Primeval Whirl reviews

DinoLand U.S.A., Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 6.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.9  
"Just an Amusement Park ride."
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2012 by BeautifulTomorrow
Rating: 7  
I think people expect this ride to be more than it actually is. It is just a cute themed Wild-mouse coaster! I've always enjoyed it, but can understand if some people find it too jerky.
"Expected more"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2011 by Lights83
Rating: 3  
When I first went on the ride I thought that it looked pretty fun.
I was wrong.
To me the ride just jerked you around and had no fun in it at all.
That's just my opinion.
They could replace it with something much better.
"make sure you don't eat beforehand"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 5  
The ride isn't terrible. Go on it with kids and they'll have a blast just about every time. Me, I'm passed the point of what-seems-like-forever spinning being tons of fun. I'll skip it from here on out.
"Kids loved it"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by fastpass99
Rating: 9  
We did this late in the evening in March when it was pitch black outside, very cool. Looks are deceiving, this was quite fun! It's not very scary but it does move you around a bit. I wonder what sort of refurb is upcoming for this.
"stupid"
Reviewed on Jan 24, 2010 by mastercat999
Rating: 4  
their is something about this ride that makes it slow!
"better"
Reviewed on Aug 07, 2009 by woodfin
Rating: 9  
fun ride. to make it better, put most of your groups weight to one side of the car
"fun"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great ride, but to wild for some. i love wild mouse rides, and kinda enjoyed it. Very vintage carnival like
"Whoooaaaaaa!"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 6  
Didn't think much of it, but worth the wait to hear my Nana freak out. She likes it though
"Why?"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2007 by jonnykeogh
Rating: 4  
First off, its a ride situated quite badly in Dinoland. Nothing to do with Dinosaurs. Jolts you violently. Not the best ride. Didn't enjoy it at all!
"It was supposed to look cheap!"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 8  
Disney wanted this to look cheap, first of all to those who critique it for being carnival quality. It's supposed to be reminiscent of those Route 66 sideshow carnivals. The backstory that WDI came up with this section of DinoLand USA is important to understand the appearance of the ride. So until you learn a little more: LAY OFF STUFFY PURISTS!

The ride is "whirls" of fun and spins you into smiling. It is a very, very tame coaster with only one dip big enough to be called a drop. Not a must, but highly-reccommended for the 8-17 set.
"Great Ride!~"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2007 by soccermike
Rating: 10  
I can see how people may not like the ride, or even the carnival atmosphere around the ride, but I love it! I think it's fun and entertaining! There's nothing like it in the rest of WDW!!
~~~ TIP ~~~ Dont Ride PW on a full stomach!
"Spinning coaster"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
Primeval whirl is WDW's first spinning coaster. The theming is quirky and filled with comical dinosaurs and the beginning of time. There are two identical tracks for the busy season. The ride itself is a moderate thrill but still fun. The spinning makes some people sick. Primevel Whirl is a must ride in Dinoland.
"harsh!"
Reviewed on Jun 27, 2007 by lexi197
Rating: 7  
i think everyone has been too harsh on this ride. some claim that it is cheap.. well that is the theme of the area surrounding it - a cheapish carnival setting.

the other thing that is hearsh is this ride. i love it- i do it twice everytime i go , but it hurts! so be careful!
"Great Surprise!"
Reviewed on Mar 29, 2006 by DREAMSCOMETRUE
Rating: Not rated  
We stumbled upon this kid friendly coaster and were pleasantly surprised. We thought it was only for the little ones, but it was fun for the entire family. The ride was short, but in keeping with the theme on the area, it represented a wonderful little \'roadside attraction\' carnival ride.
"Huge letdown from Disney"
Reviewed on Mar 21, 2006 by brianfuchs
Rating: Not rated  
What a total waste. Would be better suited at California Adventure. It really cheapens the otherwise decent Dinoland area.

If you want to see what this ride COULD have been like, Google \\\"Winja Phantasialand\\\". It has theme, thrills and completely out-Disneys the Disney \\\"thrill ride\\\"
"Unforgiveable but fun"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Whilst Dinorama is a total assault on your eyes and an unforgiveable addition to this beautiful park, if it's not too busy, this coaster (which has been done a 100 times) is at least fun for the family.

TIP TO DISNEY: Pull down this area and go back to the drawing board...the sooner the better. WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!
"Good ride."
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is good but personally, I think the "carnival" theme didn't fit well with the park. The theme of the ride fit very well with Dinorama. I understand that Joe Rhode wanted to attract more guests to Animal Kingdom and after doing a survey, it turns out Dinorama really does make people stay longer at the park because of rides like Primeval Whirl. Even though the atmosphere of this area is not as good as expected(like DCA), the ride itself is pretty good and I'm glad they decided to expand the park.
"Primeval Whirl"
Reviewed on Nov 06, 2005 by Kacki
Rating: Not rated  
When I went (5:30 pm, after a day of thunderstorms) there was no line, which is why I am giving the queuing an excellent. The music was so/so, and there was no pre show or noteworhty pre-ride attractions. No storyline, and the theming is okay (50's). No merchandise. The duration is a bit lengthy for the ride. It is very jerky, maybe making children weary. Personally, I hate this carnival themed part of the park, and all the surrounding rides. (Like the overrated Dinosaur)
"Fun But Forgettable"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
I have to admit I had more fun on this than I thought I would. But the thrills are purely from the coaster design itself, not the theming. I really don't like the theme of the entire area to begin with. Seriously, there's nothing special about this place. Nothing elevates it beyond an actual "roadside carnival" that it tries to emulate. The Disney publicity machine states the theme of the ride itself is the dinosaur extinction, but it really is just a ordinary ride w/ cardboard cutouts.

