Mission: SPACE reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 6.9 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.9  
"Exhilarating!"
Reviewed on Aug 08, 2013 by Andy
Rating: 9  
Mission: SPACE, a motion simulator ride at Epcot theme park, is as close as you can get to blasting off into space without leaving Earth. This attraction for big kids, teens and adults realistically mimics what an astronaut might experience during a space flight to Mars. For your safety, you should be in good health and free from high blood pressure, heart, back or neck problems, motion sickness, or other conditions that could be be aggravated by this attraction. Expectant mothers should not ride. Want to visit this attraction and you don't know which version is suited for you? I'd be happy to help! You must choose between two levels of training before waiting in line, once you decide, you will receive a ticket. Both versions of the ride offer the same exhilarating training mission but both differ in its INTENSITY. The Orange Team- More Intense Training is a highly turbulent motion simulator thrill ride that spins and creates G-Forces during launch and re-entry sequences and includes intense maneuvers that can result in nausea, headache, dizziness, and disorientation even if you have never experienced motion sickness before. The Orange Team- More Intense Training is recommended for those who enjoy intense thrill rides. This version of the ride includes spinning and can cause you to experience motion sickness during and after this attraction due to the simulated prolonged sensation of increased forces on body associated with space travel. The Green Team- Less Intense Training is an exciting motion simulator ride that does not spin and is less likely to cause motion sickness. The Green Team- Less Intense Training is recommended for those who prefer exciting rides with some intense. This version of this rides not include spinning and offers a lesser sensation of forces on body and will lessen the chances of motion sickness. There will be signs and video presentations that will repeat these precautionary measures, especially the motion sickness and claustrophic warnings. One should not ride either level if one is made uncomfortable by enclosed dark spaces or simulators. These signs and warnings may seem intimidating, but the ride is surely worth it! I would recommend riding the Green Version first to experience the attraction and then ride the Orange Version. There are motion sickness bags on the attraction at reach on both versions. I hope this review helped, I work at this attraction!
"Excellent"
Reviewed on Aug 05, 2013 by daniel
Rating: 10  
Best ride in EPCOT. The first few seconds are amazing and the weightlessness feeling is great. The ride is really not that intense either so do not be afraid to do Orange Team!
"Unbelievable!"
Reviewed on Feb 26, 2013 by AimYourBrent
Rating: 9  
Before getting into this, I just want to say that I so badly miss Horizons. I want it back and would do anything to be able to ride it again. Now, about Mission: SPACE. I don't like roller coasters, I'm pretty good with simulators. But this is an entirely different beast, and I absolutely love it! I don't know if it's just the premise of the story and being able to live out a childhood fantasy of being an astronaut, but this ride has found its way into my heart. This is everything Disney does best, with the thrills cranked up. The feeling of lift off is incredible. It is the biggest thrill you can get at any theme park on any attractions. The lunar slingshot is phenomenal, and the g-forces during the touchdown on Mars are absolutely crushing! I only had to give it a nine because of its location.
"Horrible ride!"
Reviewed on Feb 21, 2013 by Lauren
Rating: 1  
I love roller coasters and I never get sick on them, and simulator rides are usually my favorite, but this ride was horrible! I went on the orange team and I thought I was going to die. When we took off I completely lost my breath, I felt like there were bricks sitting on my chest. I immediately started looking around for an emergency button to stop the ride, but there wasn't one! I was shocked. I tried to calm myself down and remember that it's just a ride, that I'll be okay, but I couldn't wait for it to stop.. I felt dizzy and sick and I got off, and had to lay down immediately. We had to leave the park because I was so sick. I will never get on that ride again! I was so scared that I was going to die from not being able to breath!
"Dont Be a woos get ORANGE team"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2013 by John
Rating: 10  
rode the orange team and loved it a very smooth simulator unlike body wars was. no jerks whatsoever just pure speed!
"Green Team"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2012 by aw14
Rating: 10  
My daughter and I went on the green team several times and absolutely loved it. It is a bit claustrophobic, however, it is well worth it and provides what I would imagine is a fairly realistic experience. To us, it is not just the ride, it is also the ambiance that Disney provides for all their attractions. Very few I am ever not overjoyed with.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2012 by Chris
Rating: 9  
WOW wife kids (5+6) and I went on this ride to finish out the day at Epcot. We started with the green and found it was pretty good even my five year old who didn't like the Pirates of the Caribbean loved this ride. I had a real smart idea lets do the orange before the fireworks so we got right in and the first 3 seconds of the ride I new I was in trouble, the G forces are way more than the green. Though the ride was not for me it was quite the experience and my kids loved it and wanted to go on it again. I on the other hand found a bottle of water and a bench and tried not to barf, even though I underestimated the G forces and felt sick after I still appreciate a great ride thats why I rated it that high.
"UGH"
Reviewed on Jan 17, 2012 by LisaGrahn
Rating: 1  
I LOVE roller coasters and will go on just about any of them, so the thought of going on Mission Space didn't scare me at all. BUT...whoa. I hated this ride! I got so sick and felt disgusting the rest of my day at Epcot. I have to admit I was shocked that I felt this way. It's the only ride at WDW I won't go on.
IF you don't like simulators or have even mild motion sickness DO NOT GO ON THIS RIDE! Otherwise, if you like them go for it, this is for you.
"An OK ride"
Reviewed on Dec 27, 2011 by Lights83
Rating: 4  
I only went on the ride once, and don't plan on going on it again. It's not that it was SO bad or anything, but to me it seemed quite boring.
"Bad "
Reviewed on Dec 04, 2011 by DisneyloverJMH
Rating: 1  
the ride is claustrophobic, makes you sick, and has insane wait times. I would rather ride test Track (right next to Mission: SPACE )
"Amazingly realistic experience!"
Reviewed on Nov 02, 2011 by figmentsfan1982
Rating: 8  
It was amazing how this ride made you actually feel like you were launching into space! You could feel your face literally being pulled back. Great for thrill lovers! I strongly suggest the Green-or milder version, for the kids and seniors. I also like this ride because there is hardly a wait time.
"Wasn't what I thought it would be"
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2011 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 3  
I'm sure EVERYONE does not agree with my own opinion, but.. I just hate this ride. Partly because of the ride it replaced, and boring to me
"two thumbs up!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2011 by homebody
Rating: 10  
Wish I had more thumbs...this ride is AWESOME!
"One of my favorites"
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2009 by Shonen Ninja
Rating: 9  
Since I first rode it on the year it opened, Mission: Space has been a favorite for me at Epcot. Now some of the luster has been lost over the years but it is still a great ride

