Splash Mountain reviews

Frontierland, Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 9.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.1  
"No Water Cannons = :("
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2011 by disneyone
Rating: 3  
Now that the water cannons are turned off It's not Quite Splash anymore..more like Trickle Mt. is more appropriate. Very disappointed with Splash now. They took away the funnest part of the ride!
"Best overall ride in MK"
Reviewed on Jul 28, 2011 by mrg1106
Rating: 10  
Splash Mountain is always fun to ride; the only real negative is that sometimes there can be a long wait. The story is great, the drops are great, it cools you off, etc.

Just an overall great ride that cant be missed.
"must do!"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 8  
One of my favs - from the music to the attraction itself. Hate the fact that you get soaked? Bring a change of clothes or wear a poncho. It's not called SPLASH Mountain for no reason. Time to be movin' along...
"The last remodel was very bad!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 04, 2011 by gandalfmjb
Rating: 5  
This use to be our favorite ride. We visitedin March 2011 and after the remodel this ride is just sad. Half of the fountains in the laughing place weren't working. On of the Geese had his head turned backwards. The new lap bars was supposed to keep the ride from shutting down, but it did just as much. But the worst part is the water cannons!! You don't even stand a real chance of getting wet anymore. The one pointed towards the crownd that use to get people wet watching just puts up a mist, and the one that hit the logs now misses. When I ask cast memebers what happened they responded that too many people complained about getting wet. IT IS A WATER RIDE FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!!! IT IS POSTED EVERYWHERE THAT YOU COULD GET WET. They need to change the signs to you used to get wet.
"Great stuff!"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by fastpass99
Rating: 9  
Even if my 8-year old son didn't want to ride it a second time, it is arguably one of the most entertaining at Magic Kingdom. I love the huge splash drop! You get wet but not that much. Use the same 1$ ponchos as for Kali River Rapids :-) A nice way to relax for a few minutes, cute animated characters along the way.
"one of the best.."
Reviewed on Jul 28, 2010 by Birdflu
Rating: 10  
couldn't be better.. you probably didn't need to be told that, though.
"Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Jun 03, 2010 by Leo!
Rating: 10  
I wish to be there again. I've been there just one time and I'm counting the days to ride it again.
"All time favorite"
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2010 by themeparkpioner
Rating: 10  
I can ride that ride for hours, it is fun at the same time just nice to ride thru. I hope they never change it.
"YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaa *splASH!*"
Reviewed on Feb 11, 2010 by mastercat999
Rating: 10  
soooo mutch FUN!!!
"By far my favorite"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by bia5ngo
Rating: 10  
This ride is probably my favorite ride i have ever been on. Everything about it just puts me in such a great mood. The music will put a smile on everyone's face, the drops are fun and exciting, and you get wet! I like the one in world better than the one in land, but the only problem is you get more wet in land.
"amazing."
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2009 by disneyxobsessed
Rating: 10  
clearly one of the best rides in all of magic kingdom. every time we go my family and i get the picture we have over 10 pictures. best ride. but you have to make sure to experience it in other areas. such as disneyland and compare.
"You've gotta love it!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2009 by stitch_lover
Rating: 10  
This is a very awesome ride! (Which thinking they will never come up with a ride about roger rabbit lol). I guess that's all... bye.
"THE BEST RIDE IN ALL OF DISNEYWORLD"
Reviewed on Jul 25, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
seriously my favorite. we rode it three times, the 5 story drop is the best. it was cool cuz we rode it 2 times in the day, and didnt really get too wet (because we didnt ride in the front seat). well our second time, we got stuck for half an hour! ugh. but to make up for it they gave us passes for a ride with no wait in line. so what did we do? we used it for splash mountain of course =) we got on a 3rd time at night...we managed to get a whole log to ourselves and we sat in the front..i'm talking soaked from head to toe! it was so fun. also they tend to tease you with a couple short drops, and 1 in complete darkness before the big one. hands down the best ride =)
"Awesome Ride"
Reviewed on Jul 09, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I love Splash Mountain it's cool and fun when to do the fastpass to this ride! Splash Mountain is favorite ride!
"Great Ride"
Reviewed on Jul 07, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 9  
Splash Mountain is by far one of the most creative ride in the Magic Kingdom. Worth the wait.

