IllumiNations: Reflections of Earth reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 9.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 9.9  
"Absolute Perfection"
Reviewed on Feb 26, 2013 by AimYourBrent
Rating: 10  
I wish there were enough stars for me to rate this with "100" instead of just "10" This is without a doubt the absolute best part of everything WDW has to offer. This show is totally breathtaking. The music alone brings tears to my eyes. The visuals are stunning. It is simply phenomenal. You cannot visit WDW without watching Illuminations. Otherwise your visit would be incomplete. It is worth the price of admission just by itself. The spirit of EPCOT Center lives on through this spectacular show.
"Absolutely Breathtaking "
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2010 by CrescentLake
Rating: 10  
If I had to die tomorrow, my dying wish would be to see Illuminations: Reflections of Earth, one last time. It is my favorite part of my entire Walt Disney World vacation, hands down, and is, in my opinion, the best fireworks/nighttime show on property. The score gives me goosebumps, the fireworks are incredible, and the globe is also amazing. If you can only do ONE thing at Disney World, watch this show. You won't regret it.
"MUST SEE"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2009 by perry23
Rating: 10  
One of the greatest shows on earth!
Watching it always makes me feel great.
The music is excellent, the fireworks are excellent= MUST SEE
"My Fave Show"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 10  
This was my favorite fireworks show! Seeing the globe drift out and come to life was amazing. A must see!
"pretty"
Reviewed on Jun 19, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
beautiful show that showcases each country. the music, video, and display are awesome
dont be surprised if you shed a tear
"Not to be missed"
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2008 by cblodg
Rating: 10  
This is one of those things for me that I never miss on my trips to Disney World. I love this show so much, and you have to see it to see why.
"Almost the Best Show at Disney"
Reviewed on May 05, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 9  
For practical purposes, this show at Epcot must be seen. However, I have the rated the show as a 9 --- because there are two shows at Walt Disney World I feel are even better:

2. Wishes - Magic Kingsom --- This fireworks show (and more) is long, has great music, uses an amazing amount of pyrotechnics ... and the lights on the castle, the flying Tinkerbell and the timing make it almost perfect.

1. Fantasmic - Disney's Hollywood Studios -- This one has fireworks, fire, water screens, floats, animatronics, special effects, and a large cast to make this the best show at any park. It is way over the top.

So ... my recommendation ... is the to see the Epcot show first -- then build up to Wishes or Fantasmic. This is an excellent show ... and should not be missed ... but it might be a little disappointing if you leave it until last.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\
"Best Ever"
Reviewed on Oct 27, 2007 by barrettismyhero
Rating: 10  
This is the best fireworks show ever, I'll miss it when they make a new one...
"Grand finale"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Reflections of Earth tells a story about everybody's lives coming together to form one great idea. The fireworks are woven into the theme as the show progresses. The earth is huge and the images on it and music is a well executed plan. The grand finale is amazing. An incredible amount of pyrotechnics are shot off all around the lagoon. I wonder who pays for all of those each night?
"Amazing Show, dont' miss out"
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2007 by Kingdom WDW
Rating: 10  
IllumiNations: Reflections of Earth, is definitely the best nighttime show WDW has to offer. Although I have not seen Wishes! yet, RoE still puts up a fight. There is a three-story Earth Globe that projects Reflections of Earth on its video screens. (The largest spherical display system in the entire world!) The opening is spectacular, but nothing beats the final part, where the music becomes up tempo, there's a fiery inferno, and fireworks are being launched left and right. A must-see on your Visit to WDW.
A good spot is right by the tree with the gate in front of the japan pavillion, and that it has a view of everything. We were lucky enough to grab it minutes before the show. However, other locations are great across World Showcase Lagoon, but you need to stake them out hours in advanced, or get a dinner reservation at Rose and Crown, Catalina de San Angel, or any other WS restarurant that overlooks the lagoon.
"This is the best firework show that they have"
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by Hybridboy695
Rating: 10  
I saw all of the firework shows that they have and by far this is the best one. Everyone that goes to Disney needs to see this show
"It's cool!"
