Star Tours reviews

Disney's Hollywood Studios
Reader rating Reader rating 7.8 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.8  
"Very Fun and Exciting!"
Reviewed on Nov 04, 2009 by 24601
Rating: 9  
I find Star Tours to be very enjoyable! The ride is interesting, fun, and has a good story line. Although many people have felt dizziness and motion sickness on this ride I have always felt fine. I think that this is a must for all disney fans! :-)
"Enjoyed it, but I agree it's dated"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 7  
This ride could you use a facelift. But if you love Star Wars (like me) it really is worth it. You do feel like you're flying the ship and part of that world. Not perfect, but still worth a look.
"Okay--pretty fun...."
Reviewed on Mar 03, 2009 by Penguinmom
Rating: 7  
Outdated and in need of...something. :) I did enjoy it. Thought it was cute and funny and, even though I'm prone to motion sickness, the ride was too bad.
"A Must Do for Star Wars Fans!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 8  
I thought it was great! I rode by myself. It really made me feel part of the movie, if that makes any sense (probably not.)

It does need an update.
"It's dated, but still fun."
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2008 by monorail_silver
Rating: 6  
We all know it's dated and needs some TLC but it's still fun. It rarely has a line unless it's at a peak time of the year so if it has a 5 min wait or less hop in line. Now if only they could find a better star pilot than Rex, he always gets me lost.
"Once a classic and must-do - now dated"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by Spike-in-Berlin
Rating: 5  
ST was once a DHS classic and a must-do, one of the best rides of the park. ONCE! However it is definitely and severely dated now, the SFX are from the late 80ies and it shows. I only did ST once during my last stay in 2007 and I don't think I will do it again. I don't know if I would have done it at all if ST wouldn't feature fastpass and spared me from long waits. I heard WDI is working on a new version, that is actually overdue.
Do it however if you don't know it yet, if you see it for the first time, despite the dated SFX, it's still worth a try.
"great, fun"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 9  
fun, great ride to pass time, relax, as well as well as great for star wars fans
"Motion Sickness"
Reviewed on Feb 26, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 7  
I must be getting older. When I rode this as a youngster, it was fun. As I get older, this ride (and Body Wars) might start to cause you motion sickness. I'm not sure what causes this effect ... but I sould suggest the ride does not quite "fool" your body enough into thinking you are really moving. If the projection was not just out the front, this might help --- and some better air ciruculation might help as well.

My friend recently returned from going on this ride ... and he felt some motion sickness as well.

Still ... if my daughter wants to go on this, I might be taking the graval first.

The ride is well done ... looking a bit tattered (well worn) ... but still well executed, with a well themed store at the exit.

Emba 33
"We're Waiting Here!"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 7  
For 3 years now, WDI has been saying that "soon" this attraction will go on full shutdown to update it so it will be about the newest three movies. Although the current ride is witty and snazzy, it hasn't changed at all since its opening in 1989. (Even the haircuts on the tourists in the preshow are outdated.)

But for now, first time riders who haven't memorized the jokes will find that this is one of the attractions that you're happier when you got off than we you got on.
" MGM Classic?"
Reviewed on May 16, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
This ride seems very old but not really out of date. The journey from the port and back is the same but it never gets dull. Star Tours is very popular and could be called a classic. It opened soon after MGM did. The pilot has flown an awful lot of "first flights."
"Star Tours is GREAT!!"
Reviewed on May 04, 2006 by jrsyfuncpl
Rating: Not rated  
I love Star Wars. In this ride you will be in a starship. This ride isn\'t the fastest ride in the world, but you think you are inside a real starship. You will see TIE fighters, and the Death Star. At the end of the ride the rookie takes you to hyper-space.(description given by a 10year old).
"Star Chores"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Whilst there is no mistaking that this is a very good ride, once you have ridden Star Tours, a repeat ride is a little underwhelming. I have had to ride it on many occasions with various family members / friends and even though first-timers are excited, it's not so sweet the second time. Quite a rough ride, a little out-dated too..I'd love to see something more in line with Revenge of The Sith.
"Comets?.... COMETS!!!!"
Reviewed on Nov 18, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
Queue Time--Avg Star Tours can sometimes be a horrendous wait, but then other times it's empty.

Audio/Music--Excellent Well, for one it's got John Williams classic score during the actual ride. But the sound effects and overall ambience are also awesome in the queue area.

PreShow/Queue Area--Excellent. Very well done. Lots of things to look at and details to point out. Also, any Star Wars fan will appreciate the basic feel of it all. It's pre-prequel Star Wars!!

Storyline---Good. Okay, it's basically a trip to the moon of Endor gone wrong with some inconveniences along the way. (BTW-ever notice you never do get to Endor?)

Theming--Excellent. Again, the entrance alone is pretty cool. Everything in the entire show is themed well to the Star Wars saga.

PostShow/Merchandise---Excellent. As a Star Wars nut it's a cool shop to browse in. I guess for people who don't care for Star Wars it's not that great.

