SpectroMagic reviews

Magic Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 9.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.4  
"Lights, Colors, Music...MAGIC!!"
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2013 by Ian Bula
Rating: 10  
I beg to differ from all those who dislike SpectroMagic! I have seen both Spectro and MSEP and I gotta say I enjoy both of them very much! I think MSEP is fun and the music (I admit it may be a little annoying as the music tracks from every float are always similar in melody and sound) but overall is upbeat and it makes me tap my foot to the rhythm xDDD! But on the other hand, I have seen Spectro since I was a child and may I say the music is by far better. It's much more dramatic, more grand and just... magical! I just love the idea that along with the spectacular score, the parade presents the concept of magic being spread everywhere by the power of the light of the stars and it's just so AMAZING how it all is as the technology is more modern, floats dazzle in bright, color changing lights and the music just takes me away on a magical journey through the stars as I hear the majestic trumpet fanfare of the main theme as well as the sweet symphony of "Once Upon A Dream", the dramatic melody of "Part Of Your World" and also the strong impact of "Toccata" (Chernabog's theme)! The Spectromen singing and bouncing around, Mickey fueling up the magic on the glass ball, all the characters enchanting the crowds, everything!!!!! It's my favorite parade and it will always be!
"It's the best"
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2010 by spectromagic04
Rating: 10  
It's always been my favorite parade of all time. The music is the best.us
"Terribly outdated compared to new Electrical Parade in California."
Reviewed on Sep 17, 2009 by Midwester1976
Rating: 6  
This summer I got the opportunity to see Spectromagic at the Magic Kingdom and Electrical Parade at California Adventure. I must say even without the new update of Electrical Parade it still looked better than Spectromagic did. Spectro screamed 80's. The disco balls everywhere and the tvs showing with tinkerbell flying on them. I was shocked. I have only been to WDW about 5 times and been to DLR about 10, but it seems like Disney in California gets the better parades. Electrical Parade now has tinkerbell and LED lights and everything just looks so fresh and very clean. I thoroughly enjoyed Electro at California Adventure a lot better than Spectro.
"Disney Does it Again"
Reviewed on Aug 13, 2009 by jtizzle1023
Rating: 9  
A one of a kind parade that is not to be missed
"awesome"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
amazing. all the lights, music,and characters is every childs dream come true
the best parade at magic kingdom
"Spectacular!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Spectromagic is the greatest parade in all of WDW. The lights are amazing. The soundtrack is good and the characters are put into the experience well. Spectromagic rules, even if you don't like parades very much, it is worth checking out!
"Brillant in Every Meaning!"
Reviewed on Sep 11, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 10  
Imagine Cinderella's carriage streaked in Christmas lights... but designed by Disney lighting artistans! Impressive technology and stunning presentation - this is one of my fav Disney parades. Not to be missed.
"Outstanding."
Reviewed on Mar 04, 2007 by simonandlaura
Rating: 10  
We have been to WDW 11 times and never ever tire of this fantastic parade. The music is uplifting, the sets sensational and the chrarcters timeless. We plan to use the music at our wedding next year as its so magical!
"Lights out!"
Reviewed on Mar 05, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
An excellent show which eats up a hiddeous amount of electricity!! I often wonder if other cities nearby black out as a result... anyway....people line the streets for this up to an hour or so in advance which I can never be bothered to do, so I tend to have off a lamp post or sit on a bank of grass or something...ooops...fantastic floats and wonderful colours / lights make this exciting and one to see during your stay. Keep kids close by as it is VERY busy and, of cours, dark! Don\'t forget your cameras!
"Grows on you."
Reviewed on Nov 14, 2005 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
Audio and visuals are top-notch. The lighting on the floats are extremely well done.

I can see how a lot of people might not like this parade, though. There's not as many Disney characters involved and the parade isn't as interactive as it could be.

I will say I hated it the first time I saw it. But--it grew on me after repeat visits to Disneyworld. I think by the third trip I grew to love the show. Now I can't imagine the Magic Kingdom without it now!
"Beautiful Music"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2005 by mickey5888
Rating: Not rated  
This parade is absolutely amazing! The first thing I should mention is the beautiful music played throughout the parade. The music is so beautiful that I bought the CD and I play it a lot at home on my ipod. It cleverly incorporates music from multiple movies, using a full orchestra to make it sound classical.