Reviewed on Mar 21, 2007 by epcotrocks2007
Rating: 10  
I'm from the Philippines and I love the show SO MUCH ever since 2003... I didn't like it at first but now I got used to it. Plus, I don't think the globe will disappear for like how long.
"Wow!! - Worth the admission price alone!!"
Reviewed on Feb 06, 2007 by bobr0001
Rating: 10  
In my opinion, this show is the best "attraction, ride, pavilion, etc." at WDW.

I have seen it many times, and enjoy it more each time. Simply a spectacle to behold, a MUST see!

It's no mystery why the original 15-month show has been extended (last I heard) out to 2009. I hope they extend it out beyond that, as I can't fathom how they could improve on it.
"I Love It!!!"
Reviewed on Nov 05, 2005 by actor7690
Rating: Not rated  
I love this show. The music is the best. The only issue i had was that it might be hard to see the spinning earth globe.
"must see"
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I couldn't have told you what the fireworks show was supposed to be about or represent in the times I've actually seen it. But oddly enough, it's quite moving, probably because of the wonderful score that's the best of any ever written for a Disney show. I've since come to understand the show is supposed to represent the formation of the Earth itself to the present day w/ all it's human inhabitants. The fireworks are perfectly choreographed to the score, and the globe in the middle of the lagoon, while a bit too small, is a pretty good centerpiece for the action. This is one show we never miss.
"A great end to a day..."
Reviewed on Jan 06, 2005 by BeachClub1
Rating: Not rated  
A great way to end a day at WDW.
There is a large viewing area from anywhere around the world showcase lagoon.
It is an excelent show with fireworks, water, and fire.
"FANTASTIC!!!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
I have been watching Illumination shows since 1992 and it has come alooong way. This show is not only great with all the tech involved, but has a story line which fits with the times. The world is hurting and this show lifts your spirits and gives you some positive energy and hope for the future of our world. The only down I see is the audio. I think the speaker system around the lagoon have to be replaced. Depending where you are some speaker sound blown up. The crackle. Some of them dont sound and so you hear the music very low. I just think adding more speakers and new ones would help with the sound.....but over all the show is a must do while in Epcot.
"Simply Fantastic!"
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2003 by ghostygreeter
Rating: Not rated  
This show is personally by far the best experience at WDW. The show lasts around 13 minutes and it is action packed, not a boring moment in sight. This show makes Epcot my favorite hangout park over the Magic Kingdom!
"A view of the world"
Reviewed on Jun 22, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
I have yet to find a 'perfect' place to view this show from. A great show that is all around you. Worth seeing. Be sure get a place to view it from at least 30 minutes before.
"AMAZING"
Reviewed on Jun 04, 2003 by SpectroMan
Rating: Not rated  
This has to be one of the greatest shows ever put on by Disney.
"great"
Reviewed on May 03, 2003 by WDWFred
Rating: Not rated  
unless you have a lot of time to stake out a good view of this it is a hassle to see whats going on. It is the best fireworks at wdw
"Truly - DON'T MISS THIS"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2003 by rickeff
Rating: Not rated  
I have seen this probably close to 20 times. Every single time I have seen it, it still amazes me. DON'T MISS THIS.
"Reflections of Earth"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by Jeany031
Rating: Not rated  
Reflections of Earth Is the best. The song Is we go on.
"Best Show in WDW"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
Illuminations: Reflections of Earth is quite possibly the best show Disney has ever created. It is definitely the best show in Walt Disney World for sure. The music is fabulously scored. Everything is in sync with the pyro-technics and the fireworks. Everything turns out amazing. Here is hoping Illuminations: Reflections of Earth stays in Epcot for a very long time. I was so glad to hear they were going to keep it for awhile after the Millennium Celebration because it was the biggest highlight of the 15 month celebration of Epcot. Worth the price of admission alone!! Must see!!
"Must See Nightime Wonder!"
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2003 by Wannabe Walt
Rating: Not rated  
I love this show! I would put firework show, but it is more than that! Illuminations: Reflections of Earth, I think, is the tied for the best night-time spectacular with Fantasmic! in Disney MGM Studios. If you go to EPCOT CENTER and you don't see this show, then your Disney trip is NOT complete!
