Spaceship Earth reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 9.1 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.1  
"Not enough"
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2013 by Tim
Rating: 4  
Slow! Nice if you want to get out of the heat... For one of the most recognizable structures on earth it's not enough! I hope Disney makes it into something amazing someday!
"Pleasantly Surprised"
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2012 by jharvey
Rating: 9  
Finally, on my 5th trip to WDW, I rode SSE. As a certified coward, I always assumed it would be scary. To anyone who has experienced SSE this was obviously a silly thought. The AA could probably use an update and the audio could use a little tweaking. This took nothing away from enjoying the experience. And with the large ride capacity, this is an easy ride to hop on with minimal waits.
"I Like It"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2011 by Lights83
Rating: 10  
I honestly like this ride. It's pretty interesting. Would go on it again for sure.
"Not bad, I hope they finish it. "
Reviewed on Dec 19, 2010 by themeparkpioner
Rating: 10  
Most people hate the new version but I like it. All thou the old ending had way more scenery and trust me I miss it I feel it was a bit sloppy. I like how we get to make our own futures at the same time I wish there was some scenery before the screen clip. The beginning and the ending effects are pretty sharp looking now if they can get some scenery to go with it.
"Classic EPCOT Center in every way!"
Reviewed on Jun 23, 2010 by mandstaft
Rating: 10  
This attraction is the kind of in depth one that EPCOT Center used to be filled with. Still terrific and a must see.
"The golf ball is a ride??"
Reviewed on May 11, 2010 by MBAlwaysDisney
Rating: 10  
It took me a while to realize that the Epcot icon was a ride, but that's just because I'm not the brightest Disney fan out there :p The new ride is alot of fun because they personalize it with your picture. The touch screen was a really good idea and it adds alot more fun to the ride. This ride is really good to cool off and rest after a long, hot day in Epcot. Overall, I like it alot.
"Im done with spaceship earth"
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2009 by vintageepcot
Rating: 1  
They used to have the most amazing fiberoptic display along with all those amazing props now its a little screen and a dark tunnel I am so disapointed I wish there was more on the way down I was very upset. I miss the old music and all the diplays surounding on the way down the screen dosnt do it for me.
"backwards. yikes."
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by 
Rating: 10  
also i'd like to add, this ride is not for people afraid of closed spaces or not being sitting right up the whole time. whew. staring at the touch screen helps haha. also this ride seems to stop often for letting on disabled riders, i dont like that part because if i ever get stopped where i'm coming back down backwards practically laying down i will freak out haha. But this ride is so good i'm willing to take that risk.
"the update is much better"
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
so we went in 2003 before its recent update & i dont know why it seemed scary then. but going in jan. of 09 it was so much better. i like the added touch screens where u design your own future. and at the end where u see yourself on the globe & can send your video & card and stuff to an email address so u can watch it back home. GREAT IDEA. i hope they never change it again. its perfect like it is now =) and can i just say that view of the earth right before u turn around to go back down (backwards) is just amazing. i wanted a picture but it didnt turn out right. but seriously coming around that turn to see the earth as you are coming back down our mouths just dropped. beautiful. even though its fake its still beautiful lol. we rode this twice. Definitely a must ride.
"I owe this ride a lot!"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2009 by jaques21
Rating: 10  
If it were not for this ride, i do not know how my life would have turned out to be. Because of this ride i fell in love with history. the new revamped version is good too, love the interactive part(Horizon like). I hope it never goes away!
"New and Improved"
Reviewed on Jul 07, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 9  
I just recently saw the new attraction and I must say my expectations were met. The show's new technology and score along with updated show scenes were brilliant in every respect. Even the narration was fun. Educational and unique.

9.0/10 stars
"Classic"
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2009 by RoRo
Rating: 10  
This ride is a perfect Disney classic with good theming, excellent story, and it is timeless. This is my favorite ride in WDW.
"This spheroid and the ride within it are both everyone's favorite Epcot attractions."
Reviewed on May 16, 2009 by oldgeezer
Rating: 10  
The non-threatening, slow ride through the history of communications is just what we older guests need to be entertained while we rest our feet and legs. The quality of this presentation is very high and is a good example of Disney's applied talents at their best.
"Loved this!!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2009 by leafs fan
Rating: 10  
First ride I went on at Epcot and I absolutely loved it. After a week of thrills, it was nice to go on a historical and informative. They did a WONDERFUL job making this interesting, which is great for kids. The final part of the ride is beautiful as well. I also loved the video of our future and the postcards after the ride is finished.
"Good Ride Just Got Better ..."
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 10  
Spaceship Earth was a good ride, with animatronics ... and tells the story of communication from the cave man to the future. Each vehicle now has touch screens ... I don't want to give it away ... but let's just say, it makes this ride a perfect 10. The animatronics are great.