Pros)
1. Great music. Extremely catchy.
2. Amazing animatronics.
3. Thrilling but still enjoyable drop.
4. Load of fun.

Cons)
1.Long waits

9.1/10 stars
"A great version of a tried and true type of ride."
Reviewed on May 22, 2009 by marsrunner
Rating: 10  
The Disney magic is in full effect in this wonderful themed and exciting attraction. Several little dips (including one in the dark that's almost more fun than the big drop at the end) build to a crescendo as you drop down Chickapin Hill. Wonderful music and cute AAs add to the fun. A true Disney classic.
"Another classic ride"
Reviewed on Apr 19, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 9  
Obviously the best thing about this ride is the big drop (where I got SOAKED), but the boat ride is fun as well.
"Pretty fun"
Reviewed on Nov 11, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 9  
It's your run of the mill water flume ride with some AAs thrown in so it tells a nice little story. The laughin' place drop is more fun then the plunge into the Briar Patch imo. All in all it's fun but don't count on getting very wet on a hot day. Not worth more than 30 minutes in line.
"Rode by myself"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 10  
Felt kind of silly going on by myself. DW didn't want to get wet (although I only got a little splash) and she thought DD wouldn't like it. Next time I'll be taking them both on.

In the end, I was glad I went on by myself. I loved it!
"COOL! LITERALLY! "
Reviewed on Oct 03, 2008 by Disneydudett
Rating: 9  
This ride is really cool and fun. No matter what time or month you go { maybe not December } there is always a long line, but the ride is worth it. It's a good long ride and a great way to relax. With music and a classic tale of the Disney Original Movie " Song of The South" who wouldn't like it? Oh and "SPLASH" !
"Zip a dee do dah fun."
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2008 by monorail_silver
Rating: 10  
The lines can get long in peak times or on a hot day so if you go then hit this thing up early in the day. The ride itself is very entertaining, and you'll be humming the songs for the rest of the day. The final drop is always a thrill and you get some nice views of the MK and contemporary before you plunge. A must do if you are at the MK, be sure to hit the other mountains as well.
"Fantastic"
Reviewed on Jul 20, 2008 by Red Sox Fan
Rating: 10  
Entertaining and Thrilling! You will get wet. That's all right.
"Awesome!!"
Reviewed on Jun 23, 2008 by TimontheGreat
Rating: 10  
Not just a normal log ride. Caution: you Will get wet
"AWESOME"
Reviewed on May 27, 2008 by NicNac0404
Rating: 10  
The best ride ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"fun"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
This is a not to be missed attraction: make sure you get a souvinear photo of you on the ride :) if you dont like getting wet, as well as bring a change of clothes....and wait to ride when cold
"SPLASH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Feb 01, 2008 by xela9
Rating: 10  
WOOT! This is splash crazy going down 60mph and all wet wet WET! The bigger the boat is, the more the splash is fun and how you get wet I am going to sit in the frount to get all wet and soak the next time we go. lol FUN!
"Briar Patch!?"
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Yeah it is pretty much the best flume ride on the planet. Brer rabbit and friends add a lot to the overall. The laughing place is cool. The big drop is of course the main part but it would still be an 8 or 9 without it.
"A+"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 10  
What a fun attraction. This ride is the best flume ride in the world.
"Splash Mountain"
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2007 by TroyMcClure
Rating: 10  
A better ride than Disney had ever made before and probably will ever make again. Pure magic.
" Heres a tip"
Reviewed on Apr 18, 2007 by boulshock
Rating: 10  

Heres a tip. If you go in October through mid-December you can walk right on this attraction.
"Easily said one of the two best rides in WDW (this and ToT) "
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2007 by yeti
Rating: 10  
Every time I go to Disney, I have to ride this at least 5x. Splah Mountain is perfect, top standard, Disney quality. It has a perfect lenghth, perfect amount of thrills and the perfect fun for the family. Much detail put into the Audio-Animatronics that keep you amused before the huge, five story drop at the end. Included is that remarkable tale and morale of Brer Rabbit learning his true home is the Briar Patch. Clever names and catchy songs go into this ride last of all to make this the perfect ride experience.
"Splashtastic"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of the best in my eyes!