"Simply Amazing!"
Reviewed on Feb 14, 2003 by Imagineer Dave
Rating: Not rated  
You'll never see anything like it, let alone a fireworks show. And who else besides Disney can pull of a fireworks show with a story behind it? It has amazing effects all in sync with excellent music. You'll never forget it.
"Nothing better!!"
Reviewed on Dec 23, 2002 by goofyfan13
Rating: Not rated  
Reflections of Earth exceeded everyone of my expectations when I first saw it. That first firework shot into the middle followed by the huge explosion was a sign to me the show was going to be amazing, and it just got better from there! There really isn't a bad spot to view it from since the world showcase is huge and the only things you have to worry about are trees and really tall people right in front of you. Definately worth the price of admission by itself. My dad and I choose just to drop by EPCOT to see Illuminations if we get back early from another park. If you haven't seen it yet, you must.
"The best show in WDW!"
Reviewed on Nov 10, 2002 by TheOneVader
Rating: Not rated  
I love IllumiNations. Everytime I go and watch it. It's well worth the wait of getting a good place. It will leave a lasting impression in your memories.
"Reflections of Earth"
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2002 by Elaine
Rating: Not rated  
This is by far my favorite fireworks display. It's really more than just a fireworks display. The music is so powerful and the coordination of fireworks and music is the best. The whole concept is beyond my imagination. Just when you think you saw it all they come up with something like this.
"WOW"
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2002 by Minnie85
Rating: Not rated  
My mom and i went into the Yatch and Beach Club to watch Illumination son the day before we went home, even though the fireworks werent timed with the music, it fun anyways!
"The Best Fireworks"
Reviewed on Oct 18, 2002 by Jorgegomarga
Rating: Not rated  
The Best of the night is Iluminations you must see it
"Timeless!"
Reviewed on Oct 13, 2002 by leeocean
Rating: Not rated  
This is my favorite show at WDW! The show is phenominal in stimulating visual and auditory senses!
"WoW u gotta c this"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2002 by chris
Rating: Not rated  
The best show at WDW. excellent balance of technology, music and fireworks. It is worth the time to get a good spot for the show. A must see!!
"Absolutely Amazing!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2002 by DarkImage4
Rating: Not rated  
I cannot say enough about this presentation. One word could sum it up..."WOW"! The Imagineers went above and beyond, and then went even further, when designing RoE. I could watch this show every night and never, EVER get sick of it. It has it all and then some (can you tell I like it?). This is also the show/attraction in all of WDW, that I get most emotionally connected to.
"Absolute must see!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2002 by Donald_Quackers
Rating: Not rated  
This is the topper of all fireworks shows! I have never seen the like. All of the other fireworks shows may claim to be synchronized with the music, but this one does it the best. Not to mention the globe opening at the end with all of the fireworks for the finale. I cannot get enough of this show! Go see it!!
"OUTSTANDING!!!!"
Reviewed on Sep 25, 2002 by ron777
Rating: Not rated  
I saw Reflections on Earth in 2000 when it was illuminations 2000!. This show was well done. The most beautiful fireworks show I ever seen. The music made me emotional but the pyrotecnics were wonderful I will be back next year to see Reflections on Earth. GREAT JOB DISNEY!!!!!
"Awesome Spectacle"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
This is an amazing effects show that is visually and aurally dazzling. A must see! Great viewing location: the outdoor seating area of Rose & Crown. Be sure to mention when you make Priority Seating reservations and when you check in that you would like to watch the show from your table after dinner. You won't be guaranteed a table outside, but you will increase your chances of getting one.
"Don't miss this one!"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by disneysweans
Rating: Not rated  
This is the best fireworks show I've ever seen- anywhere.
"Epcot's Best"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
Illuminations is the best Epcot has to offer. It is an incredible mix of lights,lasers, music, and fireworks. It might just be the best night show WDW has to offer.
