Studio Backlot Tour reviews

Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 6.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.4  
"Meh!"
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012 by Crutnacker
Rating: 4  
For a "rehabbed" attraction, this seems to be the same as the last time I was here, only worse. The opening demonstration of water effects was demolished by a young cast member mumbling his lines in a soft rush that couldn't be heard at all. The tour itself is mostly the same, down to a boneyard that's become a weathered junkyard of mostly unidentifiable junk that nobody will ever use again. Disney should kill this or make the Catastrophe Canyon into a short section of the demonstration. Since there isn't much production happening here, it seems as though they're just faking it. Maybe they should turn it into a walk through the imagineering process.
"An oldy, but a goody"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 6  
Not much has changed about this one over the years, aside from it being cut short in favor of the space LMA occupies, but it's still a fun time. Going to need some updates within the next few years to prevent it from getting stale.
"Amazing "
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2011 by VDisneyFan18
Rating: 9  
Tis ride is one of my top 20. it is a a chance to get a ton of great pictures. During catastrophe canyon when the water is pushing sooooo hard you cant see, take a picture. I have a picture of my brother smiling with the water blurring in the backround. One of my favorite pics. the only bad thing is that when they say that" now's a great picture of the Earfful Tower" therecording is late.other than that realy fun. My uncle and grandfather went and did the special effects. it was soooooooo funny. I also love riding through the costume warehouse.
"Amazing "
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2011 by VDisneyFan18
Rating: 9  
Tis ride is one of my top 20. it is a a chance to get a ton of great pictures. During catastrophe canyon when the water is pushing sooooo hard you cant see, take a picture. I have a picture of my brother smiling with the water blurring in the backround. One of my favorite pics. the only bad thing is that when they say that" now's a great picture of the Earfful Tower" therecording is late.other than that relly fun.
"Studio Backlot Tour Disappointing"
Reviewed on May 07, 2010 by EsUoM YeKcIm
Rating: 2  
After hearing of the new refurb done to the Backlot Tour, I was really excited to see what new things would be available for viewing. After riding on 4/21/10 I was very disapointed. The first scene where audience members are chosen to preform the stunt show was changed to not include any audience members as actors. It was just two cast members giving a spiel about how all the effects in movies work and how the timing has to be perfect. They ran through all effects and they ushered us on to the prop warehouse. All flat screen TVs in the scene were off.
After getting on the tram and moving through the costuming dept. about 1/2 of all windows were covered going through the building. Not much to see. Next up was a pretty sad boneyard. It's hard to believe they would actually reuse any of these items as they all were pretty well weathered.
The last and most annoying part of the whole "rehab" was found in the catastrophie canyon scene. We were in the second to last tram car, the only car that did not shake or move at all while the earthquake/water scene took place.
It was a very underwelming experience. All the little things that I loved about this attraction were either removed or broken. What was the point of the rehab? Maybe it was just an "off" day for the backlot tour, but if this is the new version, it's a depressing one!
"Shadow of it's former self"
Reviewed on Feb 09, 2010 by ptaylor
Rating: 6  
For anyone who remembers the old versions of this tour, the current rendition pales in comparison. The automated narrator, cut down route, and rotting boneyard always makes me wish the old version were still around.
"Great! "
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
The beginning where they do the special effects was really cool, seeing some of the props and costumes was really cool. Catastrophe Canyon was the best part :)
"plain awesome"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2008 by Disneygirl91395
Rating: 10  
this shows you every special effect you could ever want and its so interactive
Studio Backlot Tour
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site