I NEVER queue for this ride...always get a fast track or ride later in the evening. If I did queue for the one hour plus, I wouldn't be disappointed...it's soooo not necessary though!

The ride itself is amazingly intricate and lasts a good 6 minutes. The hills are fun, sometimes scary, and the scenery is great. You can't help but want to ride it again and again!
"Favorite ride at MK!!!!"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride!!! From the animatronics to the big drop at the end, this is a perfect flume ride. The only bad thing is the huge lines, which can often surpass 2 hours.
"best blend ride"
Reviewed on Oct 17, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
This is my favorite "mountain" attraction at the Magic Kingdom. I really think this is the perfect blend of a thrill ride and a traditional audio-animatronic attraction. It's got one of the steepest, longest waterfalls of any ride in the world for thrills, plus the fall in the middle of the ride that is more like a dip. There are animatronic animals everwhere, and the story is quite cohesive if you're listening to the lyrics. This is one thrill ride that meets you on all levels.
"Zip-a-dee-doo-dah"
Reviewed on Mar 28, 2005 by melerella
Rating: Not rated  
I'm so happy that I decided to go on Splash Mountain. I am terrified of heights and drops, and for years, wouldn't go on. I've always wanted to though, because it looked like so much fun. I made my father tape the ride so I knew if there was anything he was leaving out when he told me about it. I went on, held on white knuckled to the bar and survived! It was so much fun. After a while you don't even feel the drop. My advice is just scream and before you can finish your scream you're already at the bottom! Fantastic ride. Great for all ages and stomach problems...lol..= ).
"YOU WILL GET WET"
Reviewed on Mar 26, 2005 by beachclub1
Rating: Not rated  
There are many things that make this attraction excelent. The time spent in line is well worth the duration of the ride. The theming and storyline are te best, along with multiple drops and even the view from the top of Splash Mountain make it a top notch attraction!
"More than just a drop!!"
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2005 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
It cannot get any better than Splash at Magic Kingdom. Sure, other attractions come VERY close...but Splash is one of a kind! Most attractions have such long lines, and the duration does not make up for it. Not so here! The lines are long, and the ride is long and very detailed, so that each time you go, you notice something new. The drop may be extremely intimidating, but it looks worse than it is. Aside from that, the attraction has MUCH more to it than the various drops. I don't know what else to say...just go ride it!
"Awesome Ride"
Reviewed on Nov 21, 2004 by Mudblood
Rating: Not rated  
Love everything about this ride. I also enjoy riding at night either during Spectromagic or Wishes.
"I love Splash Mountain!"
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2004 by WDWchic2492
Rating: Not rated  
Looking at Splash Mountain may be a bit intimidating if your a first timer. I even got scared after i'd done it twice! But just get on the ride and you'll have a blast! If you like the dropping feeling. And remember (if the weather is nice) people with poncho's are just woosy's!
"Bluebird of Happiness..."
Reviewed on Apr 25, 2004 by pvz
Rating: Not rated  
A 'Must Do', if there ever was one. From the incredible queue to the Photo Viewing area, this is my absolute favorite attraction at WDW. Lots of #1As but only one #1... If you're ever fortunate enough to be on 'The Mountain' during the fireworks, it's something you will NEVER forget!
"Purdy Good..."
Reviewed on Mar 07, 2004 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Shore As Yore Born! I love this ride! Guests get to see Brer Rabbit's escapades as they ride along in this Song of the South themed log flume ride. Don't be lulled into a false sense of security, tho, that humongous drop at the end will shore enuf settle your hash! Be prepared for the possibility of gettin' real wet! And keep an eye out for Brer Fox and Brer Bear--they out there, lurking about and lookin' to settle Brer Rabbit's hash! This Southerner highly recommends the Splash Mountain experience!
"Splash city"
Reviewed on Mar 04, 2004 by Billybob JOE
Rating: Not rated  
It's such a fun ride I reccomend people going on it.
"splashtastic!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
one of the best themed and most exciting rides in all of disney, this one should not be missed. the thrill is not just the one big drop, but there are several throughout the ride. a very good length for a water flume ride, and you can get decently wet. dont take my word for it, go on it and enjoy it for yourself!
"Fast Pass r'Bust!"