Lines: When it opened the lines were very long and the division into two different sides didn't help much. Now, for about the past 2 years, it is a short wait in the morning and a literal walk on in the afternoon.

Preshow: Eh, all right. Gets you into the mood.

Ride (Green side): It was a ok experience, kind of like Cyberspace Mountain at DisneyQuest. Great if you can't stand G-forces.

Ride (Orange side): This is the best side by far. It is the best experience short of actually going up into space(would love to do that someday).

Aftershow: It is great for the people that don't want to ride it but it is rather boring.

Overall: I gave it a 9 because the ride is just great. The problems are that they need to make it more innovative and hands on. The simulation is the same since they opened and needs to be changed. Finally, the postshow needs to change.

Great ride, wish that Epcot put some effort to bring back those long lines from long ago.

Sseriously, last weekend I went on, place was a ghost town
"Seems pretty realistic!"
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2008 by BrownDerby07
Rating: 8  
Green Side: 5/10 - It feels just like a regualar motion simulator which really aren't that fun to me. It's not worth a long wait.

Orange Side: 8/10 - It seems pretty realistic! The G-Forces are cool but it got me a little dizzy and I don't usually get that after riding rides. The Gs really make your body feel sort of heavy. It's cool but I wouldn't recommend doing unless you feel like you can.


Overall: 8/10 - It's a solid ride that's fun and gives you an idea of space flight.
"Great Fun"
Reviewed on Sep 09, 2008 by pjkdog
Rating: 9  
Do the intense if you can handle it..just remember to stare forward and ride on an empty stomach. Really fun!
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
its a great way to get a glimpse into what it takes to be an astronat with out haveing to go to kennedy space center. I have only done the regular, full force version. It was fun.
"WAY WAY WAYY overhyped"
Reviewed on Nov 01, 2007 by phenom1307
Rating: 6  
quite prossibly the most overhyped attraction on property. i saw so many commercials on TV before i rode it for the first time and thought it was going to be the best attraction Disney has ever created. it wasn't....i was completely disappointed. i think whole idea is really cool but the intensity just doesn't do it for me. not intense at all, yeah i can feel the g-forces but its only for like 2 seconds then they're gone. i'll still ride it every once and a while if there is a short line or somebody wants to ride with me but id rather not wate my time. they tell you not to look right or left...i did, nothing happened. i closed my eyes (they tell you not to do that)...guess what nothing happened. i like how they split it up into green team (less intense) and orange team (more intense)....because the original was so intense for some guest....it wasnt. they need to make the orange team more intense or create a new team to make more intense. this attraction was way too overhyped
"Out of this world"
Reviewed on May 11, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 10  
Amazing ride, real simulation, g-forces, everything. At first, it was hyped to be the most terrifying ride ever. It isn't, but it is intense. They've even made a calmer version of it, but the original is the only way to go. You must experience it. They could add some length to it though.
"Fabulous!!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 9  
We went orange ticket, the only way to really experience this ride and it was fantastic!!! I admit too short though, but still a 9/10 for me!!
"mission short "
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by epcot12
Rating: 7  
mission space well its a good ride but it is dissapointingly short the ride itself would get a 9 but its just to dang short