Thrill--Good. Although it's a bit old now, it still will get you laughing and the kids still love this ride as well.

Duration--Average. I always thought this ride should be about 2 minutes longer. It always felt a liitle too short.

Kid Friendly---Good. Kids who love thrills will absolutely love this ride. And kids who like Star Wars will want to go on again and again.

Overall--Excellent. Even though it's 19 years old now (technically it's only 16 years at WDW), it still is a must-see attraction. The whole ride is a fun romp and totally succeeds in creating a thrilling, fun and emersive experience.
"Good but needs updating"
Reviewed on Dec 04, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
I used to greatly enjoy this attraction, but over the years have visited it when I've had the time. It's fun, but I feel it needs some tuning up.
"The force with them!"
Reviewed on Dec 03, 2003 by matt88mph
Rating: Not rated  
My all-time favorite ride at WDW! I find their lack of seriousness hilarious! As both a Disney and Star Wars fan, kudos to George Lucas for creating an amazing attraction. No offense to Alien Encounter, but Star Tours is the original Disney-Lucas masterpiece!
"Good Ride..."
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2003 by blackride
Rating: Not rated  
Great ride but they need to rehab some basic things such as paint and the casts uniforms which look really old and not exactly from the Star Wars universe.... Overall a VERY fun ride no matter how many times you ride it...
"Musn't be changed"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2003 by Tahu
Rating: Not rated  
This ride doesn't need a update. The prequels aren't a good souce material for a ride. The pod race update is better for a VR thing at Disneyquest. This ride is thrilling, action packed, has a tribute to a extinct attraction(mighty microscope from adventure thru innerspace is nearly bumped into at the begining), and a pilot that really needs more training. Overall, 5 out of 5!
"To Lucas: UPDATE!!"
Reviewed on Mar 08, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
When I first went on Star Tours, I thrilled at the ride and thought I would never get tired of it. Then the years passed and now I have gotten sick of the attraction. It is just the same darn thing time and time again. Before I use to go on the ride three or four times in one day. Now I am lucky if I can bring myself to go on the thing two or three times in one trip, which is usually two weeks long. Lucas and Disney seriously need to update this attraction. Come on guys!! It has been 10 years. How about we update some of these attractions!!
"GREAT HEADLINER"
Reviewed on Mar 01, 2003 by SplashMountman
Rating: Not rated  
Great Ride all around Starwars fans youll love this or just people who like alot of action will enjoy this
"Motion sickness time"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
This is a bit dated and can make you sick to your stomach, but it is still great. The theme is great and it really captures my heart (having star wars and Disney together)
"Funny and thrilling"
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2002 by TheOneVader
Rating: Not rated  
This is a very good ride. The pre-ride theming is stunning and the post-ride merchandise has a wide selection. The ride is funny because of the robot thing. I think this is well worth the time to wait.
"Ready for v.2"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2002 by wolf359
Rating: Not rated  
I still remember how happy I was when they added a Star Wars ride to Disneyland. And I remember the 3 hour waits, too. The WDW version is even better...The queue and outside structures are really cool and offer a ton of photo ops. The ride is a lot of fun and sometimes rough and jerky. Still one of my must-rides at the studios. Still, I have to wonder how much longer before we see a new storyline?
"Fun....needs update"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Becoming a Disney classic... although is in desperate need of an update.
"Light Speed!!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Light speed!!!off we go on a journey around space, with our new pilot....thats never flown before(thats reasuring).The flight is suppose to be a routine flight to Endor....but something goes terribly wrong! Star tours is a great simulation ride, but not for the weak-stomached. Take your kids and dont leave mgm without a ride!
"NOT AGAIN"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
NOT INTO CHEAP SHAKE IN A BOX RIDES. DISNEY SHOULD BE ABOVE THIS !!
"go george!"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by robvandam
Rating: Not rated  
disney classic however ... ... needs a new storyline..
"Warp Speed!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Join C-3PO and R2-D2 on a thrilling adventure based on the Star Wars film. The star speeder takes you an a somewhat jerky ride with Endor as your planned destination. Things don't exactly goes as planned and includes a thrilling trip through the trenches of the Death Star. A great attraction.
"A very fun ride!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by steamboat_kevin
Rating: Not rated  
I love Star Tours alot because of the theming, the ride, the queue, and almost everything else! The only problem I have with it is the queasiness afterwards, it wasn't too bad, but my stomach did feel a little queasy. If you get sick easily, I don't recommend Star Tours. But if you love Star Wars and you have an iron stomach, This ride is for you!
"A Disney first"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This was the first motion simulator of its type ever. You board Star Speeders piloted by a rookie pilot. Things don't go as planned and you end up in the middle of a battle to destroy the Death Star. Make sure you don't just blow by the queue of this attraction. There is so much to see while just waiting in line. The attraction itself is exciting, and a must do for Star Wars fans. It was a little too jerky for some people, but not as bad as Body Wars. Overall, an exellent attraction!
Star Tours
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site