Kali Rapids reviews

Asia, Disney's Animal Kingdom
Reader rating Reader rating 6.4 / 10
Share
Average Reader Rating: 6.4  
"Terrible, family was disappointed!"
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2014 by DisneyVacayers
Rating: 1  
My family of seven waited for this ride that said 60 minutes but winded up being 2 1/2 hours! By the time we got on the ride, we were expecting it to be worth it and were sadly disappointed! The ride lasted for about what seemed a minute and was not worth riding at all. The art work and message behind it was nice, but the ride was too short and too lame with no thrills. Also, the wait time was a flat out lie and everyone around us was upset as well. When we rented out the lockers by the ride that were free for two hours, we were charged 10$ because the ride wait went well pass that. We felt as if it was a scheme to make ten dollars off of unsuspecting tourists at disney. My family and I were so disappointed that we never want to go back to Animal kingdom again and we love animals!
"Good theme....WAY to short!"
Reviewed on Apr 25, 2013 by DisneyFreak
Rating: 7  
Im going to be quick and say that you should only ride if it is boiling hot or the line is short. The themeing of the entire thing is good. I like the save the forest story it has going for it. Sadly it is way WAY to short. You wait 30 minutes in line to ride for 5 minutes. Plus only two or three people are going to get real wet. So make sure you know what you are doing before you ride. Hopefully Disney will improve this in the future as this is a fail to me. I give it a good rating due to its good story. Sorry Disney.
"...Is That It?"
Reviewed on Apr 05, 2013 by Imogen
Rating: 6  
When it comes to July and August, the thought of being drenched with freezing water fills you with joy. But in the space of around 3 or 4 minutes, you simply don't have time to cool off! There is always one or two people who are in the spot where soaking occurs, but that's it. The one drop is fun, but the rest of the ride lacks in design and interest. "Popeye And Bluto's Bilge Rat Barges" @ Universal IOA definitely comes out on top in the raft ride rift!
"Kali, we hardly knew ya"
Reviewed on Sep 23, 2012 by jharvey
Rating: 6  
I have a simple rule when it comes to rides or attractions. It is not unreasonable. As a confirmed coward, I avoid Expedition Everest, Tower of Terror, Space Mountain, etc. If I can see my way onto riding a ride, I am fairly confident that I will, A. survive and B. somewhat enjoy the ride (see Splash Mountain). But my one hard and fast rule is that, if you can get in a sprinter's stance ( in a completely empty line) and run as fast as you can through the queue, and it take longer than the actual ride, go back to the drawing board. THIS RIDE IS TOO SHORT! That said, it was fun. But at 3-5 minutes in length, it is not worth it guys. Even if you have a FP, by the time you make your way through the marathon that is Kali Rapid's queue, it is a waste of your time.
"Fun, but too short!"
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2012 by BeautifulTomorrow
Rating: 7  
I like to ride this ride when it's hot out, or cold with a poncho!! It does however lack good theming and is way too short! It is fun to get wet and bond with the people in your boat though!
"Excellent in hot weather, horrible in spring/winter weather."
Reviewed on Sep 08, 2011 by WondersOfLife
Rating: 8  
This ride is actually really quite fun, but ONLY when it's really hot outside and you're finding a place to cool off. Most people don't like this ride, probably because they don't ever feel like getting soaked, it's really fun tho. You can't find a better rapids ride at any other theme park. Well, maybe at Island of Adventure...
"eliminate "dry" from your vocabulary"
Reviewed on May 17, 2011 by Hot4Hudgens
Rating: 6  
True, this ride has tons of untapped potential, but enjoy it for what it is - especially on a scorcher of day...and prepare to get wet, of course.
"Poncho poncho poncho"
Reviewed on Jan 11, 2011 by 
Rating: 8  
I recommend this ride, it's fun for all ages, although those who prefer high-voltage excitement ought to pass.
The kids love it. There are 2-3 minor splashes and one big one which guarantees everyone to get wet. The trick to buy a cheap plastic poncho for the whole family *before* you leave home. I got mine 1$ each. On site it's 7$ each. They are compact and you can re-use them. Bonus: they are great to hide the camera or camcorder when the big splash arrives! The ride fits about 10 people I think and at the center there is a storage area big enough to put a couple of backpacks or handbags.
"Worst ride on the trip"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2010 by NewJersey22
Rating: 2  
My four year old daughter thought that the ride was to short and boring. Lots of potential if it was longer, but not worth the wait. About as exciting as Malstrom in Ecpot.
"Too Short, Minimal Theme"
Reviewed on Jun 23, 2010 by mandstaft
Rating: 3  
Could be so much better. In contrast, California Adventure's slightly above average Grizzly Rapids is a masterpiece.
"Be prepared to get wet"
Reviewed on May 11, 2010 by MBAlwaysDisney
Rating: 8  
This ride is alot of fun! You can always talk to the other groups in the boat and get a good lauph when they get drenched. I would suggest to ride this on your way out of the park at the end of the day. This ride gets you soaked and you wouldn't want to walk around the park wet all day :p It's a fun ride, but they could jazz it up a little.
"Doesn't live up to its potnetial"
Reviewed on Nov 04, 2008 by tokyotap
Rating: 3  
In a perfect Disney world, Kali River Rapids would be a thrilling, E-ticket attraction. No world is perfect however and this ride fails to live up to its potential.