at least Gary Sinece was there
"Best ride programmed by Turkish Engineers"
Reviewed on Feb 22, 2007 by TURKISH_ENG
Rating: 10  
Hi Everone,
Try this ride. It is the most realistic ride ever. This ride simulates very realistic G-forces. It is wery close to one that real astronouts feels.
How do I know it? I worked over 3 years for programming this ride. I was working in USA and one of tho software engineers writing control software for the ride.
I ensure you it is fafe ride :))
For Turkish people reading this forum. Be proud because Turkish Engineers programmed such a marvelous ride!!!!
"Prepare yourself for the best space simulator ever"
Reviewed on Feb 04, 2007 by crxbrett
Rating: 9  
Okay, first off, I love roller-coasters but absolutely hate spinning rides. They always make me feel like blaahh. Mind you, an attraction/ride has never made me throw up either. Anyways, I was very apprehensive about trying Mission: SPACE. When I visited this past summer I tried the tame version first. Well, that was no fun at all, let me tell you! So I convinced my girlfriend to try the full version first since she has no problems spinning. She loved it so I gave it a try..........I was so glad I decided to give it a try!!! The ride is awesome and I never felt any ill effects whatsoever. No dizzyness, nausea or any discomfort like I have heard so many people complain about. I ended up going on the attraction at least 5 times during our trip. I will say at the very beginning you feel as though you are about to get dizzy, but if you just concentrate on the screen in front of you, you will be laughing and having a blast in no time! My only complaint about the ride is that it's a little too short. Another minute or two would have made it a 10.
"awesome"
Reviewed on Feb 01, 2007 by Jmagic
Rating: 10  
I can't believe how much people make such a big deal out of this ride. It is not near as bad as people make it out to be. I was terrified before I got on because people tell such horror stories about it(DONT BELIEVE THEM). This ride is awesome. It is so unlike any ride anywhere. My stomach is not that strong either. Spiing rides make me feel sick and this ride did not make me queesy at all. Just follow the directions and you will love it!
"Mission: don't be sick"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Do not make the following mistakes!

1. Mission is intense. I have a cast iron stomach but this nearly tipped the bucket.

2. Children will not enjoy the experience.

3. It is claustrophobic in your spaceship.

4. Your muscles will be sore from Gforces.

5. You will have a blast (ho ho)

6. Be strong!
"One of Epcot's best rides"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
This ride fits into Future World perfectly and has a nice theme to it. The overall ride is very thrilling but not recommended for younger children.
"solid thrill ride overall"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
This is for the most part a solid thrill ride. I don't think it's the best, Dinosaur and Rock N' Roller Coaster are still tops for me. But Mission: Space is pretty good overall.

Obviously the G's are what everyone talks about. The G's are actually not as strong as what you experience on Rock N' Roll, but they're sustained over a much longer period of time rather than the short burst that is Rock N' Roll's launch.

The training camp idea works, and the storyline in the ride itself is typical Disney -- everything is routine until (oh no) something goes awry -- but exciting in the moment.

My only complaint about the ride was that the animation on the viewscreen is not realistic, but kinda cartoony. Maybe that's how a real training simulator is, but I guess I expected something more like the Star Tours film.
"Not that special"
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2005 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
Finally went on Misson:Space. I'm not sure if it was that I had big expectations, but the ride was a dud. The take of was great. Other then that I really did not see anything special. It did not do anything more for me then Body wars or Star tours. I really cannot understand how people even get sick on the ride Body Wars is ten times worst. All the attraction made me do is miss the "Old" Epcot even more.
"Test Track"
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2005 by WDW_Sam
Rating: Not rated  
This high speed "car thrill" puts you right into the test seat and sends you through hair raising stunts and hairpin turns... Even a high speed portion. Not to be missed, the que and themingis excellent, guiding you through a real car factory in which airbags/seatbelts etc are being tested.
"AMAZING!"
Reviewed on Apr 25, 2005 by MissionSpaceFan
Rating: Not rated  
This ride, was so amazing. this is just...Out of this world! (No pun intended). The Quue Area, Just made me feel like, i really was, At Mission Control. Then, the amount of Gforces, Made me so scared, but it was worth it. It was the most amazing thing ever. I reccomend ot anyone over 10.
"Fun Fun Fun!"
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
This is truly an intense ride! Especially the go-launch! However, after a few rides, the intensity kind of fades. I still enjoy riding it though.
"Great experience"
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2004 by Mitzer
Rating: Not rated  
Was one of the best experiences on Mission Space we have had. Would definitely do this ride again and again. The wait was less than 2 ninutes. Walked right one via standby. Was amazing!
"Nicely done!"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2004 by goofyfan13
Rating: Not rated  
My favorite ride in WDW. I thought that it is a fabulous ride. However, there should be a little more done to the pavilion. Its too small, and after the ride there really isn't much more to see.
"Best Flat Ride Ever"
Reviewed on Aug 16, 2004 by Nemmy
Rating: Not rated  
Guess what we ended the day with...Mission: SPACE! I didn't force Zach on, he decided himself. He was shaking, though.

