Soarin' reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 8.6 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 8.6  
"Awesome ride"
Reviewed on Jan 03, 2014 by Claudia
Rating: 10  
I visited all four parks this week and I must say this was one of my favorite rides! Get a fast pass as it is a very popular ride.
"I should have checked first"
Reviewed on Nov 25, 2013 by Scaredy cat
Rating: 5  
I was dumb and did not heed the warnings that were posted about those who are afraid of heights should avoid this ride.Because I did not heed those clearly posted warnings, I was literally TERRIFIED. and shook up for several hours afterwards.

I can ride in a plane just fine or anything else that is enclosed but I could not handle the fact that my feet were dangling in mid air or that we were just barely strapped in with a seal belt that only goes around the waist and yea, that it was 40 feet off the ground. Some day someone is going to faint and fall out, or a child is going to flip out of that thing and potentially die. A bar across the front of us like most rides would have helped, along with something to hold onto when the movie makes us dizzy.

I also wish there was an option to sit on a bench on the floor like they offer at Universal Studios for some of their rides or a nice safe balcony because the movie and scenery looked gorgeous , at least on those brief moments when I was able to peek with one eye open. I would have loved to have seen the whole thing b/c I love California. I hate that I am afraid, and that there are so many rides that deal with heights. No fun for us chickens.

For those of you who are not afraid of heights, this ride /movie experience is so worth the wait. My family thinks its the best!
"Breathtaking!"
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2013 by Goofy5745
Rating: 9  
This is the most amazing ride I have ever been on! Being lifted so high makes it feel like you truly are flying! I love smelling the pine trees as it makes it seem even more real! We were lucky to get fastpasses for this a couple weeks ago. When we went it seemed like we not going to be able to get any. Luckily a elderly couple stopped and gave them to us! This is a ride that I would ride over and over again! This is something I look forward to every single trip! Sorain rocks!
"Just me?"
Reviewed on Feb 14, 2013 by DereMotive
Rating: 3  
Ill be honest: This ride did not impress me OR my family. The ride basically is you laying on your belly while you watch some video of California., while hanging around twenty feet in the air. The effects are minimal and really, waiting for this ride as long as two hours is just ridiculous. The lines are also just as ridiculous., so if you ARE going to go on this ride, you better get a fast pass.
"Time to upgrade to digital. "
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2012 by Crutnacker
Rating: 9  
This is probably the best ride in EPCOT, but a general lower standard of maintenance I noticed this year also applies to Soarin'. The film and/or projector is filthy, and as debris flies through the projector, it gets blown up to proportions that look like birds in the distance. This cheapens the experience somewhat. Perhaps it's time for Disney to figure out a way to do this attraction without having to use film.
"AWESOME!!!"
Reviewed on Mar 18, 2012 by nfl548
Rating: 9  
This is probably the best ride in Epcot. You are suspended above the floor in a "Han-glider" type vehicle and are in front of a giant screen very similar to an i max screen. There are a few things that you must know before riding this though. Wait times average from 30 minutes to 1 hour, which is why you must get a fast pass for this right when you enter the park. I did it and only had an about 10 minute wait while the regular queue was about 70 minutes. You also should skip this one if you have even the smallest fear of heights. You really get the feeling that you are flying. Still, this is one of the most advanced rides I have ever been on and I look foward to it every time I visit Epcot.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2011 by Lights83
Rating: 10  
I LOVE this ride. Disney really did good wiith this one. The overall experience was great. Can't wait to go back on it.
"Best Ride in Disney"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Par4jh
Rating: 9  
Best ride. If your going to epcot run to soarin get a fastpass for for it, then go jump in the line first thing so you get 2 rides. Ask the castmember if you can get in row 1 so you get the best experince (no feet dangling in front of you.
"top notch"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 8  
Probably amongst the first things you should do upon entering Epcot, otherwise it's going to be a tough get. The lines are consistently long.
"Awesome!!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 25, 2011 by i.am.wizard.
Rating: 9  
I've ridden it many times and it never gets old. I love how there's always that one person who is riding it for the first time and FREAKS OUT! But on the downside, even with a fastpass that line is brutal!
"Am I the only one who isn't a fan?"
Reviewed on Oct 21, 2010 by COrunner
Rating: 3  
This reivew is based on two different years/trips of doing Soarin' during non-peak times.

In 2009 we did a Disney trip, missed out on fast passes and waited in line for probably 30-45 minutes, the games during the queue make the time fly by and the design of the area is true Disney. once you get on the ride its kind of blah.

