Listen to The Land reviews

Future World, Epcot
Reader rating Reader rating 7.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 7.4  
"BOAT!! "
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2013 by Sarah
Rating: 7  
Livin' is a boat ride that many may think is boring. Yet as a kid I LOVED IT!! first of all I always loved rides with water tracks. Water always excited me. But I learned to appreciate the ride as a really informative journey. I always loved the intro scenes of the different resources. It always reminded me of morning on a beautiful farm. Though the storm seems fierce as a kid, the narrator provides comfort and assurance that its a new beginning for plant life, which actually turned me from being scared of storms to loving them as a kid. Its really cool to be in those domes later on. Although they smell like imported sand and fish, they are very beautiful, and very cool. However this ride could use a bit more music, some extended narration, and that scene with a bunch of paused pictures of people's faces has to go. It has nothing to do with anything. They could also put more animatronics like an old farmer telling stories about his farm with a pipe saying how he started with just a shack and some dirt fields and now he has hydroponics, advanced equipment etc. All in all this pavillion wouldn't be itself without this ride. (Its not closed this is the old version, but the new one isnt here for some reason). It ain't that boring. Its actually pretty fun!
"Enjoyable Ride"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by friendnc
Rating: 10  
Very relaxing, informative ride. One of our favorites to get away from the hustle for the rest of the park. Love it the way it is.
"boreing, informative"
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 5  
boreing , yet informative about how and where our food comes from and agriculture facts
"A suprising must-see"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 7  
We ate in that revolving restraunt and saw boats going by and we decided to go on. This is educational but very intresting. I definitly recomend it!
"THE Land"
Reviewed on Sep 06, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
Living with the land is the only original "ride" left in The Land complex. The storm, rainforest, desert, farm, and prarie scenes are probably the best parts of the ride. It is interesting to see all of the different plants that are grown in the greenhouse part and served on the restaurant menus. There is a lab where scientists are conducting experiments with the plants and food. They've taken out the tour guides and replaced them with speakers now. Better not change to much of what's being grown.
"surprise, it's good"
Reviewed on Oct 08, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Most people hear about this ride and think "BORING!!" myself included. But Birnbaums, the Unofficial Guide, and a couple other books said not to let the description fool you, and guess what? They were right.

Obviously, this is not a particularly thrilling ride, the beginning scenes are scaled down sets, and it's nothing you want to take your kids on for sure. But the beginning is effective enough at drawing you in, and the 2 greenhouses are really quite amazing with what they have accomplished there, you know, vegetables growing without soil and all that.

For the extreme Disney fan, I really believe this ride captures the essence of what Walt Disney had originally intended for Epcot. Not Epcot the theme park, but E.P.C.O.T. the city. While a lot of what was written about the different advanced technology that would have been used citywide, I can picture that the advanced farming technology featured in this ride were things that would have been used on the city's outskirts.