We did single rider, and ended up in the same pod, sitting next to each other. I was engineer, Zach was pilot.

They spend about 15 minutes breifing you, but it's very interesting. Zach, who fidgets alot, got a bit nervous when they said not to move your head during the ride.

We climbed on, Zach and I putting our hats in the pull out compartment. Zach complained about how he couldn't reach the buttons. Of course, the control panel came to us, so he could get it. They spend about another 3 minutes briefing you, and then, you tilt upwards.

Zach was shaking very rapidly. The end seats are a lot more intense, I'll say that, which is why he was in the middle. Nonetheless, he was still nervous. I was nervous also, even though I'd done it before. All of a sudden, a voice says "5, 4, 3, 2, 1, takeoff!" And you start to feel major g-forces. It feels more intense than Goliath's because they are sustained G-'s. You can feel your restraint actually pushing down more because of the G-'s. There are no handles to hold onto. My advice: cross your arms over the bottom of the restraint during take-off, unless you are brave enough to lift your hands up, which is pretty tough because of the G-'s.

At least Zach liked it, I could hear him whooping over the turbulence. We slingshot around the moon, and I put us into hypersleep mode. Then, we wake up, and end up near Mars. We swoop in, and then (oh *BEEP*) autopilot breaks. We switch to manual, and the joystick starts shaking, making it tough to control. Me and Zach actually moved the joystick correctly, for a change, Zach still whooping it up. Then, you come to the edge of a cliff, and then, the cliff breaks.

"Don't...move...a muscle."

At that precise moment, I start moving the joystick, pushing all the buttons and flipping all the switches, and shout "IT'S OUT OF CONTROL!!!!! SHE'S GONNA F*CKING BLOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!" Yes, I used the explicitive. Yell at me. PUT THE KNIFE DOWN! Lol.

Obviously, the ship survives, and then the words "Mission Accomplished" flash on the screen.

My only complaint is that they should make the ride longer.

Zach loved it so much that he asked to go on a second time. Not bad for someone who passed up on it in the morning, where the lines were so short we could have gotten a pod to ourselves.

This time, Zach was engineer and I was commander. The ride was a lot better because:

1. I was videotaping.
2. We had our hands up the entire ride, which was tough.
3. We weren't nervous...the other people were!!!!!!!
4. A kid in our pod freaked out when, during the asteroid field, I started pushing all the buttons and moving the joystick, shouting, "It's out of control! OMFG! She's gonna blow!!!!" (That's a tiresome cliche, but I like it.)