For a year we talked about going back and hitting some rides we only got to do once and my wife and I debated the true 'fun' of Soarin' vs. other rides like star tours, Dinosaur and agreed that it isn't a thrill ride but not exactly an experience either. Her conclusion was it didn't matter, she thought the ride was fun.

We did get to go back in September and I realized why I did not like the ride. Unlike most of Disneys experience rides they didn't do the usual job of hiding the screen, or making you feel like you were the only one getting the experience. Also the two times I have done this ride I've had the great pleasure at staring at barefeet above me which also did dampen the experience for me.

All in all I think there is huge opportunity for the ride down the road.
"~~~SPECTACULAR~~~"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2010 by WDW FTW
Rating: 10  
Ok so it doesnt matter how long the line is (especially with a fastpass :) ). The long line is a definite turn off for some people in a hurry to get everything done, which as any WDW veteran knows wont get done if you spend 1 day at each park. But then its time to get on, there's not much of a pre-show build up that i enjoy but that's fine because by that point your excited that your almost on. Then you get on row 1 i enjoy because there are no feet dangling in your peripherals haha, any the views and smells are amazing. I have filmed this ride and been on it many times and the visual definition of the ride film has become slightly outdated. The only thing i would suggest would be to update it to possibly an HD Blu-Ray :)
"awesome ride in EPCOT!"
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
I Adore it so much I wish to ride Soarin' over Florida!
"WOW..but make a Florida version!"
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
it feels like you are actually flying over california. i just wish they didnt take this from Disneyland, they need to come up with a Florida version. 2 things, i'm a scaredy cat, and the golfball and fireworks scared me! haha but no this ride is wonderful, we were in the front row & it was just breathtaking. A MUST SEE
"Don't Replace This!"
Reviewed on Apr 16, 2009 by stitch_lover
Rating: 10  
don't replace this!! this is AWESOME!!!!! All I can say that it was fully awesome, I CANNOT say anything else!!
"best ride at epcot for families :)"
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2009 by subatwcs
Rating: 10  
this is the best ride me and my daughter has been on. We went on soarin together cuz my son and wife didnt want to but we got to be in the front row and she was please because we were up higher and closer to the screen. I STRONGLY reccommend this to famimlies who wanna go around the world but not around the world showcase. If your kids are afraid of heights a little bit (matters where you are placed) i dont reccommend it. :(
"Great Ride"
Reviewed on Feb 17, 2009 by Jasonflz
Rating: 9  
Soarin' is one of EPCOT's most amazing and well done attractions. It really adds something The Land didn't have before.

Queue- Okay Usually Soarin's lines tend to be crowded so being in an indoor queue really helps shorten heat exposure. The theming is not really impressive as there are only video screens that you can answer questions on. The line is not very interesting like some of the other lines however it's calming. 7.8/10 stars

Ride- Excellent I have to admit that Soarin' is one of the most amazing experiences you can feel in any theme park. After the room darkens you are lifted off of the ground and thrust in front of a giant IMAX screen. Following are several film scenes accompanied with Jerry Goldsmith's landmark score and a variety of special effects. Soarin' is a well made ride with great effects and a great score. My only complaint was that the film focuses on California, where the ride originates from. Hopefully a new film will emerge in the future. 10/10 stars

To warn travelers Soarin' is not a ride people who are afraid of heights will enjoy.