Reviewed on Nov 15, 2003 by DVCMommy
Rating: Not rated  
One of the two top-themed, and the fourth best thrill in WDW (IMHO). If you do nothing else in the Magic Kingdom, do ride this one, but make sure you get your fast pass early or you're in for a looooooooong wait. "How Do You Do.....pretty good shore as yore born"
"Brery Good!"
Reviewed on Apr 14, 2003 by SmithG
Rating: Not rated  
There are really only two downsides to this ride: 1. When it's busy and it's hot, the only thing worse than standing in the line for this ride is being on "It's a Small World". 2. 'Bigger' people will have trouble getting in and out of the flumes. (I am not 'bigger', but I am tall, which also presents a struggle) Once you get inside the ride area, the queuing is cute and fun for children. The ride itself is to be enjoyed by people of all ages, even college students! (like me!) The ride loses its 'thrill' factor after going on it a few times, but it is still a blast and a MUST ride every visit to MK.(but get there early so you dont have to wait so long, or get a fastpass!)
"Very Good"
Reviewed on Mar 01, 2003 by SplashMountman
Rating: Not rated  
You think you have been on the coolest log ride? Think again this ride will leave you on the edge on the final drop I still havent got my heart back from up there and its been 2 years....
"Just a Log-Flume Ride???"
Reviewed on Feb 06, 2003 by Lores
Rating: Not rated  
Splash Mountain is a Log Flume kind of ride, but believe me, you will compeltely forget about that when you be riding it... Great songs, funny characters and some drops get together to create one hell of a ride. You want thrills? Wait until you get to the last drop... Want some fun? Then sing along this cartoony characters who tell a tale in their lyrics. Watch the bad guys torture the good rabbit before the fall, after that, the good triumphs over evil, an always-good moral of a fable for children...
"Long strange fun trip!"
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2002 by BeckyPoC
Rating: Not rated  
Splash Mountain has become my favorite MK ride! It's right up there with Pirates and the Haunted Mansion. The drop isn't really all that scary, and it's what happens after the drop that separates Disney from Six Flags, Paramount etc. Most Americans under age 40 aren't familiar with "Song of the South" due to supposed racism in the film; I've never seen it. The Brer Rabbit chase story could be explained better in the queuing area. As it is, the goofy visuals combined with the banjo music makes the ride seem like one of Jerry Garcia's more interesting dreams! Loads of fun, and I'd go on it all day if I could.
"Theres sunshine headin to splash"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by imagineergurl
Rating: Not rated  
Ok so this ride isnt as much fun as when we were 5 and the drop looked a hundred feet tall.But its still a classic and though you dont get really wet its great and my favorite all time ride!The theming is spectacular and its a really cute ride. No matter how long the line its definitely worth the wait,this has to be a top 5 ride
"One of the Kingdom's Best"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2002 by MRTJ1994
Rating: Not rated  
One of the best rides in the Magic Kingdom. Splash Mountain is the perfect blend of color, theming, music, boat ride, and thrill ride. The brilliantly designed interior is an attraction by itself. The Brer Rabbit story progresses throughout the ride to add to the interest. The music is uplifting and lots of fun. Of course, the ride itself offers a nice trip along the water with the slow build-up to the final thrilling drop. And smile for the camera! Don't even think about leaving without an on-ride photo. Years later, it will be priceless. A major attraction that is well worth the wait!
"It is worth getting wet"
Reviewed on Oct 09, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
Thi is the bestlog flume you will ever ride. The structur of the mountain is great. The show is wonderful and it has the most addicting song out of any attraction. The drop is really not that bad and everyone from one to a hundred should ride this attraction.
"Fav Ride At MK"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
This is my fav ride at MK! This is also the best log flume type ride i've ever been on. It is a great Disney ride-it mixes super animatronics with big drops. Kids will love the cute animals and songs and teens will like the drop. It is worth waiting for too because the line has things to look at and the ride itself is very long.
"A Top Ten Attraction"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by Bryy2001
Rating: Not rated  
Splash Mountain is the best log flume attraction on the planet, it really is. It's a long (about 10-11 minutes) has multiple drops and has a great story with unbelievable music. It's one of my favorites, Splash Mountain rocks.