Put the knife down! I didn't mean to scare the kid! *puts on innocent look*

Anyway, me and Zach were laughing when we got off, and decided to call it a day.
"AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH"
Reviewed on Aug 14, 2004 by signerdreams
Rating: Not rated  
It is a great ride. However I did not care for it at all. The G forces on my chest were 2 much. I rode this ride twice. Another reason i did not care for it was b/c of the inclosed spaces. I am clastrophobic. I really didnt care for this ride..and I am a THRILL JUNKIE
"WOW!!"
Reviewed on Jul 29, 2004 by comeoneileen999
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is soooo realistic i couldnt believe it the first time i rode it
"Unlike any other"
Reviewed on May 21, 2004 by JackSkellington
Rating: Not rated  
I think this is the future of attractions as we know them. This is one of the smoothest yet most intense simulators ever. The ride was thrilling and yet left me wanting more. I rode it five times and it was just as fun as the first. I am surprised many people get sick on this ride. It is just a combination of rides put together. The invlovement in and on the ride really adds to the experience. Everyone who rides gets to do something. This is a ride everyone should see if they can handle it. If you survived Tower of Terror and Rockin' Roller Coaster you can handle this ride for sure.
"Not as good as I expected"
Reviewed on Feb 10, 2004 by HyperKC
Rating: Not rated  
It was an okay ride, but I expected a lot more. I have been waiting years for this ride and was disappointed. There is no way that Mission Space is better than Horizons
"AMAZING! DON'T MISS!"
Reviewed on Jan 19, 2004 by DisneyJoey
Rating: Not rated  
Thrill-lovers and cautious-folks too will LOVE Mission:Space. It's definently NOT for the faint of heart, but it's at least worth TRYING! Greatest Epcot ride to date!
"mars!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I loved this ride! I can't say much more than how technologically advances this thing is, and how cool it is to 'go to mars'. say, if prez bush wants to go to mars, this is a much cheaper option than spending money he doesnt have! *stepping down from small soap box* but the simulation is cool, and the interaction is a fun idea. the barf bags were an excellent addition, and I am glad the ride does not last much longer than as is.
"OVERHYPED"
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2003 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
FOR THE MONEY SPENT, EXPECTED A WHOLE LOT MORE. TEST TRACK THIS ISN'T. I GUESS ALL THE BUILD UP HAD ME WANTING MORE.THE BIGGEST LET DOWN WAS THE CHEAP GRAPHIC DISPLAY.FOR ME THE BEST PART WAS WALKING THROUGH THE QUE AREA. REMEMBER THAT ONCE THE RIDE STARTS THERE NO STOPPING IT!!! A WOMAN IN OUR GROUP FREAKED OUT AT BLAST OFF AND WAS STILL SCREAMING,CRYING AND SAYING THINGS ABOUT WDW WHEN WE LANDED AT MARS.
"Where's the Substance?"
Reviewed on Dec 30, 2003 by legacy
Rating: Not rated  
Ever since I knew what the ride system for Mission: SPACE was I was excited. Now that I have finally ridden it I feel that though the ride system is amazing, it was not fully utilized. I had heard so many amazing things about this ride, and the commercials made it seem like the most thrilling thing in the world. Sadly, I walked out (straight, I might add) disappointed. The training storyline I hoped, would be adequate, but it wasn't. The theming was well done, but considering the entire queque sits infront of a giant spinning wheel I felt Disney punked out on that aspect too. The building is beautiful, don't get me wrong; but it's an amazing shell to a mediocre attraction. Frankly, the ride delivered little on thrills. Now in most attractions that wouldn't be a bad thing, but with SPACE it's not a good thing at all. The way this thing is being advertised you would expect another Test Track. I don't think my heart even accelerated on this ride though. It was just too short and not thrilling enough. I rode it once, and that will be enough for me. Maybe Disney will wisen up and actually make it thrilling eventually.
"An interesting experience"
Reviewed on Dec 25, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
First, I did get a little nauseated on this ride, but by following instructions (do not move your head, do not close your eyes, look straight ahead), I was able to get through it all right. It was an interesting experience, but not one that I think I'll do again. I liked the thrill of the launch, that was exciting, but on the whole I was too worried about getting sick and punching buttons to really enjoy myself. If you go, be sure and follow their instructions. Also, when you get out of your little pod at the end of the ride, expect to be a little unsteady on your legs. It's a long walk to the after ride area, so you'll get a chance to recover. Good luck!
"Fab but still on Mars!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2003 by Richie Rich
Rating: Not rated  
We were warned by a friend not, under any circumstances, to ride MS as it would definately make us sick. Pah!!! We rode it 5 times! I have to say that after the non-stop warnings about the effect of the ride my heart was pounding as I rode for the first time. But, what a blast..the launch is incredible as is the landing on Mars although the last time I rode I had the whole capsule to myself and how I made it to Mars without a Co-pilot, Commander or engineer I'll never know. Didn't feel in any way sick but saw plenty who were. I do agree that it could become dated quite quickly but at the moment it is the best simulator in Orlando by a mile.
"A fun but forgetable ride"
Reviewed on Oct 17, 2003 by Michael M Crave
Rating: Not rated  