It starts out quite well. The queue is very well themed. There are wonderful artifacts and lots of information about the effects of rain forest logging. Sadly, it all goes downhill from there.

Basically, it's a short ride similar to the typical "White Water Canyon"-type attractions at other amusement parks. In this version, there are a few burning logs and nice lanscaping, but not much else. There is a small hill, a couple quick turns and then its over.

I am not a big fan of water rides (I don't like walking around in sloshy shoes all day), but I do enjoy them if there is something out of the ordinary is offered. Disney's version is pretty ordinary, aside from the queue theming.

In short, unless you are a big fan of getting wet (and even that is hit or miss on the Kali River), skip this attraction. Or (if the line's short) walk through the queue and take in all the neat stuff and then beat it to the exit.
"Kids love"
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2008 by readytogo
Rating: 9  
Bottom line, my 6 year old loves this, therefore...we love it! :) It could use some more spunk for sure, but still worth it!
"WDWs first river rapid ride falls short...literally"
Reviewed on Jul 04, 2008 by Spike-in-Berlin
Rating: 7  
In the original plans of DAK the Kali River Rapids were called Tiger River Rapids. An E-Ticket attraction in the new Asia area featuring real tigers and other wild animals and lots of thrills like threatening tree logs. Then for budget reasons this magnificent idea was downsized to a much shorter and less elaborated cheap version - and it shows. It is quite a nice ride but nothing special and THAT'S not the Disney-way. If you have to wait more than 30 minutes use FP or skip. It's not worth a longer wait.
"A Bit of a Letdown"
Reviewed on May 13, 2008 by friendnc
Rating: 5  
Great themeing, but really didn't meet expectations, especially from a Disney ride. It's WAY too short. Not nearly as exciting as the setup/que experience would suggest. Popeye Barges at Islands of Adventure is MUCH better. Wouldn't wait anymore than 30 minutes to ride. Not a bad ride, just way below Disney's usually high standards IMO.
"Not a Bad Ride --- did not exceed my expectations"
Reviewed on May 06, 2008 by emba33
Rating: 6  
If you have been on "River Rapids" rides before, you have been on Kali Rapids. The theming is okay ... but as elaborate as it is ... at the core, it is a short river ride, with few thrills. Out of 8 people each tube sits, 2 will get completely drenched, usually by a gusher right at the beginning of the ride.

If you ride this later in the day, you will likely have no wait --- I would hate to wait more than 30 minutes for this ride.

There is one little hill which is kind of like a slide ... this was one unique aspect of an otherwise generic ride.

It would have been cool to go inside a place, or see some sights on the way ... but it is over way before this is possible.

/\/\/\/\ Emba 33 /\/\/\/\

PS - My 4-year old was also horrified by the ride ... I think it was the water ... and she was scared of the unknown. I didn't expect her reaction because other thrill rides did not cause the same reaction.
"fun, wet "
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2008 by maryszhi
Rating: 10  
great ride to cool off. i especially like the cannons that squirt water on you. i recommend save this ride til the end when its cold or you dont like touring a park wet, unless you bring a change of clothes,exc.
"Wow, wet!"
Reviewed on Jan 07, 2008 by Spaceship_Rob
Rating: 10  
We love this ride! It's not only informative, showing what damage to the rain forest can do to an ecosystem, it's a blast. From the wonderfully-themed ride up the belt to the last oh-so-wet drop, it's the best!
"You don`t get wet at all! You get drenched!"
Reviewed on Oct 14, 2007 by Nemofan852
Rating: 8  
Wow! This ride is very fun, you get wet, and you see the damage loggers have done to a rainforest. I have 2 complainants on this ride. One its pretty short, and two, the one big time you get wet is on the drop. Its still an awesome ride, though
"Great while it lasts"
Reviewed on Sep 12, 2007 by MouseWorshipper
Rating: 9  
This ride is very brief - its a little over two minutes. However, while you're on you will love it! You are put into a huge multi-person raft and sent careening down a river that is elaborately designed and cosmetically gorgeous. It isn't very intense, but quite.... chilling.