"see it!!"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by disneyanna0521
Rating: Not rated  
Make sure to watch this show...it may not seem like much, but IT IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was the best "fireworks" show at Disney. If you are entering Disney World you may see some of it...it's that big...and you may see some of it at DTD
"one word AWESOME"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by teamdisney
Rating: Not rated  
This is in fact the best firework show on WDW property.
"A Must See"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by orlandoparks
Rating: Not rated  
Definitely the best fireworks show out there. A wonderful combination of fireworks, lasers, fountains, music and lights. You can't find any better fireworks show that is produced every night than this.
"Perfect"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Great show... a perfect end to a wonderful day at Epcot (or even Magic Kingdom)
"Must SEE"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by figment1986
Rating: Not rated  
This show, is The best i seen ever, besides the Fantasmic at DL. It has its highpoints and low points, but again i dont like pre-shows that are Just music, at least when i seen it i could se the parade at the same time for a pre-show. But once the show begins, I am hiopnotized and must watch it.
"Inspiring Imagination!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WeirdOne
Rating: Not rated  
IllumiNations: Reflections Of Earth is one of the greatest fireworks shows on Walt Disney World property. The audio is great, but not as good as Fantasmic! The duration is very well planned and even ncludes a slow part to settle us down. And then makes us want to celebrate! The preshow is poor, only some slight Aztec/Tribal music to keep us bored until the show. Very poor. The storyline is a bit muffled, but comes out clear by the end. The themeing is good. All of the fireworks are very appropriate and some scared the crap out of me the first and last times around. This show is somewhat kid friendly. No characters, but lots of pyro to keep them active. I love this show and it is definately one of the best! - The WeirdOne
"1 word- Wow!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Reflections of Earth is possibly one of the greatest fireworks shows ever to be shown at disney. The music is wonderful and adds a great touch to the performance. The placement and colors of the fireworks prove to be visually stunning. The show is about 10 minutes long and the fourth of july edition is even better,take the time to wait and see it. This show is a definite must-see at disney world.
"5 STAR Rating!"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW/SFOG_freak
Rating: Not rated  
I can't believe everyone else is giving this fine show a less than 5 star rating! This is THE BEST SHOW THERE EVER WAS, IS, OR WILL BE!!!!!!!! Especially with that rotating globe/tv thing that floats out to the center then "explodes," it is soooo cool! I wish I could see it EVERY time it shows, but sadly, I don't live anywhere near florida (SC)... :( Oh well, overall, I IS THE BEST EVER!!!!!! 5 STARS!
"WOW WOW MUST SEE"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
WORDS CAN NOT DESCRIBE THIS SHOW ! BE SURE TO GET TO A GOOD VIEWING AREA EARLY WITH AS LITTLE VIEWING OBSTRUCTIONS AS POSSIBLE
"Best Fireworks Show Ever!"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by christopher
Rating: Not rated  
There is nothing bad about this show. It is amazing. Do not miss it.
"Pure Emotion!!!"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by lildivaaa
Rating: Not rated  
I can not say enough about Illuminations: Reflections of Earth. The combination of the music, fireworks, water show, pyro, lasers, etc. just simply brings out a very stong emotion responce by the end of the program. You really get wrapped up in the sentiment and meaning behind this celebration. This some gets me everything I see it, sending cold chills down my spine at the finale. Do not miss this show!!!
"wow"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by blink148
Rating: Not rated  
great show, but the spinning eart can start to drag on...
"Wow."
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
The best fireworks display ever at Walt Disney World! Illuminations 2000 is dramatic - spine-chilling - and has such a wonderful message! From KAOS to progress, all parts of this show are entertaining and beyond words. A must-see at EPCOT!
"A spectacular finale"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
Never has EPCOT or any other Disney park seen a fireworks show as spectacular as Reflections of Earth. The special effects are incredable and the music is some of the best ever written for a Disney park. Definatly a must-see for EPCOT visitors of all ages.
"Breathtaking"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by wdwfan22
Rating: Not rated  
Reflections of Eath is an Epcot Essential, This show should not be missed it truly is the finale to your already perfect Epcot day.
