Maelstrom reviews

World Showcase, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 7.5 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.5  
"The Spirit of Norway vill always be adventure!"
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2013 by Fairybuzz (sarah)
Rating: 8  
Back back over the falls! to a time when epcot created attractions without using present characters and themes. This classic favorite is the last untouched ride in Epcot, and a big part of my epcot expirience. The effects may be a bit dated but the almost dreamlike journey takes you into norway's mythology with stops along the natural countryside and culture. I can't help but feel that the trolls want you to leave so badly and finally toss you out of the country at the end haha, but its very charming. The movie however is a bit old and ruddy, and I dont think anyone actually stops to see it at all lol. But still, this ride is one of my favorites in the park!
"I love Maelstrom! "
Reviewed on Apr 16, 2013 by KRAKENvsMANTA
Rating: 10  
This is one of my favorite rides at Epcot. I've been riding since it opened, and still enjoy it. People complain that it's slow and outdated, but I see it as relaxing and nostalgic. A must-ride everytime!
"Never Updated"
Reviewed on Oct 02, 2012 by Awful
Rating: 1  
This ride has been around for many, many years with little or NO updating. After a time or two on this lethargic ride throughout the years, there is no way that this can ever be fun. Maybe if you need somewhere to sit for a few minutes, or to get out of the sun or rain, then this will suffice. Otherwise, it's boring, old, and is an embarrassment to both Norway and Disney. Get those imagineers in there to update this dinosaur.
"A well-themeed, fun ride"
Reviewed on Apr 19, 2012 by wsmith1978
Rating: 8  
This is, by no means, a thrill ride. But it's still fun, despite what the review below states. The theming is great, and it's a nice chance to rest and enjoy the typical Disney touches.
"High speed rid with awesome thrills *sarcastic*"
Reviewed on Apr 19, 2012 by sfdgf224
Rating: 1  
I honestly wish I could do negative ratings because this was the worst thing I have ever experienced. It makes me physically sick to my stomach.
Halfway through the ride the troll which looks like a piece of wood made out of plastic pops up and says some curse to make you go backwards. After we went backwards at speeds of 2.4mph and plummeted down a 2ft drop. We finally came to the final room where there was nothing but wallpaper with crudely painted oil rigs on it.
A sad disappointment for children and adults of all ages. The funniest part is that there was a 1 hour line after I went on it.
"This is Troll Country"
Reviewed on Jan 24, 2012 by Silver Figment
Rating: 9  
Great ride, cool concept, and it's nice to know you might learn a little something. People should make an attempt to ride it. The only setback i could think of was the length of the ride, which i think could've been longer.
"Great for all ages"
Reviewed on Dec 04, 2011 by DisneyloverJMH
Rating: 10  
May not be the most popular or thrilling attraction but is a must do for the whole family and in hot water the air conditioning feels great.The backwards part is a unique experience on a water ride but is very fun. Kids will love it!!!! It is well lit so those afraid of the dark will not have a problem with the ride. But the trolls might scare some so if you have small children I advise you don't sit in the front.The movie at the end is very loud and not fun I think a better way to show the movie would to use it as a pre-ride movie to make the wait less daunting. The Maelstrom is a ride that I hope will never leave Epcot but a few updates would be nice
"Underrated"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 7  
It may not be the most exciting ride Disney has to offer, but it is still a lot of fun. I try and check it out whenever I'm in Epcot.
"Awesome ride!"
Reviewed on Nov 05, 2009 by 24601
Rating: 10  
it is my favorite ride in the world showcase. The trolls are cool and the backwards drop is fun even though it is small. This ride is a must for EVERYONE!
"change 2 things please but never get rid of this ride!"
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2009 by rustysgirl
Rating: 10  
we love maelstrom, we rode it 3 times! i hope they never get rid of this ride. its so fun. I only wish for 2 things. one, that it was longer, with more drops instead of just the one. (even though its fun cuz its backwards) and 2, that they made a separate exit so u dont have to wait for the movie if u dont want to. which i believe someone already said. all in all though i would definitely ride this tons more times.
"Love the ride... one BIG gripe!!"
Reviewed on May 17, 2009 by joyousjoy
Rating: 8  
we love this little ride in Norway. So incredibly kitchy, but entertaining at the same time. My one gripe is that if your timing is off, you wind up having to wait up to 10 minutes before you can leave! You have to wait for the previous showing of the movie to let out. In the meantime, you're stuck waiting in a twilight Norwegian fishing villiage, which is nifty for about the first three minutes. After that, it's just irritating. All they have to do is put an exit door right there, and all would be well! Does anyone really stop to watch the movie anyway?? OK, I must admit that my hubby and I did once. We wouldn't again. Love the Norway pavilion. And we like the ride so much we go every time we're there, in spite of the irritating wait at the end of it!
"We always get a kick from this short ride in Norway--it's typical Disney magic."
Reviewed on May 16, 2009 by oldgeezer
Rating: 10  
The two of us are older and we prefer to be entertained rather than to be thrilled by rough, scary rides. Maelstrom is very well-done and has long been one of our favorites at Epcot.
"Charming"
Reviewed on May 04, 2009 by Oriolesmagic
Rating: 10  
The ride has impressive theming and I think really shines the atmosphere of Norway. From the trolls to the vikings, Norway is a mythical, fun adventure.
"Educational"
Reviewed on Oct 07, 2008 by BigB911
Rating: 7  
Interesting, learning about Norway in this manner. It didn't dawn on me until the other day why the boat goes backwards for so long. (Because that's how Vikings would row their vessels.)
"great "
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great ride to relax, even though its quick, and its great to spend a few min. in between attractions. ....and wait for princess breakfast across the way
"It is'nt Pirates of the Carribian"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 6  
Its o.k. Not too scary unless you have a little kid. Theres trolls,waterfalls, and polar bears. One huge complaint is when you get off, you have to wait to get out [or take the movie, your choice].
"Maelstrom"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
Great ride, it's a little short, though. It should be added on to after the waterfall or have a couple of more falls to add to the thrill factor. The trolls are great, "be gone before we cast a spell"
"the maelstrom"
Reviewed on Apr 07, 2007 by epcot12
Rating: 7  
the maelstrom is one of my faves at epcot it has a classic value and I enjoy it I recently went to epcot with some freinds and they complained that the ride was to short and it had a small drop they didnt even call the first a drop
"Back,back,over the falls!"
Reviewed on Jun 30, 2006 by crxbrett
Rating: Not rated  
Queue time-Average. I have seen this ride many times with a walk-on wait and other times with a 30 minute wait...and both times were in the middle of July when it\'s crowded.

