The Great Movie Ride reviews

Hollywood Blvd, Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 7.3 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.3  
"This Ride Needs a Major Overhaul"
Reviewed on May 08, 2014 by Elmokeys
Rating: 2  
First, let me say that the first time I went on this ride (when MGM first opened), I thought that this ride was fabulous. But that was a looong time ago. Presently, it is a good ride to take a nice cool nap in.

Can you say, "Bad Acting....." ? Well if you review the performancesof the guides and actors who do the Western/Gangster kidnapping scene and are asked what is wrong, you will have to say "Bad Acting" and "Pathetic Script" and if you are on the ride itself, you will snore in response.

So many people paying so much money and they can't update this ride? Come on, Disney! Do you realize that people under thirty will not feel nostalgic because they have never heard of Cagney, Bogart and most of the movies. I teach in a high school and my students know none of the movies and actors featured. One in one hundred students might.... Keep this around another thrity years and people will not return to this outdated ride.....
"A Classic"
Reviewed on Oct 20, 2013 by CHOCOCLATE
Rating: 9  
This was my family's first visit to WDW as a group. We absolutely loved the ride, even though some of the old gangster movies weren't really known by any of us. Our guide had a great personality, and even though we were in the back we could always hear her. The only reason I gave this a 9 instead of a ten is that little kids probably won't know many of the movies, but it is still enjoyable.
"Iconic and Classic"
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2013 by Fairybuzz (Sarah)
Rating: 8  
The ride is a bit dated, but The park wouldn't be the same without it. A ride that can go one of two stories long before the multi storied Star Tours Adventure Continues, Either Wild West bandits or A 20s-30s Gangster will take over half way through depending on which train you get. The vehicles remdind me a bit of The Universe Of Energy, with their width and their "moving Theater" Finale. The Scenes transition well, from the last even ominous sounds of Chim Chimminee Charoo to the backstreets of the depression, where youll find figures like Jimmy Cagney. Unless you break down on the tarzan section (lord help you, lol my first ride evac walking alll the way trough all the scenes to the station kinda cool but I was a kid so i got scared of the alien) The ride flows pretty smoothly. Some of the movies there may not be recognizable by todays youth, but the ride keeps its classic golden age hollywood feel and is a trip through the ages of film from short broadway like films to period pieces, to westerns, leading up to the space epics/horrors of the 80s (alien), and the great Indina Jones. Although I would have liked them to be more in order of Time of release but I can see they wanted to group some films into common areas and others in their own places that would help the storyline.
"a classic "
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2013 by grownup kid
Rating: 8  
I may be bias but I have always loved this ride! it is starting to become old but it is a classic and i always enjoy it and have great memories with my whole family. For some it may be boring but its a great ride for the elderly since all of the movies are old classics. Sometimes you do not get the best actors on your boat to play along with the script which stinks.
"Terrible performance killed fun."
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012 by Crutnacker
Rating: 2  
Another Disney Ride in need of an update and perhaps an audit of the performers. While our "Guide" was enthusiastic, her "replacement" was terrible, going through the motions and mumbling into the microphone. This ride could use a severe update. I'd say it's fun if you haven't seen it, but if you have the guide we had today, it loses whatever magic it has left.
"An excellent ride"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2012 by Disneyfan77
Rating: 8  
The great movie ride is one of my rides in Hollywood studios. I enjoyed that ride everytime I go to disneyworld with my family. My favorite parts in the ride are Gangster and the cowboy/cowgirl scene. Do I recommend this ride? Absolutely. It's action pack and A great ride for the whole family.
"good, but could use an update"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 6  
Have always liked this one, don't get me wrong, but the films they feature are often older than a good chunk of the guests that ride. I get the historical/classical aspect of these films, but let's be real, if it isn't modernized to a certain extent within the next few years you might as well stick a fork in it.
"Perfect ride for the heart of the studios"
Reviewed on Jan 18, 2011 by TravisB
Rating: 10  
This ride gives you the perfect feel for the sentiment of the park.
"Could be modernized a bit."
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by homebody
Rating: 7  
I love this ride! I know most of the movies they refer to on this one, but my son, who is six: no clue! It bores him, so I think that if they could incorporate a few modern movies, it would greatly improve the experience for people of all ages!
"great yet unrelatable at the same time."
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
this ride and fantasmic are mainly the only reasons i like going to hollywood studios. this ride is just great with all the movie scenes. the best being wizard of oz. my only gripe is i wish they would add more up to date movies. i mean i've heard of casablanca and such & can get a feel of what its about but i've never seen it. Also as we bring newer and newer generations to Disney World, these movies are gonna seem more and more like a mystery to them. Really how many little kids have seen those movies? But the wizard of oz is great as well as a couple others. the gangster part i can do without, and the alien part is scary yet still entertaining. But all in all i would NOT miss this ride on your trip. Its a definite must see as its cute & great to see how they put these movies together, even if not all are relatable to my generation. Great job Disney! =)
"Must do for any movie buff"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 8  
I really enjoyed this. The animitronic characters might not be as impressive as some (might need a refurbishment), but I loved going through the films. Highlights for me were Casablanca, Alien, and The Wizard of Oz. The tour guides seemed like they were having fun too.
"Classic, but disappointing by today's standards."
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 5  
Overall, I found it relaxing and mildly entertaining. Our guide was pretty bad and the entire ride is in need of an update--it could be really cool if it gets one! The building that houses it is really beautiful though--quite a landmark.