Mission: Space offers one of the best first-time riding experiences on and off of this planet and simply cannot be passed up if you are going to visit Epcot. The anticipation for the launch and the adrenaline that surges once you feel the rockets fire are all completely cool and new experiences that are owed to all of the self-hype that the ride's two pre-shows produce via repeated safety warnings. Yet somehow, a day or so after riding, I find "space" easy to forget about, and hard to have any deep desire to want to ride again. Sure, I'll go back on it if I am in the park and have time, but gone and fading fast it seems are those Disney rides that had a timeless quality to them. This ride seems destined to become outdated, and while I know Disney will change it to "Mission: (insert some other planet name)" one day, the idea of this attraction already feels tired. Adventure rides are fun, but they also wear out their welcome very quickly (been on Star Tours lately?). The ride theme centers around, obviously, a mission into space and a journey to Mars. Gary Sinise is your narrator, and although a great actor, it is hard not to giggle when you first see him (I heard a lot of people around me chuckling too, and a few people even shouted "Lieutenant Dan!" in that Alabama accent of Forest Gump). The graphics are mediocore to cartoonish, the sound is nearly depressing if you recall the beautiful music that this ride's predecessor contained, and the overall tone and storyline has an unmistakably B-movie feel to it. The bread and butter for this ride is the thrills. When you are launching straight into space, slingshotting around the moon, and descending upon the Mars atmosphere, you really do feel like you're there. Other times, though, including the rides lackluster climax, you catch yourself thinking about things that have nothing to with the ride, and that's never a good sign. The final scene of the attraction feels very forced, and I am surprised to hear some say that the ride was too short, because by the finish I was rolling my eyes sarcastically at the poor finale while also wishing to leave. Mission: Space offers some spectacular new thrills, but it ultimately comes up short as Disney's newest and biggest ride. I'd still rather ride Pirates of The Carribean for the 200th time than take a trip into "space" for a 2nd.
"Mission: Space"
Reviewed on Oct 17, 2003 by MonorailGreen
Rating: Not rated  
Mission: Space is just awesome!! The best attraction at Epcot =) If this is a sign of coming attractions Epcot is soon to be one of the most thrilling parks in the world...
"Most intense ride at WDW"
Reviewed on Sep 20, 2003 by grandmath
Rating: Not rated  
The ride was truly fantastic and wasn't a let down. Although the weightlessness part was average, the realism of the launch and accelerations were truly unique and awesome, giving you a real sense of the intensity astronauts endure during space trips. Sometimes reality can truly be more intense and scary than theme parks thrill rides.
"Feel the slingshot!"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2003 by trendymagic
Rating: Not rated  
What a rush. Incredible! Disney did a great job with this attraction. Worth the wait. THe interior is very nice and has a ton of history in it. You can spend well over an hour at this attraction with all the extras thay have included at the end.
"Blast Off!"
Reviewed on Sep 13, 2003 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
The future just got a little more exciting with the addition of this great ride. Guests can experience the feel that astronauts get when they board the ride and set on a realistic trip to Mars. The combination of film and movement is incredable, much improved since the late 80s Star Tours and Body Wars attractions. The queue may leave something to be desired, the ride more than makes up for it. Even the facade is great, definatly adding a bit more whimsey to an area that definatly needs it. All in all, this is one of the best additions to the park in a while and my new favorite Future World attraction.
"Mission Space a blast!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2003 by foxfire
Rating: Not rated  
Overall, I enjoyed Mission: Space, rode it 5 times throughout the day. I would have liked more interactivity during the ride, and for that matter, a ride longer than 4 minutes. I thought the time between the pre-show and boarding could be used more efficiently, there was some "dead air" between videos. Later in the day there were also some technical delays and the lack of filler material made the time pass slowly. Bottom line - excellent ride, definitely worth checking out. Although I miss Horizons dearly and don't think it was worth tearing it down to build another ride. There's 47 square miles available to Disney...
"VERY Well Done, But ..."
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Mission:Space gets high marks from me for nearly everything. This is a superb attraction with an out-of-this-world (heh) simulator. However, simulators make me dizzy and spinning rides make me sick to my stomach. This ride did both. While the physical experience was unpleasant enough that I won't ride again, I could not help but admire what Disney was able to simulate.
"Great Ride; Never Again"
Reviewed on Aug 05, 2003 by hadleybarth
Rating: Not rated  
This is a great ride, probably the best ever. But, I felt woozy for hours afterward and will not ride it again. My wife loved it, went on it again and again, and felt no problems. It definatly depends on the person.
"Truly AMAZING!!"
Reviewed on Aug 04, 2003 by DisneyFreek64
Rating: Not rated  
I rode Mission SPACE during the Annual Passholder preview weekend (8/1 thru 8/3). The experience was incredible, to say the least! The preshow/queue area is VERY cool, with a huge model of a space station broken down into living quarters, labs, etc. Very detailed and worth stopping to look at, even if there isn't a line. (Unlikely once this ride opens to the general public!) The preshow continues as your segmented into "teams" and moved into a room with a "briefing" by Gary Sinise, the CAPCOM for the Mission. The briefing builds your anticipation and overall tension as you're told that you may leave the queue at any time before boarding the spacecraft. This is repeated several times during the preshow experience due to the unusual nature of the ride and it's effects on anyone who may experience discomfort from spinning or simulator-type rides. The briefing completed, you move into the "pre-board" area where another CAPCOM briefing is given and a uniformed castmember gives you last minute instructions. (I won't give details, I'll let someone else ruin it for you! ) The doors open and you enter the spacecraft. All four members of your "crew" have a job to do during the flight, to enhance the interactive experience. The ride itself is, in a word, awesome! From liftoff to landing, I felt as thought I were experiencing space flight. (Or what a layperson would expect it to feel like...) I didn't feel any spinning feelings at all, but the G-forces and turbulence were all there. The story line was great and the physical experience a lot of fun. I am a huge thrill ride fan and this ride delivers in all areas. If you get queasy on simulators or roller coasters, you may experience discomfort on this ride, but it's not as rough as it sounds. Fellow "Coaster Freeks" will love this ride!