Okay I won't let you be caught off guard. On this ride, you get wet. Okay, not wet, soaked. No, not even soaked. DRENCHED TO THE BONE! But that's the point. So if you don't want to, don't ride because it takes away all the fun. Don't cover up in ponchos. Take your shoes off even though the cast members tell you not to and enjoy it. Even if you wear full scuba gear, your butt will get wet from the water on the seat.

Some seats are worse than others, but you can't predict. So just allow yourself to cool off in the sun - it's Florida; it's not gonna take forever.

Lastly, don't critique the deforestation moral: it's eloquently done... not to mention the truth.
"Good cool of ride"
Reviewed on Aug 26, 2007 by mperry
Rating: 5  
This ride is a good way to cool off, and maybe be Completely soaked to the bone. Unless you don't mind walking around the rest of the day watherlogged like Davey Jones let this be the last ride you take for the day.
"OMG, lady next to me got drenched!!!"
Reviewed on May 10, 2007 by KevGuy
Rating: 8  
It was a roll of the dice as to who was gonna get soaked IMO. So it ended up being the lady right next to me lol, she looked like she just got out of the Kali River fully clothed lmao!! I was like two tone man, half wet and half dry. Great ride!!
"A dissapointment... so much potential"
Reviewed on Apr 21, 2007 by Skip
Rating: 6  
Kali River Rapids had a lot of potential... and well... Disney kind of did it on the cheap, and it shows big time. The queuing area is amazing and really sets you up for the ride. The beginning is awesome with the ascent up the misty hill, and the loggers scene is great, too (it's also really improved now that you have a fantastic view of Everest) and then you have that drop, you make a few turns, and it's over.

Wait, it's over? Did I miss something? Apparently not. The first two scenes and drop had so much potential, but then it just kind of ended there. The foliage didn't impress me much. It just seemed like they could've done so much more... like say, a voyage into an Asian temple or something. And the ride is just so short... I wouldn't wait more than 15 minutes for this thing. It's worth riding, though, it's just not as good as it could been. If you want a really good rafting ride, go try Popeye over at Islands of Adventure.
"yawn...yawn"
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2007 by leakyshunt
Rating: 5  
ok its not a terrible ride and im not going to totally trash it but i've been on other theme park river rapid rides and...disney needs to spice it up...i mean add maybe another drop or something-i've been on it a few times and got maybe a lil wet-disney imagineers should try out universal's river rapid ride to see what good soaking fun is...kali rapids board me but the theme and story it trys to get out was ok....its good for a hot day i guess
"Very damp"
Reviewed on Mar 01, 2007 by MEEE
Rating: 8  
Kali River Rapids is great. The jungle you float through is pretty cool and it also has a message about clearcutting. You will get wet and you may get soaked. My family went on it twice and we almost drowned it was so wet. We had to change clothes before we went to the next park!
"Water Water everywhere"
Reviewed on Nov 06, 2006 by davinakb
Rating: Not rated  
This is one of my favorite thrill rides. When we last went, they\'d stopped issuing fastpasses (which I don\'t get; more fastpass rides = happier guests, IMO), and the wait was no more than 15 minutes.

The ride is short, but great for cooling off. The best part is all the splashing and the \"not knowing\" who will get soaked.
"rapids"
Reviewed on Jul 22, 2006 by xx_lilo_xx
Rating: Not rated  
ok i love these there great. In my opinion it\'s a must do, right lets see, the rapid start ffrom the very begining and last right the way touhg, and there a soem good drops, but you must now YOU GET WET!!! dont waer thing that will got see thorw or you dont want soked!!!
a must do but rember YOU WILL GET WET!!
"Short but wet"
Reviewed on Jan 29, 2006 by jamierobins
Rating: Not rated  
Yikes! Amazing theming is the key to this ride's success, and it really is amazing....you rise through fog only to discover burning timbers alongside the river as man destroys nature itself, starting with forests.

A few slashes later and you are faced with a frmidable drop, given usual water raft standards. If you are sat with your back to the drop, as I was, it is a little like being thrown overboard in your clothes!! Great fun....and yes, the rest of the boat's crew will laugh at you.