"Rubs Me the Wrong Way"
Reviewed on Oct 16, 2008 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 4  
Every time I ride Great Movie Ride I have a different opinion of it. One thing stays the same, however: I don't want to ride it again.

It is classic, but that doesn't mean it isn't showing it's age. The sequence in which the car is hijacked can be terrifying for youngsters, as is the alien that emerges from the ceiling to freak out AA Sigourney Weaver.

The tour guides are very good, especially in the morning when they haven't recited the script eight-billion times already that day.

My main issue with it is how few people under age 25 can identify any movie in this ride other than Wizard of Oz. I wouldn't even know Casablanca or Singing in the Rain existed if it weren't for this ride.

The animatronic technology is also weak sauce.
"fun"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 9  
great to relax, see classic movie clips presented in a new way...kids especially like wizard of oz, as well as some kids scared out of there mind, for not only this part, but most of it
"Awesome!"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2007 by DisneyFan722
Rating: 9  
This is one of my favorite rides. Its like 20 minutes long so it is good on a hot day to do and get cooled off. It is a fun ride w/ some good "shows" I loved every second that I was on this ride!
"Encore encore!"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
One of MGM's first main rides, the Great Movie Ride is still one of the best. In the waiting line, it has various artifacts from some movies and old trailers on the big screen. The ride literally takes you into the movies and you are a part of them, like when the narrater gets kidnapped. The scenes are very good and in this classic attraction. It is neccesary to visit it at least once during your stay at MGM studios.
"Love it"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 10  
This ride is just a classic. Fun for the whole family. It just brings back memories from when I was just a kid going on for the first time. I love it.
"Great Ride, badly in need of a refurbishment."
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2007 by TroyMcClure
Rating: 10  
This is one of the best dark rides Disney has ever put out, though it would be nice if they fixed it up a bit!
"Excellent!!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 7  
I found this a great ride to introduce my kids to classic movies they have never seen yet. I loved Dorothy for sure.
"A Classic"
Reviewed on Apr 21, 2007 by Skip
Rating: 8  
This is one of my favorite dark rides in all of WDW... The Great Movie Ride has a great plot and great innovation (such as the switching of your guide to a gangster or wild west robber... genius!). The fact that there are multiple scenes you can experience, plus all of the cool AA integration make this is a grand and fantastic ride. My only complaint is that the ride is showing its age and should perhaps update some of its movies (the film at the end has been updated with a few newer hits, so that's a good start).
"The worst ride this side of the Treehouse."
Reviewed on Apr 06, 2007 by Deadmanwalking
Rating: 1  
Okay, if you could ride through the treehouse this would be the worst ride. Imagine you wait in line and wait in line and the ride turns out to be one big commercial to rent various movies. Nothing special just like having to wait in line to see movie previews. If your idea of a good DVD is based on the previews and not the movie then this is the ride for you
"Great Movie Guide!"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Whilstnot a thrill ride, this has to be one of the most interesting guides to the movies.