"Some really nice effects"
Reviewed on Aug 04, 2003 by jh28wd40
Rating: Not rated  
This is one hell of a ride, some people will not be able to handle the effects of the sim. My sister would not ride M:S until after her boyfriend and I test rode it. She gets sick easy on simulators or spinning rides. I rode it and instantly loved it, him and I talked her into going on the ride. We told her that you would not feel any spinning, well sad, but true she got sick, and we felt a little bad about that :( .. She vowed never to ride M:S again. I had blast on it, it felt a little short though and the ending was less than dramatic. The effects were awsome, and I wish you could crash the capsule :) this was during the passholder Preview
"Excludes a lot of people"
Reviewed on Aug 03, 2003 by passport
Rating: Not rated  
If you can't fit in an airline seat, forget about this ride. The seats are small, the front panel comes at you and the shoulder restraints are tight. I didn't feel the spinning action but did experience nausea and lightheadedness for several hours afterwards. I wanted off the ride seconds after the lift off but of course, like any other ride, there is no way to stop it. But unlike any other ride, this one was physically uncomfortable. So, I won't be riding it again. I am still very impressed with the concept and can easily tell that a ton of money was spent on it. I would like to know if I could go on the ride and not have it spin (like riding Body Wars without the motion).
"Good Ride But Overhyped"
Reviewed on Aug 02, 2003 by dxwwf3
Rating: Not rated  
Not nearly as intense as some would have you believe. But still probably the best simulator ride on property.
"MISSION:SPACE=AWESOME"
Reviewed on Aug 02, 2003 by NautOneFL
Rating: Not rated  
Could have been longer - do I see a Tower of Terror redo possibly here? Went during Passholder weekend - no lines. The ride is excellend and would reccomend it for everybody!
"best ride"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2003 by askmike1
Rating: Not rated  
This ties and possibly beats Tower of Terror for best ride. The queue and the preshows make you feel like you are really going on a mission to mars. Also the heart beating music and than the really NASA type music really sets the tone. Although the ride is a little short and the ending isn't the greatest, the lift off and landing on mars make up for it. And as long as you follow the saftey instructions, you won't get sick.
"Wow!"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2003 by DarkMeasures
Rating: Not rated  
You know that giant slingshot at Old Town? The launch on this ride feels just like the launch on the slingshot. I could feel my cheeks pull back. Just truly awsome.
"Awsome Ride"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2003 by goofyman
Rating: Not rated  
I must say, with the exception that I get a bit dizzy from virtual type rides like this or Star tours ( or videos games for that fact) This ride is a MUST at least once. Very cool, very intense and the beginning is SO realistic it is AMAZING! Great job by Disney!!
"This ride ROCKS"
Reviewed on Aug 01, 2003 by magicjay1989
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride so much. I have been on it five time and still cant get enought of it. It is the best ride Disney has made in a while. Its good to know the magic of Disney is still there.
"Amazing"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by stitchndory
Rating: Not rated  
I loved the ride. It was very impressive. I kept getting off and getting back in line. I really enjoyed it. Hats off to the imagineers that thought this thing up.
"GREAT"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by joedsny
Rating: Not rated  
I have a slight case of colsterphobia and for me the ride was great. I guess because i knew that it wouldnt last 2 hrs. But over all the best was the takeoff for me and the people in the pod with me didnt help when we landed so we crashed. but overall we had a great expierence. DONT GO ON 2x in a row..we didnt feel good for a day or so. MUST DO AT LEAST ONCE.
"WOW"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by testtrack321
Rating: Not rated  
Wow.... That's all you need to know. This ride blows all others out of the water. It's hands down the best non-coaster ride ever and the one of the best rides ever, including coasters. This is to Star Tours what Rock n' Rollercoaster was to Space Mountain.
"Wow!!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by Hitogoroshi
Rating: Not rated  
This is the ride to save Epcot! Although I was very scared from the millions of warning-signs you pass on your way to the capsule, I went on and it was the most amazing experience ever!! Don't let everyone fool you with stories about people getting sick and feeling bad for days. I don't have the best stomach and I didn't feel sick at all after riding four times. You don't feel it spinning at all and if you can do any other simulator, you'll be fine. You just don't want to miss this ride, that leaves you speechless!!!
"Disney's Best E-Ticket!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by Mission: SPACE
Rating: Not rated  
This has become my favorite thrill ride, ANYWHERE... It's definately going to give the other guys down the street (NOT naming any names) a run for their money... It's a true Disney attraction, done with Disney style.
"Nice addition to EPCOT"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by bps2h
Rating: Not rated  
MS is a good addition to EPCOT. My feelings/opinions on this ride probably will fall in the middle of the overall spectrum. It is not the greatest ride I've ever been on, nor is it something that I would stand in line for 60 minutes to ride. However, it is an interesting and enjoyable experience, especially the first time. It is definitely an upgrade from Star Tours and Body Wars.
"Out of this world!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by ghostygreeter
Rating: Not rated  