I suggest hitting this ride any time in the evening ... as most people hit this ride first ... since it is the first thing they come across. These days, I would suggest getting a Fastpass for Sourin ... if that is a ride you want to see.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"Wonderful Ride"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by friendnc
Rating: 10  
Very relaxing and interesting. Seldom is a long wait due to the moving load platform; keeps things moving. Always look forward to going on this ride.
"Jouney with us now to the dawn of recorded time..."
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Spaceship Earth IS EPCOT. It's the park icon and the best non thrill ride in the park. It really has been around a while but never gets old. Spaceship Earth is a must ride and the longest that I've had to wait in line was 5 minutes (in the winter season only). We'll have to see how the refurb goes and what is added to this masterpiece.
"the best ride"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2007 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I can't wait to see the new Spaceship Earth Ride.
"bravo a great classic "
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by epcot12
Rating: 9  
spaceship earth well its one of the originals of epcot and would be missed but its not for a thrill seaker


the line: gets a 10 for always being so darn short
"Inside The Ball"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Let's not beat around the bush, the main reason for boarding SpaceShip Earth is not because of the story through ages, although this is endearing. You just wanna get inside that big ball! And my God it is neverending inside! The ride lasts roughly 6 minutes and you wonder where they pack it all in. Think Dr Who and you might not get so freaked out.

A memorable voyage, if not sedate.
"Retro fun"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
This is the last great animatronic ride left at Epcot. Horizons and World of Motion are gone, the original Journey Into Imagination gone (though I admittedly never went on it). Universe of Energy is still up, but the dinosaur segment is just a part of the overall experience.

A while back, they were going to try to gut Spaceship Earth of the original ride and put in a thrill ride. As it turned out, the structural integrity of the sphere would have been compromised as the ride itself helps support the sphere from collapsing, so they ditched the idea. While I'm sure the new ride would have been good, I'm really glad they kept the old one, because it's one of my favorite dark rides.

The theme is the evolving of human communication, and it's quite appropriate for the interior of a structure meant to symbolize our planet itself. As the Epcot icon(or "weenie" in Disney-speak), I appreciate that this ride really ties in together all the themes of the various pavillions (or used to anyway) and the underlying implications of World Showcase.