The parade is very extravagant, and it seems very dramatic because of the music. After watching this parade, the Main Street Electrical Parade in Disneyland seemed kind of plain and dull. It lacks the soundtrack as well as the variety of characters (some Disney, somee created specifically for the parade) and floats that Spectormagic has. Spectromagic seems more innovative and magical than MSEP, but that may be just because of the music. Then again, sometimes it just takes music to change an entire tone of the parade.
"Worst Parade Ever!"
Reviewed on Apr 02, 2005 by Wannabe Walt
Rating: Not rated  
This parade doesn't hold a candle to the Main Street Electrical Parade! SpectoMagic is not near Magic! It is absolutly horrible!
"Voodoo in the Music"
Reviewed on Jan 09, 2004 by NashvilleMouse
Rating: Not rated  
I have the music on CD and every time I listen to it I am tempted to go online and buy tickets to the park for another visit. I swear, there is something magical about the music. The parade is wonderful. My 51 year old father would like nothing more to be a character in the parade, he loves it so much. I hope it will be around long enough for my kids to see it.
"The Sparkling Sensation"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2003 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I wasn't TOO wow'ed by Spectro Magic. For some reasons, I didn't find the transitions that good, the music seeming to fade out and in without much of a transitory background. The sets were nice, I admit, but I didn't feel they were too 'magical.' Fun? Yes. Except for those EVIL things at the beginning. Those things are EVIL. Ugh. Yuck. Go away. Eaugh. Magical though. I'm actually listening to the beautiful theme song as I play it.
"Worth the early seating"
Reviewed on Apr 17, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
Great parade, but like all at Disney get a seat early! At least an hour before or you will be out of luck. Starts slow but builds to the ending with some nice lighting effects including color changing floats.
"Not MSEP...But Still Good"
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2003 by Tigger Boing
Rating: Not rated  
While MSEP is a classic, this parade is still good. I enjoyed it...though the "white-faced" characters that intro the parade are a bit scary! :eek: A very good replacement for MSEP!
"Not Even Close to MSEP"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
SpectroMagic is okay. That is all. Just okay. I have always hated that this thing replaced the Main Street Electrical Parade not just in 1991 but also in 2001 after the Millennium Celebration was over. The music is catchy. The characters are good. The floats are okay but nothing spectacular. They could have really updated this during the time it was down for the Millennium Celebration but all they did was replace Rodger Rabbit with the Genie on that music float. Could be a lot better.
"My Favorite"
Reviewed on Dec 23, 2002 by goofyfan13
Rating: Not rated  
This is by far my favorite parade anywhere!! The music is basically my favorite part of the whole parade, when that first trumpet fanfare hits I get shivers. I just wish it was a little easier to find a decent spot to view the parade if you wait till the last minute like me.
"Second Best Disney Parade"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by DarkImage4
Rating: Not rated  
In conjunction with Fantasy in the Sky, this is "the way" to end your day at the MK. Spectromagic only rates behind the "Tapestry" parades at Epcot as the best parade at WDW. This is fun and imaginative, the definition of WDW.
"cool"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by disneyanna0521
Rating: Not rated  
This is soooooooo cool!!!! i really enjoy it...the music is really cool!!
"MAGIC"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
A GREAT DISNEY SHOW !THE FIBER OPTICS LIGHTING ALONG WITH THE MOOD SETTIND MUSIC WAS ENJOYED BY THE WHOLE FAMILY.THE BEST PLACE TO SEE IT IS AT FRONTIER OR LIBERTY SQUARE.IF YOU HAVE TEEAGERS WHO ARE ABOVE PARADES THEY CAN DO SPLASH MOUNT.WHILE THE LINES ARE SHORTER.
"Classic Dieney Parade"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
One of Disney's greatest parades is an adventure in pure fantasy. A large cast of characters, elaborate floats, and beautiful music. Perhaps the only complaint that can be made for the parade is it's repetative nature in charcters, making it seem that each unit besides the first and final unit has only three or so characters, plus many more extras like the ostrages in Fantasia, dragonflies in Sleeping Beauty and SpectroMen at the begining inseteed of having a larger variety of characters. Perhaps a small complaint for a truly spectacular parade.
"Best Nighttime Parade"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by DogsRule!
Rating: Not rated  
I just love this parade. I just LOVE the music for this parade, and the light changing effects present on the Sleeping Beauty and Grand Finale floats are truly impressive..not to mention that I love the Chernabog float! Truly a whimsical parade that all will enjoy!
"AMAZING!!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This is THE BEST light parade ever. The floats are just beautiful. They use fiber optics and color shifting lights to make an amazing and beautiful parade. The music is very nice and goes with the parade well. The finale can't be beat as it changes from all white to a myriad of colors before your eyes. Don't miss it!
"A Proud Sucessor"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by MKCustodial
Rating: Not rated  
I may be a bit biased, so maybe that's why I gave it an Overall Good while I gave MSEP an Excellent. But this a cool parade, and it has a special touch to it: some of the units and characters change colors during its presentation. I gave an Average to Kid Friendly only because this one has more Villains (Ursula and Chernabog, to name a couple) than MSEP, and those Spectromagic puppets can be weird. And since it's in the dark, you may wanna keep the very little ones close by.
"Spectromagic!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by mktiggerman
Rating: Not rated  
Spectromagic Review- With the enough power in it to run a small town, and enough lights to illuminate hundreds of airport runways, Disney’s Spectromagic, in the Magic Kingdom, is a delight for Disney fans of all ages. Before the first float hits main street, the ambience started by the park audio and lighting effects will get the mood in the Magic Kingdom right for this festival of lights. However, be forewarned, if you have small children that are easily frightened, the minute before the parade may be a bit intense, so be there to comfort them (and save therapy bills down the road). Once the parade begins, you are listening to the ‘Spectromagic Fanfare’ played out by the Spectromen on the trumpets, and the then the title float passes you. There is no mistake- you are watching Spectromagic. Finally, the beginning must come to an end, and no one better to say goodbye to this unit, but Mickey Mouse himself. After that, comes the Silly Symphonies unit, which is a tribute to the Silly Symphonies of the 1930’s, which Walt Disney helped make famous. The parade is finished out by a Sleeping Beauty unit (which sadly enough, Princess Aurora, THE Sleeping Beauty, is missing from), a Little Mermaid Unit (awesome unit, especially when Ursula tries to find some more “friends) and the Finale Unit, (which features the second largest Character Cavalcade in any Disney parade). All in all, this parade is a Must-See for any WDW visitor, first time or millionth time. Some points of advice, while Main Street offers the most popular view, if you catch the parade in Frontierland or Liberty Square, you may find yourself a little less crowded.
SpectroMagic
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site