I've read from time to time guests say we should grade it for what it was intended to be and in that sense it succeeds. I agree with this, but on the other hand, I don't like what it was intended to be to begin with. So there you are. A disappointment.
"Fun, but not original!"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride, but I can ride this at the local fair. It's a lot of fun, but I rode in one of the seats by myself and basically got thrown around the seat and hurt my derriere. Oh well, I'll still ride it!
"*sniff* Something Stinks!"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
I suppose this could be a test coaster for kids, but it's not particularly thrilling. I understand the theming of Dinoland - dino bones discovered in Anytown, USA, and the town becomes a tourist destination. Given that context, the area's theming (including this attraction) makes sense. But the real question is whether or not this was something worth emulating. I think not. This ride and the surrounding games are not any better than what you might find at your local carnival. Just cleaner. I was thoroughly unimpressed with Primeval Whirl. In Dinoland, the attractions not to be missed are Dinosaur and The Boneyard.
"Not that bad"
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2003 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
Although this type of attraction can be found elsewhere it is still pretty good. It is not a Disney type attraction, but it is still a blast to the past. I find the area that the attraction is to be a big waste of "carnival" or "DCA" space, but the ride is self is pretty darn good!
"Oh Dear"
Reviewed on Sep 21, 2003 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
For me, PrimEVIL Whirl was a complete waste of space and money. It came at a time when AK was desperate to add something new, but at that time money was not available for the recently announced Expedition Everest. Rather than have nothing new at all, Disney decided to invest in this totally off-the-shelf, almost portable, coaster. Themeing resembles that of a concrete parking lot, and the ugly structure of the coaster is simply dropped on top. It is the most non-Disney attraction anywhere, and in my opinion has no place in a Disney park. The only saving point, is that it is relatively tucked out the way, and I can completely bypass it on my trips!
"Yuck!"
Reviewed on Apr 01, 2003 by AddyL
Rating: Not rated  
What could they possibly have been thinking?! This roller coaster is ugly. It is not a very rough ride, but it does not have very a interesting/detailed theme to keep you interested when the drops and turns are only ho-hum. The seats are uncomfortable, and you'd better really like the person sitting next to you, because your hips will be smashed together during the spins. For such a weenie coaster, I can't understand why the height requirement is 48 inches! Thus, little kids, who might enjoy the tamer roller coaster and hokey visuals, can't ride!
"Okay. Just Okay."
Reviewed on Mar 13, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
What is with Dino-Rama? What they did decide to build this? Can't they come up with some original attractions instead of just taking off the shelf carnival rides and retheming them.
"Best AK attraction."
Reviewed on Jan 20, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
This is a very underrated ride. It is not high or fast, but I like the music and theming. Very fun!
"Dino-Rama. Ugh."
Reviewed on Oct 28, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
I suppose I am talking about Dino-Rama in general. This place...it's horrible. I mean, this was the reason why Walt Disney built Disneyland...This carnival style attraction is probably the only Disney attraction/land that has ever given me a disgusting feel. While it's another thing for families to do, it's not Disney-quality at all. Sea World...that's a different story...but this is really almost an insult.
"really cute"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2002 by brooke
Rating: Not rated  
i think this is perfectly themed for the carnival atmosphere. it's kinda like a carnival ride but better. it's just really cute and great for the little kids who don't like the bigger coasters.
"AWESOME!!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2002 by wdwfanatic17
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is being critized by too many people. They say that it"lacks the magic". I would hate to tell these people but the ride was built to be a carnival type ride and that is what it is. You cannot compare this ride with Pirates if the Carribean or space mountain. It is not meant to be compared to these rides, so it is unfair to try to do so. The ride itself is very funny, as long as you dont get dizzy easily. If you look at the themeing you can follow the story line. I think it is a very funny ride and you give it a try at least once
"Decent But Lacks Magic"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
Animal Kingdom needed expansion the same way the Studios needed it after a year or two of it's opening. What does the Imagineering team at Disney come up with? A carnival side-show named Dino-Rama. And the highlight of Dino-Rama is Primevil Whirl. Not exactly what Animal Kingdom truly needs. A roller coaster wasn't a bad idea. But this is just a poor excuse for one. More of a kiddie coaster. No true story or theming which isn't good, it's bad. Now, do I think Primevil Whirl has a place in Walt Disney World. Sure. But Animal Kingdom needs to expand and make for a better theme park experience. Then, Primevil Whirl will be a great secondary ride, instead one of the e-tickets of the park.
"Primeval fun!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Premieval whirl is one of the newer attractions at the Animal Kingdom, its a new part which is kind of like a carnival. Disney built many new games and a new roller coaster, which is premieval whirl. This ride is a spinning coaster which spins you and flings you around back and forth. Its not a bad ride only lines can be very long and up to 30 minutes for a couple minute ride. If the lines short its worth it, otherwise just skip it.
"WHAT ?"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
WHAT WAS DISNEY THINKING OR NOT THINKING. A CHEAP CARNY RIDE IS NOT UP TO DISNEY STANDARDS !!!!!
"Blast in the Past"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
While not the most spectacularly themed attraction, this coaster is Disney's salute to kistch. The spinning cars make the ride even more fun and the scenery is entertaining. All in all, cute ride, worth seeing.
"Sent it back! BOO!"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
Wow, I never knew that Disney could screw up so bad. They sure did with Dinorama and Primeval Whirl. What a horribly boring and ugly looking attraction. You can tell that no planning or effort went into making this coaster. You can ride pleanty of these wild mouse coasters at Six Flags all around the country. I really hope they tear this place down, that a crappy land.
Primeval Whirl
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site