Overall: 9.2/10 stars
"The Best Ride at Epcot"
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 10  
I love this ride, the line is cool with all the blue lights and it feels very realistic. This is the best motion simulator-type ride I have ever been on. (Even though it's nothing like Star Tours or similar rides)
"Showing it's age..."
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2008 by ewensell3
Rating: 7  
The content and quality of the show is still superb, but the film is not holding up well. Noticeable vertical dark streaks and occasional fuzz. Hopefully Disney converts this to digital projection soon.
"beautiful"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great, beautiful ride that shows california in a new informative way,
has been said to make people yurn to go to california
"SUPERB, but!"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2007 by Boatnik
Rating: 8  
I had really looked forward to going on Soarin' and finally got a chance over the Thanksgiving holiday. The movie was GREAT! I'll agree though that you really want to get a FASTPASS early to avoid the loooong wait in the Standby line (we had FastPasses, good thing, since the standby wait was 105 minutes!). I also felt like the picture was blurry if I looked anywhere but straight ahead, (we were on the left side of the theater) and this took away from the beautifull scenery.
I missed the scent effects, but that may have been due to my sudden onset of fear of heights. I've never really had a problem before, but maybe it is the lack of anything under your feet on the ride? Anyway, I just kept silently reminding myself that "I'm strapped in, I'm strapped in, over and over.....and finally I started to enjoy it!
Would I go again? Most likely, after all, my 5-y.o. Nephew loved it!
"One Of ~ Disney's Best"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2007 by soccermike
Rating: 10  
Soarin is by far- in a class of its own when comparing it to other WDW attractions. It's spectacular. You can't miss it !~
"Soarin'"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Unless you get to it before most people, the only way to ride is by fastpass. Soarin is very realistic and feels so much like you are actually flying. The air and scents add a lot to the ride. Definately a must see!
"A+"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2007 by tiggerzgirl83
Rating: 10  
A nice relaxing smooth ride. I absolutly love this ride. You can't miss it.
"Soar away"
Reviewed on Jul 30, 2007 by Hotdogs
Rating: 9  
Its always our first stop in Epcot.
"the best ride"
Reviewed on Jun 29, 2007 by Jeany031
Rating: 10  
Soarin' is the best ride.
and I hope the Soarin' ride will change.
"awesome"
Reviewed on Jun 26, 2007 by nile6000
Rating: 10  
Everyne in my family loves this ride. But you must get a fast past the lines are way too long.
"Very good!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 8  
This was my wife's favorite!! Try and get the far left line though, we had the middle and the feet hanging down in ffront of me kinda took away from the ride to me. Overall one of the best though, you could feel the wind and smell the trees and ocean.
"soarin' WOOW!!"
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2007 by xx_lilo_xx
Rating: 10  
went on it for the first time last trip, and it was great we went to epcot early to avode the ques for the ride! but ther was no just walk straight on it. it is so realistick, it untrue. i duked away from the golf ball, when i goes flying at you. you can smell the trees ect hear the wind great ride a must do.
"This ride is not that great."
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by Hybridboy695
Rating: 1  
I went to Disney this past March, and me and my friends waited on the line for about 70 mins. I did not find this ride fun at all. It just straps you in to a chair and lifts you off the ground, and shows you a movie. Once you are in the air you do not move at all. I really suggest that if you are want to go on this ride, if the line is longer that 30 mins. skip it and come back to it later. Go to test track or mission space those ride are 10000 times better than soarin
"Fantastic ride"
Reviewed on Mar 20, 2007 by ASJHLJ
Rating: 10  
The whole family can enjoy this experience. You may want to be careful if you are prone to motion sickness (my mother in law was a little squeamish) but overall this is NOT designed to be an intense experience.

It was so cool that everyone clapped as they were lowered at the end of the ride.
"Simply AMAZING!"
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2006 by elabron
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride. I rode it with my wife, and we both raved about it so much that my dad made me take him during EMH\'s the next day.

The walk to the boarding area? Pack a lunch. It\'s a good hike. Was somewhat annoyed by seeing \"Puddy\" from Seinfeld in the preshow video, but the ride makes up for it. The theming is okay....I like anything with neon.

The attraction itself REALLY gives you the feeling of flying. I could ride this thing over and over. The one thing that bugs me, is that the film \"cuts\" from one scene to the next very abrubptly....no transition whatsoever. Seems that they could have made you fly into a patch of clouds, and then when you come out of them, you\'d be in another area. It just seemed a bit awkward to us.

The music during this baby really adds to the attraction. A beautiful melody that I can\'t get out of my head. I like the music so much I bought the WDW CD so I could listen to it in my Jeep!