Audio/Music-Good. There isn\'t much music heard in the actual boatride portion of the attraction. The music in the movie you see after the ride is very good, though. The sounds are adequate throughout the whole presentation of the ride/movie.

Preshow/Queue Area-Average. The outside is very detailed and quite beautiful. But once you get indoors it\'s just a giant room with a huge mural of the Nordic Sea. Not much really to look at.

Storyline-Average. There isn\'t a real story, but instead it\'s more like you are the focal point. It\'s more of a tale I would say.

Theming-Good. The theming of the exterior and the quaint village at the end of the journey are Exellent.

Postshow-Average. Nothing really.

Thrills-Average. Nothing to get overly enthused about, but it does create a couple of laughs and screams. Little kids might be timid about the drop, but it\'s no worse than Pirates of the Caribbean.

Duration-Well, the ride alone is short...too short. But if you factor in the movie with the ride it ends up being about 10 minutes, which is perfect.

Kid Friendly-Good. Again, most kids will love the trolls and the waterfalls. But, little kids who aren\'t too fond of the dark or hate any kind of drops should steer clear.

Overall-Average. I, personally like this ride very much. But, with an unbiased and realistic opinion it is merely an average ride to most people. I think of it as a poor man\'s Pirates of the Caribbean.
"Mael-Strung"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Like the Rio del Tiempo, this is a sedate boat ride (although a small backwards drop is fun) and has a certain charm which is worth a visit. Aviod the after show in the cinema. Don't let them trap you inside!! I beg!
"Nice boat ride..."
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
Calm, relaxing ride through Norweigian seas. Not too big on thrills and can get a bit scary for younger kids. Go on this if you visit Epcot, it's a classic!
"too short, too long"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
It's a decent ride with fun troll animatronics that could have been a bit more cohesive in it's storytelling. The ride itself could have been a bit longer, while the movie at the end could have been a bit shorter, or done away with completely, as it is probably the only film at any Disney theme park that was not remotely interesting. I always feel embarrassed for the poor CM's introducing the film because half the people walk straight from the ride past the theater and out the exit. Then again, I'm one of the folks skipping the film so I can't really say anything.
"trolls!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride, though the end show is booooring. so I tend to skip it. but the ride is fun. mostly a nostalgic thing for me, but still fun!
"Spirit of Norway"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2003 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
The viking ship ride is exciting (especially for kids) and the film is a short but interesting tribute to the spirit of Norway. Recommended.
"Somewhat Decent"
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
The attraction is a somewhat interesting, decent view of myths and/or reality of the land of Norway. You come face to face with trolls and nearly go tumbling backwards down a waterfall which is the most interesting part of the ride. It's a pleasant diversion and a second reason for visiting Norway in EPCOT (the first being the delicious pastry shop located nearby). It's not a must-see, but seeing it at least once is where its worth lies.
"Nice, short ride"
Reviewed on Sep 03, 2002 by Wilson
Rating: Not rated  
A solid ride, although a little short. The backwards downhill plunge is not as bad as it sounds. Highlights for me: The big oil thing in the North Atlantic, and the fishing village where you are dropped off after the ride. Not spectacular, but I think all of the World Showcase countries would benefit from having something similar. Oh, and sit through the movie at least once before you start hustling past it on subsequent trips.
"Not to be missed"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Maelstrom should be one of your first stops when visiting World Showcase. Easily the best World Showcase rides and it is quite exciting. Although may not be for the kids, but still a great ride.
"DO IT"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
ONE OF THE BETTER RIDES IN THE COUNTRIES, THE MVIE AT THE END COULD BE BETTER. GIFT SHOP HAS SOME DIFFERENT THINGS.
"You are not the first...."
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
You are not the first to pass this way......nor will you be the last.Maelstrom is one of the better pavilion rides, its a tale of a mystical journey through norways past.The end gift shop is a good photo-opportunity and has some interesting novelties.The ride is very interesting and a lot of fun to keep riding over and over again.
"High-Seas Adventure"
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
World Showcase's best attraction (and perhaps in the entire EPCOT until Test Track opened 10 years later), Maelstrom brings a sence of whimsy and enchantment to World Showcase. From the charming show scenes, to the thrilling drop and the sheer themeing of the entire experience, including the detailed fishing village and film at the attrction's conclusion (you've got to see the film, it's partof the experience). A definate must-see.
"Yew are not the first..."
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
One of the World Showcase highlights, Maelstrom takes guests back in time to hear a brief history and also enter a Troll area. Parts can be intense for small children, but it's more fascinating than not. We are also transported into a lovely Norwegian countryside and an ice-cold Polar Bear area. It's a short little ride, but nonetheless, charming!
Maelstrom
Related News
 
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site