The main problem with this ride is the long long long line! Waiting times are aoften at least an hour or two. And when a ride is as short as this one, you wonder whether it was worth the wait. My advice is definitely get a fast pass, that way you will not be disappointed. Why Disney didn't see that this could have been an incredible ride had it been longer is beyond me. Try Pluto's barges at Universal IOA to see how it should have been done.

"Very fun ride!"
Reviewed on Dec 22, 2005 by WDWFantasmic
Rating: Not rated  
This ride is very fun and should not be missed. From the very beginning, you travel down rapids and dodge waterfalls. The burning part was cool and I enjoyed the drop. It was a bit on the short side but enjoyable whatsoever.
"Excellent ride!"
Reviewed on Nov 19, 2005 by animal_king1990
Rating: Not rated  
I thought this had the best theming of any rapids ride in the world. It even has a drop unlike many others. Compared to GRR, I would choose Kali River Rapids for sure. It has better theming, stronger rapids, and gets you way more wet(which is bad and good). Who cares if GRR is a bit longer, the theming is lacking. Don't know why everybody is complaining that it's so short, it was a good 4 and a half minutes. Thats pretty long for a water ride!
"average raft ride"
Reviewed on Sep 28, 2005 by 3IAlienKid
Rating: Not rated  
Though I rated several categories "good," I feel overall this ride was just average. It's basically not much different from any other river raft ride. I have 2 conflicting thoughts. On the one hand, there isn't much to see. A lot of lush trees, and a scene where they're all burned down. On the other hand, I'm not sure I would have really noticed if there was more to see, you spend most of the time wondering when the raft is going to turn your back to the water so the next splash nails you. Maybe that's why there isn't much to see, no one pays much attention anyway.