You board huge capacity cars which keep the line to a minimum. I have never to had wait more than 10 minutes, even at Easter. Your guide takes through movie sets (yes, all your favourites), there is a little interaction and banter from other cast members joining in at various stops and of course...you meet the wicked witch from Oz! Yippeeee! A long ride, lots to enjoy, never disappointing.
"Snoozefest 2005"
Reviewed on Dec 19, 2005 by bondq
Rating: Not rated  
The only thing going for this very boring ride is the Preshow. It does a good job of building some excitement to what will be shown thereafter. There are props and display from classic movies shown and these are interesting to see. Unfortunately, there are not that many to look at.

Unfortunately, the ride itself is a GREAT WASTE of Time.

A cast member drives you thru make-shift mock movies sets of classic movies.

Unfortunately, none of the sets look remotely like their movies, nor do they evoke any suspense or similarity to the actual movies that they portray. The animitronics are boring and stiff, and the lines the "script" that the cast members read is dull at best.

The cast members are trying to build excitement in to something that is obviously boring.

The park space should be recaptured and used for something more entertaining.
"audio animatronics rule!"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
It's nice to see a traditional audio animatronics attraction done decently. I expected to be a little bit more immersed in the action - the large vehicle size sorta prevents this - but this will do. The interaction w/ your tour guide is clever and surprising for the 1st time rider. The film montage at the end of the ride is kinda lame and it's a shame they chose to use so many Touchstone films that were hits, but not breakouts and certainly not significant films. The previews in the queue were a great tribute to the films in the ride.
"Classic!"
Reviewed on Dec 04, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
One of my favorites at MGM. I love everything from the trailers in the theater (especially Singin' in the Rain) to the actual ride. The CM's also make this ride a lot of fun, given that they get into it, because I've seen some that lack energy. Anyway, I wouldn't mind some changes but for the most part I greatly enjoy this attraction!
"movie lovers!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
IT is hard to look at all of these catigories, then pick an overall rating. on first glance, it may not seem as an excellent ride, but I would differ. It does not set out to give kids the best time, nor major thrills, nor the best story line. I love this ride for the simple fact of my slight obsession with movies. I even became a film minor in college just so I had the opportunity to go and see these movies for free, to write and discuss, and to ultimatly find deeper meaning in film. I know my love of the movies started early on, but when I first rode this ride, I truely believed it was destiny for me to study film. ok, I was like 10 years old, but still. This ride will take you back from the busby berkley films to the gangster films (both which have had james cagney in them...) to our favorites in john wayne and judy garland. the best part of the ride, in my opinion, is the ending movie. now that i have had a chance to see most of the movies, I can now sit there and fully enjoy all of these performances at once, in a rush of emotion. I wish I could find a copy of this movie, so I could sit at home and freeze it frame by frame to see everything, to take everything in. after all, there is no buisness like show buisness........
"Hollywood Magic"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2003 by thedisneyfan
Rating: Not rated  
This is an awesome first ride at Disney MGM-Studios. It makes you connect to the Hollywood movie magic and should be the first attraction that anyone visits to thrust themselves into that Hollywood feel at Disney MGM-Studios. The only problem is that sometimes the audio with your tour guide is poor and difficult to hear especially during the interaction scenes. Well, ok the other problem is the lack of a post show/merchandise area at the attraction, but then sometimes it's nice not to have to exit through a gift shop.
"Take THAT, Universal!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
The theming really stands out on this ride. You really go through some classics. This is better than anything Universal has to offer. In my opinion, this is the second best attraction that is currently standing at WDW, third best ever.
"Kinda Corny in Places..."
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
but still a lot of fun! This is a great ride if you're tired and want to have a rest and view some great scenes from old movies. The only thing that might scare the more sensitive kids is a mock gun battle during the ride, and the monster from Alien. But, on the whole, it's a fun look back at some great movies. I think it would be a good candidate for refurbishment and updating.