The lines are usually pretty long (pre-Soarin' days anyway), but it's worth the wait to go at least once.
"It Grows on You"
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2004 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
Worth a look if you have the time. The first half is classic Disney dark ride with scenes depicting different climates. Nothing majorly exciting, but it IS educational. The second half is the more interesting half. You are taken through Disney's crop research lab and shown a wealth of fruit and vegetable plants while the guide explains what Disney researchers are working on in conjunction with the U.S.D.A. This was better than I had expected.
"yay!"
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride, though several trips have resulted in long lines and no time to go on. I will some day get to go on it again, but it is quite fascinating and interesting, and I don't mind learning on vacation.
"Educational and fun!"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2003 by Walter
Rating: Not rated  
What a great attraction! It really teaches you the efforts that we're making to keep the Earth healthy, and things that we're doing that is killing the Earth. Interesting to see the different ways to garden. Intersting, educational, and fun! The only downside, is that the queue can get long.
"Still a great ride."
Reviewed on May 12, 2003 by jeffgn
Rating: Not rated  
This is an older attraction but still good. If you love boat rides this is a great one.
"I miss Listen to the Land"
Reviewed on May 09, 2003 by mkymaus
Rating: Not rated  
I LOVED Listen to the Land...I always left that right singing that song....one of my favorites...kinda disappointed they stopped playing it. I still like the ride...its one of those catch your breath and relax for awhile kinda exhibits. Interesting for me, but my kids dont like it...2 teens and an 8 year old. But, we do it anyways.
"Simply the best!!!"
Reviewed on Oct 29, 2002 by animegirllover
Rating: Not rated  
I love this ride!!! This ride was replaced by Living With the Land. It had lots of effects like listening to the sounds of the land, see what people grow & more. Some kids will like it, but it's awesome for teens & adults. They'll probably like this old ride replaced by Living With the Land.
"Boring As All Get Out"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
For those of us desiring to catch all of the most interesting rides in Epcot, do yourself a favor and pass this one by. Living With the Land is extremely boring, tedious, and not the least bit interesting. I leave this "attraction" to the old folks in the family who are into plants and gardening. It's Yawnsville for me, so I head off to the better attractions.
"Fun & Relaxing"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by WDW-Imagineer
Rating: Not rated  
Living with the Land is a fun and relaxing, and provides quite a bit of information. Very interesting... although not necessarily a ride for kids.
"How to Farm"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by meeko_33785
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is not one of EPCOT's most exciting. The ride has two parts, the first takes guests to different locals of the world such as the rainforest and the American farm. The second is a large working greenhouse which is just bursting with information of farming anything you would ever want to farm. Worth a peek if you have time, but I would't make it a priority.
"CLASSIC"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
A MUST DO EVERY TRIP.A GREAT RIDE THROUGH HISTORY AND THE FUTURE OF FARMING.FOR THE RIDE GET A FAST PASS AND THEN EAT AT THE FOOD COURT TO AVOID THE WAIT.
"Living with the land"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by Genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Living with the land is a gardeners dream ride!The ride takes you first through a story of the earth, plants, and how mother nature started her course. Then you go into Disneys greenhouse, this greenhouse has many plants which are all served at disney's restaurants. They use many different methods of growing to maximize plants and have many sucessful growing methods. They also show you into the fish hatchery, all the fish are also served at restaurants around disney world.Make sure to take the backstage tour if your a plant lover, its wonderful!Living with the land is a great, relaxing ride, go ride it!
"its nice"
Reviewed on Aug 30, 2002 by lakersfan17
Rating: Not rated  
its nice and relaxing after walking around for 8 hours
"Incredibly Boring"
Reviewed on Aug 29, 2002 by YankeeFan
Rating: Not rated  
Personally I don't care for this attraction at all. I was bored out of my mind hearing about their methods for growing plants and raising other forms of food that's enjoyed around the World. If you're into plants and growing your own food, no doubt you'd find this fascinating. For those with no interest in it and who care to try out the more interesting attractions, it's wise to pass this attraction by.
"The Land"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
The Land, situated between Imagination and the Living Seas, is one my favorite EPCOT pavilion. Undergone an extensive rehab in 1994, most of the pavilion has been changed for the better - including a very new and fresh color scheme and a new version of Symbiosis: The Circle of Life. Food Rocks is an extreme dissappointment, which makes my respect towards the Land lower tremendously, but the rest of the pavilion is still very enjoyable!!
"Living with the Land"
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2002 by grizzlyhall
Rating: Not rated  
This is an excellent tour in The Land's VERY technological greenhouse, and also a journey through prairies, farms, and the rainforest. This tour is very relaxing and educational...and you won't believe your eyes when you see how they improve crops in the Greenhouse! This is a must see. If you're really interested, there's a tour in the Greehouse called "Behind the Seeds" for six dollars.
Listen to The Land
Related News
 
Related Photo Galleries
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site