The theme of deforestation is a bit of a grim subject to be surrounded by while you're excitedly screaming after getting doused. A little bit of an odd mix.
"Very poor themeing!"
Reviewed on Jan 14, 2005 by BeachClub1
Rating: Not rated  
A ride that has better themeing in the Queuing Area than in the actual ride itself. Disney was a penney pincher when building and scaled back the origional plans, and it shows.
"Too wet!"
Reviewed on Dec 10, 2004 by DDuckFan130
Rating: Not rated  
I really wish I wore a poncho when I rode it last. Thanks to this ride, I spent over $100 on a new outfit!! Anyway, the ride is fun, but it doesn't last too long so it's not too good.
"Rapi....that's it?"
Reviewed on Dec 02, 2004 by Mary Poppins
Rating: Not rated  
I remember the first time I rode this ride thinking to myself, "I could have had someone at the front gate hose me off and wasted less time". This ride is incredibly short and the "rapids" part of the ride are mediocre. The only reason I got wet was because of some strategically placed water jets...not from the rapids. I kept telling myself they were just building up to the main rapids...and then we rounded the corner to the unload zone. Definitely not the best rapids ride I've ever been on.
"Disappointed"
Reviewed on May 21, 2004 by JackSkellington
Rating: Not rated  
I was rather upset at the length of the ride. It was way too short. The best part was the big drop and that was all. The visuals are indeed fantastic, but there are more than visuals to a ride. I would not ride more than once per trip if that.
"Biggest Disappointment"
Reviewed on May 13, 2004 by disney2002
Rating: Not rated  
I have never been as disappointed by a Disney attraction as I was by Kali River Rapids. After waiting over 90 minutes in an off-peak visit (all other attractions, even the most popular, were no more than 30 minutes waits), I was shocked by how short and uneventful the ride was. It's as if the first 1/8th of a full attraction was built rather than the usual fully Disney experience. Definately not worth your time, unless you really want to get wet. But all things considered, it's about as exciting as a cold shower.
"not quite what I thought."
Reviewed on Jan 15, 2004 by fanofdinsey1981
Rating: Not rated  
I was a bit sad after I went on this ride, to realize that Six Flags Great America does it better. If you are looking to throw you kids on this ride, it is good for them. and if you want to get wet, there is no problem. But if you are looking for high thrills or even a medium length ride, you should forget kali rapids. if the line is short, it is worth walking on to get wet.
"Take a poncho!"
Reviewed on Jun 11, 2003 by bigtinkfun
Rating: Not rated  
Although Kali Rapids is a short ride (really much too short!), you can get really wet! I enjoyed the ride and I thought the pre-ride area, done up like a river expeditions company in India was really detailed and interesting. This ride will always be a sentimental favorite with me because I was selected for a Disney Magical Moment early one morning when I showed up to ride on it. I met a charming CM who entertained me with magic tricks and jokes, and then another CM came up to me and asked me if I'd like to go behind the scenes at Kali Rapids! Naturally, I was quite eager. I went back into the control room where the ride controls are and they have about a dozen video monitors. Throughout the ride, there are hidden cameras that allow Disney CMs to see how things are going. It was absolutely fascinating. Then I got to ride the rapids about five times! It was great! Oh, one final thing: just because the ride is over, doesn't mean you can't get wet. As the rafts are returning to the rotating line platform, they pass under a bridge. This bridge has buttons on it that allow passersby to shower the rafts with brief jets of water from nearby statues. It can come as a surprise!
"Wet and Short"
Reviewed on Mar 24, 2003 by T1nker_bell
Rating: Not rated  
I found this ride to be very dissapointing. Just because you get wet does not mean it is a thrill ride. Although children will enjoy it, the ride isn't worth anybody elses time.
"All Wet!!"
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2003 by MickeyMoose15
Rating: Not rated  
Kali River Rapids is a good ride but not a great ride. There are many problems to the attraction. The story is pretty typical. The loggers are the bad men just because they "supposedly" care about nothing but money which really isn't the case but let's not get into that. The theming is sub-par just because there is just stuff to look at. No narration, no audio-animatronics, no actual animals, no nothing. Just burnt trees and water. Lots and LOTS of water. The ride is also too short. Could be a lot longer. Looking very forward to Forbidden Mountain when it opens in 2005/2006 in this area of the park.
"Sub-par Rapid Ride"
Reviewed on Nov 26, 2002 by Brett
Rating: Not rated  
After I read about Grizzly River Rapids at Disney's California Adventure, I was very excited about my first trip to Kali River Rapids at the Animal Kingdom. Only a few days removed from riding Universal Island's of Adventure's Popeye and Bluto's Bilge Rat Barges, I was ready for another great rapid ride. I was disappointed. I understand it would be a different beast than IoA's ride, but the length was horrific. As soon as you got on the ride and up the hill, it was over. I enjoyed the idea of conservation, especially during the scene with fire, but there was no time to enjoy the scenery, as the ride was over before you knew it.
"Way too short"
Reviewed on Sep 07, 2002 by tmp
Rating: Not rated  
There are River Rapids in alot of amuesment parks across the country and I have been on alot that are alot better them Kali. Usually Disney is the best at what they do, but they threw in a clunker here. The fire effect is nice, but it is gone at a blink -------then down a hill ---then you get drenched--"this is fun cannot wait for more". - "WHAT IT IS OVER?"
"You will be soaked!"
Reviewed on Sep 02, 2002 by genius7777
Rating: Not rated  
Kali river rapids is a great ride if you need to get drenched really easily. The only thing is the ride is relatively short, you go up a ramp down the slide you get wet from the drop, then you circle around and your done! If your really hot, which you can be at the animal kingdom from time to time, you should ride kali river rapids. Kali River Rapids has some great theming, but ive ridden better.
"QUICK"
Reviewed on Sep 01, 2002 by RAYROBBINS
Rating: Not rated  
DO NOT BLINK OR THE RIDE WILL BE OVER AND YOU WILL MISS IT.THIS COULD BE A GREAT RIDE IF AFTER A LONG WAIT IT WASN'T OVER SO FAST.YOU WILL GET DRENCHED FOR SURE.WE WENT ON IN THE RAIN EARLY IN THE DAY SO THEY LET US STAY ON THREE TIMES WHICH PROVED TO MAKE THE LENGTH TOLERABLE.
"Half of a Classic"
Reviewed on Aug 31, 2002 by GenerationX
Rating: Not rated  
We (parents and young kids) all thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and the water effects on this ride. However, it's over too quickly. I can see the potential for this ride to be a classic if it had a little more story to it. In conclusion, this is not as entertaining as Splash Mountain, but it's fun nonetheless.
"Another winner..........."
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by the_ceo_at_wdw
Rating: Not rated  
It isnt the most thrilling attraction in A.K. But it is a must ride.. Even if you ride it once.. :)
"Not the best"
Reviewed on Aug 23, 2002 by wdwcrazy
Rating: Not rated  
This wasn't the best rapids ride that I've been on. It probably was the best themed there are many more exciting and soaking rapids rides out there. This one just wasn't that exciting of a ride. Popeye and Bluto's Bilge Rat barges was MUCH better than this attraction. The themeing and story are exellent but the fun factor was very average to poor. They really could have made this an amazing attraction but I belive they fell short.
"You will get wet!"
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2002 by disneyadam
Rating: Not rated  
This is a good attraction it would be a great attraction if it was a little longer. You will get soaked so leave anything that can't get wet with a non riding party member.
Kali Rapids
You are currently using the desktop site | Switch to mobile site