"BE-utiful"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by AliciaLuvzDizne
Rating: Not rated  
This is more than just the best fireworks show around. There is also wonderfully coordinated music and really cool lasers. Not to mention the pictures on the globe in the middle of the lake. There is never a dull moment during this show!! And there is something for everyone! AWESOME...a must see!
"Easily the Best Fireworks"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by DogsRule!
Rating: Not rated  
This is simply the best fireworks show on property, and the music truly makes this show. Not to mention the pyro and both barges are incredible...GREAT SHOW!!!!!!!
"Spectacular"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by Eeyore
Rating: Not rated  
Do not miss Reflections of Earth. All I can say about it is that it's spectacular!
"Kicks ass!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by mktiggerman
Rating: Not rated  
This kicks ass.. 'nough said. See it, or your kids will hate you!
"The Ultimate Nightshow"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
Following in the long tradition of IllumiNations at Epcot, Reflections of Earth is without doubt the ultimate nighttime spectacular. Everything about this show oozes quality, from the specially installed custom sound system, to the storyline, the musical score, light show to the pyro. Show Director Don Dorsey shows us all the experience he has in producing top notch night shows, and Gavin Greenaway absolutely nails the musical score. Make sure you buy the CD at the park!!! A lot of first time technologies are used in the show, including Disney Air Launch Pyro, new high powered LED screens, new laser lighting system, and some surprises that I wont mention! Reflections of Earth is an ultimate showcase of the arts of storytelling, music, lighting and pyrotechnics. This show is unmissable, and is worth the cost of admission alone. TIP: Make sure you find a viewing location that does not have the wind blowing in your direction. The show uses a lot of low level pyro, and if you are downwind you will get smoke obscuring your view.
"It's Awsome"
Reviewed on Aug 21, 2002 by turkey leg boy
Rating: Not rated  
The best fireworks and night show on property. I'm biased toward it though, seeing and listening to it over 150 times will do that.
"Not to be missed!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2002 by disneycp2000
Rating: Not rated  
Lights, lasers, fountains, fire, music, images and more is what's in this show. I've seen it soo many times and I'm still in awe each time I see it. Anywhere around world showcase lagoon is a great spot. Just make sure you have a clear view of the center of the lagoon, most of the show takes place there so you won't want to miss it. If you really like the show pick up a cd, it's worth it. TIP: Stand with the wind at your back. You won't want to have smoke in you're eyes while watching the show. To check: Look at the American Adventure flag to see which way it's blowing.
"Must See (more than once)"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by herbie53
Rating: Not rated  
Reflections of Earth is simply amazing. Every second is captivating! The music is monumental, and will definitely leave you wanting more. It's a wonderful way to end a day at the parks, and it's easy to grab a spot to watch it. Once you see it, you'll be hooked.
"Simply the Best"
Reviewed on Aug 19, 2002 by Fievel
Rating: Not rated  
If there is one thing you can NOT miss while in Walt Disney World, I would consider this it. This show is one of the finest (if not the finest) show they have ever put on. A special score was composed for the show, and the fireworks work in tandem seamlessly. There is something for everyone, from exploding fire barges to subtle colored flames dancing on the World Showcase Lagoon. This is another one of those shows you'll find yourself searching the gift shops for a CD of. The music is truly powerful and amazing and couldn't be any better suited for a show of this magnitude. The score has many peaks and valleys and throughout the movements, goes through the creation of our planet as a home for us all. The finale score is the culmination of everything the score gives hints of early on....beauty, power, and grace all wrapped up into one explosive bundle. Don't miss it.
IllumiNations: Reflections of Earth
 
Related Photo Galleries
Show photos from Mexico
Photos by WDWMAGIC
Promenade bridge raised
Photos by WDWMAGIC
Perimeter Firework Launch hardware
One of the World Showcase Lagoon perimeter launchers used during IllumiNations Reflections of Earth.
Air Launch Firework cannon
The American Gardens Theater rooftop mounted Air Launch Firework cannon that fires the opening shot of the show.
July 4 Hardware
The July 4 hardware being setup in the lagoon
Show photos from Germany
Reflections of Earth - show photos from Germany, shot December 2007.
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site