs alot of TLC"
Reviewed on Jun 25, 2008 by GatorGambit
Rating: 5  
I'm an old school kind of Epcot guy, so compared to The Living Seas, this version leaves a lot to be desired. The new ride portion of the pavilion is pretty cool, with great effects, and I think kids will love it, especially if they are fans of Nemo. The aquarium portion, however, is a shadow of what it once was. It's now monotone and boring. The only truly interesting attraction here is Turtle Talk with Crush. Adults can easily skip The Seas and not miss much of anything. Families will want to bring the kids to at least experience the ride and Turtle Talk.
"great"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great show, great ride, what more can i say :)
"Better than the "History of Oceans 101""
Reviewed on Jun 05, 2008 by juscet
Rating: 6  
I guess if you remember that the previous "movie" was a yawn and a half, this would be considered a major upgrade. Ultimately it is a nice effect and a cute ride for kids, but I wouldn't wait in line to do this. Go early, get it done, and move on. There is no reason to make this a fastpass ride because once the novelty wears off the lines will be manageable.
"this is just me I wish it would have had a fast pas"
Reviewed on May 05, 2008 by Kittygard
Rating: 6  
because I asked and I was very disapointed when a cast member told me it did and their is no fast pass when i got on line it was told too me 45 minutes
"Not worth the hype or wait"
Reviewed on Apr 08, 2008 by S. Paridon
Rating: 4  
This ride was a bit of a disappointment to me. There was a very big buildup and it was a very big let down. The line is outside and in June it is HOT! The line also snakes it's way for what seems like miles inside and the ride is just not worth the wait. It is a giant aquarium with a digital fish thrown in here and there, nothing really spectacular. The Seas/Living Seas needs to go and a good thrill ride needs to be put in this place.
"Not bad at all"
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2008 by hauntdmansion79
Rating: 7  
This ride was better than I expected. It uses mostly video screens, but uses them well and in creative new ways. The ride is colorful and cute. The song at the end is catchy. The seagulls outside are really great and the queue area is surprisingly complete and themed. Of course the ride could have so much more, but considering the room they had, and the short time they took to build it. It could have been worse. I'm going to say based on kids/family attractions as of late, this one was well done.
"Nemo!"
Reviewed on Mar 16, 2008 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
The big rock on the outside has been enhanced and the seagulls are a nice touch. The Nemo ride is somewhat disappointing although some of the effects are nice. It actually seems to be a downgrade from the previous and longer ride through the aquarium. It still is worth riding once if the lines aren't too long. The Seas attracts a lot more people now and the Nemo theme througout the building is quite popular. It's possibly an uprgrade from the former Living Seas overall but still not spectacular.
"Sweet!"
Reviewed on Jan 20, 2008 by tslrocks
Rating: 7  
This ride is great for younger kids but it was like a test of technology. I liked how they blended in the projetors with the scenery.The waits were so fast we walked right in 2 of my visits! But i see how sometimes the lines are like 40 minutes and its not worth that long of a wait. The ending it impressive!
"Not a WOW!"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2007 by Boatnik
Rating: 7  
I was looking forward to seeing the new version of The Livving Seas, now with a NEMO slant, I really liked the Living Seas and was a bit affraid of what they might do in transforming it. Well, what's left of the old Living Seas is still pretty good, and parts of the new features are very good!
The disappointment part though is the part where you ride in a shell along various scenes portraying a search for Nemo. After the wait in the queue line which does a good job of making you feel like you are underwater ( a little too dark though!), we finally entered the ride vehicles and moved through the ride. I found it to be almost boring (maybe as an adult?) with almost no real plot or story, just a random search for Nemo that just "lacked it". My 5-year-old nephew who hasn't seen FINDING NEMO yet seemed even more bored with it. Actually the EAC effects with the bubbles and such was the best part to me, you still fee llike you are moving even as the ride pauses due to the moving bubbles, also the way that the NEMO characters appear to be swimming with real fish near the end was pretty good too, although not fully up to what I expected.
I would say that "The Seas with Nemo and Friends" is overall pretty good, keeping some of the old displays while adding some good kiddie activities, Turtle Talk with Crush was really good! But I'd skip the ride and enter through the entrance/exit that used to be just the exit before (near gift shop).
"Not As Good Post-Renovation"
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 7  
I didn't think the Living Seas was all that great before, and now its still mediocre but character crazy too! This is Epcot for crying out loud - the one park that is not really attached to the Disney films and television programs.

Although it is a nice addition for families with children in the under-7 set, I fear this is the beginning of the end for Epcot after hearing the report that Test Track might become connected to "Cars."