Soarin\' is one of the HIGHlights of our WDW trips.
"Soarin\' is Awesome!"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2006 by rbrower
Rating: Not rated  
I think that Soarin\' is one of the best rides that I have ever been on! It makes you feel like you are really flying! I like the queing area because I like the way that it looks. If you haven\'t been on this ride, I suggest it. It is awesome!
"A Real Winner!"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2006 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This attraction has an extremely wide appeal, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone. It\'s gentle and thrilling at the same time. The Imagineers outdid themselves with this one. The film and the in-theater effects are INCREDIBLY well synchronized. Beautifully done.
"Great ride"
Reviewed on Jul 15, 2006 by kennygman
Rating: Not rated  
Loved it so much we rode numerous times. Thanks to FP.
"DO NOT MISS!!!"
Reviewed on May 06, 2006 by ilovepluto23
Rating: Not rated  
I LOVE this ride! Make sure you catch it, it\'s a MUST SEE! Amazing!!!
"WOW!!!"
Reviewed on Apr 27, 2006 by jrsyfuncpl
Rating: Not rated  
This was an amazing experience. You get to fly through California and experience the sights, sounds and smells. The orange groves were incredible. You must get there early to get a fast pass or walk-on.
"Astonishing!"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
One of the best rides at Epcot, even though it was copied from Soarin over California at DCA. This ride is very unique and is a must ride when visiting Epcot or DCA.
"Soarin' is good,not Great"
Reviewed on Dec 20, 2005 by MaXGTS
Rating: Not rated  
I heard about this ride for the first time a few weeks ago. We were at Disney for 5 days last week and I was really looking forward to my day at Epcot because of all the talk about Soarin' being such a great ride. Well, maybe I went in with extremely high expectations. The ride itself is pretty darn cool. But, there were a few things I disliked. One, which was immediately noticeable when the film started, was bits of dirt and debris showing up on the projected image. I'm not sure if it was stuck on the film reel or in front of the lens, but it appeared and disappeared many times and moved around causing quite a distraction for me and ruining the whole 'suspension of disbelief' effect. My next complaint is of the film image itself. In this day and age of razor sharp HDTV images in one's living room, Soarin's image looked soft and blurry. If you looked far off into the horizon, it was okay, but if you looked down, particularly during the Magic Kingdom flyover, the images lack sharpness and definition. My final complaint is of the IMAX screen. If you sit on the front row, you will be lifted to the top of the three row stack when the ride begins. While at the top, you'll clearly see the top of the IMAX screen where the image stops. This also kills the 'suspension of disbelief'. If you're sitting in Row 1, you must keep your head pressed firmly against the back of the seat and not look up in order to avoid seeing the edge of the screen. The ride could have been spectacular, but for me it's just a 'pretty cool' ride. Nothing more, nothing less.
"MUST DO SEVERAL TIMES"
Reviewed on Nov 13, 2005 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
ONCE YOU GET THROUGH THE CROWDS OF PEOPLE IT'S A GREAT EXPERIENCE.THE RIDE ITSELF SEEMS SO SHORT, DUE TO BEING SO ATTENTION GETTING THAT TIME SEEMS TO FLY BY.
"Soarin at Epcot."
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2005 by tomcowe
Rating: Not rated  
When i went on holiday to Walt Disney World in the summer of 2003 they where just starting construction on Soarin so ever since 2003 i have followed the work and updates on Soarin's constuction. Soarin at Epcot opened on the 5th May 2005, i myself went on holiday to Walt Disney World on the 12th May 2005. I can fiarly say that Soarin is one of the best rides in Walt Disney World so far. Disney have really put a lot of work into the ride pushing boundies even ferver. Soarin is located in
"The Land" at Epcot. When you queue up for Soarin you could be waiting for up to 3 hours, for a seven minute ride. Or you could get a Fastpass and only wait ten minutes, but i can say that whatever the wait that it is completley worth the wait. As you are queueing up for the ride you can hear music being played from vairus aviation movies you can also here loud rumbling sounds from the ride in the background (very nice atmosphere). There are two queues called "concorses" that split off in opersite directions when nearing the Pre-Show this is because there are two theatre's for the ride you could eiver goto "Concourse 1" or "Concourse 2". You will then wait in another queue for a short period of time before entering the Pre-Show area. When you enter the Pre-Show area you will be put into seperate 3 diferent blocks of small queues (by the Soarin staff) the queues are labled A, B, C. The Pre-Show it self if presented by actor Patrick Warburton he is the chief flight intendent of the ride. He tells you about the ride, safety etc. The Pre-Show will then finish and you will be quided into the huge theatre and instructed where to sit. One everyone is sitting and has fastend their seat belts the light go out and you hear Patrick Warburton say
"Soarin to tower, we are cleared for takeoff". You are then lifted up 40 feet above the ground if front of a huge I-MAX dome screen where the movie comes on and you acctually think you are flying. I wont go into the movie to much but i will tell you that the ride system that you are sitting on tilts and pitches with the movie and you can smell different cents as you fly over different scenes with a cool wind in you face. The movie finishes and you are lifted back down to the ground (the ride never cieses with everone clapping). You then hear Patrick Warburton say "On behave of our entire flight crew thanks for soarin with us, to unfasten your seat belt just push down on the red button on your right, be sure to collect all you carry on items etc. You then leave the theatre and exit Soarin back into The Land. It is clear that Soarin is and exelent ride for all ages and i would recommend it to anyone who was going to Walt Disney World. 10 out of 10.

I will be writing a full review soon on my Soarin website i will update the WDW Forums when the site is online.
Soarin'
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site