"the ride"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE MOTHER OF ALL RIDES. IT HAS APEAL TO ALL AGES - THE LENGTH, THE MULTIPLE DROPS AND ENJOYABLE THEME MAKE IT GO TO THE TOP OF THE LIST. E-TICKET NIGHTS LIMIT THE WAIT TIME AND THE VIEW OF THE CASTLE IS AWESOME!!
"Top Water Ride"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2002 by SJTSmith
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great ride all around. The scenes through out the ride are well done and the music is great.
"Zip-a-Dee Doo Dah Day!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Big Pooh
Rating: Not rated  
One of the top 5 attractions in all of WDW, Splash Mtn is a great adventure through a wonderful story. The drop looks a LOT worse than it really is, so don't miss the other 11 minutes of the ride worrying about the drop. A Disney Classic, Splash is on my list of not to be missed attractions.
"Happy Place"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Splash Mountain is an excellent place to cool down on a hot day. The story line is great as is the music. Theming is fantastic. Only down side is the usual long waiting time... but thats what fast pass is for!
"Colorful and Uplifting"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by MaryJo
Rating: Not rated  
The waits are usually long, but then so is the ride! This is one of the best ride vs wait values in the park.
"Splash-tacular"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This attraction is not just a flume ride, and not just a dark ride, but an enchanting combination of the two. The storyline is based on the film "Song of the South" and the Uncle Remus tales of Joel Chandler Harris. The story scenes are elaborate and filled with animatronics from singing frogs to Brer Rabbit who actually hops. The drops are somewhat fun as well, but the highlight is definatly the big one into the briar patch. Definatly a must see.
"Does it get any better??"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
Does it get any better than Splash Mountain? I've been trying to think of anything that Disney offers that blends so much of what Walt himself inspired in us all and a need for thrill that next generation theme park visitors are thristy for. The story is easily understood, the animatronics are incredibly designed, and the theming for this flume ride is breath-taking. You have to be appreciative of the look of the mountain as your approach it. The songs are catchy and classic. The drop at the end of the ride is steep, but not excessively scary. As I mentioned before, a perfect blend of Walt's vision and thrills. I could ramble on for days about how this one ride is the "best", but you have to ride it for yourself!
"Mediocre but Worth Riding"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Splash Mountain is vastly overrated. It's definitely not a great ride, but it's not awful, either. I'd call it mediocre. One point against it is that it's based on The Song of the South, the story of Brer Rabbit, a story rarely known to children. Sure, the inside theming is well-done. You're completely surrounded by the story of the ride with the typically impressive Disney animatronic figures. The ride contains the typical false-drop, much like Pirates of the Caribbean, where you're fooled into thinking the drop you're on is the main one or is longer than you think. Finally the 52 ft. final plunge really isn't anything to write home about. Sure, it's a nice size drop, but you hardly get more than a few sprinkles of water on you and then the ride is over. It's worth riding if you've never done it before or if you're just in the area, but it's not on my list of must-see attractions.
"Exceptional!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
More than just a flume ride. WAY more than just a flume ride. Following the tale of Brer Rabbit and Brer Fox, this ride entertains and thrills en route to an exciting (and wet!) conclusion. "Zip a dee do dah ..."
"Satisfactional Fun!"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
Probably the best Disney attraction in a decade, Splash Mountain appeals to many audiences, making it one of the most well-rounded attractions at the park. Follow almost a hundred Audio Animatronics critters through the story of Brer Rabbit and Brer Fox...you'll laugh at the story...but scream at the drop! This attraction is breathtaking and is a must see for those high enough and in good health.
"Fantastic theming!!"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Main Street USA
Rating: Not rated  
There are a ton of things that make this attraction one of the best. The time spent in line is time well spent. Not only does the duration of the ride itself make up for queue time, the theming, multiple drops, and even the view from the top all come together to make Splash Mountain great!
Splash Mountain
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site