As a final note, the tanks are the largest man-made ones in the world. Some of the coral looks like it belongs in an art gallery! But the educational piece is dissapearing and that's what made Living Seas a worthwhile experience.
"horrible"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2007 by phenom1307
Rating: 3  
i loved the movie, but the seas with nemo and friends is one of the worst attractions on property. i went on the ride the first time i got to epcot as a CP in jan. '07 with high expectations, but was utterly dissappointed. the story was very bad..."where's nemo?, where's nemo?" got old real quick. the only thing going for it was the scenery, the EAC, and the end when you get to see all the real fish. if the wait is over 20 minutes, you aren't with a child under 7, or need to get out of the sun...i suggest you highly skip this ride.
"Charming"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 8  
Your "Under 7s" will love this charming attraction. The storyline is that Nemo the Clownfish has gone missing yet again and father Marlin and family friend Dory have gone looking for him along with his other aquatic friends. Again we meet Crush and Squirt the Turtle, the sharks, and even some of the Tank Gang. You climb aboard a "clam-mobile" and go along for the peaceful ride.

Through simple effects, puppetry, and lighting, the story is recreated stunningly and serenly. This is a great attraction to hit right before you go back to the resort to calm down the kids. There is also some cute humor.

But the best part of the attraction is when innovative new CGI technology is used so that it appears that Nemo, Marlin, Dory, Nemo's school friends, and Peach the Starfish are swimming in the real aquarium of the Living Seas with living, breathing fish. You won't believe your eyes!

I wouldn't reccommend this for tourists without kids between the ages of 2 and 13, but your teens may enjoy it and older couples may as well. Parents will find the expressions on their kids' faces just priceless.
"I liked it; I really liked it"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2007 by MichWolv
Rating: 8  
I had low expectations after reading reviews, but the line was interesting, and the ride was just plain fun. I enjoyed (as did my son) looking for Nemo in all the screens, the anglerfish was great, the EAC was really cool, and the technology at the end showing the animated characters in the tank was great. Not a blockbuster attraction, but one that was a lot of fun for me..
"boo."
Reviewed on Aug 09, 2007 by chels26
Rating: 3  
I was really excited for this ride. It was soo lame. And i love those cheesey kiddie rides. It was soooo disappointing. And the Queue to get to the ride was LONGER than the ride it self... One good thing about it... last year a cousin of mine told me the Narnia attraction at MGM was amazing and i just had to see it.. soooo next year i will tell that same cousin that Nemo was the BEST ride ever and that he HAS to go on it... =]
"There's much more than just the ride"
Reviewed on Aug 06, 2007 by makc
Rating: 8  
I think I was expecting too much of this attraction. After riding it once, I thought it was pretty much a zero. After a couple more times, I now would rate it as okay. Youngsters will likely enjoy it, and that’s probably the target audience anyway. I do like the EAC part and the final section where Nemo and friends are swimming with real fish.