If nothing else, it's nice to see animatronics old-school style. Not that there's anything wrong w/ more recent animatronic technology, but it's fun in a retro sort of way.
"Wonderful"
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
A true classic at Epcot! Very relaxing, and very informative. The only problem is that it can feel kind of rough sometimes. But after 20 or so years, that's to be expected. A rehab is in order for that aspect and perhaps the ending. Otherwise, it's just a wonderful ride.
"A classic!"
Reviewed on Aug 12, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Because it's housed in Epcot's signature structure (the giant golfball), and is right at the entrance, Spaceship Earth attracts visitors like a magnet attracts iron filings. You'd probably do better early in the morning to go ride some of the more in demand rides, like Test Track and Mission: Space, and then come back to this fascinating look at the history of communication. As always, Disney has outdone itself in the creation of animatronic characters. It's a sedate, dark ride, but interesting.
"Best Ride Ever!!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2003 by headmouse2000
Rating: Not rated  
This is probably one of the most classic rides in disney right behind Carrosel of Progress.
"Awe Inspiring."
Reviewed on Jul 03, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
Wow. This ride is simply amazing. Though I feel that it is unfair to have to review the "Thrill Rating" portion of this ride- a ride that deserves five stars all the way. It is impossible with these review ballots to give any ride 5 stars, because of the thrill and kid friendly portions. If it's thrilling, it can't be kid friendly. If it's kid friendly, it's probably not thrilling. It should read "Thrilling and/or Kid Friendly." Just one man's opinion.
"Kinda fun, kinda boring"
Reviewed on Mar 25, 2003 by BenS
Rating: Not rated  
The ride is sort of fun, but it just gets boring after the first 5 minutes. And I find it hard to believe that Disney can't spring for a can of WD-40, because that ride system is LOUD!
"Epcot's Landmark"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2003 by wdwking
Rating: Not rated  
This ride will catch your attention as soon as you enter Epcot. Some may call it dated, but to me it is one of my favorites. It tells the story of communication and how it has evolved during the human race. It's a classic.
"The Golf Ball"
Reviewed on Oct 11, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
I never quite understood how you could dislike this attraction. It is not a roller coaster, but either is 95% of the attractions at WDW. This is Classic Disney. The Audio-Animatronics are marvelous. It is just a fun and interesting ride. Plus I love the fact that everyone you talk to about it has got "stuck" in it before.
"most boring ride EVER!!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 05, 2002 by Brooke
Rating: Not rated  
OMG I WOULD RATHER BE SHOT THAN GO ON THIS RIDE!! Maybe because i'm a teen, I guess if I was old or something I may have liked this but I just CAN'T go on this ride. I just CAN'T stand it. It's 3213214342 minutes too long and 321431243254 times too boring. I know EPCOT is supposed to be about learning and stuff but this is rediculous. SO BORINGGGGG!!!!!! Oh, but it's pretty to look at from the outside.....:-/
"Epcot Classic"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2002 by Buzz Lightyear
Rating: Not rated  
I give it an overall excellent even though it is not the most exciting ride in the park, but b/c it is a ride that stands the time and is still great even today.
"A Permanent Attraction"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2002 by nineinchnailsmk
Rating: Not rated  
Spaceship Earth has always been my favorite ride. This is a ride that will live on forver. It is for people of all ages, but kids may not find it as interesting as young adults or adults. Excellent ride, I hope it never goes away. (It really cant since its an Epcot Icon, however the inside of the ride could always change)
"Extremely Well Done"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This is an attraction to be admired. For what it's trying to do (explain the past, present, and future of communication), it is impressive. Queues are 2-3 times longer in the morning than they are in the afternoon.
"Great Ride"
Reviewed on Sep 05, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Going on the Spaceship Earth ride is a no-brainer...you simply have to do it. Why? Well, not only for the fact that it's a very interesting, very relaxing attraction with almost no wait due to it being a constant-loader, but also to say to your friends back home "I got to ride in the big golf ball!". It details the history of communication in a ride that spins forward to the top of Spaceship Earth and then backwards to the exit. There's a lot of great detail in the different time periods as well as in the animatronics and visual effects. Not to be missed.
"Terrific!"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
Epcot's signature attraction is also it's best. Outstanding detail is this ride's strength. I notice something new every time I ride. The last of the original EPCOT omnimover rides, SE has fairly short lines most of the time and is long enough to be worth a wait. Another point: SE is one of the few rides I can think of to be updated, and made better, WITHOUT destroying the feel of the original ride. You still get all of the older ride on the way up, and the newer stuff on the way down. I do wish they still had Walter Cronkite doing the audio, but even so, this is classic Disney. A Must See
"FIRST STOP"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
THE EPCOT ANCHOR, A LITTLE OUT DATED BUT A FIRST MUST SEE EVERY TRIP TO GET US IN THE DISNEY FRAME OF MIND.
"First Stop"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Great ride that should be your first stop at Epcot. Never gets old, and you will never forget the smell of Rome burning.
"Communication at its best"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
"Like a grand and miraculous spaceship, our planet has sailed through the universe of time. And for a brief moment, we have been among its many passengers. From the very beginning, we have always sought to reach out to one another ... to bridge the gaps between us ... to communicate."-Spaceship Earth Jeremy Irons Spaceship earth is a great ride to sit, lay back, and relax for an interesting story of our planets communication. The story of communication starts in early prehistoric time and works its way even into the future. At the end of the ride you get to experience some communication of your own! Spaceship earth is a favorite of young and old alike, without riding it your trip wouldnt be complete.
"Magnificent"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by turkey leg boy
Rating: Not rated  
Not to be missed. It's a great ride. One of the best in all of WDW.
"A Disney Landmark"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This is, technically, one of the greatest attractions in all of EPCOT. The ride takes guests into the giant geosphere and through time to see the history of communications through elaborate sets and a large cast of animatronic characters from the days of cavemen through the future. The ride, though astonishing, can however seem a bit dull at some times and is not the most exciting attraction Disney has to offer. Definatly woth a look, but don't be expecting a thrill-a-minute or a remarkably humourous adventure.
"Magnificent!"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
Spaceship Earth is one of the few remaining EPCOT attractions I can give out directly as a "Five Star". The special effects and musical themes are beyond words! The climax (in space) has such an emotional appeal on me...and the finale themes...you'll just have to ride this attraction on your own to believe it!!
"A favorite"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by gjpjtj
Rating: Not rated  
This is a jewel @ EPCOT. The storyline of traveling through the ages, following communication is very interesting. The audioanimatronics are very detailed, and the special effects are neat. Oh yeah....and besides all that you're inside Spaceship Earth!
Spaceship Earth
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site