This ride almost tops The Haunted Mansion as my favorite ride of all-time... Well it might top it... Anyways, I rode Mission: Space 4 times and two of those times were in a row... Don't do that. Excellent ride with a little bit of a disappointing ending. DO NOT TURN YOUR HEAD!
"UNBELIEVABLE!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by DisneyFreak1228
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of those rides where simple reviews such as these won't do it justice. You have to ride M:S to believe it. It is so amazing.
"Didn't Blow Me Away"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by bandman
Rating: Not rated  
I was hoping for more. Yes, you experience crushing G Forces for a few seconds or so, but then it's Bodywars & Star Tours. I know most on this site will disagree, but I do not think this ride is earth shattering, awesome, or when all the hype dies down will it help EPCOT'S attendance.
"Disney did it again"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2003 by miamimickey72
Rating: Not rated  
What can I say. GREAT. UNREAL. THE BOMB. They really did it again. What a ride. This is the closest most of us will ever get to space flight in our lifetime. But I can say that its such a great feeling and hope to be alive to see other young people get to do real space flight someday. This ride is a must. I will say if your affraif oh being enclosed in a small area..this is not for you. Other then that I can see any reaosn for anyone not to get on it. A must do while at Epcot.
"We Choose To Go.."
Reviewed on Jul 19, 2003 by The_CEO
Rating: Not rated  
Another winner in my book, I have ridden 4 times and counting!
"Best Ride at WDW!!!!!!!"
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2003 by t3techcom18
Rating: Not rated  
Best ride at WDW!!!! Very good, but needs a longer Queue line, and needs a bit more theming of space. Also, they need a little more stuff about Space in the Queue(like a video, or something else), so people would get bored and dizzy staring at the stuff in the Queue room( The only place that has stuff like that in the Queue, is when you are about to be dispatched onto the ride is the the Control Center and 75 Years of Spaceflight spotlights in history.) The storyline is great, and the preshow, ride, postshow and Gift Shop are excellent. Gift Shop has a good variety of merchandise tied to the attraction, and of the theme(Space, of course). They have TONS of shirts, hats, different Space-themed items, and even glass cups and models of the vehicle you are supposed to be in! The preshows and outside music are very well designed, and are sort of inspirational music to interest you about the ride. The architecture is very good as well. I Give the ride: 5 ***** stars
"Very realistic."
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
This was not a very good ride, though I feel that they bit off more than they could chew. They kept pitching it as "very intense," but it wasn't so much. The launch was great, though I certainly didn't feel as if I was going from 0-6,000 in 60 seconds. Very realisic ride, though.
"Mission:Space and Beyond!"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2003 by CTXRover
Rating: Not rated  
This attraction is truly unbelievable!!. In my opinion, it is one of the most incredible experiences you will ever have ANYWHERE, period. The force on your body is unlike anything I have experienced and the cutting edge imagery is very realistic. There is so much detail in this ride and the ride capsule that I guarentee you will miss a lot of what makes this attraction top notch should you only ride it once. Everytime I rode I saw something new, felt something different, and heard new things from sound effects to Capcom's instructions during the ride. The only thing I thought seemed weak was the weightless part. You do feel weightless for a second or two, but not as long as I had hoped. However, if they took the whole zero G thing out, I wouldn't care. This ride is so unbelievable without it. The post show is so much fun and, for me, is the best post-show area at any of the Epcot Pavilions. It is entertaining, well-themed and continues with the whole storyline of the pavilion flawlessly. The race game is a lot of fun and you need to be an astronaut AND Mission Control to really experence this game (in other words, play it twice). The videos from space are a lot of fun to make. This is going to be a major hit for Disney and Epcot, and the entire theme park industry when it opens officially. The ride is so complex that most people won't even realize how complex it is unless they come to websites like this...it is that well done. From the expressions everyone had after the ride, I think it is safe to say everyone who rode it loved it as well!
"Mission Space"
Reviewed on Jun 26, 2003 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
A new hit at EPCOT, Mission Space will soon have its official opening. The ride itself is fun, but it does not meet up in quality nor does it meet up in value to its predecessor Future World attractions.
"Mission: ACCOMPLISHED!"
Reviewed on Jun 26, 2003 by WDWGuy
Rating: Not rated  
When this opens at Epcot in August 2003, the entire Theme Park world will take notice. Ingenuity, Realism, and classic Disney special touches make this attraction one of the best the Disney Cooperation has to offer in its Parks and Resorts division. Be aware this ride does have several health cautions. And it may be too intense for small children. HEED THE WARNINGS! A MUST SEE!
"Pulse-racing lift-off!"
Reviewed on May 31, 2003 by wdwmagic
Rating: Not rated  
Comments from a pre-opening ride. "The official press release talks of "pulse-racing lift-off." This is not merely marketing spin. "Lift-off" is "pulse-racing," that's for sure." "It's not all about the physical experience. Much of what makes Mission: Space brilliant is the psychological aspect. In this way the ride really does "push the envelope." There really is nothing else even close to this experience in a theme park. Many people who ride this attraction are going have sore cheek muscles from smiling so much before the ride portion of the attraction has even started. I've never been to a Space Camp, but I can't imagine a more thrilling experience for someone who wishes to be an astronaut than the Mission: Space ride at EPCOT"
Mission: SPACE
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site