After the ride portion, the tanks, presentations and especially Turtle Talk With Crush are quite a bit better. These raise my rating to a solid 8.
"I was hyped"
Reviewed on Jun 04, 2007 by WhyteAL
Rating: 6  
I was hyped...I love the movie...and I love the ocean should be a no brainer. But the ride could have been better it just seemed to lack sometimes. I don' know what it was missing probly more animatronics or a better story line, but I def. thinkit could have been a little better. I still enjoyed it...but thought it could be better. Maybe I was too hyped over it and that it what caused a slight dissappointment. Overall I'll rate it a 6 or maybe 7.
"Just Ok"
Reviewed on May 23, 2007 by goofy11_us
Rating: 5  
I was pretty excited going in and seeing one of disney's "GREAT NEW RIDES!!!". I thought the line leading up to the attraction was great and even the ride vehicle, but the meat of the ride, the actual ride itself, was simply OK. I am a little tired of the over-Pixaring that Disney is doing and the projection screens were ok, but not great.
"The ride was just ok. Mostly watching screens with Nemo and friends on it"
Reviewed on May 17, 2007 by fers31
Rating: 6  
It was definitely much better than the Laugh Floor though!!! Not even close.
"NEMO!!!"
Reviewed on May 12, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 7  
This ride was okay! I think the children would just love it. I was fun, but different in it's own little way. The waiting in the line part was cute. It felt like you were under water.
"Very good!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 9  
I guess I get this one and the living seas confused lol. But after all that saki in Japan it was a blur so I'll gove them both a 9 lol!!! Either way Crush was the Turtle for my kids.
"GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2007 by starwood
Rating: 9  
Seas was a really great ride. Although the Anglerfish was not working in full form it was great!
"It was just okay"
Reviewed on Mar 24, 2007 by wdwmomof3
Rating: 5  
We were there in Oct 06 when they had the soft openings for this ride. I was thrilled to be able to ride it but I really thought it would be better than it was. I love everything Disney but I wouldn't wait in a long line to see this again.
"Good revival but one minor hitch..."
Reviewed on Feb 28, 2007 by jedimaster1227
Rating: 8  
The Seas with Nemo and Friends is the former Living Seas pavilion, risen from the ashes to appeal to a new generation. With a renewal of the former SeaCabs in the form of Nemo's Undersea Adventure, guests can get closer to the tank than ever before and do so in an entertaining manner. The pavilion has now been covered in a new Nemo style facade, adding to the new look of the pavilion. The pavilion has turned out wonderfully, but my one hitch is that the emphasis on the seas has been lowered tremendously, straying the pavilion's message away from what it once was. Other than that, I have no problems with the new changes...
"Nothing special"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2007 by jaredliu
Rating: 3  
It's cute, but not that impressive. To be hoest, those projection technology maybe really something to talk about but does nothing for me, at least nothing special.
And I doubt regular visitors would feel "WOW" when they see Nemo projected in a aquarium. But the reason I gave it a 3 is that I am sick of anything associated with Pixar. That's just me.
"Awesome"
Reviewed on Feb 12, 2007 by PeterPan1031
Rating: 9  
I just rode this ride this weekend and i was expecting a little more...but I had to think of it more as a ...Finding Nemo version of a ride such as Snow white or peter pan. The begining is a little boring but i loved Surfing the EAC with crush and all the bubbles i also liked the deep see fish that moved around...And nemo and all the other fish swimming with the real fish was amazing! i still cant figure out how they did that...it was one of the coolest things ive seen.
"Good addition to the Living Seas"
Reviewed on Feb 09, 2007 by ASJHLJ
Rating: 8  
Very good ride. For the first 2/3 of the ride, I was thinking that it was an OK dark ride. I was really impressed with the animated projections and the background detail/artwork. However, I wasn't blown away until the end of the ride when it looked like the animated fish were swimming with the real fish. For me, this has a HUGE "How in the heck did they do that component?" Also, the addition of the catchy song from the Nemo musical which I had seen just a few days previous was nice.
"Ehh.."
Reviewed on Feb 07, 2007 by DisneyFaNatic1
Rating: 4  
I may be just getting old, but Disney's done much better. I expected to come out of the ride loving it as much as I love Peter Pan's Flight and Winnie The Pooh, etc., but it seemed like a very low-quality ride that didn't have enough put into it. There were no audio-animatrotics or puppets except for maybe 1 throughout the entire attraction. It just showed the computer-animated characters on screens, with underwater scenery around them. The only part that was interesting was at the end where Nemo and friends are projected so that it makes it look like they are swimming with real fish. That impressed me, but not much more did.
"The New Living Seas"
Reviewed on Feb 05, 2007 by Madam Leota
Rating: 6  
I'm so glad they put a ride back in at the Living Seas. I went in 83 to EPCOT and I remember going on an elevator down to an area where there were cars and then riding around the big aquarium.

I was so dissapointed when I returned years later to find out that now you just basically walked in and looked at the various tanks.

I enjoyed the new ride and the whole "staging" area before with the sand dunes and the "underwater" effect before getting on the ride.

The only thing that I wish EPCOT would do is to release their dolphins back to the wild. I was disturbed to see that they keep the dolphins seperated in what looks like a smaller tank and then let out into the larger viewing tank one or 2 at a time.
When I was there, after they let out just one dolphin, he swam around looking like he was so glad to be able to move more freely. Then, he went back over to the screen where another dolphin was waiting and hung out there. It was sad to see them seperated like that.
"Wonderful and Exciting"
Reviewed on Jan 31, 2007 by IcicleM
Rating: 10  
I thought the ride was very cute, and it was really cool to be able to see Dory and Marlin and Nemo and our other favorite characters swimming with the actual fish. The entire pavilion itself is filled with more life and more color and it helps children learn through Nemo, and that is what I think will keep them so fascinated with the pavilion.
"Review for 'The Seas with Nemo and Friends "
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2007 by ccmuffin2
Rating: 9  
I loved the ride I think the ride is a great addition to Epcot.The only that I was diappointed with was the Little Mermaid Glow light effect with the deep sea fang fish.I wish they had double stacked the video screens and added Dory and Marlin to that section.Cruzin with the Turtles was awsome. Just a note Enjoy the small Turtle Talk while you can before they move it to the bigger room to cut down the lines, it will lose the intimacy that makes it great.Im wondering if they are going to reopen it in the new larger room following the coming rehab.
"Fantastic"
Reviewed on Jan 27, 2007 by fudwrapper
Rating: 10  
Having only been to the Seas pavilion once before the refurb to the Nemo theme, I may not have as much to input, but I thought the changes were gtreat. The Nemo ride was one of my favorites, very good special effects, great songs, lots of fun. But the best upgrade is Turtle Talk. We were laughing so hard we were crying, then crying because it was so cute and warm! A little boy told Crush that he loved him, and the whole room just melted. Amazing technology with amazing resutls. It seems that the changes have injected some life into what I thought was a somewhat stale pavilion. It was interesting before and impressive, but not nearly as much fun as it is now. And how can you not love the seagulls out front?? :)
The Seas with Nemo and Friends (Pavilion)
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site