"In Deep Need of an Update"
Reviewed on Mar 08, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
The Great Movie Ride use to bring great joy to my face to see it every year with went to Walt Disney World but as I have gotten older I just begin to realize that this attraction is in serious need of an update. The magic just isn't there like it use to be 10 years ago when the attraction first opened to the public. Now it is just average and if they don't update in a few years it is going to fall below that mark, at least for me.
"MGM'S Castle"
Reviewed on Dec 12, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
The Great Movie is a ride throughout the history of movies. It defines what MGM was, is , and should always be. I believe they should possibly update some of the scenes, but in general they should keep it the way it is. The ride is great for people of all ages.
"See the Movies!"
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
The Great Movie Ride. The name says it all. Ride the movies that we consider classics. That's the name of the game and Disney pulls it off rather well. Being able to ride through Oz, Indiana Jones, Alien, Casablanca, and many others is very nostalgic and fun for movie lovers. This ride isn't for those who do not appreciate the classic works. The lines are never bad now that the Chinese Theather it is housed in is blockaded by the giant hat. You can hit this ride most anytime of the day and have no wait. Make sure you are ready for a loooong travel though. The ride takes over 30 minutes, I believe, which is great in my book, just don't miss your reservations somewhere (like I have before :)
"Excellent and Inspiring"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I love this Disney-MGM Studios attraction. Most of the scenes are very detailled and entertaining, but a few aren't. I can see this attraction going under refurbishment (with hopefully the updating of a few scenes), but I really hope that the Great Movie Ride will continue to entertain and inspire guests for years to come. Long live the movies! It's magical, folks!
"Fun every time"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
A great ride (no pun intended!) Fun everytime you ride it and you will never get tired of it. Kid friendly too... although the Alien part may startle them (but goes by fast). Awesome ride, staple of MGM. Should not be missed.
"Lights!Camera!Action!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Lights!Camera!Action!The great movie ride is a must-ride at disney world and a classic attraction.In a good ride you need to be scared, thrilled, and have a lot of fun, the great movie ride mixes all that together. The queue line is usually not long but if your bored you can always watch the film with clips of movies from our favorite pastimes in the final queue room. The great movie ride is a great attraction, your trip to disney world wouldnt be complete without it!
"A Trip to the Movies"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great ride for movie lovers and a most see for everyone. This is a great ride to just sit back and relax.
"MGM"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
IT'S WHAT MGM IS ALL ABOUT !GREAT CLIPS FROM OLD MOVIES IS A GREAT FINISH TO A CLASSIC RIDE
"Let's Go to the Movies!"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
The Great Movie Ride is a great ride through the most famous films of the last 50+ years, covering musicals, comedies, sci-fi, westerns, etc...etc... Watch some of the best animatronic figures in all of WDW as you come face to face with John Wayne, James Cagney, Clint Eastwood, and even the Wicked Witch of the West! There is a lot of interesting background information provided, but you're usually too busy paying attention the great-looking scenes to notice. Watch out or an Alien will get you while you're on the Nostromo!
"Hooray for Hollywood"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This is what Disney-MGM Studios is all about: the magic of the movies. Guests are taken into classic scenes from films such as Mary Poppins, Casablanca, Alien and others. This ride is a thrill a minute whether having your vehical being hijacked by a live performer (a gangster or cowboy depending on which way you go) or arriving in Munchkinland complete with the lifelike Wicked Witch who appears in a puff of smoke. A must see for all guests but young children who might be frightened by many of the attractions effects.
"Ride the movies"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
One of my favorite attractions in Disney-MGM Studios. You are taken through scenes from various movies starting back before the days of John Wayne all the way up to Aliens and The Wizard of Oz. This attraction is full of audio-anamatronic characters from all different movies throughout history. This attraction is not to be missed!
The Great Movie Ride
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site